DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 11, paragraph 27, line 6: Change 222 to 322. Compare with line 1 of the same paragraph.
Page 18, paragraph 38, lien 5: Delete the second “240G,” at the end of the line.
Page 18, paragraph 38, line 6: Add “is” before “disposed”.
Page 20, paragraph 40, line 1 of the page: Delete the second “240G,”.
Page 20, paragraph 41, line 5: Delete the second “240G,”.
Page 21, paragraph 42, line 2 of the page: It appears that a word is missing in “includes a of”. Perhaps the word is “top surface”. Compare with line 3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 13 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13, line 3: Change “the letter X” to “a letter X” to provide antecedent basis.
Claim 15, lines 1-2: Please provide antecedent basis for the two instances of “the thickness”. Antecedent basis has not been provided for either one.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, which depends from claim 9, which depends from claim 5, which depends from claim 4, which depends from claim 1: Claim 13 refers to “the letter X”. However, antecedent basis has not been provided for “the letter X”. Because antecedent basis has not been provided, claim 13 is rejected as indefinite.
Regarding claim 15, which depends from claim 9, which depends from claim 5, which depends from claim 4, which depends from claim 1: Claim 15 refers to “the thickness” in two places, but no antecedent basis has been provided for these thicknesses. Because antecedent basis has not been provided, claim 15 is rejected as indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ogawa, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2005/0258548, Figure 12 or Figure 13.
Regarding claim 1: Ogawa Figure 12 discloses a semiconductor package assembly (800), comprising: a base (110, 120, 140, 150, 160) having a top surface (120A) and a bottom surface (120B); a semiconductor package (820) disposed on the top surface (120A) of the base (110, 120, 140, 150, 160); and a capacitor (130) disposed on the semiconductor package (820) and located between the semiconductor package (820) and the base (110, 120, 140, 150, 160), wherein the capacitor (130) has a back surface (130B) located away from the semiconductor package (820), and wherein the back surface (130B) of the capacitor (130) is higher than the bottom surface (120B) of the base (110, 120, 140, 150, 160) and lower than the top surface (120A) of the base (110, 120, 140, 150, 160). Ogawa specification ¶¶ 181-186, 108-136.
Similarly, Ogawa Figure 13 discloses a semiconductor package assembly, comprising: a base (320, 340, 351, 352, 353, 361, 362, 363) having a top surface (320A) and a bottom surface (320B); a semiconductor package (840) disposed on the top surface (320A) of the base (320, 340, 351, 352, 353, 361, 362, 363); and a capacitor (330) disposed on the semiconductor package (840) and located between the semiconductor package (840) and the base (320, 340, 351, 352, 353, 361, 362, 363), wherein the capacitor (330) has a back surface (unnumbered) located away from the semiconductor package (840), and wherein the back surface (unnumbered) of the capacitor (330) is higher than the bottom surface (320B) of the base (320, 340, 351, 352, 353, 361, 362, 363) and lower than the top surface (120A) of the base (320, 340, 351, 352, 353, 361, 362, 363). Id. ¶¶ 181-186, 162-167.
Regarding claim 16: Ogawa Figure 12 discloses a semiconductor package assembly (800), comprising: a base (110, 120, 140, 150, 160) having a top surface (120A); a semiconductor package (820) disposed on the top surface of the base (110, 120, 140, 150, 160) by conductive structures (151), wherein the conductive structures (151) are connected between the top surface (120A) of the base (110, 120, 140, 150, 160) and the semiconductor package (820); and a capacitor (130) disposed on the semiconductor package (820) and surrounded by the conductive structures (151), wherein the capacitor (130) partially overlaps the base (110, 120, 140, 150, 160) in a direction substantially parallel with the top surface (120A) of the base (110, 120, 140, 150, 160). Id. ¶¶ 181-186, 108-136.
Ogawa Figure 13 discloses a semiconductor package assembly, comprising: a base (320, 340, 351, 352, 353, 361, 362, 363) having a top surface; a semiconductor package (840) disposed on the top surface (320A) of the base (320, 340, 351, 352, 353, 361, 362, 363) by conductive structures (354), wherein the conductive structures (354) are connected between the top surface (320A) of the base (320, 340, 351, 352, 353, 361, 362, 363) and the semiconductor package (840); and a capacitor (330) disposed on the semiconductor package (840) and surrounded by the conductive structures (354), wherein the capacitor (330) partially overlaps the base (320, 340, 351, 352, 353, 361, 362, 363) in a direction substantially parallel with the top surface of the base (320, 340, 351, 352, 353, 361, 362, 363). Id. ¶¶ 181-186, 162-167.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogawa.
Regarding claim 2, which depends from claim 1: Ogawa Figure 13 discloses first contact pads and second contact pads disposed on the semiconductor package (840) and close to the base (320, 340, 351, 352, 353, 361, 362, 363); and conductive structures (304) disposed on the first contact pads and electrically connected between the semiconductor package (840) and the base (320, 340, 351, 352, 353, 361, 362, 363), wherein the capacitor (330) is disposed on the second contact pads and surrounded by the conductive structures (304). Id. ¶¶ 181-186, 162-167, 24, 32.
Regarding claim 3, which depends from claim 2: Ogawa discloses a first height of the capacitor (330) is greater than a second height of the conductive structures (304). See Ogawa Figure 13.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-12, 14, and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13 and 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the claim objections were addressed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Arrangements in which capacitors are embedded substrates are well known in the art. See, e.g., Chiu, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2016/0071780, Figure 3; Hwang, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0350747, Figure 9; Kanbe, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2020/0111732, Figure 1. Providing an opening in solder resist for an electronic component, specifically, a bridge chip, is also known. See, e.g., Gamba, U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2021/0391266, Figure 2. However, the claims require “a capacitor disposed on the semiconductor package and located between the semiconductor package and the base, wherein the capacitor has a back surface located away from the semiconductor package, and wherein the back surface of the capacitor is higher than the bottom surface of the base and lower than the top surface of the base” (claim 1) and “the conductive structures are connected between the top surface of the base and the semiconductor package; and a capacitor disposed on the semiconductor package and surrounded by the conductive structures, wherein the capacitor partially overlaps the base in a direction substantially parallel with the top surface of the base” (claim 16). These limitations place specific requirements on the arrangement of the capacitor with respect to the semiconductor package and base, which limit suitable art for use in combining with the art used in the rejections. Because art suitable for combining the with primary reference was not identified during the search, claims 4 and 17 are allowable.
With regard to claim 4: The claim has been found allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose “a first conductive layer disposed on the top surface of the build-up layer structure, a first solder mask layer disposed on the first conductive layer, wherein the top surface of the base is a top surface of the first solder mask layer, and wherein the first solder mask layer has a first opening for accommodate at least a portion of the capacitor”, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
With regard to claims 5-15: The claims have been found allowable due to their dependency from claim 4 above.
With regard to claim 17: The claim has been found allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose “a first conductive layer disposed on the top surface of the build-up layer structure; and a first solder mask layer disposed on the first conductive layer, wherein the first solder mask layer has a first opening for accommodate at least a portion of the capacitor, and wherein the capacitor partially overlaps the first solder mask layer of the base in the direction substantially parallel with the top surface of the base”, in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
With regard to claims 18-20: The claims have been found allowable due to their dependency from claim 17 above.
Conclusion
/Victoria K. Hall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897