Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-15 and 19 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 1/7/2025.
After reviewing Applicant’s arguments, it is determined that the inventions mentioned in Restriction Requirement, filed 1/7/2026, should be examined separately for reasons outlined in Restriction Requirement, filed 1/7/2026, namely distinctness of inventions (as exemplified in independent claims 1 and 16), as well as undue search burden that would be endured if both inventions were examined together (claims 1 and 16 being classified separately, as shown in Restriction Requirement, filed 1/7/2026).
For at least this reason, elected claims 16-18 will be examined and claims 1-15 and 19 will be withdrawn.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the liner oxide layer". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the gate oxide layer". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bobde (20230238440) .
Regarding claim 16, Bobde teaches a trench-gate semiconductor device (please see figure above) comprising
a trench (please see fig. 5J which shows the totality of the two trenches) that when seen in a vertical direction from a top layer side towards a bottom layer side of a single epitaxial (EPI) layer (502; par. 26 teaches 502 being an epi layer),
is divided into a first trench (please see top trench in fig. 5J) having a depth formed from the top layer side towards a first trench bottom and a second trench (please see bottom trench in fig. 5J) having a depth formed from the first trench bottom towards the bottom layer side (please see above),
further comprising a source poly (105; par. 20 teaches 105 is coupled to the source voltage and is made of poly) arranged in the second trench and a gate poly (106; par. 19 teaches a gate made of poly) arranged in the first trench and separated from the source poly by a inter poly oxide layer,
wherein the second trench has a width that is larger than the width of the first trench (please see trench widths in fig. 5J) and the depth of the second trench is larger than the depth of the first trench (par. 33 teaches widening and deepening the bottom trench seen in 5J, when compared to the top trench) and the liner oxide layer (please see 112 rejection above) is thicker than the gate oxide layer (please see 112 rejection above).
Regarding claim 17, Bobde teaches a trench-gate semiconductor device according to claim 16, wherein the first trench width to the second trench width ratio is in a range from 1:1.7 to 1:2 (par. 28, 30 and 33).
Regarding claim 18, Bobde teaches a trench-gate semiconductor device according to claim 16, wherein 18. source poly width to gate poly width ratio is in a range from 0.7:1 to 1.2:1 (par. 28, 30 and 33).
Conclusion
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818