DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 12/22/2025. The previous objections to the claims have been withdrawn. Claims 1-20 remain pending for consideration.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“dispensing assembly” in claims 4, 11, and 14.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
“dispensing assembly” includes a discharging outlet for discharging ice pieces, an actuating mechanism such as a paddle, or sensor, or button, and an ice chute as described in paragraphs [0028] and [0047] of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (KR20200086424A, herein after referred to as Ko) in view of Naik et al. (US 20240328696 A1, herein after referred to as Naik).
Regarding claim 1, Ko teaches a method of operating (the method illustrated in Fig. 8) an ice maker assembly (Fig. 1b) for a refrigerator appliance (Fig. 1a), the method comprising: detecting an ice-usage event (the detection of the ice level inside ice storage unit 120 at step S801 Fig. 8); detecting a potential ice clumping state (step S802 and step S808 Fig. 8) following detecting the ice-usage event (Fig. 8); initiating an ice agitator cycle (steps S803, S804, and S805 Fig. 8) in response to detecting the potential ice clumping event (Fig. 8).
Ko teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the method comprising providing a user notification in response to initiating the ice agitator cycle”.
However, Naik teaches a method (the method illustrated in Fig. 7 corresponds to the method of Ko) comprising providing a user notification (block 166 Fig. 7 and paragraph [0048]) in response to initiating an ice agitator cycle (the disclosed “automatically agitate the ice” in paragraph [0048] corresponds to the ice agitator cycle of Ko) to prevent any risk of breakage of the ice dispensing mechanism (paragraph [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of Ko to include “the method comprising providing a user notification in response to initiating the ice agitator cycle” in view of the teachings of Naik to prevent any risk of breakage of the ice dispensing mechanism.
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings teach wherein detecting the ice-usage event comprises sensing (paragraphs [0097] and [0098] with step S801 Fig. 8 of Ko), with a feeler arm (ice detection lever 620 Fig. 6 of Ko), a change (paragraphs [0097] and [0098] of Ko) in an ice storage level (corresponds to the ice level described in paragraphs [0097] and [0098] of Ko) of an ice storage bin (ice storage unit 120 Fig. 1b of Ko), wherein the change in the ice storage level indicates the ice-usage event (paragraphs [0097] and [0098] with step S801 Fig. 8 of Ko where a person skilled in the art would recognize that ice usage would result in a change in the ice level inside ice storage unit 120).
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein detecting the ice-usage event comprises sensing a freezer door of the refrigerator appliance is in an open position”.
However, a different embodiment of Naik teaches wherein detecting an ice-usage event (the disclosed “manual removal of ice” in paragraph [0054] corresponds to the ice-usage event of Ko) comprises sensing a freezer door (freezer compartment door 20 Fig. 1 and paragraph [0054]) of a refrigerator appliance (refrigerator 10 Fig. 1 corresponds to the refrigerator appliance of Ko) is in an open position (block 188 Fig. 8 and paragraph [0054]) to improve the ice clumping detection process (paragraph [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method/apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein detecting the ice-usage event comprises sensing a freezer door of the refrigerator appliance is in an open position” in view of the teachings of a different embodiment of Naik to improve the ice clumping detection process.
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein detecting the ice-usage event comprises dispensing ice pieces from an ice storage bin via a dispensing assembly”.
However, a different embodiment of Naik teaches wherein detecting an ice-usage event (the disclosed “ice dispense events” in paragraph [0054] corresponds to the ice-usage event of Ko) comprises dispensing ice pieces (ice 26 Fig. 2) from an ice storage bin (storage bin 28 Fig. 2) via a dispensing assembly (dispenser 54 Fig. 3) to improve the ice clumping detection process (paragraph [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method/apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein detecting the ice-usage event comprises dispensing ice pieces from an ice storage bin via a dispensing assembly” in view of the teachings of a different embodiment of Naik to improve the ice clumping detection process.
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings teach wherein the user notification is provided on a remote user interface device (user device 60 Fig. 3 and paragraph [0048] of Naik) in response to the ice agitator cycle being initiated (paragraph [0048] of Naik).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings teach wherein the user notification is provided on a display of the refrigerator appliance (disclosed “refrigerator display” in paragraph [0048] of Naik) in response to the ice agitator cycle being initiated (paragraph [0048] of Naik).
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings teach wherein initiating the ice agitator cycle comprises driving a motor (auger motor 140 Fig. 3 and paragraph [0121] of Ko) to rotate an ice agitator (rotating body 150 Fig. 4a-c of Ko) positioned within an ice storage bin (ice storage unit 120 Fig. 1c of Ko) periodically (steps S803, S804, and S805 Fig. 8 of Ko).
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings teach wherein driving the motor to rotate the ice agitator positioned within the ice storage bin periodically further comprises driving the motor to rotate the ice agitator positioned within the ice storage bin periodically in a clockwise (Fig. 4a of Ko) and anticlockwise motion (Fig. 4b of Ko).
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach wherein driving the motor to rotate the ice agitator positioned within the ice storage bin periodically in the clockwise and anticlockwise motion comprises driving the motor to rotate the ice agitator in a first direction (paragraph [0123] of Ko) for a first predetermined amount (disclosed “first time” in paragraph [0123] of Ko) followed by driving the motor to rotate the ice agitator in a second direction (paragraph [0123] of Ko) for a second predetermined amount (disclosed “third time” in paragraph [0123] of Ko), and wherein the second direction is opposite the first direction (Fig. 4a and 4b of Ko).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko and Naik as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jeong et al. (US 10948227 B2, herein after referred to as Jeong).
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising: detecting an in-cycle ice-usage event following initiating the ice agitator cycle; and halting the ice agitator cycle following detecting the in-cycle ice-usage event”.
However, Jeong teaches further comprising: detecting an in-cycle ice-usage event (block 1520 Fig. 21 when the driving current is less than a reference value) following initiating an ice agitator cycle (block 1510 corresponds to the initiating of the ice agitator cycle of Ko); and halting the ice agitator cycle (block 1530 Fig. 21) following detecting the in-cycle ice-usage event (Fig. 21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method/apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising: detecting an in-cycle ice-usage event following initiating the ice agitator cycle; and halting the ice agitator cycle following detecting the in-cycle ice-usage event” in view of the teachings of Jeong to prevent damaging the agitator.
Claims 11-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko, in view of Jeong et al. (US 20170167780 A1, herein after referred to as Jeong’80), and in further view of Naik.
Regarding claim 11, Ko teaches a refrigerator appliance (Fig. 1a) comprising: a cabinet (main body 10 Fig. 1a) defining a freezer chamber (freezer compartment 12 Fig. 1a) and a fresh food chamber (refrigerator compartment 11 Fig. 1a); a freezer door (Fig. 1a) attached to the cabinet (Fig. 1a), the freezer door movable between a closed position (Fig. 1a) and an open position (a person skilled in the art would recognize that the doors of freezer compartment 12 can be opened to allow access to the items stored therein), wherein in the closed position the freezer chamber is enclosed by the freezer door (Fig. 1a), and wherein in the open position the freezer chamber is accessible (a person skilled in the art would recognize that the doors of freezer compartment 12 can be opened to allow access to the items stored therein); a refrigerator door (Fig. 1a) attached to the cabinet (Fig. 1a), the refrigerator door movable between a closed position (a person skilled in the art would recognize that the doors of refrigerator compartment 11 can be closed to enclose to the items stored therein) and an open position (Fig. 1a), wherein in the closed position of the refrigerator door the fresh food chamber is enclosed by the refrigerator door (a person skilled in the art would recognize that the doors of refrigerator compartment 11 can be closed to enclose to the items stored therein), and wherein in the open position of the refrigerator door the fresh food chamber is accessible (Fig. 1a); an ice maker assembly (Fig. 1b) comprising an ice storage bin (ice storage unit 120 Fig. 1b), a feeler arm (ice detection lever 620 Fig. 6), an ice agitator (rotating body 150 Fig. 4a-c), and a dispensing assembly (disclosed “lever input” in paragraph [0003] and discharge port 121 Fig. 1c); and a controller (processor 170 Fig. 3) operable for: detecting an ice-usage event (the detection of the ice level inside ice storage unit 120 at step S801 Fig. 8); detecting a potential ice clumping state (step S802 and step S808 Fig. 8) following detecting the ice-usage event (Fig. 8); initiating an ice agitator cycle (steps S803, S804, and S805 Fig. 8) in response to detecting the potential ice clumping event (Fig. 8).
Ko teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the ice maker assembly mounted to the freezer door”.
However, Jeong’80 teaches an ice maker assembly (second dispenser 120 and ice making unit 80 correspond to the assembly of Ko) mounted to a freezer door (Fig. 3 and paragraph [0111] where first lower door 42 corresponds to the door of Ko) to maximize the space utilization of the fresh food chamber (paragraph [0111]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Ko to include “the ice maker assembly mounted to the freezer door” in view of the teachings of Jeong’80 to maximize the space utilization of the fresh food chamber.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the controller operable for providing a user notification in response to initiating the ice agitator cycle”.
However, Naik teaches a controller (controller 40 Fig. 3 corresponds to the controller of Ko) operable for providing a user notification (block 166 Fig. 7 and paragraph [0048]) in response to initiating an ice agitator cycle (the disclosed “automatically agitate the ice” in paragraph [0048] corresponds to the ice agitator cycle of Ko) to prevent any risk of breakage of the ice dispensing mechanism (paragraph [0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “the controller operable for providing a user notification in response to initiating the ice agitator cycle” in view of the teachings of Naik to prevent any risk of breakage of the ice dispensing mechanism.
Regarding claim 12, the combined teachings teach wherein detecting the ice-usage event comprises sensing (paragraphs [0097] and [0098] with step S801 Fig. 8 of Ko), with the feeler arm, a change (paragraphs [0097] and [0098] of Ko) in an ice storage level of the ice storage bin (corresponds to the ice level inside ice storage unit 120 as described in paragraphs [0097] and [0098] of Ko), wherein the change in the ice storage level indicates the ice-usage event (paragraphs [0097] and [0098] with step S801 Fig. 8 of Ko where a person skilled in the art would recognize that ice usage would result in a change in the ice level inside ice storage unit 120).
Regarding claim 13, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein detecting the ice-usage event comprises sensing a freezer door of the refrigerator appliance is in an open position”.
However, a different embodiment of Naik teaches wherein detecting an ice-usage event (the disclosed “manual removal of ice” in paragraph [0054] corresponds to the ice-usage event of Ko) comprises sensing a freezer door (freezer compartment door 20 Fig. 1 and paragraph [0054]) of a refrigerator appliance (refrigerator 10 Fig. 1 corresponds to the refrigerator appliance of Ko) is in an open position (block 188 Fig. 8 and paragraph [0054]) to improve the ice clumping detection process (paragraph [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method/apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein detecting the ice-usage event comprises sensing a freezer door of the refrigerator appliance is in an open position” in view of the teachings of a different embodiment of Naik to improve the ice clumping detection process.
Regarding claim 14, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein detecting the ice-usage event comprises dispensing ice pieces from an ice storage bin via a dispensing assembly”.
However, a different embodiment of Naik teaches wherein detecting an ice-usage event (the disclosed “ice dispense events” in paragraph [0054] corresponds to the ice-usage event of Ko) comprises dispensing ice pieces (ice 26 Fig. 2) from an ice storage bin (storage bin 28 Fig. 2) via a dispensing assembly (dispenser 54 Fig. 3) to improve the ice clumping detection process (paragraph [0054]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method/apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein detecting the ice-usage event comprises dispensing ice pieces from an ice storage bin via a dispensing assembly” in view of the teachings of a different embodiment of Naik to improve the ice clumping detection process.
Regarding claim 16, the combined teachings teach wherein the user notification is provided on a remote user interface device (user device 60 Fig. 3 and paragraph [0048] of Naik) in response to the ice agitator cycle being initiated (paragraph [0048] of Naik).
Regarding claim 17, the combined teachings teach wherein the user notification is provided on a display of the refrigerator appliance (disclosed “refrigerator display” in paragraph [0048] of Naik) in response to the ice agitator cycle being initiated (paragraph [0048] of Naik).
Regarding claim 18, the combined teachings teach wherein initiating the ice agitator cycle comprises driving a motor (auger motor 140 Fig. 3 and paragraph [0121] of Ko) to rotate an ice agitator (rotating body 150 Fig. 4a-c of Ko) positioned within an ice storage bin (ice storage unit 120 Fig. 1c of Ko) periodically (steps S803, S804, and S805 Fig. 8 of Ko).
Regarding claim 19, the combined teachings teach wherein driving the motor to rotate the ice agitator positioned within the ice storage bin periodically further comprises driving the motor to rotate the ice agitator positioned within the ice storage bin periodically in a clockwise (Fig. 4a of Ko) and anticlockwise motion (Fig. 4b of Ko).
Regarding claim 20, the combined teachings teach wherein driving the motor to rotate the ice agitator positioned within the ice storage bin periodically in the clockwise and anticlockwise motion comprises driving the motor to rotate the ice agitator in a first direction (paragraph [0123] of Ko) for a first predetermined amount (disclosed “first time” in paragraph [0123] of Ko) followed by driving the motor to rotate the ice agitator in a second direction (paragraph [0123] of Ko) for a second predetermined amount (disclosed “third time” in paragraph [0123] of Ko), and wherein the second direction is opposite the first direction (Fig. 4a and 4b of Ko).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko, Jeong’’80, and Naik as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Jeong.
Regarding claim 15, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising: detecting an in-cycle ice-usage event following initiating the ice agitator cycle; and halting the ice agitator cycle following detecting the in-cycle ice-usage event”.
However, Jeong teaches further comprising: detecting an in-cycle ice-usage event (block 1520 Fig. 21 when the driving current is less than a reference value) following initiating an ice agitator cycle (block 1510 corresponds to the initiating of the ice agitator cycle of Ko); and halting the ice agitator cycle (block 1530 Fig. 21) following detecting the in-cycle ice-usage event (Fig. 21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method/apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising: detecting an in-cycle ice-usage event following initiating the ice agitator cycle; and halting the ice agitator cycle following detecting the in-cycle ice-usage event” in view of the teachings of Jeong to prevent damaging the agitator.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on pages 7-8 that Ko does not disclose “detecting an ice-usage event” as disclosed by independent claims 1 and 11, Examiner disagrees.
It is the Examiner’s position that the full ice level detection step (step S801 Fig. 8) disclosed by Ko is in essence the detection of an “ice-usage event” since ice consumption from a user would result in the ice level being less than full in ice storage unit 120 (Fig. 1b).
Furthermore, the Examiner’s position is corroborated by the Applicant’s disclosure in paragraph [0056] which states that “Ice-usage events may be events or operations that correspond to the removal (e.g., physical removal or removal via a dispensing assembly) of ice pieces from an ice storage bin, e.g., ice storage bin assembly 152, of the refrigerator appliance. For example, step 410 of detecting an ice-usage event may include sensing ice pieces within an ice storage bin at a feeler arm, e.g., the feeler arm 260, disposed above at least a portion of the ice storage bin. As described in more detail above, the feeler arm, e.g., the feeler arm 260, may be utilized to sense when an ice storage level of the ice storage bin has changed. In this regard, when the feeler arm 260 senses a change in the ice storage level of the ice storage bin (e.g., in response to receiving a signal corresponding to engagement between the feeler arm and a volume of ice), an ice-usage event may be detected”. In other words, Applicant is also defining the change in the ice level as an “ice-usage event’.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments on page 8 that Ko does not disclose “detecting a potential ice clumping state following detecting the ice-usage event” as disclosed by independent claims 1 and 11, Examiner disagrees.
As established above in the previous argument’s response, Ko teaches first detecting an ice-usage event (step S801 Fig. 8). Then based on whether the ice level is full or not in ice storage unit 120 (Fig. 1b), Ko teaches two different ways of determining a potential ice clumping state which are: step S802 Fig. 8 when ice storage unit 120 is full, and step S808 when ice storage unit 120 is not full.
Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763