DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
This office acknowledges receipt of the following items from the applicant: Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed on:
22 November 2023
20 December 2023
21 December 2023
22 March 2024
30 July 2024
30 December 2025
The references cited on the PTOL 1449 forms have been considered.
There was also an Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) submitted in the instant application with references directed towards unrelated subject matter intended for a different application (18/804,596) filed on 22 November 2023 (6 pages). The references cited on that PTOL 1449 form have been considered, however, none are relevant to the applicant’s invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blanchard et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0214055).
Referring to Claim 1, Blanchard teaches a method for fabricating a thin bidirectional bipolar junction transistor device, comprising: forming a first base region (305) and a first emitter/collector region (303) on a first side (321) of a first thick semiconductor wafer (301; Fig. 3A; par. 34 and 35); removing a portion of the first thick semiconductor wafer (301) to produce a first thin semiconductor wafer (301; Fig. 3C to Fig. 3D; par. 26, 42, 58, 59 and 91); forming a second base region (305) and a second emitter/collector region (303) on a second side (323) of the first thin semiconductor wafer opposite the first side (Fig. 3E; par. 43, 44); producing a second thin semiconductor wafer (319; silicon high-temperature handle wafer; par. 40); and bonding (via adhesive 337) the first thin semiconductor wafer to the second thin semiconductor wafer (Fig. 3H; par. 46).
Referring to Claim 4, Blanchard further teaches wherein removing the portion of the first thick semiconductor wafer (301) further includes grinding the second side (323) of the first thick semiconductor wafer (301; Fig. 3C to Fig. 3D; par. 26, 42, 58 and 59).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanchard et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0214055) in view of Ravi (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2002/0004287).
Referring to Claim 7, Blanchard teaches the limitations of claim 1, wherein an initial thickness of the first thick semiconductor wafer is 400 micrometers for example, and wherein a reduced thickness of the first thin semiconductor wafer is in a range of less than 80 micrometers for example (par. 26, 42, 89 and 90).
Blanchard discloses the claimed invention except for wherein a thickness of the first thick semiconductor wafer is at least 750 micrometers, and wherein a thickness of the first thin semiconductor wafer is in a range of about 80 micrometers to about 110 micrometers, per se.
Ravi teaches the well-known use of having an initial wafer thickness of 750 micrometers and thinning the wafer to a more suitable thickness of 25 to 100 micrometers (par. 6)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide an initial semiconductor wafer of at least 750 micrometers and thin that semiconductor wafer to about 80 micrometers to about 110 micrometers in order to achieve the final desired device thickness before processing begins on the second side (par. 26) suitable for forming semiconductor devices, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 5 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8-20 are allowable.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 2, the prior art of record alone or in combination neither teaches nor makes obvious the invention of wherein producing the second thin semiconductor wafer further includes: forming a third base region and a third emitter/collector region on a third side of a second thick semiconductor wafer, removing a portion of the second thick semiconductor wafer to produce the second thin semiconductor wafer, and forming a fourth base region and a fourth emitter/collector region on a fourth side of the second thin semiconductor wafer opposite the third side in combination with all of the limitations of Claim 1 and 2. Claim 3 includes the limitations of claim 2.
Regarding Claim 5, the prior art of record alone or in combination neither teaches nor makes obvious the invention of wherein forming the second base region and the second emitter/collector region on the second side of the first thin semiconductor wafer further includes activating, without the diffusion process, the first-conductivity-type dopant and the second conductivity-type dopant introduced into different regions on the second side of the first thin semiconductor wafer in combination with all of the limitations of Claim 1 and 5. Claim 6 includes the limitations of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 8, the prior art of record alone or in combination neither teaches nor makes obvious the invention of the method for fabricating a thin bidirectional bipolar junction transistor device, comprising: activating, without the diffusion process, the first-conductivity-type dopant and the second conductivity-type dopant introduced into different regions on the second side of the first semiconductor wafer; activating, with the diffusion process, the first-conductivity-type dopant and the second conductivity-type dopant introduced into different regions on a first side of a second semiconductor wafer; activating, without the diffusion process, the first-conductivity-type dopant and the second conductivity-type dopant introduced into different regions on the second side of the second semiconductor wafer in combination with all of the limitations of Claim 8.
Claims 9-13 include the limitations of claim 8.
Regarding Claim 14, the prior art of record alone or in combination neither teaches nor makes obvious the invention of the thin bidirectional bipolar junction transistor device, comprising: wherein the first backside junction is thinner than the first front side junction; and wherein the second backside junction is thinner than the second front side junction in combination with all of the limitations of Claim 14. Claims 15-20 include the limitations of claim 14.
Contact Information
/EARL N TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896
EARL N. TAYLOR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896