DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1 is currently pending and under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is
directed to one or more judicial exceptions (i.e., product of nature, a law of nature, a
natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Every claimed invention must be examined to determine whether the claimed invention complies with 35 U.S.C. 101, particularly whether the claimed invention falls within a 35 U.S.C. 101 judicial exception of non-patentable subject matter (e.g., an abstract idea, law of nature, natural phenomenon, natural product etc.). Phenomena of nature, though just discovered, natural products, mental processes, and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work. See MPEP 2106. As per the “2019 Revised Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance” (Federal Register Vol. 84, No. 4, available 01-07-2019), claims drawn to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter are further analyzed according to a two-part process to determine if A) the claim(s) is/are “directed to” a judicial exception because the claims(s) recite(s) a judicial exception (i.e. prong one) that is not integrated into a practical application (i.e. prong two) and, if so, if B) the claim(s) provide(s) an inventive concept, i.e. recite(s) additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Subject Matter Eligibility Test for Products and Processes
Step 1 - Is the Claim to a Process, Machine, Manufacture or Composition of Matter? YES
Claim 1 is directed to one of the statutory classes. Claim 1 is directed to a method for biological analysis (Process).
Step 2A, Prong One — Does the Claim Recite an Abstract Idea, Law of Nature, or Natural Phenomenon? YES
Claim 1 recites the abstract idea of receiving, organizing and processing data using mental steps and mathematical concepts/relationships. Claims directed to nothing more than abstract ideas, natural phenomena, and laws of nature are not eligible for patent protection (see MPEP 2106.04). Abstract ideas include certain methods of organizing human activity, and mental processes (including procedures for collecting, observing, determining, evaluating, and organizing information/data (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)). In particular, these abstract ideas include:
• Analysis of biological data (mental process, human mind is capable of receiving/collecting data, observing/evaluating, organizing information and mathematical concepts).
• Determining sequences corresponding to the plurality of tagged polynucleotides using the first and second tag sequences (mental process, human mind is capable of receiving/collecting data, observing/evaluating/determining and organizing information)
• Counting polynucleotides for multiple different polynucleotides derived from said tissue sample (mental process, human mind is capable of receiving/collecting data, observing/evaluating, organizing information and mathematical concepts).
Therefore, the claims recite elements that constitute one or more judicial exceptions.
Step 2A, Prong Two — Does the Claim Recite an Additional Elements that Integrate the Judicial Exception into a Practical Application? NO.
The Supreme Court has long distinguished between principles themselves, which are not patent eligible, and the integration of those principles into practical applications, which are patent eligible. However, absent are any additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exceptions which integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. The “integration into a practical application” requires an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The claim analysis continues with identifying additional elements beyond the judicial exceptions that might evidence integration of the judicial exceptions into a practical application. The steps or elements in addition to the judicial exceptions are: “providing a plurality of polynucleotides derived from a tissue sample”, “generating tagged polynucleotides”, and “sequencing the tagged polynucleotides”, which is not indicative of integration into practical application. These steps, recited at a high level of generality, comprise routine data gathering, which is considered an insignificant extra-solution activity. This data gathering is required for using the judicial exceptions. (See MPEP 2106.05(g)). There are no further/additional steps which applies either the identified judicial exception into practical application. Thus, a careful evaluation of the claim as a whole fails to reveal the practical application of the judicial exception to, e.g., effect an improvement to the functioning of a computer or other technology/technical field, effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical treatment, implement a particular machine that is integral to the claim, or effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or to apply the judicial exception in another meaningful way beyond generally linking its use to a particular technological environment. Accordingly, the claims do not integrate the judicial exception(s) into a practical application and is therefore directed to a judicial exception.
Step 2B - Does the Claim Recite Additional Elements that Amount to Significantly More than the Judicial Exception? NO.
The Supreme Court has identified a number of considerations for determining whether a claim with additional elements amounts to “significantly more” than the judicial exception(s) itself. The claims as a whole are analyzed to determine whether any additional element/step, or combination of additional elements/steps, in addition to the identified judicial exception(s) is sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to “significantly more” than the exception(s).
The eligibility analysis proceeds with identifying any additional elements or limitations, separate from the judicial exceptions, that might potentially render the claims directed to a judicial exception patent eligible. To render the claims patent- eligible, these elements must comprise meaningful limitations that add to or transform the judicial exception to the effect that it amounts to significantly more than the natural correlation or abstract idea itself - i.e. provide an “inventive concept’. The elements that are in addition to the judicial exception comprise: Providing a plurality of polynucleotides derived from a tissue sample, generating tagged polynucleotides and sequencing the tagged polynucleotides. When considered separately and in combination, these elements do not add significantly more to the judicial exception. These steps are well-understood, routine and conventional activities in the field. For example, Nickerson et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2009/0163366 A1, published June 25, 2009), disclose providing a plurality of polynucleotides derived from a tissue sample, generating tagged polynucleotides and sequencing the tagged polynucleotides (see Abstract, Page 2, [0015]-[0016] and Pages 3-4, [0053]-[0055]). The claims recite an abstract idea with additional elements. Because these elements are not inventive concepts, the claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The judicial exception alone cannot provide that inventive concept or practical application (MPEP 2106.05). The claims therefore do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Accordingly, the claims do not qualify as patent-eligible subject matter.
For further information, please see the latest revision of MPEP 2104-2106 {Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Under 35 U.S.C. 101}, including MPEP 2106.04 {Eligibility Step 2A: Whether a Claim is Directed to a Judicial Exception} and 2106.05 {Eligibility Step 2B: Whether a Claim Amounts to Significantly More}, as well as the guidance on Subject Matter Eligibility, including the 2019 Guidance issued Jan. 7, 2019, and the October 2019 Update, provided on the USPTO website at https:/Awww.uspto.gov/patent/laws-and-regulations/examination-policy/subject-matter- eligibility.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Nickerson et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication US 2009/0163366 A1, published June 25, 2009).
Regarding claim 1, Nickerson teaches a method for biological analysis (Page 2, [0015]-[0016]). Nickerson teaches providing a plurality of polynucleotides derived from a tissue sample (Page 2, [0015]-[0016]). Nickerson teaches generating a plurality of tagged polynucleotides from said plurality of polynucleotides and a plurality of oligonucleotide tags (Abstract, Page 1, [0008] and Page 2, [0015]-[0029]). Nickerson teaches a first tag sequence corresponding to a site within said tissue sample (Abstract, Page 1, [0008], Page 2, [0015]-[0029] and Pages 3-4, [0053]-[0056]). Nickerson teaches a second tag sequence distinguishing said tagged polynucleotide from other tagged polynucleotides of the plurality of tagged polynucleotides (Abstract, Page 1, [0008], Page 2, [0015]-[0029] and Pages 3-4, [0053]-[0056]). Nickerson teaches sequencing said plurality of tagged polynucleotides to determine sequences corresponding to the plurality of polynucleotides, including the first tag sequence and the second tag sequence (Abstract, Page 1, [0008], Page 2, [0015]-[0029] and Pages 3-4, [0053]-[0056]). Nickerson teaches using the sequences determined in step (c) to count polynucleotides for multiple different polynucleotides derived from said tissue sample (Abstract, Page 1, [0003]-[0008], Page 2, [0015]-[0029], Page 3, [0034], Pages 3-4, [0053]-[0058], Page 5, [0064]-[0066], Page 6, [0068]-[0074] and Claim 13).
Nickerson teaches each and every limitation of claim 1 and therefore Nickerson anticipates claim 1.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 2 of prior U.S. Patent No. 10,767,233; The independent claims are completely identical.
This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 21 of U.S. Patent No. 8,679,756.
Although the claims at issue are not completely identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the preambles are different, it appears that the steps of the claims are identical, so it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform a method for biological analysis using a first and second tag sequence and/or perform a method for sequencing using a first and second multiplex identifier (MID) using those same steps. Therefore, the claims are not deemed to be patentably distinct.
Claims 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,633,702.
Although the claims at issue are not completely identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the preambles are different, it appears that the steps of the claims are identical, so it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform a method for biological analysis using a first and second tag sequence and/or using a system with a first and second tag sequence using those same steps. Therefore, the claims are not deemed to be patentably distinct.
Claims 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,697,013.
Although the claims at issue are not completely identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the preambles are different, it appears that the steps of the claims are identical, so it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform a method for biological analysis using a first and second tag sequence and/or perform a method for multiplex analysis using a first and second tag sequence using those same steps. Therefore, the claims are not deemed to be patentably distinct.
Claims 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 10,392,662.
Although the claims at issue are not completely identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the preambles are different, it appears that the steps of the claims are identical, so it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform a method for biological analysis using a first and second tag sequence and/or perform a method for multiplex analysis using a composition comprising a first and second tag sequence using those same steps. Therefore, the claims are not deemed to be patentably distinct.
Claims 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,155,981.
Although the claims at issue are not completely identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the preambles are different, it appears that the steps of the claims are identical, so it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform a method for biological analysis using a first and second tag sequence and/or perform a method of analyzing nucleic acids using a multiplex identifier (MID) sequence comprising a first and second tag sequence using those same steps. Therefore, the claims are not deemed to be patentably distinct.
Claims 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,155,981.
Although the claims at issue are not completely identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the preambles are different, it appears that the steps of the claims are identical, so it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform a method for biological analysis using a first and second tag sequence and/or perform a method of analyzing nucleic acids using a multiplex identifier (MID) sequence comprising a first and second tag sequence using those same steps. Therefore, the claims are not deemed to be patentably distinct.
Claims 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,240,197.
Although the claims at issue are not completely identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the preambles are different, it appears that the steps of the claims are identical, so it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform a method for biological analysis using a first and second tag sequence and/or perform a method of counting nucleic acids using a first and second tag sequence using those same steps. Therefore, the claims are not deemed to be patentably distinct.
Claims 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 10,280,459.
Although the claims at issue are not completely identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the preambles are different, it appears that the steps of the claims are identical, so it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform a method for biological analysis using a first and second tag sequence and/or perform a method for multiplexed analysis of nucleic acids using a first and second tag sequence using those same steps. Therefore, the claims are not deemed to be patentably distinct.
Claims 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 10,337,063.
Although the claims at issue are not completely identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because while the preambles are different, it appears that the steps of the claims are identical, so it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform a method for biological analysis using a first and second tag sequence and/or using an array for multiplexed analysis of nucleic acids comprising a first and second tag sequence using those same steps. Therefore, the claims are not deemed to be patentably distinct.
Conclusion
/JESSICA D PARISI/Examiner, Art Unit 1684
/HEATHER CALAMITA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1684