DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 16, 2023, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levander et al. (WO 2019180323 A1) and in further view of Dieckerhoff et al. (US 20240221972 A1)
Regarding Claim 1 – Levander teaches a charging cable for charging an at least partly electrically driven marine vessel (Fig 2C; 106, 204, 206; Levander states “The energy connection means 106 may comprise, for example, an electric cable” and connects to moving vessel 204 to supplement energy storage 206), but does not explicitly disclose wherein the charging cable has an at least substantially flat cross-section and is arranged to be rolled up onto a cable reel.
Dierkerhoff teaches the charging cable has an at least substantially flat cross-section (Fig 1; 1; Diekerhoff [0010] states “a maximum width of the charging cable… larger than a maximum height”) and is arranged to be rolled up onto a cable reel (Fig 1; 1; Diekerhoff [0010] states “This also makes it easier to wind up the cable” and [0014] states “the charging cable can be wound up to a smaller radius”).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Levander with the charging cable has an at least substantially flat cross-section and is arranged to be rolled up onto a cable reel as taught by Diekerhoff because in order to simplify winding and storage of the cable and reduce twisting and knotting.
Regarding Claim 6 – Levander in view of Dieckerhoff teaches a charging station comprising a charging cable according to claim 1 (Fig 2C; 100, 106; Levander teaches autonomous barge 100 supplies energy to moving vessel 204 through energy connection means 106, which “may comprise, for example, an electric cable”).
Regarding Claim 7 – Levander in view of Dieckerhoff teaches the charging station according to claim 6, wherein the charging station comprises a cable reel arranged to store the rolled-up charging cable (Levander Fig 2C; 106; Levander teaches energy connection means 106 may comprise a system for transferring the cable “back to the autonomous barge 100 after the charging process is over” and may use “automatic tension control in a winch”; Dieckerhoff Fig 1; 1; Diekerhoff [0010] teaches the cable is wound up and stored “in a storage container in the charging station”).
Regarding Claim 8 – Levander in view of Dieckerhoff teaches an at least partly electrically driven marine vessel comprising a charging cable according to claim 1 (Levander Fig 1; 100, 104, 106; Levander teaches moving means 104 “may refer to an electric propulsion system” and energy connection means 106 “may comprise, for example, an electric cable”).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levander et al. (WO 2019180323 A1) in view of Dieckerhoff et al. (US 20240221972 A1) ) and in further view of Paul et al. (US 20100246331 A1)
Regarding Claim 2 – Levander in view of Diekerhoff teaches the charging cable according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the charging cable comprises a structural reinforcement layer to function as a mooring rope for the marine vessel.
Paul teaches the charging cable comprises a structural reinforcement layer to function as a mooring rope for the marine vessel (Fig 3; 40, 45; Paul [0039] teaches the hose 40 includes “layers of nylon tire cords 45 serving as reinforcing strength members” and layers of electrical conductors; [0045] teaches the hose is “used as a mooring tether” and embeds electrical conductor assemblies).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Levander in view of Dieckerhoff with the charging cable comprises a structural reinforcement layer to function as a mooring rope for the marine vessel as taught by Paul so that the cable can withstand mooring loads while transmitting electricity in a marine environment.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levander et al. (WO 2019180323 A1) in view of Dieckerhoff et al. (US 20240221972 A1) ) and in further view of Cao et al. (US 20180190410 A1)
Regarding Claim 3 – Levander in view of Dieckerhoff teaches the charging cable according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the charging cable comprises a cooling system, and wherein the cooling system comprises a coolant.
Cao teaches the charging cable comprises a cooling system, and wherein the cooling system comprises a coolant (Fig 1; 100, 140, 145; Cao [0021] states “a hose 140 disposed within the cavity and configured to contain or otherwise enclose liquid coolant 145”).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Levander in view of Dieckerhoff with the charging cable comprises a cooling system, and wherein the cooling system comprises a coolant as taught by Cao to dissipate heat and prevent overheating during charging.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levander et al. (WO 2019180323 A1) in view of Dieckerhoff et al. (US 20240221972 A1) ) and in further view of Knoll et al. (US 20230064567 A1)
Regarding Claim 4 – Levander in view of Dieckerhoff teaches the charging cable according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the charging cable is arranged to be connected to a land-based charging station in a first end and to the marine vessel in a second end, or wherein the charging cable is arranged to be connected to a sea-based charging station in the first end and to the marine vessel in the second end.
Knoll teaches the charging cable is arranged to be connected to a land-based charging station in a first end and to the marine vessel in a second end, or wherein the charging cable is arranged to be connected to a sea-based charging station in the first end and to the marine vessel in the second end (Fig 1; 104, 120, 150; Knoll [0042] teaches charging station 150 may be waterborne or land based; [0082] teaches charging station 150 is connected to watercraft 120 “through cable 104”).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Levander in view of Dieckerhoff with the charging cable is arranged to be connected to a land-based charging station in a first end and to the marine vessel in a second end, or wherein the charging cable is arranged to be connected to a sea-based charging station in the first end and to the marine vessel in the second end as taught by Knoll to supply charging power from a land based or sea based charging station to the marine vessel.
Regarding Claim 5 – Levander in view of Dieckerhoff teaches the charging cable according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the charging cable comprises an outer layer made of a waterproof material.
Knoll teaches the charging cable comprises an outer layer made of a waterproof material (Fig 1; 102; Knoll [0113] teaches the cable 102 can have water resistant properties and may extend below the waterline).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Levander in view of Dieckerhoff with the charging cable comprises an outer layer made of a waterproof material as taught by Knoll to provide water resistance needed for below waterline operation.
Conclusion
/ADITYA SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847