DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwon et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0207150 A1 (the ‘150 reference).
The reference discloses in Fig. 2 and related text a as claimed.
Referring to claim 1, the ‘150 reference discloses a light emitting display device, comprising:
a substrate (110);
a driving element layer on the substrate and including a transistor (DT, para [37] (paragraph(s) [0037])) and a planarization film (120, para [46]) covering the transistor;
a second electrode (CE, para [47]) on the planarization film (120) and including a contact opening (electrode exposing portion 133, para [68]);
a separator (partition 140, para [73]) on the planarization film (120) and has a reverse-tapered sidewall (para [75]);
a pixel defining layer (bank 130, para [68]) including a first opening (“first opening”, label added by the examiner for ease of explanation, Fig. 3, reproduced below) exposing a portion of the second electrode (CE), a second opening (“second opening”) exposing a portion of the separator (140), and a third opening (“third opening”) corresponding to the contact opening (133) of the second electrode (CE); and
a first electrode (AE, para [57]) on the pixel defining layer (130),
wherein the first electrode (AE) is electrically connected (via CH1) to the transistor (DT) of the driving element layer through the contact opening (133) of the second electrode (CE) and the third opening (the “third opening”) of the pixel defining layer (133).
(Deliberately left blank (not used space))
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
(Deliberately left blank (not used space))
Referring to claim 2, the reference further discloses that the separator (140) includes an outer portion (right portion) and an inner portion, and the second opening (the “second opening”) of the pixel defining layer (130) exposes at least a portion of the outer portion (the right portion) of the separator.
Referring to claim 3, the reference further discloses that an edge of the first electrode (AE) coincides with the outer portion (the right portion) exposed by the second opening (the “second opening”) on a plane.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claims 11-20 are allowable over the prior art of record.
Claims 4-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited art, whether taken singularly or in combination, especially when all limitations are considered within the claimed specific combination, fails to teach or render obvious a light emitting display device with all exclusive limitations as recited in claims 4 and 11, which may be characterized (claim 4) in that all side surfaces of the inner portion are covered by the pixel defining layer, and (claim 11) in that a separator is on the planarization film, has a reverse-tapered sidewall, and includes an outer portion, an inner portion, and an additional portion, and in that an edge of the first electrode coincides with the outer portion exposed by the second opening on a plane.
Conclusion
08-04-2026
/TU-TU V HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818