Claim Objections
Claims 2, 6, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities.
• Claim 2, line 5, “the set service data”, should read as “the service data”.
• Claim 6, line 2, “behavior data”, should read as “the behavior data”.
• Claim 6, line 4, “collected behavior data”, should read as “the behavior data”.
• Claim 13, line 2, “behavior data”, should read as “the behavior data”.
• Claim 13, line 4, “the collected behavior data”, should read as “the behavior data”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Step 1: Does the claimed invention fall inside one of the four statutory categories (process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter)? Yes for claims 1-15. Claims 1-7 are drawn to a service apparatus that manages an account of a person with a developmental disorder (i.e., a manufacture). Claims 8-15 are drawn to a method that manages an account of a person with a developmental disorder (i.e., a process).
Step 2A - Prong One: Do the claims recite a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon)? Yes, for claims 1-15.
Claim 1 recites:
A service apparatus comprising: a user account management unit that manages an account of a person with developmental disorder and a guardian of the person with developmental disorder;
a training service information output unit that outputs training service information for improving the daily behavior of the person with developmental disorder;
and a mode switching service unit that processes mode switching between a guardian mode and a person-with-developmental-disorder mode to output the training service information.
These steps amount to a form of mental process and organizing human activity (i.e., an abstract idea) because humans can manage daily activities of a person with a development disorder and provide training for the person with a development disorder to improve daily behavior. The claimed invention discloses “there are several applications that anyone can easily access, but most of the applications focus on improving children's social and social communication skills” [0010].
Independent claim 8 describes steps that are similar to steps of claim 1 (and therefore recite limitations that fall within this subject matter of grouping abstract ideas), and these claims are therefore determined to recite an abstract idea under the same analysis. Dependent claims 2-7 and 9-15 are directed towards mini-tasks (setting service data corresponding to training information, setting a game service based on service data, and setting a reward system based on behavior data, etc.) for a service apparatus that manages an account of a person with a developmental disorder. Each claim amounts to a form of collecting, generating, and analyzing information, and therefore falls within the scope of a method for organizing human activity, (i.e., an abstract idea). As such, the Examiner concludes that claims 2-7 and 9-15 recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A – Prong Two: Do the claims recite additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception? No
In prong two of step 2A, an evaluation is made whether a claim recites any additional element, or combination of additional elements, that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. An “additional element” is an element that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception (i.e., an element/limitation that sets forth an abstract idea is not an additional element). The phrase “integration into a practical application” is defined as requiring an additional element or a combination of additional elements in the claim to apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
The requirement to execute the claimed steps/functions (implicit for claims 1-7 and explicit for claims 8-15) using a computer program and a computer-readable medium is equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer.
Similarly, the limitations of a computer program and a computer-readable medium (implicit for claims 1-7 and explicit for claims 8-15) are recited at a high level of generality and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Use of a computer, processor, memory or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1367, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1639 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Further, the additional limitations beyond the abstract idea identified above, serve merely to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Specifically, they serve to limit the application of the abstract idea to a computerized environment (e.g., identifying and displaying, etc.) performed by a computing device, processor, and memory, etc. This reasoning was demonstrated in Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (Fed. Cir. 2015), where the court determined "an abstract idea does not become nonabstract by limiting the invention to a particular field of use or technological environment, such as the Internet [or] a computer"). These limitations do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (see MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Dependent claims 2-7 and 9-15 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective dependent claims are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective independent claim (i.e., they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim). The Examiner has therefore determined that the additional elements, or combination of additional elements, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Does the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? i.e., Are there any additional elements (features/limitations/step) recited in the claim beyond the abstract idea? No
In step 2B, the claims are analyzed to determine whether any additional element, or combination of additional elements, are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. This analysis is also termed a search for an “inventive concept.” An “inventive concept” is furnished by an element or combination of elements that is recited in the claim in addition to (beyond) the judicial exception, and is sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 27-18, 110 USPQ2d at 1981 (citing Mayo, 566 U.S. at 72-73, 101 USPQ2d at 1966).
As discussed above in “Step 2A – Prong Two”, the identified additional elements in independent claims 1 and 8 and dependent claims 2-7 and 9-15 are equivalent to adding the words “apply it” on a generic computer, and/or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. Therefore, the claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Viewing the additional limitations in combination also shows that they fail to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. When considered as an ordered combination, the additional components of the claims add nothing that is not already present when considered separately, and thus simply append the abstract idea with words equivalent to “apply it” on a generic computer and/or mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a generic computer or/and append the abstract idea with insignificant extra solution activity associated with the implementation of the judicial exception, (e.g., mere data gathering, post-solution activity) and/or simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception.
Dependent claims 2-7 and 9-15 fail to include any additional elements. In other words, each of the limitations/elements recited in respective independent claims are further part of the abstract idea as identified by the Examiner for each respective dependent claim (i.e. they are part of the abstract idea recited in each respective claim). The Examiner has therefore determined that no additional element, or combination of additional claims elements are sufficient to ensure the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea identified above. Therefore, claims 1-15 are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-3, 6-10, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable under KR 20230013853 A (“Yu”) in view of US 20100274576 A1 (“Young”).
In regards to claim 1, Yu discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitation.
A service apparatus comprising: a user account management unit that manages an account of (Description> DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS> paragraph 25, “the management information stores information related to user account management”) a person with developmental disorder (Description> DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS> paragraph 2, “1 shows a personal health record-based developmental disorder management system”) and a guardian of the person with developmental disorder (Description> DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS> paragraph 2, “guardians … are provided from the server”);
a training service information output unit that outputs training service information for improving the daily behavior of the person with developmental disorder (Description> TECHNICAL-FIELD> paragraph 1, “The present invention records the results of cognitive training and physical training of trainees with developmental disabilities”);
and a mode switching service unit that processes mode switching between a guardian mode and a person-with-developmental-disorder mode to output the training service information.
Young discloses
and a mode switching service unit that processes mode switching between a guardian mode and a person-with-developmental-disorder mode to output the training service information ([0071], “each … intervention may be viewed in one of three modes: treatment provider, patient, and review” Examiner notes that a treatment provider can be a guardian and a patient can be a person-with-developmental disorder.).
Yu and Young combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of training individuals with developmental disabilities and managing treatments for patients. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a service apparatus comprising: a user account management unit that manages an account of a person with developmental disorder and a guardian of the person with developmental disorder; a training service information output unit that outputs training service information for improving the daily behavior of the person with developmental disorder, as disclosed by Yu, and a mode switching service unit that processes mode switching between a guardian mode and a person-with-developmental-disorder mode to output the training service information, as disclosed by Young, to provide treatment provider, patient, and review modes for methods and systems that manage treatment for patients. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of treatment provider, patient, and review modes to improve methods that manage treatment for patients.
In regards to claim 2, Yu does not disclose wherein the mode switching service unit comprises: a guardian mode service unit that sets service data corresponding to the training service information in the guardian mode; a person-with-developmental-disorder mode service unit that outputs the training service information configured according to the set service data in the person-with-developmental-disorder mode; and a database unit that stores and updates the service data shared in the guardian mode service unit and the person-with-developmental-disorder mode service unit in real time.
Young discloses
wherein the mode switching service unit comprises: a guardian mode service unit that sets service data corresponding to the training service information in the guardian mode ([0046], “The problem selection section … may enable the treatment provider to select … problems” Examiner notes that setting data includes specifying which records to include or exclude, which is known as problem selection for training.);
a person-with-developmental-disorder mode service unit that outputs the training service information configured according to the set service data in the person-with-developmental-disorder mode ([0065], “The graphs and/or charts may include data entered by the patient … during … the homework intervention”);
and a database unit that stores and updates the service data shared in the guardian mode service unit and the person-with-developmental-disorder mode service unit in ([0043], “information … may be associated with the patient … and stored in a database”) real time ([0124], “the present disclosure teaches real time recording of pertinent data”).
Yu and Young combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of training individuals with developmental disabilities and managing treatments for patients. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a service apparatus comprising: a user account management unit that manages an account of a person with developmental disorder and a guardian of the person with developmental disorder; a training service information output unit that outputs training service information for improving the daily behavior of the person with developmental disorder, as disclosed by Yu, and a mode switching service unit that processes mode switching between a guardian mode and a person-with-developmental-disorder mode to output the training service information, wherein the mode switching service unit comprises: a guardian mode service unit that sets service data corresponding to the training service information in the guardian mode; a person-with-developmental-disorder mode service unit that outputs the training service information configured according to the set service data in the person-with-developmental-disorder mode; and a database unit that stores and updates the service data shared in the guardian mode service unit and the person-with-developmental-disorder mode service unit in real time, as disclosed by Young, to provide treatment provider, patient, and review modes, a problem selection section, graphs and charts, information stored in a database, and real-time recordings for methods and systems that manage treatment for patients. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of treatment provider, patient, and review modes, a problem selection section, graphs and charts, information stored in a database, and real-time recordings to improve methods that manage treatment for patients.
In regards to claim 3, Yu does not disclose wherein the guardian mode service unit comprises: a training service setting unit that sets a training goal for a training service performed by the person with developmental disorder based on the service data.
Young discloses
wherein the guardian mode service unit comprises: a training service setting unit that sets a training goal for a training service performed by the person with developmental disorder based on the service data ([0054], “The treatment provider may also select … one or more treatment goals … The treatment goals section … may include a list of treatment goals”).
Yu and Young combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of training individuals with developmental disabilities and managing treatments for patients. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a service apparatus comprising: a user account management unit that manages an account of a person with developmental disorder and a guardian of the person with developmental disorder; a training service information output unit that outputs training service information for improving the daily behavior of the person with developmental disorder, as disclosed by Yu, and a mode switching service unit that processes mode switching between a guardian mode and a person-with-developmental-disorder mode to output the training service information, wherein the mode switching service unit comprises: a guardian mode service unit that sets service data corresponding to the training service information in the guardian mode; a person-with-developmental-disorder mode service unit that outputs the training service information configured according to the set service data in the person-with-developmental-disorder mode; and a database unit that stores and updates the service data shared in the guardian mode service unit and the person-with-developmental-disorder mode service unit in real time, wherein the guardian mode service unit comprises: a training service setting unit that sets a training goal for a training service performed by the person with developmental disorder based on the service data, as disclosed by Young, to provide treatment provider, patient, and review modes, a problem selection section, graphs and charts, information stored in a database, real-time recordings, and a treatment goals section for methods and systems that manage treatment for patients. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of treatment provider, patient, and review modes, a problem selection section, graphs and charts, information stored in a database, real-time recordings, and a treatment goals section to improve methods that manage treatment for patients.
In regards to claim 6, Yu discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitation.
wherein the guardian mode service unit comprises: an evaluation recording unit that records, when behavior data of the person with developmental disorder is input from the guardian in response to the output of the training service information, collected behavior data;
and a training result reporting unit that calculates and (Description> DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS> paragraph 38, “In the cognitive and physical capacity calculation step …, the trainee's cognitive capacity is calculated”) reports evaluation data based on the behavior data recorded in the evaluation recording unit (Description> DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS> paragraph 21, “The server … generates a report on the trainee … generated by the manager”).
Young discloses
wherein the guardian mode service unit comprises: an evaluation recording unit that records, when behavior data of the person with developmental disorder is input from the guardian in response to the output of the training service information, collected behavior data ([0073], “The recording section … may enable the patient to access … recorded audio-visual media … and recording features that enable the patient to monitor and record symptoms, responses to the intervention, behaviors, … and/or the like”)
Yu and Young combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of training individuals with developmental disabilities and managing treatments for patients. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a service apparatus comprising: a user account management unit that manages an account of a person with developmental disorder and a guardian of the person with developmental disorder; a training service information output unit that outputs training service information for improving the daily behavior of the person with developmental disorder, and a training result reporting unit that calculates and reports evaluation data based on the behavior data recorded in the evaluation recording unit, as disclosed by Yu, and a mode switching service unit that processes mode switching between a guardian mode and a person-with-developmental-disorder mode to output the training service information, wherein the mode switching service unit comprises: a guardian mode service unit that sets service data corresponding to the training service information in the guardian mode; a person-with-developmental-disorder mode service unit that outputs the training service information configured according to the set service data in the person-with-developmental-disorder mode; and a database unit that stores and updates the service data shared in the guardian mode service unit and the person-with-developmental-disorder mode service unit in real time, wherein the guardian mode service unit comprises: an evaluation recording unit that records, when behavior data of the person with developmental disorder is input from the guardian in response to the output of the training service information, collected behavior data; as disclosed by Young, to provide treatment provider, patient, and review modes, a problem selection section, graphs and charts, information stored in a database, real-time recordings, and a recording section for methods and systems that manage treatment for patients. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of treatment provider, patient, and review modes, a problem selection section, graphs and charts, information stored in a database, real-time recordings, and a recording section to improve methods that manage treatment for patients.
In regards to claim 7, Yu discloses
wherein the person-with-developmental-disorder mode service unit comprises: a training character setting unit that sets a training character reflecting the service data (Description> DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS> paragraph 22, “a table to record information is defined … and the trainee … reports pain during training”);
and a training service providing unit that reflects the set training character in video content of the training service information to induce the person with developmental disorder to follow the training character of the training service information (Description> DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS> paragraph 34, “In the content implementation step …, a description of the selected content and a test video of a task to be performed by the trainee … are played”).
In regards to claim 8, Yu discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitation.
A method of operating a service apparatus, the method comprising: a user account management step of managing accounts of (Description> DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS> paragraph 25, “the management information stores information related to user account management”) a person with developmental disorder (Description> DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS> paragraph 2, “1 shows a personal health record-based developmental disorder management system”) and a guardian of the person with developmental disorder (Description> DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS> paragraph 2, “guardians … are provided from the server”);
a training service information output step of outputting training service information for improving the daily behavior of the person with developmental disorder (Description> TECHNICAL-FIELD> paragraph 1, “The present invention records the results of cognitive training and physical training of trainees with developmental disabilities”);
and a mode switching service step of processing mode switching between a guardian mode and a person-with-developmental-disorder mode to output the training service information.
Young discloses
and a mode switching service step of processing mode switching between a guardian mode and a person-with-developmental-disorder mode to output the training service information ([0071], “each … intervention may be viewed in one of three modes: treatment provider, patient, and review” Examiner notes that a treatment provider can be a guardian and a patient can be a person-with-developmental disorder.).
Yu and Young combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of training individuals with developmental disabilities and managing treatments for patients. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a method of operating a service apparatus, the method comprising: a user account management step of managing accounts of a person with developmental disorder and a guardian of the person with developmental disorder; a training service information output step of outputting training service information for improving the daily behavior of the person with developmental disorder, as disclosed by Yu, and a mode switching service step of processing mode switching between a guardian mode and a person-with-developmental-disorder mode to output the training service information, as disclosed by Young, to provide treatment provider, patient, and review modes for methods and systems that manage treatment for patients. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of treatment provider, patient, and review modes to improve methods that manage treatment for patients.
In regards to claim 9, Yu does not disclose wherein the mode switching service step comprises: a guardian mode service step of setting service data corresponding to the training service information in the guardian mode; a person-with-developmental-disorder mode service step of outputting the training service information configured according to the set service data in the person-with-developmental-disorder mode; and a step of storing and updating the service data shared in the guardian mode service unit and the person-with-developmental-disorder mode service unit in real time.
Young discloses
wherein the mode switching service step comprises: a guardian mode service step of setting service data corresponding to the training service information in the guardian mode ([0046], “The problem selection section … may enable the treatment provider to select … problems” Examiner notes that setting data includes specifying which records to include or exclude, which is known as problem selection for training.);
a person-with-developmental-disorder mode service step of outputting the training service information configured according to the set service data in the person-with-developmental-disorder mode ([0065], “The graphs and/or charts may include data entered by the patient … during … the homework intervention”);
and a step of storing and updating the service data shared in the guardian mode service unit and the person-with-developmental-disorder mode service unit in ([0043], “information … may be associated with the patient … and stored in a database”) real time ([0124], “the present disclosure teaches real time recording of pertinent data”).
Yu and Young combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of training individuals with developmental disabilities and managing treatments for patients. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a method of operating a service apparatus, the method comprising: a user account management step of managing accounts of a person with developmental disorder and a guardian of the person with developmental disorder; a training service information output step of outputting training service information for improving the daily behavior of the person with developmental disorder, as disclosed by Yu, and a mode switching service step of processing mode switching between a guardian mode and a person-with-developmental-disorder mode to output the training service information, wherein the mode switching service step comprises: a guardian mode service step of setting service data corresponding to the training service information in the guardian mode;
a person-with-developmental-disorder mode service step of outputting the training service information configured according to the set service data in the person-with-developmental-disorder mode; and a step of storing and updating the service data shared in the guardian mode service unit and the person-with-developmental-disorder mode service unit in real time, as disclosed by Young, to provide treatment provider, patient, and review modes for methods and systems that manage treatment for patients. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of treatment provider, patient, and review modes to improve methods that manage treatment for patients.
In regards to claim 10, Yu does not disclose wherein the guardian mode service step comprises: a training service setting step of setting a training goal for a training service, step by step, performed by the person with developmental disorder based on the service data.
Young discloses
wherein the guardian mode service step comprises: a training service setting step of setting a training goal for a training service, step by step, performed by the person with developmental disorder based on the service data ([0054], “The treatment provider may also select … one or more treatment goals … The treatment goals section … may include a list of treatment goals”).
Yu and Young combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of training individuals with developmental disabilities and managing treatments for patients. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a method of operating a service apparatus, the method comprising: a user account management step of managing accounts of a person with developmental disorder and a guardian of the person with developmental disorder; a training service information output step of outputting training service information for improving the daily behavior of the person with developmental disorder, as disclosed by Yu, and a mode switching service step of processing mode switching between a guardian mode and a person-with-developmental-disorder mode to output the training service information, wherein the mode switching service step comprises: a guardian mode service step of setting service data corresponding to the training service information in the guardian mode;
a person-with-developmental-disorder mode service step of outputting the training service information configured according to the set service data in the person-with-developmental-disorder mode; and a step of storing and updating the service data shared in the guardian mode service unit and the person-with-developmental-disorder mode service unit in real time, wherein the guardian mode service step comprises: a training service setting step of setting a training goal for a training service, step by step, performed by the person with developmental disorder based on the service data, as disclosed by Young, to provide treatment provider, patient, and review modes for methods and systems that manage treatment for patients. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of treatment provider, patient, and review modes to improve methods that manage treatment for patients.
In regards to claim 13, Yu discloses the following limitations with the exception of the underlined limitation.
wherein the guardian mode service step comprises: an evaluation recording step of recording, when behavior data of the person with developmental disorder is input from the guardian in response to the output of the training service information, the collected behavior data;
and a training result reporting step of calculating (Description> DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS> paragraph 38, “In the cognitive and physical capacity calculation step …, the trainee's cognitive capacity is calculated”) and reporting evaluation data based on the behavior data recorded in the evaluation recording unit (Description> DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS> paragraph 21, “The server … generates a report on the trainee … generated by the manager”).
Young discloses
wherein the guardian mode service step comprises: an evaluation recording step of recording, when behavior data of the person with developmental disorder is input from the guardian in response to the output of the training service information, the collected behavior data ([0073], “The recording section … may enable the patient to access … recorded audio-visual media … and recording features that enable the patient to monitor and record symptoms, responses to the intervention, behaviors, … and/or the like”)
Yu and Young combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of training individuals with developmental disabilities and managing treatments for patients. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a method of operating a service apparatus, the method comprising: a user account management step of managing accounts of a person with developmental disorder and a guardian of the person with developmental disorder; a training service information output step of outputting training service information for improving the daily behavior of the person with developmental disorder, and a training result reporting step of calculating and reporting evaluation data based on the behavior data recorded in the evaluation recording unit, as disclosed by Yu, and a mode switching service step of processing mode switching between a guardian mode and a person-with-developmental-disorder mode to output the training service information, wherein the mode switching service step comprises: a guardian mode service step of setting service data corresponding to the training service information in the guardian mode;
a person-with-developmental-disorder mode service step of outputting the training service information configured according to the set service data in the person-with-developmental-disorder mode; and a step of storing and updating the service data shared in the guardian mode service unit and the person-with-developmental-disorder mode service unit in real time, wherein the guardian mode service step comprises: an evaluation recording step of recording, when behavior data of the person with developmental disorder is input from the guardian in response to the output of the training service information, the collected behavior data, as disclosed by Young, to provide treatment provider, patient, and review modes for methods and systems that manage treatment for patients. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of treatment provider, patient, and review modes to improve methods that manage treatment for patients.
In regards to claim 14, Yu discloses
wherein the person-with-developmental-disorder mode service step comprises: a training character setting step of setting a training character reflecting the service data (Description> DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS> paragraph 22, “a table to record information is defined … and the trainee … reports pain during training”);
and a training service providing step of reflecting the set training character in video content of the training service information to induce the person with developmental disorder to follow the training character of the training service information (Description> DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS> paragraph 34, “In the content implementation step …, a description of the selected content and a test video of a task to be performed by the trainee … are played”).
In regards to claim 15, Yu does not disclose a computer program stored in a computer-readable medium for executing the method according to claim 8 on a computer.
Young discloses
a computer program stored in a computer-readable medium for executing the method according to claim 8 on a computer ([0113], “a computer network may include a central computer system …, having one or more processors …, for implementing a database storage and retrieval system”).
Yu and Young combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of training individuals with developmental disabilities and managing treatments for patients. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a method of operating a service apparatus, the method comprising: a user account management step of managing accounts of a person with developmental disorder and a guardian of the person with developmental disorder; a training service information output step of outputting training service information for improving the daily behavior of the person with developmental disorder, as disclosed by Yu, and a mode switching service step of processing mode switching between a guardian mode and a person-with-developmental-disorder mode to output the training service information, a computer program stored in a computer-readable medium for executing the method on a computer, as disclosed by Young, to provide treatment provider, patient, and review modes and a computer network for methods and systems that manage treatment for patients. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of treatment provider, patient, and review modes and a computer network to improve methods that manage treatment for patients.
Claims 4-5 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable under Yu in view of Young and US 20200118686 A1 (“Jooste”).
In regards to claim 4, Yu does not disclose wherein the guardian mode service unit comprises: a game service setting unit that sets a game service performed by the person with developmental disorder based on the service data.
Jooste discloses
wherein the guardian mode service unit comprises: a game service setting unit that sets a game service performed by the person with developmental disorder based on the service data ([0264], “the computerized element includes … gameplay”).
Yu and Jooste combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of training individuals with developmental disabilities and managing behavior assessment data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a service apparatus comprising: a user account management unit that manages an account of a person with developmental disorder and a guardian of the person with developmental disorder; a training service information output unit that outputs training service information for improving the daily behavior of the person with developmental disorder, as disclosed by Yu, wherein the guardian mode service unit comprises: a game service setting unit that sets a game service performed by the person with developmental disorder based on the service data, as disclosed by Jooste, to provide gameplay for computer-implemented methods and systems that manage the collection of and access to behavior assessment data. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of gameplay to improve computer-implemented methods and systems that manage the collection of and access to behavior assessment data.
In regards to claim 5, Yu does not disclose wherein the guardian mode service unit comprises: a reward system setting unit that pre-sets, when behavior data of the person with developmental disorder is input from the guardian in response to the output of the training service information, reward data to be provided to the person with developmental disorder based on the behavior data.
Jooste discloses
wherein the guardian mode service unit comprises: a reward system setting unit that pre-sets ([0268], “the computerized element includes … a reward”)
Yu and Jooste combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of training individuals with developmental disabilities and managing behavior assessment data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a service apparatus comprising: a user account management unit that manages an account of a person with developmental disorder and a guardian of the person with developmental disorder; a training service information output unit that outputs training service information for improving the daily behavior of the person with developmental disorder, as disclosed by Yu, wherein the guardian mode service unit comprises: a reward system setting unit that pre-sets, as disclosed by Jooste, to provide a reward for computer-implemented methods and systems that manage the collection of and access to behavior assessment data. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a reward to improve computer-implemented methods and systems that manage the collection of and access to behavior assessment data.
Young discloses
when behavior data of the person with developmental disorder is input from the guardian in response to the output of the training service information, reward data to be provided to the person with developmental disorder based on the behavior data ([0054], “The treatment provider may … select … treatment goals for the patient based on … behavioral …goals”).
Yu and Young combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of training individuals with developmental disabilities and managing treatments for patients. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a service apparatus comprising: a user account management unit that manages an account of a person with developmental disorder and a guardian of the person with developmental disorder; a training service information output unit that outputs training service information for improving the daily behavior of the person with developmental disorder, as disclosed by Yu, and a mode switching service unit that processes mode switching between a guardian mode and a person-with-developmental-disorder mode to output the training service information, wherein the mode switching service unit comprises: a guardian mode service unit that sets service data corresponding to the training service information in the guardian mode; a person-with-developmental-disorder mode service unit that outputs the training service information configured according to the set service data in the person-with-developmental-disorder mode; and a database unit that stores and updates the service data shared in the guardian mode service unit and the person-with-developmental-disorder mode service unit in real time, when behavior data of the person with developmental disorder is input from the guardian in response to the output of the training service information, reward data to be provided to the person with developmental disorder based on the behavior data, as disclosed by Young, to provide treatment provider, patient, and review modes, a problem selection section, graphs and charts, information stored in a database, real-time recordings, and treatment goals for methods and systems that manage treatment for patients. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of treatment provider, patient, and review modes, a problem selection section, graphs and charts, information stored in a database, real-time recordings, and treatment goals to improve methods that manage treatment for patients.
In regards to claim 11, Yu does not disclose wherein the guardian mode service step comprises: a game service setting step of setting a game service performed by the person with developmental disorder based on the service data.
Jooste discloses
wherein the guardian mode service step comprises: a game service setting step of setting a game service performed by the person with developmental disorder based on the service data ([0264], “the computerized element includes … gameplay”).
Yu and Jooste combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of training individuals with developmental disabilities and managing behavior assessment data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a method of operating a service apparatus, the method comprising: a user account management step of managing accounts of a person with developmental disorder and a guardian of the person with developmental disorder; a training service information output step of outputting training service information for improving the daily behavior of the person with developmental disorder, as disclosed by Yu, wherein the guardian mode service step comprises: a game service setting step of setting a game service performed by the person with developmental disorder based on the service data, as disclosed by Jooste, to provide gameplay for computer-implemented methods and systems that manage the collection of and access to behavior assessment data. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of gameplay to improve computer-implemented methods and systems that manage the collection of and access to behavior assessment data.
In regards to claim 12, Yu does not disclose wherein the guardian mode service step comprises: a reward system setting step of pre-setting, when behavior data of the person with developmental disorder is input from the guardian in response to the output of the training service information, reward data to be provided to the person with developmental disorder based on the behavior data.
Jooste discloses
wherein the guardian mode service step comprises: a reward system setting step of pre-setting ([0268], “the computerized element includes … a reward”)
Yu and Jooste combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of training individuals with developmental disabilities and managing behavior assessment data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a method of operating a service apparatus, the method comprising: a user account management step of managing accounts of a person with developmental disorder and a guardian of the person with developmental disorder; a training service information output step of outputting training service information for improving the daily behavior of the person with developmental disorder, as disclosed by Yu, wherein the guardian mode service step comprises: a reward system setting step of pre-setting, as disclosed by Jooste, to provide a reward for computer-implemented methods and systems that manage the collection of and access to behavior assessment data. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of a reward to improve computer-implemented methods and systems that manage the collection of and access to behavior assessment data.
Young discloses
when behavior data of the person with developmental disorder is input from the guardian in response to the output of the training service information, reward data to be provided to the person with developmental disorder based on the behavior data ([0054], “The treatment provider may … select … treatment goals for the patient based on … behavioral …goals”).
Yu and Young combined are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the fields of training individuals with developmental disabilities and managing treatments for patients. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for a method of operating a service apparatus, the method comprising: a user account management step of managing accounts of a person with developmental disorder
and a guardian of the person with developmental disorder; a training service information output step of outputting training service information for improving the daily behavior of the person with developmental disorder, as disclosed by Yu, and a mode switching service step of processing mode switching between a guardian mode and a person-with-developmental-disorder mode to output the training service information, wherein the mode switching service step comprises: a guardian mode service step of setting service data corresponding to the training service information in the guardian mode;
a person-with-developmental-disorder mode service step of outputting the training service information configured according to the set service data in the person-with-developmental-disorder mode; and a step of storing and updating the service data shared in the guardian mode service unit and the person-with-developmental-disorder mode service unit in real time, when behavior data of the person with developmental disorder is input from the guardian in response to the output of the training service information, reward data to be provided to the person with developmental disorder based on the behavior data, as disclosed by Young, to provide treatment provider, patient, and review modes, a problem selection section, graphs and charts, information stored in a database, real-time recordings, and treatment goals for methods and systems that manage treatment for patients. One skilled in the art would understand and recognize the value of the addition of treatment provider, patient, and review modes, a problem selection section, graphs and charts, information stored in a database, real-time recordings, and treatment goals to improve methods that manage treatment for patients.
Contact Information
examiner should be directed to Lisa Antoine whose telephone number is
(571) 272-4252 and whose email address is lantoine@uspto.gov. The examiner can be reached Monday-Thursday, 7:30 am – 5:30 pm CT. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Xuan Thai, can be reached on (571) 272-7147. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Publication Information
obtained from the Patent Center. Unpublished application information in the Patent
Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in the
Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about the
Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in
DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC)
at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LISA H ANTOINE/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/XUAN M THAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715