DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” “disclosed”, etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guo et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0407268). Regarding Claim 1, Guo discloses a terminal module (21), comprising: an insulating block (211); a ground terminal (213, 215) fixed to the insulating block, the ground terminal comprising a plurality of first parts (215) and at least one second part (213), each first part comprising a first fixing portion (216) and a first tail portion (217) extending from the first fixing portion, the second part comprising a connecting portion (middle portion of 213) and a plurality of first elastic contact arms (ends of 213) extending integrally from the connecting portion, the connecting portion comprising a contact portion (2117) in contact with the first fixing portion, the connecting portion connecting the plurality of first parts in series; and a plurality of signal terminals (214) fixed to the insulating block, each signal terminal comprising a second fixing portion (216), a second elastic contact arm (218) extending from one end of the second fixing portion, and a second tail portion (219) extending from another end of the second fixing portion; wherein the first elastic contact arm is configured to abut against a first ground conductive pad of a mating element; and the second elastic contact arm is configured to abut against a first signal conductive pad of the mating element.
Regarding Claim 2, Guo discloses a length (Fig. 10) of each second elastic contact arm being greater than a length (Fig. 10) of each first elastic contact arm, and the second elastic contact arm extends beyond the first elastic contact arm.
Regarding Claim 3, Guo discloses two adjacent signal terminals forming a differential pair; along a width direction (Fig. 10) of the terminal module, each of two sides of the differential pair is provided one first part, and each of two sides of the second elastic contact arm of the differential pair is provided with one first elastic contact arm.
Regarding Claim 4, Guo discloses the connecting portion comprising a raised portion (middle portion of 213) avoiding the differential pair; along the width direction of the terminal module, the contact portion is integrally extended from the raised portion; the contact portion is in contact with the first fixing portion along a height direction (Fig. 10) of the terminal module, and the first elastic contact arm is integrally extended from the contact portion.
Regarding Claim 5, Guo discloses along the width direction of the terminal module, a width (Fig. 10) of the first fixing portion is greater than a width (Fig. 10) of the second fixing portion.
Regarding Claim 6, Guo discloses the first tail portion and the second tail portion are configured to be mounted on a circuit board (300); or the first tail portion and the second tail portion are configured to be connected to cables.
Regarding Claim 7, Guo discloses each first part comprising two first tail portions arranged at intervals along a width direction (Fig. 10) of the terminal module; and all of the first tail portions are flush with all of the second tail portions.
Regarding Claim 8, Guo discloses the insulating block defining an opening (Fig. 10) in which the connecting portion is received.
The limitation “configured to” has been given little patentable weight since it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex. parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-20 are allowed.
The references fail to teach, disclose, or suggest, either alone or in combination, the grounding piece comprising a base portion installed on the installation wall, at least one first grounding elastic arm connected to the base portion, and at least one second grounding elastic arm connected to the base portion, when the mating element is inserted into the mating slot and inserted in place, the first grounding elastic arm and the first elastic contact arm are configured to abut against the first ground conductive pad, and the first elastic contact arm is configured to abut against the second grounding elastic arm and in combination with the rest of the limitations of the base and intermediate claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art discloses electrical connectors, similar to Applicant’s claimed invention, having terminal modules with ground and signal terminals.
/EDWIN A. LEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833