DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1 & 10 are amended. Claims 3-7 & 21-22 are canceled. Claims 25-29 are newly added. Claims 1-2, 8-20 & 23-29 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8, 10, 12 & 14-20 & 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US 2020/0243905 A1) in view of Liang (WO 2021/023137 A1, and hereinafter using, for citation purposes, corresponding US 2022/0158246 A1), Dong (US 2022/0393226 A1) and Chen (WO 2020/063882 A1, and hereinafter using, for citation purposes, corresponding US 2021/0203001 A1).
Regarding claims 1-2, 8, 12, 14 & 23-24, Xu teaches a secondary battery comprising a battery housing made out of plastic and aluminum; and an electrode assembly contained therein along with a non-aqueous electrolyte ([0157]), wherein the nonaqueous electrolyte comprises: 0.8 mol/L to 1.2 mol/L of a lithium salt selected from at least one of LiPF6, LiFSI, LiTFSI and LiBOB with an exemplary embodiment using 1 mol/L LiPF6 ([0108]-[0110] & [0154]); a compound represented by the claimed formula I, such as lithium difluoro(oxalate) borate (LiDFOB), in an amount, A1, from 0.005% by mass to 1% by mass with exemplary embodiments using 0.5% by mass (Table 1; [0042], [0064]-[0066] & [0108]-[0114]); fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) in an amount, C1, from 1% by mass to 5% by mass with exemplary embodiments using 3% (Table 1; [0042], [0058]-[0060] & [0108]-[0114]). The content of LiPF6 in the electrolyte in % by mass can be determined using the known molar mass of LiPF6 (151.9 g/mol) and the densities of organic solvent components which include EC (1320 g/L), EMC (1006 g/L) and DEC (975 g/L) at a volume ratio of 30:50:20 based on an arbitrary 1 L basis of the electrolyte and a concentration of 1 mol/L of the lithium salt as follows: 0.3 L * 1320 = 396 g EC 0.5 L * 1006 = 503 g EMC 0.2 L * 975 = 487. 5 g DEC 1 L LiPF6 * 151.9 g/mol LiPF6 * 1 mol/L LiPF6 = 151.9 g LiPF6. Thus, the content of LiPF6 in the electrolyte, A2, is 9.87% by mass. Furthermore, when A1 is from 0.1% by mass to 0.3% by mass (i.e within the range of 0.1% by mass to 1% by mass disclosed above), the limitations of the present claims are satisfied. However, Xu is silent as to (1) a group margin, B, being from 0.88 to 0.99 and B/A1 being from 0.5 to 45; and (2) the nonaqueous electrolyte comprising LiFSI as a second lithium salt in an amount, A3, of greater than 0% by mass and less than or equal to 2.5% by mass.
Liang teaches a secondary battery with a group margin, B, ranging from 0.85 to 0.95 ([0018]-[0023]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to form a secondary battery with a group margin B ranging from 0.85 to 0.95 in order to provide higher energy density without deteriorating the cycling performance, rate performance, and safety performance of the lithium-ion battery as taught by Liang ([0024]). Therefore, when B is from 0.85 to 0.95 and A1 is from 0.005 wt% to 1 wt%, the resulting ratio B/A1 ranges from 9.5 to 43 which encompasses the presently claimed range of 10 to 20. Dong teaches a secondary battery comprising a non-aqueous electrolyte comprises a lithium salt including at least one of LiPF6, LiFTSI, LiFSI and LiBOB; a solvent comprising a cyclic carbonate such as propylene carbonate (PC), a linear carbonate such as ethyl methyl carbonate (EMC), dimethyl carbonate (DMC) and mixtures thereof; and a chain ester such as methyl acetate (MA), wherein an amount of the cyclic carbonate is 5-15 vol%, an amount of the linear carbonate is 50-80 vol%, an amount of the chain ester is 5-15 vol% and an amount of fluoroethylene carbonate (FEC) is 5-25 vol% ([0099]-[0106]; Table 5: E3-E8). The content of each component of the solvent can be converted to a mass basis using the known densities of PC (1204 g/L), EMC (1006 g/L), MA (932 g/L) and FEC (1454 g/L) for an arbitrary 1 L basis and using exemplary amounts of MA and PC used in some embodiments (Table 5: 10 vol% for MA; 10 vol% for PC; and 15 vol% for FEC): MA: 0.1 L * 932 g/L = 93.2 g.
PC: 0.1 L * 1204 g/L = 120.4 g. FEC: 0.15 L * 1454 g/L = 218.1 g. EMC: 0.65 L * 1006 g/L = 654 g. Therefore, the contents of MA, PC, FEC, EMC on a mass basis based on the total mass of the solvent are: 8.6 wt%, 11.1 wt%, 20.1 wt% and 60.2 wt%. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to use an organic solvent mixture as described by Dong above in which an alkyl acetate is incorporated in the solvent in order to boost the conductivity of the electrolyte and achieve improved high power electrolytes as taught by Dong ([0008] & [0102]). Chen teaches a secondary battery comprising a nonaqueous electrolyte comprising 0.8 mol/L to 1.2 mol/L of a first lithium salt such as LiPF6 and a second lithium salt such as LiFSI included at weight ratio of 10:1 to 1:10 with exemplary embodiments using 1 mol/L of the mixture at weight ratios of 10:1 and 5:1 (Table 1: Example 1-2; [0035]-[0041]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to include LIFSI as a second lithium salt at a weight ratio A3/A1 of 10:1 or 5:1 because “LiFSI has advantages of moderate viscosity and a high degree of dissociation, and can facilitate ion conduction and improve electrical conductivity of the nonaqueous electrolyte. Therefore, use of the mixed lithium salt may effectively make up for low electrical conductivity of the nonaqueous electrolyte caused by high viscosity of the high oxidation potential solvent, and helps to obtain a lithium-ion battery with good kinetics performance. In addition, with higher thermal stability than that of LiPF6, LIFSI can also improve safety performance such as overcharge safety and hot box safety of the lithium-ion” battery as taught by Chen ([0040]).
Regarding claim 10, Dong teaches a minimum amount of MA of 5 vol%, which using the same calculation as in claim 1 above (except with a EMC content of 70 vol% to reflect the lower amount of MA) results in a mass content of MA of 4.2 wt% which reads on the claimed range.
Regarding claims 14-17, Liang teaches a battery pack comprising a battery module comprising a secondary battery ([0045]-[0048]). As noted in Liang, a battery pack can be formed according to the use case and desired capacity of the battery pack ([0048])
Regarding claims 18-20, Liang teaches an electrical device comprising the battery module of claim 15 or the battery pack of claim 16 ([0051]-[0053]). As noted in Liang, the secondary battery can be used as a power source for an apparatus such as an electrical device ([0051]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US 2020/0243905 A1), Liang (WO 2021/023137 A1, and hereinafter using, for citation purposes, corresponding US 2022/0158246 A1), Dong (US 2022/0393226 A1) and Chen (WO 2020/063882 A1, and hereinafter using, for citation purposes, corresponding US 2021/0203001 A1), as applied to claims 1-2, 8, 10, 12 & 14-20 above, and further in view of Zhang (US 2010/0316904 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Xu as modified by Liang, Dong and Chen teaches the secondary battery of claim 1 but is silent as to the electrolyte further comprising a moisture scavenger comprising heaxamethyldisilazane (HMDS), tris(trimethylsilyl) phosphate or a combination thereof in an amount C2 from greater than 0% by mass to less or equal to 2% by mass. Zhang teaches a secondary battery comprising a nonaqueous electrolyte comprising a moisture scavenger comprising HMDS in an amount of greater than 0% by mass to 10% by mass% with a specific embodiment using 0.000,000,1% by mass ([0017] & [0029]-[0032]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to include HMDS in an amount of greater than 0% by mass to 10% by mass% because “HMDS can react with water components of the electrolyte. As a result, ammonia (NH3) is generated. NH.sub.3 in turn reacts with lithium hexafluorophosphate. That is, there are no water components in electrolyte after HMDS is added to the liquid electrolyte. Hence, no hydrofluoric acid is generated. As a result, no color change of the electrolyte occurs and no gaseous products are generated (i.e., abnormal expansion of the battery case is eliminated) even when the electrolyte of the lithium ion battery of the invention for a car is subject to a temperature more than 60C. Moreover, shelf life of the lithium ion battery of invention is prolonged greatly” as taught by Zhang ([0029]-[0030]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US 2020/0243905 A1), Liang (WO 2021/023137 A1, and hereinafter using, for citation purposes, corresponding US 2022/0158246 A1), Dong (US 2022/0393226 A1) and Chen (WO 2020/063882 A1, and hereinafter using, for citation purposes, corresponding US 2021/0203001 A1), as applied to claims 1-2, 8, 10, 12 & 14-20 above, and further in view of Kang (US 2019/0334160 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Xu as modified by Liang, Dong and Chen teaches the secondary battery of claim 1, wherein A1<B and the electrode assembly comprises a positive electrode plate and a negative electrode plate but is silent as to a capacity of the positive electrode plate Q1 and a capacity of the negative electrode plate Q2 satisfying 1<Q2/Q1<1.05. Kang teaches a secondary battery an electrode assembly comprising a positive electrode plate and a negative electrode plate, wherein a capacity of the positive electrode plate Q1 and a capacity of the negative electrode plate Q2 satisfy 1.03<Q2/Q1<1.8 ([0010] & [0030]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to set the ratio Q2/Q1 to a range of 1.03 to 1.8 because when the ratio is too small the amount of the sites for receiving the active ions in the negative electrode plate is not sufficient when the battery is fully charged, the active ions are easily reduced and precipitated on the negative electrode plate, and therefore there is a higher safety hazard in the battery and because when the ratio is too large, the availability of the sites for receiving the active ions in the negative electrode plate is lower when the battery is fully charged, and the energy density of the battery is also decreased as taught by Kang ([0016]-[0017]).
Claim 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US 2020/0243905 A1), Liang (WO 2021/023137 A1, and hereinafter using, for citation purposes, corresponding US 2022/0158246 A1), Dong (US 2022/0393226 A1), and Chen (WO 2020/063882 A1, and hereinafter using, for citation purposes, corresponding US 2021/0203001 A1), as applied to claims 1-2, 8, 10, 12 & 14-20 above, and further in view of Ju (US 2019/0006704 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Xu as modified by Liang, Dong and Chen teaches the secondary battery of claim 1 but is silent as to the compound of formula 1 comprising one or more of the compounds recited in claim 13. Ju teaches a secondary battery comprising a non-aqueous electrolyte comprising a boron-containing lithium oxalate compound represented by the formula 1 wherein the boron is connected two components selected from F, alkyl groups such as CH3 and fluorine substituted alkyl groups such as CF3 ([0006]-[0007]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to use any one of the compounds represented in claim 13 as art recognized equivalents to the LiDFOB compound disclosed in Xu used for the same purpose of a lithium-ion battery electrolyte additive.
Claims 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (US 2020/0243905 A1), Liang (WO 2021/023137 A1, and hereinafter using, for citation purposes, corresponding US 2022/0158246 A1), Dong (US 2022/0393226 A1), and Chen (WO 2020/063882 A1, and hereinafter using, for citation purposes, corresponding US 2021/0203001 A1), as applied to claims 1-2, 8, 10, 12 & 14-20 above, and further in view of Liu (US 2020/0014065 A1).
Regarding claims 25-29, Xu as modified by Liang, Dong and Chen teaches the secondary battery of claim 1 but is silent as to at least one of X and Y being selected from the groups recited in claims 25-28 and the compound recited in claim 29. Liu teaches a secondary battery comprising a non-aqueous electrolyte including a lithium salt, an organic solvent and an additive comprising a borate-based compound represented by Formula I, wherein at least one of X and Y include the groups recited in claims 25-28 and wherein the compound represented by Formula I includes the compound recited in claim 29 ([0008]-[0009] & [0043]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the present invention, to use any one of the compounds represented in claims 25-29 as art recognized equivalents to the LiDFOB used in Xu’s electrolyte.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 8-20 & 23-29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The amendment to claim 1 has prompted a new ground of rejection in view of the newly cited Dong. As presently claimed, the subject matter of claim 1 is to be obvious over the combined teachings of Xu, Liang, Dong and Chen.
Thus, in view of the foregoing, claims 1-2, 8-20 & 23-29 stand rejected.
Contact Information
/NATHANAEL T ZEMUI/Examiner, Art Unit 1727