DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in People’s Republic of China on 04/20/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the Foreign application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (Claims 1-4 and 12-15) in the reply filed on 3/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-11 and 16-20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Applicant Claim Amendments
Applicant’s amendments received 7/7/2026 have been entered. Applicant has amended claim 1 to substantially include the limitations of claim 2 while deleting recitation of “a first trace part.” It is noted that the amendments presented in claim 1 do not include an underline for all added limitations and a cross through for all deleted limitations. Applicant is reminded to include underlining and cross through for all changes for future claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the first trace part" in the third to last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 is indefinite because of its dependence from claim 1.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the first trace part" in the third to last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 is indefinite because of its dependence from claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0044202 A1), hereafter referred to as Kim, in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. No. 2005/0236629 A1), hereafter referred to as Lee.
As to claim 1, Kim discloses a display panel (fig 1, DD) having a display region (pixel region including PXA) and a non-display region (peripheral region) surrounding the display region (pixel region),
wherein the display panel (DD) comprises a cathode signal trace (UCE) and a cathode layer (EL2), the cathode signal trace is located in the display region (fig 2, UCE in the pixel region between the pixel PXA), the cathode signal trace comprises a plurality of first trace parts (UCE parts [0119]), part of the plurality of first trace parts are arranged at intervals in a first direction ([0119]); and
the cathode layer (EL2) is located at one side of the cathode signal trace (UCE), covers the display region (pixel region of DD), and is electrically connected to the first trace part (UCE; [0078]); and
the cathode signal trace (UCE) is configured to allow an ELVSS signal to be input to the cathode layer (EL2) through the plurality of first trace parts (UCE parts) in the display region (pixel region).
Kim does not disclose part of the plurality of first trace parts are arranged at intervals in a second direction, and the second direction is different from the first direction.
Nonetheless, Lee discloses a similar display device including similar cathode signal trace (figs 5A-B, 520) wherein a first trace part is implemented as a plurality of first trace parts, part of the plurality of first trace parts are arranged at intervals in a first direction (horizontal) and part of the plurality of first trace parts are arranged at intervals in a second direction (vertical), and the second direction is different from the first direction (vertical is different from horizontal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to extend the traces of Kim in both the horizontal and vertical directions as taught by Lee since this will further reduce the voltage drop of the cathode contact to the LEDs by decreasing the resistance of the cathode component of the display device.
As to claim 4, Kim in view of Lee disclose the display panel of claim 1 (paragraphs above).
Kim further discloses an anode layer (fig 2, EL1), a pixel definition layer (PDL), a light emitting layer (EML), and a signal transmitting layer (UCE layer), wherein the anode layer (EL1), the pixel definition layer (PDL), the light emitting layer (EML), and the signal transmitting layer (UCE layer) are all located at a same side of the cathode layer (EL2); the anode layer comprises a plurality of anodes (EL1 for ED-1, ED-2, ED-3), the pixel definition layer (PDL) is disposed on one side of the anode layer (EL1) facing towards the cathode layer (EL2), the pixel definition layer defines a plurality of pixel apertures (openings of PDL), and each of the plurality of pixel apertures extends through the pixel definition layer in a thickness direction of the pixel definition layer and exposes one of the plurality of anodes (openings in PDL expose EL1); the light emitting layer comprises a plurality of display pixels (EML-1, EML-2, EML-3), and each of the plurality of display pixels is disposed in one of the plurality of pixel apertures (apertures of PDL); and the signal transmitting layer (UCE layer) is disposed on a surface of the pixel definition layer (PDL) away from the anode layer (EL1), the signal transmitting layer (UCE layer) comprises the plurality of first trace parts (UCE extending in first direction), two adjacent first trace parts (UCE traces) are respectively located at two opposite sides of at least one anode (EL1), and the cathode layer (EL2) covers the pixel definition layer (PDL), the light emitting layer (EML), and the signal transmitting layer (UCE layer).
Claim(s) 12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Wang et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0407217 A1), hereafter referred to as Wang.
As to claim 12, Kim discloses a display device (fig 1, DD), comprising:
a display panel (DD);
wherein the display panel has a display region (pixel region) and a non-display region (peripheral region) surrounding the display region (pixel region), the display panel comprises a cathode signal trace (UCE) and a cathode layer (EL2), the cathode signal trace is located in the display region (pixel region), the cathode signal trace comprises a plurality of first trace parts (parts of UCE), part of the plurality of first trace parts are arranged at intervals in a first direction (fig 2, parts of UCE); and
the cathode layer (EL2) is located at one side of the cathode signal trace (UCE), covers the display region (pixel region), and is electrically connected to the first trace part (UCE; [0078]); and
the cathode signal trace (UCE) is configured to allow an ELVSS signal to be input to the cathode layer (EL2) through the plurality of first trace parts (UCE parts) in the display region (pixel region).
Kim does not explicitly disclose wherein the display device includes a display terminal comprising a housing and a display panel mounted on the housing.
Nonetheless, Wang discloses a display device including a display terminal comprising a housing and a display panel mounted on the housing ([0131]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the display panel of Kim in a display terminal comprising a housing with the display panel mounted on the housing as taught by Wang since this apparatus increases the functionality of the display by incorporation in a terminal device.
Kim does not disclose part of the plurality of first trace parts are arranged at intervals in a second direction, and the second direction is different from the first direction.
Nonetheless, Wang discloses a similar display device including similar cathode signal trace (fig 3, 2) wherein a first trace part (21) is implemented as a plurality of first trace parts, part of the plurality of first trace parts are arranged at intervals in a first direction (horizontal) and part of the plurality of first trace parts are arranged at intervals in a second direction (vertical), and the second direction is different from the first direction (vertical is different from horizontal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to extend the traces of Kim in both the horizontal and vertical directions as taught by Wang since this will further reduce the voltage drop of the cathode contact to the LEDs by decreasing the resistance of the cathode component of the display device.
As to claim 15, Kim in view of Wang disclose the display terminal of claim 12 (paragraphs above).
Kim further discloses wherein the display panel (fig 2) further comprises: an anode layer (fig 2, EL1), a pixel definition layer (PDL), a light emitting layer (EML), and a signal transmitting layer (UCE layer), wherein the anode layer (EL1), the pixel definition layer (PDL), the light emitting layer (EML), and the signal transmitting layer (UCE layer) are all located at a same side of the cathode layer (EL2); the anode layer comprises a plurality of anodes (EL1 for ED-1, ED-2, ED-3), the pixel definition layer (PDL) is disposed on one side of the anode layer (EL1) facing towards the cathode layer (EL2), the pixel definition layer defines a plurality of pixel apertures (openings of PDL), and each of the plurality of pixel apertures extends through the pixel definition layer in a thickness direction of the pixel definition layer and exposes one of the plurality of anodes (openings in PDL expose EL1); the light emitting layer comprises a plurality of display pixels (EML-1, EML-2, EML-3), and each of the plurality of display pixels is disposed in one of the plurality of pixel apertures (apertures of PDL); and the signal transmitting layer (UCE layer) is disposed on a surface of the pixel definition layer (PDL) away from the anode layer (EL1), the signal transmitting layer (UCE layer) comprises the plurality of first trace parts (UCE extending in first direction), two adjacent first trace parts (UCE traces) are respectively located at two opposite sides of at least one anode (EL1), and the cathode layer (EL2) covers the pixel definition layer (PDL), the light emitting layer (EML), and the signal transmitting layer (UCE layer).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued: “Applicant respectfully submits that, in an existing OLED display panel, an ELVSS signal is usually transmitted to an OLED device cathode in a display region through a frame signal trace” and “Applicant respectfully submits that nowhere does Kim disclose any ELVSS signal, let alone "the cathode signal trace is configured to allow an ELVSS signal to be input to the cathode layer through the plurality of first trace parts in the display region."” and “As such, Kim fails to disclose "the cathode signal trace is configured to allow an ELVSS signal to be input to the cathode layer through the plurality of first trace parts in the display region" as recited in claim 1.”
Examiner disagrees because Kim’s trace UCE includes the same structure such that the direct electrical connection is present between the cathode electrode and the trace. As such, the structure of Kim’s trace has the configuration such that it is configured to allow an ELVSS signal to be directly input to the cathode layer in the display region because the direct electrical connection occurs in the display region.
Applicant argued: “nowhere does Lee mention any ELVSS signal, let alone the auxiliary electrode 520 configured to "allow an ELVSS signal to be input to the cathode layer through the plurality of first trace parts in the display region." Lee, therefore, fails to remedy the deficiencies of Kim.”
Examiner disagrees because Kim, as addressed above, meets this claim limitation.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub. No. 2019/0326376A1 and US Pub. No. 2022/0310740A1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 8/14/2026