DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is the first Office Action on the merits. Claims 1-19 are currently pending and addressed below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements that were filed on 16 November 2023 and 09 April 2024 are in compliance with 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDSs have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites “the attachment-specific parameter set comprise a…” on line 1, and should be amended to instead recite “the attachment-specific parameter set comprises a…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9-11, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kassube et al. (US 2016/0193916), hereinafter referred to as Kassube, in view of Ebertseder (US 2020/0272153), hereinafter referred to as Ebertseder. Kassube and Ebertseder are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of controlling a harvester machine.
Regarding claim 1, Kassube teaches:
A self-propelled harvester ("FIG. 1 illustrates a perspective view of a machine, generally represented by numeral 100, in accordance with an embodiment of the present disclosure. In the illustration of FIG. 1, the machine 100 is a motor grader. A person of ordinary skill in the art will appreciate that the machine 100 depicted in the accompanied figures is merely exemplary and that the present disclosure may be applied to any number of different types of machines used in construction, transportation, agriculture, and similar industries. For example, the machine 100 may be a wheel harvester, a wheel skidder, a four-wheel drive vehicle, a wheel loader, or any other similar machine." – see at least Kassube: paragraph 0064)
comprising: a drive motor ("The powertrain system 200 includes a power source 202 to provide power to the machine 100 for operational and mobility requirements, and in particular to provide a torque output. Generally, the power source 202 may be mounted on the rear frame 102 of the machine 100. The power source 202 may be an internal combustion engine, an electric motor, power storage device like batteries, a hybrid engine, a turbine, a solar powered engine, or any other suitable power source known in the art." – see at least Kassube: paragraph 0016);
an attachment drive including at least one hydraulic pump configured to drive at least one hydraulic motor ("In one example, the second drivetrain 210 is a hydrostatic drivetrain and includes a hydraulic pump 216 coupled to a set of hydraulic motors 218, through fluid transfer lines 220 and one or more control valves 222. The hydraulic pump 216, whose flow is moderated by the control valve 222, provides the set of hydraulic motors 218 with pressurized fluid to drive the second set of ground engaging members 108." – see at least Kassube: paragraph 0019),
the at least one hydraulic motor configured to drive an attachment positioned on a feed device of the harvester ("For load-engaging operation, the machine 100 includes an implement 110 supported on the front frame 104. The implement 110 may be power adjusted for flattening or smoothing a worksite surface and/or pulling some load along therewith... The input devices may be used for operating and controlling one or more parameters of the machine 100. For example, the input devices may be operable for controlling propulsion of the machine 100 and/or operation of the implement 110." – see at least Kassube: paragraph 0015);
control the at least one hydraulic motor depending on the attachment-specific parameter set so that the at least one hydraulic motor generates an attachment-specific operating torque which is lower than an attachment-specific maximum torque that is specific to the particular attachment to be driven ("Further, in one example, the controller 224 includes lug curves maps 300, example of which is shown in FIG. 3, stored in a non-transitory memory (not shown) of the controller 224. Those of skill in the art sometimes refer to the lug curves maps as torque curves. The lug curves maps 300 define a preset maximum allowed torque value of the power source 202 for a current operating condition of the machine 100, specifically in terms of RPM at the power source output 204. In addition, the lug curves maps 300 also define a maximum power output of the power source 202 for the given RPM at the power source output 204. The lug curves maps 300 represents the maximum torque output that the power source 202 may produce at a given set of operating conditions of the machine 100. In other words, the power source 202 operates within the area under the lug curves maps 300." – see at least Kassube: paragraph 0024) (The examiner notes that while Kassube does not explicitly disclose an attachment-specific parameter set, this limitation is addressed by Ebertseder as set forth in further detail below);
and responsive to detecting a load peak ("The controller 224 also determines the power/torque requirement of the second drivetrain 210 and dynamically adjusts the torque output of the power source 202 to compensate for the increase in demand of the torque output due to the engagement of the second drivetrain 210." – see at least Kassube: paragraph 0027) (The examiner notes that a determined increase in demand of torque output as taught by Kassube corresponds to the claimed load peak),
control the at least one hydraulic motor in order to increase the operating torque generated by the at least one hydraulic motor up to the attachment-specific maximum torque by changing at least one aspect of the harvester ("As discussed, the lug curves maps 300 define the preset value of maximum allowable torque output of the power source 202. The controller 224 of the present disclosure further considers this maximum allowable torque output value, and limits the torque output of the power source 202 up to this torque output value. That is, the controller 224 compares the required torque output as determined to compensate for the engagement of the second drivetrain 210 and the parasitic loads, and the maximum allowable torque output value defined by the lug curves maps 300; and selects the minimum of the two torque output values." – see at least Kassube: paragraph 0028) (The examiner notes that in the system taught by at least the aforementioned cited sections of Kassube, the controller will select a torque output value below the maximum allowable torque as long as the determined required torque is below the maximum allowable torque, and may increase the selected torque output value up to the maximum allowable torque upon determining an increase in required torque (i.e., a load peak)).
Kassube does not explicitly disclose, but Ebertseder teaches:
and a control device configured to: responsive to detecting a particular attachment connected to the harvester, access an attachment-specific parameter set ("An advantageous embodiment of the method provides that at least one operating parameter specific to the working tool is stored in the memory unit and is used by a control device of the working vehicle to operate the working tool. The at least one operating parameter can thus comprise a value for a maximum transmissible torque and/or special hydraulic/control adjustments. Further operating parameters can include the dimensions, such as the working depth, working width, the length, weight or the position of the center of gravity of the working tool." – see at least Ebertseder: paragraph 0033);
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kassube with these above aforementioned teachings from Ebertseder to include a control device configured to, responsive to detecting a particular attachment connected to the harvester, access an attachment-specific parameter set. At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Ebertseder’s method of receiving specific operating data for a respective working tool with Kassube’s harvester powertrain system in order to control the harvester according to the parameter of the specific working tool connected to the harvester (“For this purpose, after establishing a data transfer connection, the control unit can receive, from the sensor unit, specific operating data for the respective working tool, by means of which the working tool or the type of working tool can be identified. The identification of the working tool makes it possible to determine a selection parameter for controlling the transmission control device of the working vehicle, in order to operate the connected working tool with a presetting which is specific to the respective working tool and which can be stored in the transmission control device.” – see at least Ebertseder: paragraph 0046). Doing so would provide the benefit of increasing the safety and efficiency of operation of the harvester according to the specific working tool which is attached to the harvester (“For the efficient and safe operation of the system, it is expedient to take into account the technical requirements and circumstances of the working tool attached thereto. Due to the large number of working tools available on the market, it is often a great challenge for a vehicle driver to obtain knowledge about the relevant information. Acceptance of incorrect information or total lack of information may have adverse effects on the functionality, safety, accuracy or efficiency of the working tool or of the system comprising the working tool and vehicle.” – see at least Ebertseder: paragraph 0004).
Regarding claim 9, Kassube in view of Ebertseder teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Kassube further teaches:
wherein the control device is configured to determine whether the load peak is detected based on the attachment-specific parameter set ("As discussed, the lug curves maps 300 define the preset value of maximum allowable torque output of the power source 202. The controller 224 of the present disclosure further considers this maximum allowable torque output value, and limits the torque output of the power source 202 up to this torque output value. That is, the controller 224 compares the required torque output as determined to compensate for the engagement of the second drivetrain 210 and the parasitic loads, and the maximum allowable torque output value defined by the lug curves maps 300; and selects the minimum of the two torque output values." – see at least Kassube: paragraph 0028) (The examiner notes that while Kassube does not explicitly disclose an attachment-specific parameter set, this limitation is addressed by Ebertseder. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the maximum allowable torque output value as taught by Kassube may be determined using the attachment-specific operating parameters taught by Ebertseder. The relevant teachings and motivations for doing so are set forth in further detail above in the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103).
Regarding claim 10, Kassube in view of Ebertseder teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Kassube further teaches:
and wherein the control device is configured to compare a value of a load pressure with the maximum value specific to the attachment in order to detect the peak load ("The second sensor 228 may determine the pressure drop in the fluid transfer lines 220 as the hydraulic fluid is passed from the hydraulic pump 216 to the hydraulic motors 218, and generate a signal ‘S2’ corresponding to the pressure drop. Such arrangements for determining the pressure drop are widely known in the art and have not been described herein for the brevity of the disclosure... It may be understood that the pressure drop of the hydraulic fluid may be the cause of the parasitic loads and therefore the signal ‘S2’ may be construed as indicative of the parasitic loads caused by the engagement of the second drivetrain 210 with the power source 202, in the machine 100. Alternatively, the second sensor 228 may determine the displacement and/or the discharge pressure of the hydraulic pump 216 to determine the parasitic loads. In some example, the data from the power source sensor 206 may also be used to determine the parasitic loads." – see at least Kassube: paragraph 0023) (The examiner notes that while Kassube does not explicitly disclose a maximum value of load pressure which is specific to the attachment, this limitation is addressed by Ebertseder as set forth in further detail below).
Kassube does not explicitly disclose, but Ebertseder teaches:
wherein the attachment-specific parameter set comprises a maximum value specific to the attachment for a load pressure ("The maximum pressure associated with the maximum permissible torque can thus be selected by the transmission control device from a stored pressure-torque characteristic curve, which is assigned to a specific working tool or working tool type and can be set by means of a proportional valve on a power take-off clutch, whereby only the maximum permissible torque can be transmitted by the power take-off clutch." – see at least Ebertseder: paragraph 0046);
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kassube with these above aforementioned teachings from Ebertseder such that the attachment-specific parameter set comprises a maximum value specific to the attachment for a load pressure. At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Ebertseder’s method of receiving specific operating data for a respective working tool, including a maximum pressure value, with Kassube’s harvester powertrain system in order to adjust control of the harvester according to the specific operating parameters for the respective working tool (“An advantageous embodiment of the method provides that at least one operating parameter specific to the working tool is stored in the memory unit and is used by a control device of the working vehicle to operate the working tool. The at least one operating parameter can thus comprise a value for a maximum transmissible torque and/or special hydraulic/control adjustments.” – see at least Ebertseder: paragraph 0033). Doing so would provide the benefit of increasing the safety and efficiency of operation of the harvester according to the specific working tool which is attached to the harvester (“For the efficient and safe operation of the system, it is expedient to take into account the technical requirements and circumstances of the working tool attached thereto. Due to the large number of working tools available on the market, it is often a great challenge for a vehicle driver to obtain knowledge about the relevant information. Acceptance of incorrect information or total lack of information may have adverse effects on the functionality, safety, accuracy or efficiency of the working tool or of the system comprising the working tool and vehicle.” – see at least Ebertseder: paragraph 0004).
Regarding claim 11, Kassube in view of Ebertseder teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Kassube further teaches:
wherein, responsive to the control device detecting the peak load, the control device is configured to increase a displacement volume of the at least one hydraulic motor ("The hydraulic pump 216 may be a variable displacement, variable delivery, fixed displacement, swash plate or any other suitable pump configuration known in the art... An effective gear ratio of the second drivetrain 210 may be altered by, for example, varying the displacement of the hydraulic pump 216 or changing the resistance of the fluid transfer lines 220. Hydraulic displacement and/or resistance may be varied continuously within the operational limits to provide an infinite number of effective gear ratios." – see at least Kassube: paragraph 0020).
Regarding claim 16, Kassube in view of Ebertseder teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Kassube does not explicitly disclose, but Ebertseder teaches:
wherein the control device is configured to determine attachment-specific operating torque using characteristic curves that are included in the attachment-specific parameter set ("The maximum pressure associated with the maximum permissible torque can thus be selected by the transmission control device from a stored pressure-torque characteristic curve, which is assigned to a specific working tool or working tool type and can be set by means of a proportional valve on a power take-off clutch, whereby only the maximum permissible torque can be transmitted by the power take-off clutch." – see at least Ebertseder: paragraph 0046).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kassube with these above aforementioned teachings from Ebertseder such that the control device is configured to determine attachment-specific operating torque using characteristic curves that are included in the attachment-specific parameter set. At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Ebertseder’s method of using a pressure-torque characteristic curve with Kassube’s harvester powertrain system in order to adjust control of the harvester according to the specific operating parameters for the respective working tool (“An advantageous embodiment of the method provides that at least one operating parameter specific to the working tool is stored in the memory unit and is used by a control device of the working vehicle to operate the working tool. The at least one operating parameter can thus comprise a value for a maximum transmissible torque and/or special hydraulic/control adjustments.” – see at least Ebertseder: paragraph 0033). Doing so would provide the benefit of increasing the safety and efficiency of operation of the harvester according to the specific working tool which is attached to the harvester (“For the efficient and safe operation of the system, it is expedient to take into account the technical requirements and circumstances of the working tool attached thereto. Due to the large number of working tools available on the market, it is often a great challenge for a vehicle driver to obtain knowledge about the relevant information. Acceptance of incorrect information or total lack of information may have adverse effects on the functionality, safety, accuracy or efficiency of the working tool or of the system comprising the working tool and vehicle.” – see at least Ebertseder: paragraph 0004).
Regarding claim 17, Kassube in view of Ebertseder teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Kassube does not explicitly disclose, but Ebertseder teaches:
wherein the control device is configured to operate a coupling device driven by the at least one hydraulic motor and designed as a quick coupling device, to which the attachment is drive-connected for driving ("The working vehicle 1 can be designed as a tractor, a system vehicle (also referred to as a trac vehicle), a device carrier or a self-propelled harvesting machine. The working tool 2 is designed as an attachment, which can be attached to the working vehicle 1 by corresponding receiving means, such as front or rear power lifts on the tractor or an intake duct of a self-propelled combine" – see at least Ebertseder: paragraph 0048);
and wherein the control device is configured to maintain a speed of rotation of the coupling device at a substantially constant speed in at least one of an efficiency mode or a boost mode ("In order to achieve a best possible efficiency in working the field soil 10, a high driving speed is desired. For this purpose, a constant driving speed with which the working vehicle 1 and the working tool 2 arranged thereon move over the field soil 10 can be set by means of the control unit 5." – see at least Ebertseder: paragraph 0056).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kassube with these above aforementioned teachings from Ebertseder such that the control device is configured to operate a coupling device driven by the at least one hydraulic motor and designed as a quick coupling device, to which the attachment is drive-connected for driving, and wherein the control device is configured to maintain a speed of rotation of the coupling device at a substantially constant speed in at least one of an efficiency mode or a boost mode. At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Ebertseder’s method of operating a working tool attached to a harvester with Kassube’s harvester powertrain system in order to operate the harvester and the working tool at a constant operating speed which provides optimal efficiency ("In order to achieve a best possible efficiency in working the field soil 10, a high driving speed is desired. For this purpose, a constant driving speed with which the working vehicle 1 and the working tool 2 arranged thereon move over the field soil 10 can be set by means of the control unit 5." – see at least Ebertseder: paragraph 0056). Doing so would provide the benefit of operating the harvester efficiently according to which working tool out of a set of various possible working tools is currently connected to the harvester (“The respective transmitting unit 24 is coded with a dedicated, unique address, so that a respective working tool 2 connected to the working vehicle 1 is identified by the control unit 5 once the control unit 5 is within range of the sensor unit 14. Specific parameters for various working tools 2 are stored in the control unit 5 or the transmission control device 6 and are retrieved after the identification of the connected working tool 2 and are set before starting the working tool 2. For example, a parameter for a maximum torque that can be transmitted to the working tool 2 can thus be assigned thereto.” – see at least Ebertseder: paragraph 0062).
Claims 2-8, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kassube in view of Ebertseder, further in view of Byttebier (US 2013/0179043), hereinafter referred to as Byttebier’s. Byttebier is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of controlling a harvester machine.
Regarding claim 2, Kassube in view of Ebertseder teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Kassube does not explicitly disclose, but Byttebier teaches:
wherein the control device is configured to change a value of a pivot angle of the at least one hydraulic motor in order for the at least one hydraulic motor to operate up to the attachment-specific maximum torque ("Typically, pump or pumps 26 on a harvester such as harvester 10, will automatically vary in displacement via a variable angle swash plate, in the well known manner. In operation, the pump or pumps will be tasked with providing a certain hydraulic system flow and pressure, and the system controller, e.g., the SCM, will automatically vary the swash plate angle to maintain that flow, the pressure will change according the torque demand." – see at least Byttebier: paragraph 0034) (The examiner notes that the swash plate angle as taught by Byttebier corresponds to the claimed pivot angle).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kassube with these above aforementioned teachings from Byttebier such that the control device is configured to change a value of a pivot angle of the at least one hydraulic motor in order for the at least one hydraulic motor to operate up to the attachment-specific maximum torque. At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Byttebier’s method of varying a swash plate angle with Kassube’s powertrain system for a harvester in order to control the fluid flow in a hydraulic system (“In regard to swash plate angle, if it is determined that swash plate angle is at a maximum value or setting providing maximum flow, to avoid reduction in the performance of the fluid powered systems of the harvester, the engine speed will be automatically increased to increase fluid flow, and automatically reduced when the swash plate angle is reduced.” – see at least Byttebier: paragraph 0041). Doing so would provide the benefit of varying a swash plate angle to provide a desired amount of torque (“Typically, pump or pumps 26 on a harvester such as harvester 10, will automatically vary in displacement via a variable angle swash plate, in the well known manner. In operation, the pump or pumps will be tasked with providing a certain hydraulic system flow and pressure, and the system controller, e.g., the SCM, will automatically vary the swash plate angle to maintain that flow, the pressure will change according the torque demand.” – see at least Byttebier: paragraph 0034).
The examiner notes that Kassube teaches using a swash plate, along with other suitable and well-known methods, for controlling a hydraulic pump ("The hydraulic pump 216 may be a variable displacement, variable delivery, fixed displacement, swash plate or any other suitable pump configuration known in the art... An effective gear ratio of the second drivetrain 210 may be altered by, for example, varying the displacement of the hydraulic pump 216 or changing the resistance of the fluid transfer lines 220. Hydraulic displacement and/or resistance may be varied continuously within the operational limits to provide an infinite number of effective gear ratios." – see at least Kassube: paragraph 0020). Therefore, while Kassube does not explicitly teaching varying a "swash plate angle" or a "pivot angle", Kassube does teach varying a displacement of the hydraulic pump. As set forth above, Byttebier teaches that varying a swashplate angle is a well-known manner of varying the displacement of a hydraulic pump. As such, the methods of Kassube and Byttebier may be readily combined using methods well-known in the art to control a hydraulic system by varying a swashplate angle.
Regarding claim 3, Kassube in view of Ebertseder and Byttebier teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Kassube does not explicitly disclose, but Ebertseder teaches:
wherein the attachment-specific parameter set comprise a load spectrum that is dependent on a type of the particular attachment connected to the harvester ("The maximum pressure associated with the maximum permissible torque can thus be selected by the transmission control device from a stored pressure-torque characteristic curve, which is assigned to a specific working tool or working tool type and can be set by means of a proportional valve on a power take-off clutch, whereby only the maximum permissible torque can be transmitted by the power take-off clutch." – see at least Ebertseder: paragraph 0046);
and an operating speed specific to the particular attachment connected to the harvester ("An advantageous embodiment of the method provides that at least one operating parameter specific to the working tool is stored in the memory unit and is used by a control device of the working vehicle to operate the working tool… Furthermore, preferred hydraulic channel assignment, valve settings, flow rates, timer values or power take-off shaft speeds, power take-off shaft torques or connection dimensions can be stored as operating parameters." – see at least Ebertseder: paragraph 0055) (The examiner notes that the power take-off shaft speed which is stored as an operating parameter specific to the working tool as taught by Ebertseder corresponds to the claimed operating speed specific to the particular attachment);
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kassube with these above aforementioned teachings from Ebertseder such that the attachment-specific parameter set comprise a load spectrum that is dependent on a type of the particular attachment connected to the harvester and an operating speed specific to the particular attachment connected to the harvester. At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Ebertseder’s method of using specific operating data for a respective working tool with Kassube’s harvester powertrain system in order to control the harvester according to the parameter of the specific working tool connected to the harvester (“For this purpose, after establishing a data transfer connection, the control unit can receive, from the sensor unit, specific operating data for the respective working tool, by means of which the working tool or the type of working tool can be identified. The identification of the working tool makes it possible to determine a selection parameter for controlling the transmission control device of the working vehicle, in order to operate the connected working tool with a presetting which is specific to the respective working tool and which can be stored in the transmission control device.” – see at least Ebertseder: paragraph 0046). Doing so would provide the benefit of increasing the safety and efficiency of operation of the harvester according to the specific working tool which is attached to the harvester (“For the efficient and safe operation of the system, it is expedient to take into account the technical requirements and circumstances of the working tool attached thereto. Due to the large number of working tools available on the market, it is often a great challenge for a vehicle driver to obtain knowledge about the relevant information. Acceptance of incorrect information or total lack of information may have adverse effects on the functionality, safety, accuracy or efficiency of the working tool or of the system comprising the working tool and vehicle.” – see at least Ebertseder: paragraph 0004).
Kassube does not explicitly disclose, but Byttebier teaches:
and wherein the control device is configured to automatically operate in one of a plurality of modes responsive to automatically detecting at least one operation aspect of the harvester ("System rules or conditions required for entry into the cruise control mode can be established as required to achieve the desired efficiency. Here, conditions will preferably comprise at least an intermediate throttle value, e.g., about 1800 rpm, as also denoted at block 46, with the FNR control in a forward drive mode or position, as denoted by block 48. As another condition, harvesting system 36 will be required to be in the active harvesting or forward mode. The cruise control mode, denoted by block 50, is then initiated as denoted by block 52, either by increasing throttle T, or using a predetermined input command, such as operation in a predetermined manner of a designated input device such as a button M or the like, located for instance, on the FNR control (FIG. 1)." – see at least Byttebier: paragraph 0037).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kassube with these above aforementioned teachings from Byttebier such that the control device is configured to automatically operate in one of a plurality of modes responsive to automatically detecting at least one operation aspect of the harvester. At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Byttebier’s method of changing an operating mode of a harvester with Kassube’s harvester powertrain system in order to adjust the amount of power delivered to subsystems of the harvester as necessary (“What is disclosed is a manner of power management configured as a cruise control, that efficiently delivers necessary power to systems and subsystems of a harvester in a responsive and efficient manner, particularly when harvesting, adaptable to the power demands of a sugar cane harvester.” – see at least Byttebier: paragraph 0010). Doing so would provide the benefit of changing the operating mode of the harvester appropriately based on a current detected condition of the harvester (“The harvesting and processing systems of a harvester typically include conveyors and choppers that utilize a significant amount of engine torque, but which utilization will vary as a function of several factors, namely, crop density or yield, and cane variety. Occasionally during active harvesting operation, cut crop material will choke or clog elements of the above systems, requiring steps to remove or expel the material causing the choking condition. At other times, operation of the harvester will require substantially less power. For instance, during stationary idling, and travel with the base cutter or cutters or other harvesting apparatus raised and out of contact with the crop. At these times, operation of the engine at a lower speed is typically more efficient.” – see at least Byttebier: paragraphs 0003-0004).
Regarding claim 4, Kassube in view of Ebertseder and Byttebier teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Kassube does not explicitly disclose, but Byttebier teaches:
wherein the control device is configured to automatically determine to operate in one of an efficiency mode or a boost mode ("Referring again in particular to FIG. 2, operation in the cruise control mode can be automatically ceased or discontinued under certain conditions, or by a predetermined operator command such as pressing button M (FIG. 1) twice." – see at least Byttebier: paragraph 0043) (The examiner notes that the cruise control mode as taught by Byttebier corresponds to the claimed efficiency mode);
and wherein responsive to detecting the load peak, the control device is configured to switch from operating in the efficiency mode to the boost mode ("As one of the conditions, in the event of a choke condition in harvesting system 36, the operator or SCM may engage a reversing system of the harvesting system, to reverse movement of cut crop material through apparatus 38 to remove or expel the material causing the choke. When this occurs, the SCM will automatically command the ECM to increase the engine speed to its full throttle value, e.g., 2100 rpm, as denoted by the arrow extending from block 50 to block 80." – see at least Byttebier: paragraph 0043) (The examiner notes that ceasing cruise control mode and increasing the engine speed to its full throttle value as taught by Byttebier corresponds to the claimed switch from operating in the efficiency mode to the boost mode).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kassube with these above aforementioned teachings from Byttebier such that the control device is configured to automatically determine to operate in one of an efficiency mode or a boost mode, and wherein responsive to detecting the load peak, the control device is configured to switch from operating in the efficiency mode to the boost mode. At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Byttebier’s method of changing an operating mode of a harvester with Kassube’s harvester powertrain system in order to adjust the amount of power delivered to subsystems of the harvester as necessary (“What is disclosed is a manner of power management configured as a cruise control, that efficiently delivers necessary power to systems and subsystems of a harvester in a responsive and efficient manner, particularly when harvesting, adaptable to the power demands of a sugar cane harvester.” – see at least Byttebier: paragraph 0010). Doing so would provide the benefit of changing the operating mode of the harvester appropriately based on a current detected condition of the harvester, such as detecting that additional power is needed to expel material which is clogging elements of the harvester system (“The harvesting and processing systems of a harvester typically include conveyors and choppers that utilize a significant amount of engine torque, but which utilization will vary as a function of several factors, namely, crop density or yield, and cane variety. Occasionally during active harvesting operation, cut crop material will choke or clog elements of the above systems, requiring steps to remove or expel the material causing the choking condition. At other times, operation of the harvester will require substantially less power. For instance, during stationary idling, and travel with the base cutter or cutters or other harvesting apparatus raised and out of contact with the crop. At these times, operation of the engine at a lower speed is typically more efficient.” – see at least Byttebier: paragraphs 0003-0004).
Regarding claim 5, Kassube in view of Ebertseder and Byttebier teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Kassube does not explicitly disclose, but Byttebier teaches:
wherein, responsive to detecting the load peak, the control device is configured to switch from operating in the efficiency mode to the boost mode by changing a value of a pivot angle of the at least one hydraulic motor ("Typically, pump or pumps 26 on a harvester such as harvester 10, will automatically vary in displacement via a variable angle swash plate, in the well known manner. In operation, the pump or pumps will be tasked with providing a certain hydraulic system flow and pressure, and the system controller, e.g., the SCM, will automatically vary the swash plate angle to maintain that flow, the pressure will change according the torque demand." – see at least Byttebier: paragraph 0034) (The examiner notes that the swash plate angle as taught by Byttebier corresponds to the claimed pivot angle).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kassube with these above aforementioned teachings from Byttebier such that, responsive to detecting the load peak, the control device is configured to switch from operating in the efficiency mode to the boost mode by changing a value of a pivot angle of the at least one hydraulic motor. At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Byttebier’s method of varying a swash plate angle of a harvester system with Kassube’s harvester powertrain system in order to adjust the amount of power delivered to subsystems of the harvester as necessary (“In regard to swash plate angle, if it is determined that swash plate angle is at a maximum value or setting providing maximum flow, to avoid reduction in the performance of the fluid powered systems of the harvester, the engine speed will be automatically increased to increase fluid flow, and automatically reduced when the swash plate angle is reduced.” – see at least Byttebier: paragraph 0041). Doing so would provide the benefit of changing the amount of power output of the harvester appropriately based on a current detected condition of the harvester, such as detecting that additional power is needed to expel material which is clogging elements of the harvester system (“The harvesting and processing systems of a harvester typically include conveyors and choppers that utilize a significant amount of engine torque, but which utilization will vary as a function of several factors, namely, crop density or yield, and cane variety. Occasionally during active harvesting operation, cut crop material will choke or clog elements of the above systems, requiring steps to remove or expel the material causing the choking condition. At other times, operation of the harvester will require substantially less power. For instance, during stationary idling, and travel with the base cutter or cutters or other harvesting apparatus raised and out of contact with the crop. At these times, operation of the engine at a lower speed is typically more efficient.” – see at least Byttebier: paragraphs 0003-0004).
Regarding claim 6, Kassube in view of Ebertseder and Byttebier teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Kassube further teaches:
wherein, responsive to determining to operate in the efficiency mode, the control device is configured to determine the value of the pivot angle of the at least one hydraulic motor to a preset for the efficiency mode based on a load spectrum and operating speed of the attachment ("Further, in one example, the controller 224 includes lug curves maps 300, example of which is shown in FIG. 3, stored in a non-transitory memory (not shown) of the controller 224. Those of skill in the art sometimes refer to the lug curves maps as torque curves. The lug curves maps 300 define a preset maximum allowed torque value of the power source 202 for a current operating condition of the machine 100, specifically in terms of RPM at the power source output 204. In addition, the lug curves maps 300 also define a maximum power output of the power source 202 for the given RPM at the power source output 204." – see at least Kassube: paragraph 0024) (The examiner notes that as set forth in further detail above in the rejection of claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that controlling a swashplate angle (i.e., a pivot angle) to subsequently control an output of a hydraulic pump is well known in the art, in view of at least the aforementioned teachings from Kassube and Byttebier).
Regarding claim 7, Kassube in view of Ebertseder and Byttebier teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Kassube further teaches:
wherein the at least one hydraulic pump and the at least one hydraulic motor are arranged in a closed hydraulic circuit; wherein the at least one hydraulic pump and the at least one hydraulic motor are connected to one another in a fluid-conducting manner by at least two hydraulic lines ("In closed position of the coupling 214, the machine 100 is operated in All-Wheel Drive (AWD) mode in which the second drivetrain 210 drives the second set of ground engaging members 108 using the torque output from the power source 202. In one example, the second drivetrain 210 is a hydrostatic drivetrain and includes a hydraulic pump 216 coupled to a set of hydraulic motors 218, through fluid transfer lines 220 and one or more control valves 222." – see at least Kassube: paragraph 0019);
further comprising a pressure sensor positioned downstream from the at least one hydraulic pump in each of the at least two hydraulic lines and configured to automatically transmit measurement signals generated by the at least two hydraulic lines to the control device ("The second sensor 228 may determine the pressure drop in the fluid transfer lines 220 as the hydraulic fluid is passed from the hydraulic pump 216 to the hydraulic motors 218, and generate a signal ‘S2’ corresponding to the pressure drop. Such arrangements for determining the pressure drop are widely known in the art and have not been described herein for the brevity of the disclosure." – see at least Kassube: paragraph 0023);
and wherein the control device is configured to automatically evaluate the measurement signals in order to determine whether to switch from operating in the efficiency mode to the boost mode ("It may be understood that the pressure drop of the hydraulic fluid may be the cause of the parasitic loads and therefore the signal ‘S2’ may be construed as indicative of the parasitic loads caused by the engagement of the second drivetrain 210 with the power source 202, in the machine 100. Alternatively, the second sensor 228 may determine the displacement and/or the discharge pressure of the hydraulic pump 216 to determine the parasitic loads. In some example, the data from the power source sensor 206 may also be used to determine the parasitic loads." – see at least Kassube: paragraph 0023).
Regarding claim 8, Kassube in view of Ebertseder and Byttebier teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Kassube further teaches:
further comprising a respective pressure relief valve positioned downstream from the at least one hydraulic pump in each of the at least two hydraulic lines; wherein the respective pressure relief valves are of identical design ("In one example, the second drivetrain 210 is a hydrostatic drivetrain and includes a hydraulic pump 216 coupled to a set of hydraulic motors 218, through fluid transfer lines 220 and one or more control valves 222. The hydraulic pump 216, whose flow is moderated by the control valve 222, provides the set of hydraulic motors 218 with pressurized fluid to drive the second set of ground engaging members 108" – see at least Kassube: paragraph 0019) (The examiner notes that Fig. 2 of Kassube as shown below illustrates two identical control valves 222 (one on each of the fluid transfer lines 220), which corresponds to the claimed pressure relief valves);
and wherein the control device is configured to set one or more values for the respective pressure relief valves in order for the harvester to operate in one of the efficiency mode to the boost mode ("The control valve 222 may include a flow divider which directs the flop/to the individual wheels, in the second set of around engaging members 108, requiring it. The control valve 222 may also include directional flow valves for forward and reverse directions, as well as a “free-wheeling” valve which enable the second set of ground engaging members 108 to remain passive when the first set of ground engaging members 106 are engaged and other situations as needed." – see at least Kassube: paragraph 0019).
Regarding claim 12, Kassube in view of Ebertseder and Byttebier teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Kassube does not explicitly disclose, but Byttebier teaches:
wherein, responsive to the control device determining that the value of the load pressure equals or exceeds the maximum value specific to the attachment, the control device is configured to increase a displacement volume of the at least one hydraulic motor by adjusting a value of a pivot angle ("Typically, pump or pumps 26 on a harvester such as harvester 10, will automatically vary in displacement via a variable angle swash plate, in the well known manner. In operation, the pump or pumps will be tasked with providing a certain hydraulic system flow and pressure, and the system controller, e.g., the SCM, will automatically vary the swash plate angle to maintain that flow, the pressure will change according the torque demand." – see at least Byttebier: paragraph 0034) (The examiner notes that the swash plate angle as taught by Byttebier corresponds to the claimed pivot angle).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kassube with these above aforementioned teachings from Byttebier such that, responsive to the control device determining that the value of the load pressure equals or exceeds the maximum value specific to the attachment, the control device is configured to increase a displacement volume of the at least one hydraulic motor by adjusting a value of a pivot angle. At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Byttebier’s method of varying a swash plate angle of a harvester system with Kassube’s harvester powertrain system in order to adjust the amount of power delivered to subsystems of the harvester as necessary (“In regard to swash plate angle, if it is determined that swash plate angle is at a maximum value or setting providing maximum flow, to avoid reduction in the performance of the fluid powered systems of the harvester, the engine speed will be automatically increased to increase fluid flow, and automatically reduced when the swash plate angle is reduced.” – see at least Byttebier: paragraph 0041). Doing so would provide the benefit of changing the amount of power output of the harvester appropriately based on a current detected condition of the harvester, such as detecting that additional power is needed to expel material which is clogging elements of the harvester system (“The harvesting and processing systems of a harvester typically include conveyors and choppers that utilize a significant amount of engine torque, but which utilization will vary as a function of several factors, namely, crop density or yield, and cane variety. Occasionally during active harvesting operation, cut crop material will choke or clog elements of the above systems, requiring steps to remove or expel the material causing the choking condition. At other times, operation of the harvester will require substantially less power. For instance, during stationary idling, and travel with the base cutter or cutters or other harvesting apparatus raised and out of contact with the crop. At these times, operation of the engine at a lower speed is typically more efficient.” – see at least Byttebier: paragraphs 0003-0004).
The examiner notes that Kassube teaches using a swash plate, along with other suitable and well-known methods, for controlling a hydraulic pump ("The hydraulic pump 216 may be a variable displacement, variable delivery, fixed displacement, swash plate or any other suitable pump configuration known in the art... An effective gear ratio of the second drivetrain 210 may be altered by, for example, varying the displacement of the hydraulic pump 216 or changing the resistance of the fluid transfer lines 220. Hydraulic displacement and/or resistance may be varied continuously within the operational limits to provide an infinite number of effective gear ratios." – see at least Kassube: paragraph 0020). Therefore, while Kassube does not explicitly teaching varying a "swash plate angle" or a "pivot angle", Kassube does teach varying a displacement of the hydraulic pump. As set forth above, Byttebier teaches that varying a swashplate angle is a well-known manner of varying the displacement of a hydraulic pump. As such, the methods of Kassube and Byttebier may be readily combined using methods well-known in the art to control a hydraulic system by varying a swashplate angle.
Regarding claim 13, Kassube in view of Ebertseder and Byttebier teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Kassube does not explicitly disclose, but Byttebier teaches:
wherein the control device is further configured to compare the value of the load pressure with a minimum value for the load pressure specific to the attachment in order to determine whether to modify operation of the harvester ("Associated with base cutter units 30 may be a pressure sensing system (not shown) operable to automatically monitor the hydraulic pressure in base cutter units 30. When the rotary disk cutter 34 encounters increased resistance to cutting, such as due to an encounter with a localized elevation of the ground surface (also a large amount of cane), an increased load is placed on the hydraulic motor 32. This will cause the hydraulic fluid pressure to increase. This may result in an increase in the load on pump or pumps 26 and consequently, increased torque demand on engine 28. To reduce or avoid damaging the cutters and drive trains of base cutter units 30, the pressure sensing system can output a signal to a controller of the chassis height adjustment system 20, which can respond by automatically raising chassis 12 and thus base cutter units 30, to reduce the pressure." – see at least Byttebier: paragraph 0029).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kassube with these above aforementioned teachings from Byttebier such that the control device is further configured to compare the value of the load pressure with a minimum value for the load pressure specific to the attachment in order to determine whether to modify operation of the harvester. At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Byttebier’s method of monitoring load pressure with Kassube’s powertrain system for a harvester in order to control the harvester based on the monitored pressure (“As a non-limiting example, for a sugar cane harvester or other harvester having both propulsion and crop cutting systems that are fluid powered, a parameter or parameters of the base cutter or cutters, chopper and feed rollers position and/or pressure can be used to control the forward speed and so as a consequence are significant or controlling factors in the torque demand.” – see at least Byttebier: paragraph 0016). Doing so would provide the benefit of adjusting operation of the harvester based on a current sensed load demand (“Typically, pump or pumps 26 on a harvester such as harvester 10, will automatically vary in displacement via a variable angle swash plate, in the well known manner. In operation, the pump or pumps will be tasked with providing a certain hydraulic system flow and pressure, and the system controller, e.g., the SCM, will automatically vary the swash plate angle to maintain that flow, the pressure will change according the torque demand. In operation, one or more of the fluid powered systems may have high fluid demand, and one or more may have low fluid demand, such that the resulting pump load on engine 28 can [vary] significantly.” – see at least Byttebier: paragraph 0034).
Regarding claim 14, Kassube in view of Ebertseder and Byttebier teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Kassube does not explicitly disclose, but Byttebier teaches:
wherein, responsive to the control device determining that the value of the load pressure equals or is less than the minimum value specific to the attachment, the control device is configured to reduce the displacement volume of the at least one hydraulic motor by adjusting the pivot angle so that the at least one hydraulic motor generates the attachment-specific operating torque preset for operating in an efficiency mode ("System rules or conditions required for entry into the cruise control mode can be established as required to achieve the desired efficiency… Conditions found to be reliable indicators of engine torque demand include the temperature of the hydraulic fluid (indicative/predictive of cooling load), intake air temperature (same), and one or more operating parameters of pump or pumps 26 (indicator of fluid operated system loads, e.g., propulsion system 16 and base cutter units 30)." – see at least Byttebier: paragraphs 0036-0038) (The examiner notes that as set forth above in the rejection of claim 13 under 35 U.S.C. 103, the one or more operating parameters of a hydraulic pump as taught by Byttebier includes a monitored hydraulic pressure (see at least Byttebier: paragraph 0029)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kassube with these above aforementioned teachings from Byttebier such that responsive to the control device determining that the value of the load pressure equals or is less than the minimum value specific to the attachment, the control device is configured to reduce the displacement volume of the at least one hydraulic motor by adjusting the pivot angle so that the at least one hydraulic motor generates the attachment-specific operating torque preset for operating in an efficiency mode. At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Byttebier’s method of changing an operating mode of a harvester with Kassube’s powertrain system for a harvester in order to automatically operate in an energy-efficient mode when it is determined that the condition requiring additional power output is no longer occurring (“As one of the conditions, in the event of a choke condition in harvesting system 36, the operator or SCM may engage a reversing system of the harvesting system, to reverse movement of cut crop material through apparatus 38 to remove or expel the material causing the choke. When this occurs, the SCM will automatically command the ECM to increase the engine speed to its full throttle value, e.g., 2100 rpm, as denoted by the arrow extending from block 50 to block 80. Then, if the reversing system is again reversed, to continue operation in the normal harvesting manner, operation in the cruise control mode, denoted by block 50 is automatically resumed.” – see at least Byttebier: paragraph 0043). Doing so would provide the benefit of efficiently operating the harvester based on a dynamically sensed load demand (“Also, because the propulsion speed of the harvester is automatically decreased responsive to a determination that the predicted or actual torque demand or usage is or will exceed the torque capacity, and is automatically increased if additional torque is available, engine torque utilization is closely matched to available torque, so that undesirable conditions such as engine bogging and degradation of operating systems including the propulsion and harvesting systems are automatically avoided and fuel efficiency is improved.” – see at least Byttebier: paragraph 0019).
Regarding claim 15, Kassube in view of Ebertseder and Byttebier teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Kassube further teaches:
wherein the control device is configured to control the at least one hydraulic motor to change the displacement volume depending on at least a minimum duration of exceeding the maximum value or being less than the minimum value ("The hydraulic pump 216 may be a variable displacement, variable delivery, fixed displacement, swash plate or any other suitable pump configuration known in the art. The hydraulic pump 216 may convert the torque output of the power source 202 to hydraulic pressure by pressurizing the hydraulic fluid in the fluid transfer lines 220... An effective gear ratio of the second drivetrain 210 may be altered by, for example, varying the displacement of the hydraulic pump 216 or changing the resistance of the fluid transfer lines 220. Hydraulic displacement and/or resistance may be varied continuously within the operational limits to provide an infinite number of effective gear ratios." – see at least Kassube: paragraph 0020).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kassube in view of Ebertseder, further in view of Goering (US 2011/0209452), hereinafter referred to as Goering. Goering is considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of controlling a harvester machine.
Regarding claim 18, Kassube in view of Ebertseder teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Kassube does not explicitly disclose, but Goering teaches:
wherein the control device is configured to maintain the speed of rotation of the coupling device at the substantially constant speed by controlling the at least one hydraulic pump of the attachment drive independently of drive speed of the drive motor and forward speed of the harvester (" A power take off (PTO) 32 provides a drive output independently of the drive wheel speed." – see at least Goering: paragraph 0014).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kassube with these above aforementioned teachings from Goering such that the control device is configured to maintain the speed of rotation of the coupling device at the substantially constant speed by controlling the at least one hydraulic pump of the attachment drive independently of drive speed of the drive motor and forward speed of the harvester. At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Goering’s use of an independent PTO shaft with Kassube’s powertrain system for a harvester in order to operate a working tool of the harvester independently from a drive unit of the harvester (“To provide drive of the fan 62 independently of operation of the row unit drive 50, the fan 62 may be powered from the PTO 32.” – see at least Goering: paragraph 0018). Doing so would provide the benefit of allowing the working tool of the harvester to be operated in a desired manner regardless of the operating status of the drive unit of the harvester (“Alternatively, other types of independent fan drives could be used, including but not limited to a hydraulic drive powered by the PTO 32. The fan 62 therefore can be operated even when the row unit drive 50 is shut down.” – see at least Goering: paragraph 0018).
Regarding claim 19, Kassube in view of Ebertseder and Goering teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated above. Kassube does not explicitly disclose, but Ebertseder teaches:
wherein the harvester is configured to connect with a plurality of attachments ("The respective transmitting unit 24 is coded with a dedicated, unique address, so that a respective working tool 2 connected to the working vehicle 1 is identified by the control unit 5 once the control unit 5 is within range of the sensor unit 14. Specific parameters for various working tools 2 are stored in the control unit 5 or the transmission control device 6 and are retrieved after the identification of the connected working tool 2 and are set before starting the working tool 2." – see at least Ebertseder: paragraph 0062);
wherein each of the plurality of attachments has a corresponding respective attachment-specific parameter set; wherein the control device is configured to access the respective attachment-specific parameter set responsive to determining a respective attachment that is connected to the harvester ("On the basis of the identifier, specific data about the respective working tool can be retrieved in the control unit. The specific data can include, among other things, the type of working tool, movement profiles or operating duration, along with specifications, such as a maximum drive torque, for operating the identified working tool." – see at least Ebertseder: paragraph 0020);
wherein the control device is configured to control the respective attachment according to the respective attachment-specific parameter set accessed in order to operate at an efficient operating point ("For the efficient and safe operation of the system, it is expedient to take into account the technical requirements and circumstances of the working tool attached thereto." – see at least Ebertseder: paragraph 0004);
and wherein the control device is configured to determine the efficient operating point based on an efficiency torque curve specific to the respective attachment ("The maximum pressure associated with the maximum permissible torque can thus be selected by the transmission control device from a stored pressure-torque characteristic curve, which is assigned to a specific working tool or working tool type and can be set by means of a proportional valve on a power take-off clutch, whereby only the maximum permissible torque can be transmitted by the power take-off clutch." – see at least Ebertseder: paragraph 0046).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kassube with these above aforementioned teachings from Ebertseder such that the harvester is configured to connect with a plurality of attachments, wherein each of the plurality of attachments has a corresponding respective attachment-specific parameter set, wherein the control device is configured to access the respective attachment-specific parameter set responsive to determining a respective attachment that is connected to the harvester, wherein the control device is configured to control the respective attachment according to the respective attachment-specific parameter set accessed in order to operate at an efficient operating point, and wherein the control device is configured to determine the efficient operating point based on an efficiency torque curve specific to the respective attachment. At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Ebertseder’s method of using a characteristic curve of a specific working tool with Kassube’s harvester powertrain system in order to adjust control of the harvester according to the specific operating parameters for the respective working tool (“An advantageous embodiment of the method provides that at least one operating parameter specific to the working tool is stored in the memory unit and is used by a control device of the working vehicle to operate the working tool. The at least one operating parameter can thus comprise a value for a maximum transmissible torque and/or special hydraulic/control adjustments.” – see at least Ebertseder: paragraph 0033). Doing so would provide the benefit of increasing the safety and efficiency of operation of the harvester according to the specific working tool which is attached to the harvester (“For the efficient and safe operation of the system, it is expedient to take into account the technical requirements and circumstances of the working tool attached thereto. Due to the large number of working tools available on the market, it is often a great challenge for a vehicle driver to obtain knowledge about the relevant information. Acceptance of incorrect information or total lack of information may have adverse effects on the functionality, safety, accuracy or efficiency of the working tool or of the system comprising the working tool and vehicle.” – see at least Ebertseder: paragraph 0004).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tsukamoto (US 2018/0298586), hereinafter referred to as Tsukamoto, teaches a method of controlling a hydraulic self-propelled harvester system, including varying angles of swash plates (i.e., pivot angles) to adjust the output of hydraulic pumps (see at least Tsukamoto: paragraph 0051).
Pankaj et al. (US 2021/0235621), hereinafter referred to as Pankaj, teaches a method for autonomously operating a harvester, including adjusting a swashplate angle (i.e. a pivot angle) to control the output of a hydraulic pump (see at least Pankaj: paragraph 0052), which provides further evidence that controlling the output of a hydraulic system by varying a pivot angle is well-known by one of ordinary skill in the art.
/D.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/TUAN C TO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667