DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-14 and 16-21 are pending in the application. Claim 15 has been cancelled.
-The specification objection has been withdrawn due to applicant amending the abstract accordingly.
-The 102 rejection has been withdrawn due to applicant amending claims 1 and 13 with limitations not disclosed by the prior art or record used in the rejection.
-The 103 rejections as currently written has been withdrawn due to applicant amending claims 1 and 13 with limitations not previously examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments that “the Nagumo could not be used in a system with an elliptical bearing. The array of pins in Nagumo are rigidly connected with each other and concentric with the rings, and could not be used with an elliptical bearing because doing so would end up deforming the rigid structure of the array of pins (i.e., the array of pins in Nagumo would break). The design of Nagumo simply does not provide the leeway provided by the claimed invention that enables the use of an elliptical bearing.” has been fully considered and is persuasive. The 103 rejection of claims 3 and 18 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 13, 14 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
-Claims 1 and 13 recite the limitations “the number of roll rings in the plurality of roll rings is one or more less than the number of lobes in the lobe ring”. However, the specification in paragraph [0086] describes that the number of lobes is one or two more or less than the number of roll rings. The scope of the specification only covers up to “two” more or less, but the claims using only the term “more” would seem to suggest that the roll rings could be one, two, three or more less than the lobes, which isn’t covered by the specification as originally filed. The examiner suggest applicant amend claim to recite “the number of roll rings in the plurality of roll rings is one or two less than the number of lobes in the lobe ring” as covered by the specification.
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 13, 14 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
-Claims 1 and 13 recite the limitations “the number of roll rings in the plurality of roll rings is one or more less than the number of lobes in the lobe ring”. However, the specification in paragraph [0086] describes that the number of lobes is one or two more or less than the number of roll rings. The scope of the specification only covers up to “two” more or less, but the claims using only the term “more” would seem to suggest that the roll rings could be one, two, three or more less than the lobes, which isn’t covered by the specification as originally filed. The examiner suggest applicant amend claim to recite “the number of roll rings in the plurality of roll rings is one or two less than the number of lobes in the lobe ring” as covered by the specification.
-Claims 1 and 13 recites the limitation “the number of roll rings in the plurality of roll rings is one or more less than the number of lobes in the lobe ring”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner suggest applicant change “the number” to “a number” accordingly to correct antecedent basis of limitation in claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, 13, 14, 17, 19, 20, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagumo 20120100949 in view of Scheuer 1870875 (both previously cited). As to claim 1, Nagumo discloses a torque multiplier, comprising: a first shaft for providing a first torque (2); a second shaft for providing a second torque (7); and a gear structure (via 6, 3 (32)) coupled to the first shaft and the second shaft to multiply the first torque to generate the second torque ([0111] describes that input to output can be in either direction), the gear structure comprising: a plurality of roll rings (41, 51); a lobe ring (3, 6) in contact with the plurality of roll rings, the lobe ring comprising (i) an inner circumference comprising modified hypotrochoidal lobes ([0109], Table 2) wherein the plurality of roll rings is configured to move eccentrically with respect to the first shaft and the number of roll rings in the plurality of roll rings is one or more less than the number of lobes in the lobe ring ([0084] discloses in the internally toothed gear 6, internal teeth of the hypotrochoid type are formed at a predetermined pitch in which the number of the teeth is 24, which is larger by one than the number of the meshing external teeth represented by the roll rings/pins 5, 51) or (ii) an outer circumference comprising modified epitrochoidal lobes ([0109], Table 2) wherein the lobe ring is configured to move concentrically with respect to the first shaft; a pin structure comprising a plurality of pins (40, 50), each of the pins located inside one of the roll rings; and a bearing in contact with the plurality of roll rings (bearing 81 is indirectly in contact with at least rings 41 via contact with 3). However, Nagumo doesn’t disclose the plurality of roll rings moving eccentrically with respect to the pins as recited.
Scheuer discloses a torque multiplier, comprising: a first shaft (1) for providing a first torque; a second shaft (9) for providing a second torque; and a gear structure coupled to the first shaft and the second shaft to multiply the first torque to generate the second torque, the gear structure comprising: a plurality of roll rings (20); a lobe ring (7) in contact with the plurality of roll rings, the lobe ring comprising (i) an inner circumference comprising modified lobes wherein the plurality of roll rings is configured to move eccentrically with respect to the first shaft; a pin structure comprising a plurality of pins (21), each of the pins located inside one of the roll ring; and a bearing (2, 3, 4) in contact with the plurality of roll rings. Scheuer shows that it is well known in the art to provide the plurality of roll rings moving eccentrically with respect to the plurality of pins (lines 27-29).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide eccentric movement between the roll rings and pins in Nagumo in view of Scheuer to increase tangential force between the components coupled to the first and second shafts resulting in greater operating efficiency of torque multiplier.
As to claim 2, Nagumo discloses wherein the bearing is eccentric (via motion of 22 and 3; [0089]).
As to claim 4, Nagumo discloses wherein the bearing further comprises a first race in contact with the plurality of roll rings (outer portion of bearing 81 indirectly in contact with at least rings 41 via contact with 3).
As to claim 5, Nagumo discloses wherein the bearing further comprises a second race (inner portion of 81) and a plurality of rolling elements (81) between the first race and the second race.
As to claim 7, Nagumo in view of Scheuer discloses a retainer (26 in Figure 11 of Scheuer) disposed around the plurality of roll rings to retain the plurality of roll rings in their relative position with respect to one another.
As to claim 9, Nagumo in view of Scheuer discloses wherein the retainer is a double piece (Figure 11 in Scheuer).
As to claim 13, Nagumo discloses a method of multiplying torque, comprising: receiving, by a first shaft (2), a first torque; and multiplying, by a gear structure (6, 3 (32)) coupled to the first shaft and a second shaft (7), the first torque to generate a second torque provided by the second shaft, wherein the multiplying comprises rotating a bearing in response to the first torque (81, [0089] or 83, [0132] via [0111] describing that input to output can be in either direction), rotating a plurality of roll rings (41, 51) about pins (40, 50) in response to rotation of the bearing, and rotating a lobe ring (3, 6) in response to rotation of the plurality of roll rings, wherein the lobe ring (i) comprises an inner circumference comprising modified hypotrochoidal lobes and the plurality of roll rings moves eccentrically with respect to the first shaft ([0109], Table 2) and the number of roll rings in the plurality of roll rings is one or more less than the number of lobes in the lobe ring ([0084] discloses in the internally toothed gear 6, internal teeth of the hypotrochoid type are formed at a predetermined pitch in which the number of the teeth is 24, which is larger by one than the number of the meshing external teeth represented by the roll rings/pins 5, 51) or (ii) comprises an outer circumference comprising modified epitrochoidal lobes and the lobe ring moves concentrically with respect to the first shaft ([0109], Table 2). However, Nagumo doesn’t disclose the plurality of roll rings moving eccentrically with respect to the pins as recited.
Scheuer discloses a torque multiplier, comprising: a first shaft (1) for providing a first torque; a second shaft (9) for providing a second torque; and a gear structure coupled to the first shaft and the second shaft to multiply the first torque to generate the second torque, the gear structure comprising: a plurality of roll rings (20); a lobe ring (7) in contact with the plurality of roll rings, the lobe ring comprising (i) an inner circumference comprising modified lobes wherein the plurality of roll rings is configured to move eccentrically with respect to the first shaft; a pin structure comprising a plurality of pins (21), each of the pins located inside one of the roll ring; and a bearing (2, 3, 4) in contact with the plurality of roll rings. Scheuer shows that it is well known in the art to provide the plurality of roll rings moving eccentrically with respect to the plurality of pins (lines 27-29).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide eccentric movement between the roll rings and pins in Nagumo in view of Scheuer to increase tangential force between the components coupled to the first and second shafts resulting in greater operating efficiency of torque multiplier.
As to claim 14, Nagumo discloses wherein the lobe ring is fixed to the second shaft to rotate the second shaft to provide the second torque ([0084], lines 9-10).
As to claim 17, Nagumo discloses wherein the bearing is eccentric (via motion of 22 and 3; [0089]).
As to claim 19, Nagumo in view of Scheuer discloses wherein the bearing further comprises a first race (4 in Scheuer) in contact with the plurality of roll rings.
As to claim 20, Nagumo in view of Scheuer discloses wherein the bearing further comprises a second race (2 in Scheuer) and a plurality of rolling elements (3 in Scheuer) between the first race and the second race.
As to claim 21, Nagumo in view of Scheuer discloses a retainer (26 in Figure 11 in Scheuer) disposed around the plurality of roll rings to retain the plurality of roll rings in their relative position with respect to one another.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagumo in view of Scheuer as applied to claims 1 and 7 above and further in view of Distin 4552037 (all previously cited). Nagumo in view of Scheuer discloses a retainer (26 in Scheuer), but doesn’t explicitly describe that it is a single piece.
Distin discloses a torque multiplier and shows that it is well known in the art to have a retainer (96, Figures 6 and 7) for holding the roll rings as a single piece.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the retainer in Nagumo in view of Scheuer into a single piece further in view of Distin which reduces the number of components needed to hold roll rings to simplify and reduce cost of assembling multiplier.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 10, 11, 12 and 16 are allowed. See reasons for allowance indicated pertaining to claims 10-12 in previous office action filed 12/10/25.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art of record doesn’t disclose or render obvious a motivation to provide for:
-(as to claim 6) a torque multiplier having a first and second shaft providing a first and second torque; a gear structure having a plurality of roll rings in contact with a lobe ring coupled to the first and second shafts; the lobe ring having a modified hypotrochoidal lobe inner circumference in which the roll rings move eccentrically with respect to first shaft or a modified epitrochoidal lobe outer circumference in which the lobe moves concentrically with the first shaft; a plurality of pins located inside the roll rings; a bearing having a first race in contact with the roll rings and a plurality of rolling elements between the first and second races and wherein the elements have two or more diameters and in combination with the limitations as recited in claim 6.
-(as to claim 16) a method of multiply torque by receiving a first torque by a first shaft; a gear structure multiplying the torque coupled to the first and second shaft; the multiplying having a bearing rotating in responses to the first torque; rotating a plurality of roll rings about pins in response to the bearing; rotating a lobe ring in response to rotation of the roll rings wherein the lobe ring is fixed to the second shaft to provide second torque; the lobe ring having a modified hypotrochoidal lobe inner circumference in which the roll rings move eccentrically with respect to first shaft or a modified epitrochoidal lobe outer circumference in which the lobe moves concentrically with the first shaft; wherein pins located in the roll rings is fixed to the second shaft to rotate the shaft to provide the second torque and in combination with the limitations exactly as written in claim 16.
Claims 3 and 18 are objected to (via prior art purposes only) as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 3 and 18 as written is reasons for indicating allowability and the examiner suggest applicant amend claims 1 and 13 with the limitations recited in these claims to expedite allowance of application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-DE 102015116482 discloses a torque multiplier and shows that it is well known in the art to provide an inner and outer modified cycloidal lobe (Figure 12) in contact with plurality of roll rings (8b), each having a plurality of pins located inside (8a).
Tdl
/TISHA D LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 March 7, 2026