DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/17/2023 and 1/22/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the details of the coupling device as recited in claims 1, 2, 6-10 and 13 and as described in the specification. Although Figure 1 includes element “15” labeled as the coupling device, the details of the coupling device are not shown in a way that would allow a person having ordinary skill in the art to obtain a proper understanding of the disclosed invention. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 17, the recitation: “on the bridge element” appears to lack antecedent basis. For the purpose of examining the claims, the examiner will consider claim 17 as dependent from claim 16 that properly introduces the recitation: “a bridge element”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 11-15, 19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the US Patent US 9,519,023 by Thurmaier et al., (Thurmaier hereafter).
Regarding claim 1, Thurmaier teaches in Figures 1-4, a module (2) for exchanging an interface unit in a test system (1) having a handling unit (3) and a test unit (4) for testing semiconductor elements, the module comprising: a base element (5) attached to the test system (1),
a holder (19) for receiving an interface unit (20), and guide elements (10+15) which connect the holder to the base element and are designed to guide the holder relative to the base element between an insertion position (position shown in Figure 3), in which the holder (19) is located in the test system (1) between the test unit (4) and the handling unit (3), and a removal position, in which the holder is located outside an area between the test unit and the handling unit for exchanging the interface unit (as illustrated in Figure 4, the guide elements allow the holder to be pulled out and pushed into the tester),
wherein a coupling device (units connected to both sides of holder 19 and slidably connected to unit 15, see arrow in the annotated Figure below) is provided for coupling the interface unit (20) to the base element (5), wherein the coupling device is arranged between the holder (19) and the base element (5) in such a way that the coupling device can form a rigid connection at least perpendicular to an interface plane (in the manner illustrated in Figures 3 and 4).
As to claim 3, Thurmaier shows in Figures 1-4, the guide elements (10+15) comprise a drawer mechanism with a pair of telescopic rails (as illustrated in Figure 2, the guide elements extend in a telescopic manner, allowing the holder to move in and out of the testing system, see col 15, lines 61-62), for linearly guiding the holder (19) relative to the base element similar to a drawer in a first direction of movement, wherein the first direction of movement preferably extends in or parallel to the interface plane.
As to claim 4, Thurmaier shows in Figures 1-4, the guide elements (10+15) comprise a lifting mechanism (10), in particular a lever mechanism or scissor mechanism (scissor mechanism as illustrated in Figure 7), for linearly guiding the holder relative to the base element in a second direction of movement (vertical direction by action of the scissor mechanism), wherein the second direction of movement is substantially perpendicular to the first direction of movement and preferably substantially perpendicular to the interface plane.
As to claim 11, Thurmaier shows in Figures 1-4, the base element (5) is attached the test unit (1).
As to claim 12, Thurmaier shows in Figures 1-4, the base element (5) comprises an outer frame (portion 9 perpendicular to the horizontal plane, shown in Figure 2) and an inner frame (portion immediately adjacent to units 10 and 15, parallel to the horizonal plane), wherein the outer frame is attached or attachable to the test unit or the handling unit (as shown in Figure 2) , and wherein the inner frame is attached to the outer frame.
As to claim 14, Thurmaier shows in Figures 1-4, the holder has a holding frame (frame created by the structure surrounding the aperture within 19 that receives unit 20, see col. 7, line 1), wherein the interface unit (20) can be accommodated in a receiving opening formed by the holding frame (as shown in Figure 3).
Regarding claim 19, Thurmaier shows in Figures 1-4, a test system (1) comprising a handling unit (3) and a test unit (4) for testing semiconductor elements (43, see for example, col. 2, lines 54-57), wherein the test system comprises a module (2) according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, Thurmaier teaches a method for exchanging interface units on a test system with a test unit, a handling unit for handling semiconductor elements and a module for exchanging interface units, wherein the module (2) comprises a base element (5) attached to the test system (1), a holder (19) for receiving an interface unit (20), and guide elements (10+15) which connect the holder to the base element and are formed to guide the holder relative to the base element between an inserted position (holder retracts into the testing system, see Figure 3), in which the holder is located in the test system between the test unit and the handling unit, and a removal position (holder slides away from the testing system, see Figure 2), in which the holder is located outside an area between the test unit and the handling unit for exchanging the interface unit, and is designed in particular according to claim 1, with the steps of:
- releasing the holder (19) located in an end position with the interface unit (20) from the base element by releasing a coupling state of a coupling device (see annotated Figure 2 above, by sliding the coupling device away from the base element, it’s released from it’s initial “installed” position), wherein the coupling device is arranged between the holder (19) and the base element (5) for coupling the holder to the base element in such a way that the coupling device can form a rigid connection at least perpendicular to an interface plane;
- moving the holder (19) with the interface unit (20) from the end position to the inserted position (as illustrated in Figure 4);
- moving the holder (19) with the interface unit (20) to the removal position (holder pulled out of the testing system as shown in Figure 3);
- removing the interface unit (20) from the holder (19) – (see col. 2, lines 21-23);
- picking up another interface unit in the holder (interface units are “exchanged” – see col. 2, lines 21-23);
- moving the holder (19) with the other interface unit to the inserted position (the holder and the exchanged interface unit 20 are reinserted into the testing system, in the manner illustrated in Figure 3);
- moving the holder with the other interface unit to the end position on the base element (while insider the testing system, lowering the holder and interface unit downwards by action of units 10 and 15, see for example col. 2, lines 34-40); and
- locking the holder with the other interface unit to the base element by means of the coupling device (the coupling device together with the guide units 10+15, plays a role on securing or “locking” the holder in place and thus, it locks the holder 19 and interface unit to the base).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thurmaier.
Regarding claim 15, Thurmaier shows in Figures 1-4, the holding frame (19) has at least two supports (recesses 21) opposite one another into the receiving opening for receiving an interface unit.
Although Thurmaier shows in Figure 2 that the supports, the supports do not appear to project into the receiving interface unit but rather are recessed into the holding frame.
However, in the same Figure, Thurmaier shows the interface unit (20) has two protrusions that correspond with the supports. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed, to relocate/rearrange the protrusion from the interface unit to the holding frame (while moving the recessed units to the interface unit). Shifting the position of the supports would not have modified the functionality of the system and the claimed apparatus. The particular placement of the supports and recesses would be an obvious matter of design choice. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thurmaier in view of the US Patent US 5,528,158 by Sinsheimer et al., (Sinsheimer hereafter).
In terms of claim 5, Thurmaier teaches a drive mechanism (system of drive belts including 29 and 70) provided for movement of the holder (19) relative to the base element (5). However, Thurmaier is silent about the drive mechanism being motorized.
The use of motors to aid in the mechanical movement of parts within a handling system is however, well known in the art. For example, Sinsheimer teaches in Figures 1-2 a prober for positioning probe cards and testing semiconductor devices. Furthermore, Sinsheimer teaches in claim 5, the use of a motorized belt drive, that is used to execute mechanical movement of the probe card within the prober.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed, to apply the teaching of motorized belt drives within probes, as taught by Sinsheimer, and include a motor to drive the belt drive system in the system of Thurmaier, in order to aid with the retrieval and repositioning of the holder with respect to the testing system.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thurmaier in view of the US Patent US 7,768,279 by Ono et al., (7,768,279 hereafter).
Regarding claim 20, Thurmaier teaches in Figures 1-4 a method for testing semiconductor elements by means of a test system (1) having a test unit (4), a handling unit (3) for handling semiconductor elements (for example, wafer 43 shown in Figure 2) and a module (2) for exchanging interface units, the module comprising a base element (5) which is fastened to the test system, a holder (19) for receiving an interface unit (20), and guide elements (10+15)which connect the holder (19) to the base element (5) and are formed to guide the holder relative to the base element between an inserted position (holder retracted into the testing system, see Figure 3), in which the holder is located in the test system between the test unit and the handling unit, and a removal position (holder slides away from the testing system, see Figure 2), in which the holder is located outside an area between the test unit and the handling unit for exchanging the interface unit, and is designed in particular according to claim 1, with the following steps:
- picking up an interface unit (20) in the holder (19) located in the removal position (in the position illustrated in Figure 2, which shows the removal position before the interface unit 20 is positioned within the holder in the manner illustrated in Figure 4);
- moving the holder (19) with the interface unit (20) into the insertion position (in the position shown in Figure 4);
- moving the holder (19) with the interface unit from the inserted position to an end position on the base element (while inside the testing system, lowering the holder and interface unit downwards by action of units 10 and 15, see for example col. 2, lines 34-40);
- coupling the interface unit to the base element by means of a coupling device (while inside the testing system, lowering the holder and interface unit downwards by action of units 10 and 15, see for example col. 2, lines 34-40), wherein the coupling device (see annotated Figure 2 above) is arranged between the holder and the base element for coupling the holder to the base element in such a way that the coupling device can form a rigid connection at least perpendicular to an interface plane;
- moving the handling unit and the test unit together (Figure 1 shows the handling unit 3 and the test unit 4 are part of the same assembled testing unit 1, thus the handling unit 3 and the test unit 4 were moved together at some point in time, in order to assemble testing unit 1);
- placing at least one semiconductor element on the interface unit by means of the handling unit (see col. 6, lines 3-6);
- testing the at least one semiconductor element (wafer 43 in Figure 2) by means of the test unit (4); and
- removing the at least one semiconductor element from the interface unit (Thurmaier mentions in col. 6, lines 3-5, that the handling unit 3 is used to supply wafers to the interface unit, implying the testing system is design to test more than one wafer one after the other);
wherein the steps of placing, testing and removing are preferably repeated for a plurality of at least one semiconductor element (Thurmaier mentions in col. 6, lines 3-5, that the handling unit 3 is used to supply wafers to the interface unit, implying the testing system is design to test more than one wafer one after the other).
Thurmaier substantially teaches all of the elements disclosed above, except for explicitly mentioning that the handling unit (3) removes the at least one semiconductor element (wafer 43) from the interface unit. However, Thurmaier mentions the handling unit supplies multiple wafers to the interface unit (col. 6, lines 3-5). Inherently, before supplying the next wafer, the system must include means to remove the previous wafer.
Ono teaches in Figure 1, a handling unit (prober 1) that is used to both provide wafers to a test position (on chuck 11) and to remove and exchange the wafers once the testing is completed.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed, to apply the teaching of handling units as means to remove wafers as taught by Ono, in the device/system/method of Thurmaier, in order to gain the advantage of automating the placement and removal of each wafer in the testing method of Thurmaier.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 6, 10, 13 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of record doesn’t teach alone or in combination module for exchanging an interface unit in a test system, wherein the coupling device is designed as at least one docking unit each having a docking element and a docking counter-element for coupling the holder to the base element in such a way that the coupling device provides a rigid connection at least perpendicular to the interface plane, wherein the docking element or the docking counter-element is attached to the holder and the docking counter-element or the docking element is attached to the base element and the docking unit is designed for mechanically connecting and disconnecting the docking element to the docking counter-element, in combination with all other elements recited.
As to claims 6-10 and 13, the claims are objected as they further limit claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art of record doesn’t teach alone or in combination module for exchanging an interface unit in a test system, wherein a bridge element is provided which is attached or can be attached to the holding frame so as to span the holding opening of the holding frame and which is designed to hold or support an interface unit or an interface unit carrier or a stiffening element, in combination with all other elements recited.
As to claim 17, the claims are objected as they further limit claim 16 above (see Objection to claim 17 above).
Regarding claim 18, the prior art of record doesn’t teach alone or in combination module for exchanging an interface unit in a test system, wherein the coupling device comprises an adapter frame with at least one recess and at least one movable coupling element for coupling the interface unit to the base element such that the coupling provides a releasable positive connection parallel to the interface plane, wherein the adapter frame is attached to the interface unit and the at least one movable coupling element is attached to the base element, and wherein the movable coupling element engages in the recess to provide a releasable mechanical connection between the interface unit and the base element, in combination with all other elements recited.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
- The US Patent US 11,163,000 by Thurmaier, directed to automated testing systems including means for exchanging units using a drawer based system.
- The US Patent US 10,416,230 by Thurmaier, directed to probers and means for exchanging interconnection units within the prober.
- The US Patent US 6,496,025 by Stadelmayer et al. directed to probers and handlers.
- The US Patent US 6,100,706 by Hamilton, directed to burn-in testing systems including drawer-based retrieval means.
/RICHARD ISLA/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 December 10, 2025