DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the amendments filed on 05/27/2026.
Applicant’s amendments filed 05/27/2026 have been fully considered and reviewed by the examiner. The examiner notes the amendment of claims 1 and 16.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/27/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Office action on 02/24/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 28 recites limitation “the coupling layer” that lacks antecedent basis in the claims 17 and 28 (claims 17 and 28 do not recite “a coupling layer”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 16-19, 21-23, 25-27, and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2023/194346 A1 to Palomino et al. (hereinafter Palomino) (the reference US 2021/0373094 by Endres et al. is presented as evidence, hereinafter Endres).
With respect to claim 1, Palomino discloses a magnetic field sensor device (e.g., magnetoresistive vortex sensor) (Palomino, Figs. 5-6, pp. 6-28), comprising:
a tunneling magnetoresistance (TMR) element (e.g., magnetoresistive vortex sensor) comprising a free layer (106, FeCoB/NiFe) (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 14-17), a spacer layer (105, MgO), and a reference layer (104/103/102, FeCoB/Ta/Co/Pt), wherein the free layer (106) comprises:
a vortex layer (106, NiFe) (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 15-16) configured to provide a magnetic vortex; and
a perpendicular layer (106, CoFeB, the interfacial perpendicular anisotropy (PMA) induced between the MgO spacer layer and the FeCoB layer, the PMA is achieved by the use of MgO interlayer at the interface between CoFeB and magnesium oxide, as evidence by Endres, Fig. 3B, ¶0035) (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 15-17) having a magnetic field orientation that is perpendicular to a plane of the vortex layer,
wherein the reference layer (104/103/102, FeCoB/Ta/Co/Pt) comprises an antiferromagnetic material (102), and wherein the device is sensitive to an external magnetic field (e.g., the external magnetic field applied perpendicular to the plane of the magnetic stack) (Palomino, Figs. 5-6, pp. 10, 17).
Regarding claim 2, Palomino discloses the device according to claim 1. Further, Palomino discloses the device, wherein the free layer (106, FeCoB/NiFe) (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 14-17) comprises, in order of increasing distance from the spacer layer (105):
the perpendicular layer (106, FeCoB, the interfacial perpendicular anisotropy induced between the MgO spacer layer and the FeCoB layer) (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 15-16);
a coupling spacer (e.g., non-magnetic Ta layer); and
the vortex layer (106, NiFe layer) (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 15-16).
Regarding claim 3, Palomino discloses the device according to claim 2. Further, Palomino discloses the device, wherein the spacer layer (105) (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 14-15) comprises MgO.
Regarding claim 4, Palomino discloses the device according to claim 2. Further, Palomino discloses the device, wherein the perpendicular layer (106, FeCoB, the interfacial perpendicular anisotropy induced between the MgO spacer layer and the FeCoB layer) (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 15-16) comprises CoFeB.
Regarding claim 6, Palomino discloses the device according to claim 2. Further, Palomino discloses the device, wherein the vortex layer (106, NiFe layer) (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 15-16) comprises NiFe.
Regarding claim 7, Palomino discloses the device according to claim 2. Further, Palomino discloses the device, wherein the magnetic coupling of the vortex layer and the perpendicular layer is configured to maintain the magnetic vortex and to increase a core size of the magnetic vortex (e.g., the vortex core is increased due to vortex confinement) (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 12, 14-16).
Regarding claim 8, Palomino discloses the device according to claim 2. Further, Palomino discloses the device, wherein the perpendicular layer (106, FeCoB, the interfacial perpendicular anisotropy induced between the MgO spacer layer and the FeCoB layer) (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 15-16) comprises a material having anisotropy that is perpendicular to the vortex layer.
With respect to claim 16, Palomino discloses a method (e.g., forming magnetoresistive vortex sensor, see the annotated Fig. 5 above) (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 6-28), comprising:
forming a tunneling magnetoresistance (TMR) element (e.g., magnetoresistive vortex sensor) comprising a free layer (106, FeCoB/NiFe) (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 14-17), a spacer layer (105, MgO), and a reference layer (104/103/102, FeCoB/Ta/Co/Pt), wherein forming the free layer (106) comprises:
forming a vortex layer (106, NiFe) (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 15-16) to provide a forming magnetic vortex; and
forming a perpendicular layer (106, CoFeB, the interfacial perpendicular anisotropy (PMA) induced between the MgO spacer layer and the FeCoB layer, the PMA is achieved by the use of MgO interlayer at the interface between CoFeB and magnesium oxide, as evidence by Endres, ¶0035) (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 15-16) having a magnetic field orientation that is perpendicular to a plane of the vortex layer,
wherein the reference layer (104/103/102, FeCoB/Ta/Co/Pt) comprises an antiferromagnetic material (102), and wherein the device is sensitive to an external magnetic field (e.g., the external magnetic field applied perpendicular to the plane of the magnetic stack) (Palomino, Figs. 5-6, pp. 10, 17).
Regarding claim 17, Palomino discloses the method according to claim 16. Further, Palomino discloses the method, wherein the free layer (106, FeCoB/NiFe) (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 14-17) comprises, in order of increasing distance from the spacer layer (105):
the perpendicular layer (106, FeCoB, the interfacial perpendicular anisotropy induced between the MgO spacer layer and the FeCoB layer) (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 15-16);
a coupling spacer (e.g., non-magnetic Ta layer); and
the vortex layer (106, NiFe layer) (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 15-16).
Regarding claim 18, Palomino discloses the method according to claim 17. Further, Palomino discloses the method, wherein the spacer layer (105) (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 14-15) comprises MgO.
Regarding claim 19, Palomino discloses the method according to claim 17. Further, Palomino discloses the method, wherein the perpendicular layer (106, FeCoB, the interfacial perpendicular anisotropy induced between the MgO spacer layer and the FeCoB layer) (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 15-16) comprises CoFeB.
Regarding claim 21, Palomino discloses the method according to claim 17. Further, Palomino discloses the method, wherein the vortex layer (106, NiFe layer) (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 15-16) comprises NiFe.
Regarding claim 22, Palomino discloses the method according to claim 17. Further, Palomino discloses the method, wherein magnetic coupling of the vortex layer (NiFe) and the perpendicular layer (FeCoB) is configured to maintain the magnetic vortex and to increase a core size of the magnetic vortex (e.g., the vortex core is increased due to vortex confinement in the sensing layer 106) (Palomino, Figs. 4-5, pp. 12, 14-16).
Regarding claim 23, Palomino discloses the method according to claim 17. Further, Palomino discloses the method, wherein the perpendicular layer (106, FeCoB, the interfacial perpendicular anisotropy induced between the MgO spacer layer and the FeCoB layer) (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 15-16) comprises a material (e.g., FeCoB) having anisotropy that is perpendicular to the vortex layer.
Regarding claim 25, Palomino discloses the method according to claim 16. Further, Palomino discloses the method, wherein the spacer layer (105) (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 14-15) comprises MgO.
Regarding claim 26, Palomino discloses the method according to claim 16. Further, Palomino discloses the method, wherein the perpendicular layer comprises CoPt (e.g., alloys such as CoPt provides strong perpendicular magnetic anisotropy (PMA)) (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 15-17).
Regarding claim 27, Palomino discloses the method according to claim 16. Further, Palomino discloses the method, wherein the perpendicular layer comprises one or more of CoPt or CoFeB/MgO (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 15-17).
Regarding claim 29, Palomino discloses the method according to claim 16. Further, Palomino discloses the method, wherein the vortex layer comprises NiFe (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 15-16).
Regarding claim 30, Palomino discloses the method according to claim 16. Further, Palomino discloses the method, wherein the device is configured for in-plane sensing (Palomino, Figs. 5-6, pp. 15-17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 16-19, 21, 25, 27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 116338537 A to Hu et al. (cited in IDS of 09/23/2025, hereinafter Hu) in view of Endres (US 2021/0373094).
With respect to claim 1, Hu discloses a magnetic field sensor device (e.g., magnetoresistive vortex sensor) (Hu, Figs. 5-8, 10-11, pp. 1-12), comprising:
a tunneling magnetoresistance (TMR) element (e.g., magnetoresistive vortex sensor) comprising a free layer (101/102, CoFeB/NiFe) (Hu, Fig. 11, pp. 9-12), a spacer layer (50, MgO), and a reference layer (40, CoFeB), wherein the free layer (101/102) comprises:
a vortex layer (102, NiFe) (Hu, Figs. 5-8, 11, pp. 9-12) configured to provide a magnetic vortex; and
a sensing layer (101, CoFeB) (Hu, Figs. 5-8, 11, pp. 9-12),
wherein the reference layer (40) comprises an antiferromagnetic material (IrMn, pining layer capable of pinning the reference layer) (Hu, Fig. 11, p. 11), and wherein the device is sensitive to an external magnetic field (e.g., the magnetoresistive sensor element is configured to generate an output signal in response to an external magnetic field) (Hu, Figs. 11, pp. 2-11).
Further, Hu does not specifically disclose a perpendicular layer having a magnetic field orientation that is perpendicular to a plane of the vortex layer.
However, Endres teaches forming a magnetoresistive sensor (Endres, Fig. 3B, ¶0004, ¶0035-¶0039, ¶0050-¶0051) comprising the reference layer (10/306/308), a spacer layer (20, MgO), and the free layer (32/34/38), wherein the perpendicular magnetic anisotropy (PMA) is achieved by the use of MgO interlayer at the interface between CoFeB and magnesium oxide (Endres, Fig. 3B, ¶0035, ¶0051), to increase PMA effect and tunnel magnetoresistance (TMR) effect.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Hu by forming the free layer including CoFeB layer having an interface with MgO spacer layer as taught by Endres to have the device comprising: the free layer that comprises: a perpendicular layer having a magnetic field orientation that is perpendicular to a plane of the vortex layer, in order to provide improved magnetoresistive sensor with increased PMA effect and tunnel magnetoresistance (TMR) effect (Endres, ¶0004, ¶0035, ¶0051).
Regarding claim 2, Hu in view of Endres discloses the device according to claim 1. Further, Hu discloses the device, wherein the free layer (10, FeCoB/NiFe) (Hu, Fig. 11, pp. 9-11) comprises, in order of increasing distance from the spacer layer (50):
the perpendicular layer (101, FeCoB, the interfacial perpendicular anisotropy induced between the MgO spacer layer and the FeCoB layer, in view of Endres);
a coupling spacer (e.g., non-magnetic Ta layer) (Hu, Fig. 11, p. 11); and
the vortex layer (102, NiFe layer).
Regarding claim 3, Hu in view of Endres discloses the device according to claim 2. Further, Hu discloses the device, wherein the spacer layer (50) (Hu, Fig. 11, p. 11) comprises MgO.
Regarding claim 4, Hu in view of Endres discloses the device according to claim 2. Further, Hu discloses the device, wherein the perpendicular layer (101, CoFeB, the interfacial perpendicular anisotropy induced between the MgO spacer layer and the FeCoB layer, in view of Endres) comprises CoFeB (Hu, Fig. 11, pp. 9-11).
Regarding claim 6, Hu in view of Endres discloses the device according to claim 2. Further, Hu discloses the device, wherein the vortex layer (102, NiFe layer) (Hu, Fig. 11, pp. 9-11) comprises NiFe.
With respect to claim 16, Hu discloses a method (e.g., forming magnetoresistive vortex sensor) (Hu, Figs. 5-8, 10-11, pp. 1-15), comprising:
forming a tunneling magnetoresistance (TMR) element (e.g., magnetoresistive vortex sensor) comprising a free layer (101/102, CoFeB/NiFe) (Hu, Fig. 11, pp. 9-12), a spacer layer (50, MgO), and a reference layer (40, CoFeB), wherein the free layer (101/102) comprises:
configuring a vortex layer (102, NiFe) (Hu, Figs. 5-8, 11, pp. 9-12) to provide a magnetic vortex; and
forming a sensing layer (101, CoFeB) (Hu, Figs. 5-8, 11, pp. 9-12),
wherein the reference layer (40) comprises an antiferromagnetic material (IrMn, pining layer capable of pinning the reference layer) (Hu, Fig. 11, p. 11), and wherein the device is sensitive to an external magnetic field (e.g., the magnetoresistive sensor element is configured to generate an output signal in response to an external magnetic field) (Hu, Figs. 11, pp. 2-11).
Further, Hu does not specifically disclose forming a perpendicular layer having a magnetic field orientation that is perpendicular to a plane of the vortex layer.
However, Endres teaches forming a magnetoresistive sensor (Endres, Fig. 3B, ¶0004, ¶0035-¶0039, ¶0050-¶0051) comprising the reference layer (10/306/308), a spacer layer (20, MgO), and the free layer (32/34/38), wherein the perpendicular magnetic anisotropy (PMA) is achieved by the use of MgO interlayer at the interface between CoFeB and magnesium oxide (Endres, Fig. 3B, ¶0035, ¶0051), to increase PMA effect and tunnel magnetoresistance (TMR) effect.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Hu by forming the free layer including CoFeB layer having an interface with MgO spacer layer as taught by Endres to have the method comprising: forming the free layer that comprise: forming a perpendicular layer having a magnetic field orientation that is perpendicular to a plane of the vortex layer, in order to provide improved magnetoresistive sensor with increased PMA effect and tunnel magnetoresistance (TMR) effect (Endres, ¶0004, ¶0035, ¶0051).
Regarding claim 17, Hu in view of Endres discloses the method according to claim 16. Further, Hu discloses the method, wherein the free layer (10, FeCoB/NiFe) (Hu, Fig. 11, pp. 9-11) comprises, in order of increasing distance from the spacer layer (50):
the perpendicular layer (101, FeCoB, the interfacial perpendicular anisotropy induced between the MgO spacer layer and the FeCoB layer, in view of Endres);
a coupling spacer (e.g., non-magnetic Ta layer) (Hu, Fig. 11, p. 11); and
the vortex layer (102, NiFe layer).
Regarding claim 18, Hu in view of Endres discloses the method according to claim 17. Further, Hu discloses the method, wherein the spacer layer (50) (Hu, Fig. 11, p. 11) comprises MgO.
Regarding claim 19, Hu in view of Endres discloses the method according to claim 17. Further, Hu discloses the method, wherein the perpendicular layer (101, CoFeB, the interfacial perpendicular anisotropy induced between the MgO spacer layer and the FeCoB layer, in view of Endres) comprises CoFeB (Hu, Fig. 11, pp. 9-11).
Regarding claim 21, Hu in view of Endres discloses the method according to claim 17. Further, Hu discloses the method, wherein the vortex layer (102, NiFe layer) (Hu, Fig. 11, pp. 9-11) comprises NiFe.
Regarding claim 25, Hu in view of Endres discloses the method according to claim 16. Further, Hu discloses the method, wherein the spacer layer (50) (Hu, Fig. 11, p. 11) comprises MgO.
Regarding claim 27, Hu in view of Endres discloses the method according to claim 16. Further, Hu discloses the method, wherein the perpendicular layer (101, CoFeB, the interfacial perpendicular anisotropy induced between the MgO spacer layer and the FeCoB layer, in view of Endres) comprises CoFeB/MgO (Hu, Fig. 11, pp. 9-11).
Regarding claim 29, Hu in view of Endres discloses the method according to claim 16. Further, Hu discloses the method, wherein the vortex layer (102, NiFe layer) (Hu, Fig. 11, pp. 9-11) comprises NiFe.
Claims 5, 20, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2023/194346 A1 to Palomino in view of Satoshi et al. (WO 2013180277, hereinafter Satoshi).
Regarding claim 5, Palomino discloses the device according to claim 2. Further, Palomino does not specifically disclose that the coupling spacer comprises Ru.
However, Satoshi teaches forming an oscillator (Satoshi, Figs. 1-2, 4-5, Abstract, pp.1-5) comprising a free layer (13) (Satoshi, Figs. 4-5, pp. 4-5) having a magnetic-vortex structure including a first free layer (13a), a second free layer (13c), and a coupling spacer layer (13b) between the first free layer (13a) and the second free layer (13c), wherein the coupling spacer layer (13b) comprises non-magnetic material including Ru and a specific thickness to increase coupling strength and to improve the thermal stability.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Palomino by forming the coupling spacer of the magnetic-vortex structure having a specific non-magnetic material and a specific thickness as taught by Satoshi to have the device, wherein the coupling spacer comprises Ru, in order to increase coupling strength and to improve the thermal stability (Satoshi, Abstract, 4-5).
Regarding claim 20, Palomino discloses the method according to claim 17. Further, Palomino does not specifically disclose that the coupling spacer comprises Ru.
However, Satoshi teaches forming an oscillator (Satoshi, Figs. 1-2, 4-5, Abstract, pp.1-5) comprising a free layer (13) (Satoshi, Figs. 4-5, pp. 4-5) having a magnetic-vortex structure including a first free layer (13a), a second free layer (13c), and a coupling spacer layer (13b) between the first free layer (13a) and the second free layer (13c), wherein the coupling spacer layer (13b) comprises non-magnetic material including Ru and a specific thickness to increase coupling strength and to improve the thermal stability.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Palomino by forming the coupling spacer of the magnetic-vortex structure having a specific non-magnetic material and a specific thickness as taught by Satoshi to have the method, wherein the coupling spacer comprises Ru, in order to increase coupling strength and to improve the thermal stability (Satoshi, Abstract, 4-5).
Regarding claim 28, Palomino discloses the method according to claim 17. Further, Palomino does not specifically disclose that the coupling layer comprises Ru.
However, Satoshi teaches forming an oscillator (Satoshi, Figs. 1-2, 4-5, Abstract, pp.1-5) comprising a free layer (13) (Satoshi, Figs. 4-5, pp. 4-5) having a magnetic-vortex structure including a first free layer (13a), a second free layer (13c), and a coupling spacer layer (13b) between the first free layer (13a) and the second free layer (13c), wherein the coupling spacer layer (13b) comprises non-magnetic material including Ru and a specific thickness to increase coupling strength and to improve the thermal stability.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Palomino by forming the coupling spacer of the magnetic-vortex structure having a specific non-magnetic material and a specific thickness as taught by Satoshi to have the method, wherein the coupling layer comprises Ru, in order to increase coupling strength and to improve the thermal stability (Satoshi, Abstract, 4-5).
Claims 9-12, 14-15, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2023/194346 A1 to Palomino in view of Fermon et al. (US 2016/0359103, hereinafter Fermon).
Regarding claim 9, Palomino discloses the device according to claim 1. Further, Palomino does not specifically disclose that the free layer comprises, in order of increasing distance from the spacer layer: the vortex layer; a coupling layer; and the perpendicular layer.
However, Fermon teaches forming a magnetic field sensing element (e.g., TMR) (Fermon, Figs. 4, 10, ¶0145-¶0154, ¶0194-¶0198) comprising a free layer (410) including a first ferromagnetic free layer (410a) comprised of CoFe and a second ferromagnetic free layer (410b) comprised of NiFe, wherein CoFe and NiFe has similar magnetic properties, such that the layers of materials above the first ferromagnetic free layer (410a) and below the first ferromagnetic free layer (410a) are similar but in reversed order (Fermon, Figs. 4 and 10, ¶0154, ¶0194-¶0198) that depends on the material (PtMn or IrMn) of the pinning layer of the reference layer, to provide improved magnetoresistance element with reduced hysteresis behavior, and improved response to the magnetic field (Fermon, ¶0003, ¶0014, ¶0149, ¶0154, ¶0194-¶0196).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Palomino by forming the free layer including a first ferromagnetic free layer and a second ferromagnetic free layer in reverse order as taught by Fermon to have the device, wherein the free layer comprises, in order of increasing distance from the spacer layer: the vortex layer; a coupling layer; and the perpendicular layer, in order to provide improved magnetoresistance element with reduced hysteresis behavior, and improved response to the magnetic field (Fermon, ¶0003, ¶0014, ¶0149, ¶0154, ¶0194-¶0196).
Regarding claim 10, Palomino in view of Fermon discloses the device according to claim 9. Further, Palomino discloses the device, wherein the spacer layer (105) (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 14-15) comprises MgO.
Regarding claim 11, Palomino in view of Fermon discloses the device according to claim 9. Further, Palomino discloses the device, wherein the perpendicular layer comprises CoPt (e.g., alloys such as CoPt provides strong perpendicular magnetic anisotropy (PMA)) (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 15-17).
Regarding claim 12, Palomino in view of Fermon discloses the device according to claim 9. Further, Palomino discloses the device, wherein the perpendicular layer comprises one or more of CoPt or CoFeB/MgO (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 15-17).
Regarding claim 14, Palomino in view of Fermon discloses the device according to claim 9. Further, Palomino discloses the device, wherein the vortex layer comprises NiFe (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 15-16).
Regarding claim 15, Palomino in view of Fermon discloses the device according to claim 9. Further, Palomino discloses the device, wherein the device is configured for in-plane sensing (Palomino, Figs. 5-6, pp. 15-17).
Regarding claim 24, Palomino discloses the method according to claim 16. Further, Palomino does not specifically disclose that the free layer comprises, in order of increasing distance from the spacer layer: the vortex layer; a coupling layer; and the perpendicular layer.
However, Fermon teaches forming a magnetic field sensing element (e.g., TMR) (Fermon, Figs. 4, 10, ¶0145-¶0154, ¶0194-¶0198) comprising a free layer (410) including a first ferromagnetic free layer (410a) comprised of CoFe and a second ferromagnetic free layer (410b) comprised of NiFe, wherein CoFe and NiFe has similar magnetic properties, such that the layers of materials above the first ferromagnetic free layer (410a) and below the first ferromagnetic free layer (410a) are similar but in reversed order (Fermon, Figs. 4 and 10, ¶0154, ¶0194-¶0198) that depends on the material (PtMn or IrMn) of the pinning layer of the reference layer, to provide improved magnetoresistance element with reduced hysteresis behavior, and improved response to the magnetic field (Fermon, ¶0003, ¶0014, ¶0149, ¶0154, ¶0194-¶0196).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Palomino by forming the free layer including a first ferromagnetic free layer and a second ferromagnetic free layer in reverse order as taught by Fermon to have the method, wherein the free layer comprises, in order of increasing distance from the spacer layer: the vortex layer; a coupling layer; and the perpendicular layer, in order to provide improved magnetoresistance element with reduced hysteresis behavior, and improved response to the magnetic field (Fermon, ¶0003, ¶0014, ¶0149, ¶0154, ¶0194-¶0196).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2023/194346 A1 to Palomino in view of Fermon (US 2016/0359103) as applied to claim 9, and further in view of Satoshi (WO 2013180277).
Regarding claim 13, Palomino in view of Fermon discloses the device according to claim 9. Further, Palomino does not specifically disclose that the coupling layer comprises Ru.
However, Satoshi teaches forming an oscillator (Satoshi, Figs. 1-2, 4-5, Abstract, pp.1-5) comprising a free layer (13) (Satoshi, Figs. 4-5, pp. 4-5) having a magnetic-vortex structure including a first free layer (13a), a second free layer (13c), and a coupling spacer layer (13b) between the first free layer (13a) and the second free layer (13c), wherein the coupling spacer layer (13b) comprises non-magnetic material including Ru and a specific thickness to increase coupling strength and to improve the thermal stability.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device of Palomino/Fermon by forming the coupling spacer of the magnetic-vortex structure having a specific non-magnetic material and a specific thickness as taught by Satoshi to have the device, wherein the coupling layer comprises Ru, in order to increase coupling strength and to improve the thermal stability (Satoshi, Abstract, 4-5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention (“Palomino is configured to detect an out-of-plane magnetic field by using a sensing layer that is much thicker relation to a diameter of the layer, i.e., an aspect ratio in the order of 0.2-2 for stabilizing a magnetic vortex,..Palomino is limited to a particular vortex sensing layer aspect ratio to control the vortex”, and “On the other hand, advantageously, according to the invention, the vortex core diameter gets much wider in cylinders of smaller diameters, when the diameter gets closer to the film thickness”, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “an aspect ratio in the order of 0.2-2”, “a particular vortex sensing layer aspect ratio to control the vortex”, and “the vortex core diameter gets much wider in cylinders of smaller diameters, when the diameter gets closer to the film thickness” are not recited in the rejected claims 1 and 16. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant's argument that “Palomino does not teach, suggest, or contemplate a perpendicular layer in the sensing layer, as claimed”, the examiner submits that Palomino discloses a sensing layer (106) including CoFeB material layer having an interface with MgO spacer layer (105). In Palomino, the use of MgO interlayer at the interface between CoFeB and magnesium oxide results in the interfacial perpendicular anisotropy (PMA) induced between the MgO spacer layer and the FeCoB layer (Palomino, Fig. 5, pp. 15-17). It is well-known in the art (e.g., Endres, ¶0035) that the PMA in the CoFeB is achieved by CoFeB/MgO interface. Thus, Palomino discloses a perpendicular layer (CoFeB) of the free layer (106) as claimed. Therefore, the above applicant's argument is not persuasive, and the rejections of claim 1 and claim 16 under 35 USC 102 to Palomino is maintained.
Regarding dependent claims 2-15 and 17-30 which depend on the independent claims 1 and 16, the examiner respectfully submits that the applicant’s arguments with respect to dependent claims are not persuasive for the above reasons, thus, the rejections of the dependent claims are sustained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATALIA A GONDARENKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891