DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 13 and 17-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments have overcome the double patenting rejections and the rejections over Wang.
Applicant's arguments filed 7/20/2026, with respect to the rejections over Agumba in view of Laleg have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Agumba is silent as to any need for aggregate material and there is no suggestion to include an aggregate material. However, the Examiner disagrees and notes that Laleg teaches adding silica aggregate to a similar composition. Furthermore, one would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for coloring Agumba’s lignin based material to yield an aesthetically pleasing final product, as well as providing improved abrasion resistance as silica is known for reinforcing compositions and providing abrasion resistance.
Applicant argues that there is no reasonable expectation of success in combining Agumba’s teachings with Laleg. However, the Examiner disagrees and maintains that both Laleg and Agumba are directed towards lignin based materials and one would expect silica would act similarly as a colorant in both types of lignin materials.
Additionally, Applicant argues that the lack of motivation to combine amounts to impermissible hindsight. However, as noted above, the Examiner maintains that one would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for coloring Agumba’s lignin based material to yield an aesthetically pleasing final product, as well as providing improved abrasion resistance as silica is known for reinforcing compositions and providing abrasion resistance. Therefore, the claims remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 13 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agumba et al. (“High-performance Esterified-Poly(vinyl alcohol)-Citric Acid-Lignin resin and its application to Wet-spun nanocellulose Filament-Reinforced polymer composite”) in view of Laleg et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2021/0040273) and Gupta et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2019/0255817).
I. Regarding claims 13 and 17, Agumba teaches a lignin-based material comprising: a lignin precursor comprising: lignin, citric acid and poly(vinyl alcohol) (Section 2.2). Agumba fails to teach the material comprising an aggregate filler as claimed and the lignin is dealkaline lignin.
First, Laleg teaches lignin compositions (abstract) comprising: lignin (abstract), polymer (0045), a reactive component, such as an acid (0037), and a colorant, such as silica (0099). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Agumba’s lignin based material by additionally including silica as disclosed by Laleg. One would have been motivated to make this modification to allow for coloring Agumba’s lignin based material to yield an aesthetically pleasing final product, as well as providing improved abrasion resistance as silica is known for reinforcing compositions and providing abrasion resistance.
Second, Gupta teaches the use of dealkaline lignin (0059) provides improved strength in polymer composites as compared to alkali lignin (Figures 8A and 8B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Agumba’s material by substituting dealkaline lignin for Agumba’s lignin. One would have been motivated to make this modification to provide improved strength to Agumba’s material.
II. Regarding claims 18-20, Agumba in view of Laleg and Gupta make obvious an identical material to that claimed. Therefore, Agumba in view of Laleg and Gupta’s material will inherently have the claimed compressive strength, water resistance and may withstand a force of at least 90 psi for greater than six months. Therefore, Agumba in view of Laleg and Gupta also make obvious claims 18-20.
Conclusion
Claims 13 and 17-20 are pending.
Claims 13 and 17-20 are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
October 6, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717