DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of device embodiment 3 as shown in fig. 12 (claims 1-9, 11, 12 readable thereon, claim 10 withdrawn) in the reply filed on 4/9/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The original specification as filed lacks description as to how the first well WL1 is in a floating state because WL1 is directly connected to the substrate material SU.
Claims 5-7, 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “the trench and the dielectric film are disposed in a region under between the two electric fuse cells of the plurality of electric fuse cells next to each other” at lines 3-4. It is unclear as to what is meant by the term “under between” since the trench and dielectric are as a level under the fuse cells, they are not between fuse cells.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lai et al. (PGPub 2015/0001592; hereinafter “Lai”).
Re claim 1: Lai teaches (e.g. figs. 3A,B, 6C) a semiconductor device comprising: a semiconductor substrate (substrate 302; e.g. paragraph 21); a dielectric film (passivation 324; e.g. paragraph 21) disposed on the semiconductor substrate (302); a plurality of electric fuse portions (metal fuse portions 320a, 320b and multiple levels 628, 629 as shown in fig. 6C; e.g. paragraphs 21, 22) disposed on the dielectric film (324); and a first well region (active region 352; e.g. paragraph 21) of a first conductivity type (352 is a doped well of either n or p type as shown in fig. 6c) disposed in the semiconductor substrate (302) and on a surface of the semiconductor substrate (302), wherein the first well region (352) is configured by integrally connecting a well region (region of 352 under 320a, 320b, 628, 629) located under each of the plurality of electric fuse portions (320a, 320b, 628, 629) to each other.
Re claim 2: Lai teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein each of a plurality of electric fuse cells (628, 629) is configured by one of the plurality of electric fuse portions (320a, 320b, 628, 629) and a pair of pad portions (318, 319) connected to both ends of the one of the plurality of electric fuse portions (320a, 320b, 628, 629), and wherein the first well region (352) is disposed in a region under a region sandwiched between two electric fuse cells (628, 629) of the plurality of electric fuse cells next to each other (628, 629 are next to each other).
Re claim 4: Lai teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 2, wherein the semiconductor substrate (302) has a trench (trench for 350; hereinafter “T”), and wherein the dielectric film (isolation region 350; e.g. paragraph 21) fills the trench (T).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lai as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of Allman et al. (US PGPub 2021/0104460; hereinafter “Allman”).
Re claim 8: Lai teaches substantially the entire device as claimed in claim 1 except explicitly teaching wherein each of the plurality of electric fuse portions includes a polysilicon layer and a silicide layer in contact with the polysilicon layer.
Allman teaches (e.g. fig. 3) each of the plurality of electric fuse portions (fuse 21; e.g. paragraph 27) includes a polysilicon layer (polysilicon 221; e.g. paragraph 27) and a silicide layer (silicide 222; e.g. paragraph 27) in contact with the polysilicon layer (221).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, absent unexpected results, to use the fuse structure as taught by Allman in the device of Lai in order to have the predictable result of simplifying manufacture and design using a known structure for fuse devices.
Re claim 9: Lai teaches substantially the entire device as claimed in claim 1 except explicitly teaching the semiconductor device comprising: a substrate region of the second conductivity type is disposed in the semiconductor substrate and forming a pn junction with the first well region.
Allman teaches (e.g. fig. 3) a substrate region (14) of the second conductivity type (14 is P-type; e.g. paragraph 37) is disposed in the semiconductor substrate (14) and forming a pn junction with the first well region (well region 41 is opposite conductivity type as 14; e.g. paragraph 37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing, absent unexpected results, to use the fuse structure as taught by Allman in the device of Lai in order to have the predictable result of using the well region to help contain and electrically isolate cracks from within the fuse structure from the substrate (see paragraph 38 of Allman).
Conclusion
/JESSE Y MIYOSHI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898