DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-17 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/13/26.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an irradiation position adjustment mechanism configured to adjust a laser irradiation position with respect to the target in a plane being perpendicular to an optical path axis of the pulse laser light entering the first region and intersecting the first region by changing a position or posture of the optical element” in claim 1. This is understood to correspond to the actuator for performing this function disclosed in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2018/0284617 A1 [Nishimura].
Regarding Claim 1:
Nishimura discloses an extreme ultraviolet light generation system (abstract) comprising:
a chamber including a first region (Fig. 2 (2));
a target supply unit configured to supply a target to the first region (Fig. 2 (26));
a laser device configured to output pulse laser light (Fig. 2 (3));
an optical system including an optical element configured to guide the pulse laser light to the first region (Fig. 2 (22, 35));
an irradiation position adjustment mechanism configured to adjust a laser irradiation position with respect to the target in a plane being perpendicular to an optical path axis of the pulse laser light entering the first region and intersecting the first region by changing a position or posture of the optical element (paras 61, 136);
an EUV light concentrating mirror configured to reflect EUV light radiated from the first region and concentrate the EUV light to a second region (para 58), and arranged such that the pulse laser light passes outside the EUV light concentrating mirror and is guided to the first region (as shown in Fig. 2, the laser passes through areas outside of the mirror, including a through hole thereof, and to the first region (25));
a plurality of EUV sensors configured to measure radiation energies of the EUV light radiated from the first region in mutually different radiation directions (Fig. 1 (44), paras 159-160); and
a processor configured to control the irradiation position adjustment mechanism as setting a target irradiation position of the pulse laser light to a laser irradiation position away from a reference position (para 315, Fig. 5), at which an average value of the radiation energies measured by the EUV sensors (para 324) is maximized (paras 333-334), in a direction toward the EUV light concentrating mirror (by finding the maximum energy of EUV light in the chamber from multiple sensors, the processor is also maximizing the energy directed toward the mirror).
Regarding Claim 2:
Nishimura discloses the extreme ultraviolet light generation system according to claim 1,
wherein the processor acquires, as an improved irradiation position, a laser irradiation position at which an output energy of the EUV light reaching the second region becomes larger than that when the reference position is irradiated with the pulse laser light, and sets the target irradiation position based on the improved irradiation position. Figs. 5-8 demonstrate the iterative process whereby the output energy becomes larger by moving the laser from the reference position. In that the output energy is larger in the chamber, so to is it larger at the focal point of the second region.
Regarding Claim 3:
Nishimura discloses the extreme ultraviolet light generation system according to claim 2,
wherein the processor irradiates the target with the pulse laser light while changing the laser irradiation position (Fig. 5 (S12, S13)), acquires a measurement result of the output energy at each laser irradiation position (Fig. 5 (S14)), and acquires the improved irradiation position based on the measurement result (Fig. 5 (S18)).
Regarding Claim 4:
Nishimura discloses the extreme ultraviolet light generation system according to claim 2,
wherein the improved irradiation position is the laser irradiation position at which the output energy of the EUV light reaching the second region is maximized. Since the output energy is maximized by the process, so too is the energy incident upon the focal point, i.e., the second region.
Regarding Claim 5:
Nishimura discloses the extreme ultraviolet light generation system according to claim 2,
wherein the processor sets the target irradiation position to a laser irradiation position away from the reference position in a direction toward the improved irradiation position. As shown in Figs. 6 and 7, the processor passes the laser irradiation position at points away from the reference and toward the maximum energy position.
Regarding Claim 6:
Nishimura discloses the extreme ultraviolet light generation system according to claim 5,
wherein the processor sets the target irradiation position to the improved irradiation position when a distance between the reference position and the improved irradiation position is equal to or less than an allowable value, and to a position away from the reference position in the direction toward the improved irradiation position by the allowable value when the distance between the reference position and the improved irradiation position is larger than the allowable value. Paras 341-344.
Regarding Claim 9:
Nishimura discloses the extreme ultraviolet light generation system according to claim 5,
wherein, the processor sets the target irradiation position such that a generation amount of debris derived from the target is equal to or less than an allowable value. Para 376.
Regarding Claim 18:
Nishimura discloses the extreme ultraviolet light generation system according to claim 1, further comprising a prepulse laser device configured to output prepulse laser light to be radiated to the target before the target is irradiated with the pulse laser light (Fig. 2 (3b)),
wherein a position closer to the reference position than the laser irradiation position of the pulse laser light is irradiated with the prepulse laser light (para 222, 232, the first prepulse beam is irradiated to the reference position, whereas the other beams are adjusted. Accordingly, the pulse laser light is irradiated farther from the reference point than the first prepulse light.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881