/HAN YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824 DETAILED ACTION
As per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
In responding to this Office action, the applicant is requested to include specific references (figures, paragraphs, lines, etc.) to the drawings/specification of the present application and/or the cited prior arts that clearly support any amendments/arguments presented in the response, to facilitate consideration of the amendments/arguments.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted on November 16, 2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed December 9, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in this application. Claims 1-20 have been amended. No new matter has been added. No claims have been added.
Applicant’s amendments to the Specification, Drawings, and Claims have overcome some of the objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed August 8, 2025, although inconsistent use of ‘bitline’ vs. ‘bit line’ still remain (See amended claims 5, 7-8, and 11-12).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Amended Claim 1: “…from the first voltage level to a second voltage level that between a ground voltage and the first voltage.” Word omitted. Will be read as, “a second voltage level that is between…,” consistent with Claims 8 and 14.
Amended Claim 4: “to discharge the one of the bitlines of the set of bit lines…” Extra word. Will be read as, “to discharge [[the]] one of the bitlines of the set of bit lines…,” consistent with Claim 17.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-10, and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,798,638 B2 to Xiang Yang, et al. (hereafter Yang) in view of US 6,327,202 B1 to Frankie F. Roohparvar (hereafter Roohparvar).
Regarding Amended Independent Claim 1, Yang discloses a storage system, comprising:
a set of storage elements (Disclosing a set of storage elements: Yang, Figure 4J);
a plurality of bitlines,
each bitline of the plurality of bitlines being associated with a respective storage element of the set of storage elements (A set of bitlines 411-414 associated with a set of respective storage elements: Yang, Figure 4A); and
one or more control circuits (Control circuits 260, 220, and 230: Yang, Figure 2B), the one or more control circuits configured to
during a memory operation performed on the set of storage elements (Disclosing charging bitlines during a programming operation: Yang, col.3:5-6):
charge the plurality of bitlines to a first voltage level (Teaching charging a first set of bitlines to a high voltage, charging a second set of bitlines to a higher voltage, and then further charging the first set of bitlines to match the charge in the second set: Yang, col.3:7-18; Broadest reasonable interpretation does not require the selected and unselected bitlines be charged simultaneously. The limitation is the ‘set of bitlines’, set implying more than one but not necessarily all bitlines, at some point be charged to ‘a high voltage,’ implying a single high voltage. Yang discloses both.).
Yang does not disclose, subsequent to charging the set of bitlines to a high voltage level, discharging select lines associated with the selected storage elements from the first voltage level to a second voltage level that is between a ground voltage and the first voltage. Roohparvar, however, teaches a storage system with a control circuit configured to:
charge the plurality of bitlines to a first voltage level (Charging the plurality of bitlines to a first voltage level Vcc: Roohparvar, col.6:23-24; Note, this is analogous to the same operation in Yang, repeated here to establish Vcc as a ‘first voltage level.’)
discharge a set of bitlines of the plurality of bitlines (Discharging some of the bitlines: Roohparvar, col.6:25-27)
that are associated with selected storage elements of the set of storage elements (Teaching the reduced voltage lines being used to read the selected storage elements: Roohparvar, col.9:29-34)
from the first voltage level to a second voltage level that is between a ground voltage and the first voltage (The discharged bitlines going from first voltage Vcc to second voltage Vcc/2, which is less than Vcc but greater than ground: Roohparvar, col.6:30-32).
Roohparvar teaches this approach improves read operations of non-volatile memory by leveraging the capacitive features of the bitlines (Roohparvar, col.6:3-5). Further, it allows for pre-charge voltage levels to be adjusted after manufacture without costly mask changes and still accounting for manufacturing variations (Roohparvar, col.6:62-67). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of this application, to combine the capacitive charging technique of Roohparvar with the bitline management system of Yang, with a reasonable expectation of success. Both inventions are well known in the field of bitline charge management in non-volatile memory devices and the combination of known inventions with predictable results is obvious and not patentable.
Regarding Amended Claim 2 and the substantially similar limitations of Claims 9 and 15, Yang discloses the storage system of claim 1, wherein the one or more control circuits is further configured to:
in response to the plurality of bitlines reaching the first voltage level, float the plurality of bitlines (Disclosing floating the bitlines upon reaching the first high voltage: Yang, col.27:63-64).
Regarding Amended Claim 3 and the substantially similar limitations of Claims 10 and 16, Yang discloses the storage system of claim 1, wherein the one or more control circuits is further configured to:
select a voltage source associated with the first voltage level (Disclosing a first high voltage source: Yang, col.12:12-13).
Regarding Amended Claim 4 and the substantially similar limitations of Claim 17, Yang and Roohparvar disclose the storage system of claim 1, further comprising:
a set of sense circuits,
each sense circuit of the set of sense circuits being connected to a respective bitline of the plurality of bitlines (Disclosing bitline BL connected to a sense node through transistor 1204: Yang, Figure 12A with col.31:1-3) and including:
a first transistor configured to isolate a sense circuit from the first voltage level (First transistor 1206 capable of isolating the sense circuit through transistor 1204 from first high voltage VDD_SA: Yang, Figure 12A with col.31:1-3); and
a second transistor configured to discharge a respective one of the bitlines of the set of bit lines (Second transistor 1202 capable of discharging the bitline to VSS: Yang, Figure 12A with col.31:1-3)
from the first voltage level to the second voltage level (Discharging the bitline from the first voltage Vcc to the second voltage Vcc/2: Roohparvar, col.6:30-32).
Regarding Amended Claim 5 and the substantially similar limitations of Claim 18, Yang discloses the storage system of claim 3, wherein the one or more control circuits is further configured to:
apply different voltages to gates of second transistors of sense circuits associated with the selected storage elements (Disclosing programming cells via a series of increasing pulse voltages: Yang, col.14:4-6).
Regarding Amended Independent Claim 8, Yang discloses a method of operating a non-volatile semiconductor memory device, the method comprising:
charging a plurality of bitlines to a first voltage level (Disclosing charging bitlines during a programming operation: Yang, col.3:5-6),
each bitline of the plurality of bitlines being associated with a respective storage element of a set of storage elements (A set of bitlines 411-414 associated with a set of respective storage elements: Yang, Figure 4A).
Yang does not disclose, subsequent to charging the set of bitlines to a high voltage level, discharging select lines associated with the selected storage elements from the first voltage level to a second voltage level that is between a ground voltage and the first voltage. Roohparvar, however, teaches a storage system with a control circuit configured to:
charge the plurality of bitlines to a first voltage level (Charging the plurality of bitlines to a first voltage level Vcc: Roohparvar, col.6:23-24; Note, this is analogous to the same operation in Yang, repeated here to establish Vcc as a ‘first voltage level.’)
discharge a set of bitlines of the plurality of bitlines (Discharging some of the bitlines: Roohparvar, col.6:25-27)
that are associated with selected storage elements of the set of storage elements (Teaching the reduced voltage lines being used to read the selected storage elements: Roohparvar, col.9:29-34)
from the first voltage level to a second voltage level that is between a ground voltage and the first voltage (The discharged bitlines going from first voltage Vcc to second voltage Vcc/2, which is less than Vcc but greater than ground: Roohparvar, col.6:30-32).
Roohparvar teaches this approach improves read operations of non-volatile memory by leveraging the capacitive features of the bitlines (Roohparvar, col.6:3-5). Further, it allows for pre-charge voltage levels to be adjusted after manufacture without costly mask changes and still accounting for manufacturing variations (Roohparvar, col.6:62-67). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of this application, to combine the capacitive charging technique of Roohparvar with the bitline management system of Yang, with a reasonable expectation of success. Both inventions are well known in the field of bitline charge management in non-volatile memory devices and the combination of known inventions with predictable results is obvious and not patentable.
Regarding Amended Independent Claim 14, Yang discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a set of storage elements (Disclosing a set of storage elements: Yang, Figure 4J);
a plurality of bitlines,
each bitline of the plurality of bitlines being associated with a respective storage element of the set of storage elements (A set of bitlines 411-414 associated with a set of respective storage elements: Yang, Figure 4A); and
a means for performing a memory operation on the set of storage elements, the means for performing the memory operation on the set of storage elements being configured to:
charge the plurality of bitlines to a first voltage level (Teaching charging a first set of bitlines to a high voltage, charging a second set of bitlines to a higher voltage, and then further charging the first set of bitlines to match the charge in the second set: Yang, col.3:7-18).
Yang does not disclose, subsequent to charging the set of bitlines to a high voltage level, discharging select lines associated with the selected storage elements from the first voltage level to a second voltage level that is between a ground voltage and the first voltage. Roohparvar, however, teaches a storage system with a control circuit configured to:
charge the plurality of bitlines to a first voltage level (Charging the plurality of bitlines to a first voltage level Vcc: Roohparvar, col.6:23-24; Note, this is analogous to the same operation in Yang, repeated here to establish Vcc as a ‘first voltage level.’)
discharge a set of bitlines of the plurality of bitlines (Discharging some of the bitlines: Roohparvar, col.6:25-27)
that are associated with selected storage elements of the set of storage elements (Teaching the reduced voltage lines being used to read the selected storage elements: Roohparvar, col.9:29-34)
from the first voltage level to a second voltage level that is between a ground voltage and the first voltage (The discharged bitlines going from first voltage Vcc to second voltage Vcc/2, which is less than Vcc but greater than ground: Roohparvar, col.6:30-32).
Roohparvar teaches this approach improves read operations of non-volatile memory by leveraging the capacitive features of the bitlines (Roohparvar, col.6:3-5). Further, it allows for pre-charge voltage levels to be adjusted after manufacture without costly mask changes and still accounting for manufacturing variations (Roohparvar, col.6:62-67). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of this application, to combine the capacitive charging technique of Roohparvar with the bitline management system of Yang, with a reasonable expectation of success. Both inventions are well known in the field of bitline charge management in non-volatile memory devices and the combination of known inventions with predictable results is obvious and not patentable.
Claim(s) 6 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,798,638 B2 to Xiang Yang, et al. (hereafter Yang) and US 6,327,202 B1 to Frankie F. Roohparvar (hereafter Roohparvar) in view of US 2010/0195387 A1 to Ki Tae Park (hereafter Park).
Regarding Amended Claim 6 and the substantially similar limitations of Claim 19, Yang discloses the storage system of Claim 3, but fails to disclose the further limitations of Claim 6. Park, however, discloses a memory array as in Claim 3, wherein the one or more control circuits is further configured to:
apply different pulse widths to gates of second transistors of sense circuits associated with the selected storage elements (Disclosing different pulses widths during a programming operation: Park, Figure 5).
Lee discloses adjusting the width of a program pulse, rather than the magnitude, minimizes the effects of program disturbance in neighboring cells (Park, ¶[0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one have ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of this application, to combine the ISPP pulse width scheme of Park with the bitline voltage control system of Yang, with a reasonable expectation of success. Both inventions are well known in the field of memory programming operations and both are intended to minimize the effects of program disturb on neighboring cells, and the combination of known inventions with predictable results is obvious and not patentable.
Claim(s) 7, 11-13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 11,798,638 B2 to Xiang Yang, et al. (hereafter Yang) and US 6,327,202 B1 to Frankie F. Roohparvar (hereafter Roohparvar) in view of US 8,824,229 B2 to Hyun Joo Lee, et al. (hereafter Lee).
Regarding Amended Claim 7 and the substantially similar limitations of Claims 13 and 20, Yang discloses the storage system of Claim 1 but fails to disclose the remaining limitations of Claim 7. Lee, however, discloses a memory storage system as in Claim 1, wherein the one or more control circuits is further configured to:
discharge the bitlines of the set of bitlines for a predetermined discharge period (Disclosing a set time duration D1 and D2 during which time bitline BL is selectively discharged: Lee, Figure 3).
Lee teaches this bitline pre-discharging operation improves efficiency by reducing the time required to fully discharge the bitline (Lee, col.4:22-25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of this application, to combine the efficient pre-discharge operation of Lee with the bitline control system of Yang, with a reasonable expectation of success. Both inventions are well known in the field of bitline voltage management and the combination of known inventions with predictable outcomes is obvious and not patentable.
Regarding Amended Claim 11, Yang discloses the method of claim 8 but fails to disclose the further limitations of Claim 11. Roohparvar discloses discharging the bitline from the first voltage to the second voltage (Discharging the bitline from the first voltage Vcc to the second voltage Vcc/2: Roohparvar, col.6:30-32). Further, Lee discloses a method as in Claim 8, further comprising:
applying different voltages to gates of transistors of sense circuits associated with the selected storage elements, wherein the transistors are configured to discharge the first voltage level from a bitline (Disclosing bitline BL discharge is reliant on separate signals ACT, SIGNAL_A, and BLDIS_E: Lee, col.4:26-33) to the second voltage.
Lee teaches this bitline pre-discharging operation improves efficiency by reducing the time required to fully discharge the bitline (Lee, col.4:22-25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of this application, to combine the efficient pre-discharge operation of Lee with the bitline control system of Yang, with a reasonable expectation of success. Both inventions are well known in the field of bitline voltage management and the combination of known inventions with predictable outcomes is obvious and not patentable.
Regarding Amended Claim 12, Yang discloses the method of claim 8, but fails to disclose the further limitations of Claim 12. Roohparvar discloses discharging the bitline from the first voltage to the second voltage (Discharging the bitline from the first voltage Vcc to the second voltage Vcc/2: Roohparvar, col.6:30-32). Further, Lee discloses a method as in Claim 8, further comprising:
applying different pulse widths to gates of transistors of sense circuits associated with the selected storage elements, wherein the transistors are configured to discharge bitlines of the set of bitlines from the first voltage level to the second voltage level (Disclosing applying a signal to discharge the bitlines during the period before the active ACT signal is enabled: Lee, col.4:15-17).
Lee teaches this bitline pre-discharging operation improves efficiency by reducing the time required to fully discharge the bitline (Lee, col.4:22-25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of this application, to combine the efficient pre-discharge operation of Lee with the bitline control system of Yang, with a reasonable expectation of success. Both inventions are well known in the field of bitline voltage management and the combination of known inventions with predictable outcomes is obvious and not patentable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed with respect to the claims have been fully considered but are thought to be fully addressed by the modified and new grounds of rejections above. Applicant’s response is considered to be a bona fide attempt at a response and is being accepted as a complete response.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KR 20180085419 A to Kim Wan Dong, et al.: Teaching a page buffer that applies positive voltages to all wordlines, floats the wordlines upon reaching the high voltage, and discharges select lines.
US 6781904 B2 to Seung-Keun Lee, et al.: Disclosing a low voltage memory device including high and low voltage transistors in the discharge circuit.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER LANE REECE/Examiner, Art Unit 2824 /HAN YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824