DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the amendments filed on 06/18/2026.
Applicant’s amendments filed 06/18/2026 have been fully considered and reviewed by the examiner. The examiner notes the amendment of claims 1, 3-4, 9-10, 13-17, 20; cancellation of claims 6 and 11-12; and the addition of new claims 21-23.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0346569 to Vielemeyer et al. (hereinafter Vielemeyer) (the reference US 2017/0062581 by You et al. (hereinafter You) and the reference US 2022/0020878 by Braun et al. (hereinafter Braun) are presented as evidence).
With respect to claim 1, Vielemeyer discloses a semiconductor device (e.g., integrated high electron mobility transistors (HEMTs), see the annotated Fig. 5 below) (Vielemeyer, Figs. 1-2, 5, ¶0004-¶0006, ¶0017, ¶0020-¶0026, ¶0030-¶0031), comprising:
a substrate (112) (Vielemeyer, Figs. 1-2, 5, ¶0021, ¶0026, ¶0030);
a heterojunction structure (116/118) (Vielemeyer, Figs. 1-2, 5, ¶0021) formed by a first group III-V compound layer (116, GaN) and a second group III-V compound layer (118, AlGaN) above the substrate (112);
a first gate electrode (106, the gate of the first HEMT transistor 102) (Vielemeyer, Fig. 5, ¶0020, ¶0030) deposited above the first group III-V compound layer (116) and the second group III-V compound layer (118), wherein the first gate electrode (106) is electrically connected to a first gate terminal (e.g., wiring electrically connected to the gate 106 and to the control gate terminal g1 through the drain d1 of the HEMT transistors 202 to turn on the first HEMT 102) (Vielemeyer, Fig. 5, ¶0030-¶0031);
a second gate electrode (106’’, the gate of the second HEMT transistor 204) (Vielemeyer, Fig. 5, ¶0030-¶0031) deposited above the first group III-V compound layer (116) and the second group III-V compound layer (118), wherein the second gate electrode (106’’) is electrically connected to a second gate terminal (e.g., the control gate terminal g2 of the second HEMT 204);
a source electrode (206, a common source shared by the first HEMT 102 and the second HEMT 204) (Vielemeyer, Fig. 5, ¶0031) deposited above the heterojunction structure (116/118), wherein the source electrode (206) is electrically connected to a source terminal (e.g., conventionally, a source of a HEMT transistor is connected to a source terminal, such as a ground terminal in Fig. 7);
a first drain electrode (110, the drain of the first HEMT 102) (Vielemeyer, Fig. 5, ¶0020, ¶0030) deposited above the heterojunction structure (116/118), wherein the first drain electrode (110) is electrically connected to a drain terminal (e.g., conventionally, a drain of a FET transistor is connected to a drain terminal, as evidenced in Fig. 4 of Braun); and
a second drain electrode (110’’) (Vielemeyer, Fig. 5, ¶0030, ¶0031) deposited above the heterojunction structure (116/118), wherein the second drain electrode (110’’) is electrically connected to the first gate terminal (106); wherein
the first gate electrode (106) (Vielemeyer, Fig. 5, ¶0030) is positioned between the source electrode (206) and the first drain electrode (110), the second gate electrode (106’’) is positioned between the source electrode (206) and the second drain electrode (110’’), and a distance between the source electrode (206) and the second gate electrode (106’’) (Vielemeyer, Fig. 5, ¶0030-¶0031) is less than a distance between the source electrode (206) and the first gate electrode (106) (note that the second gate electrode 106’’ is a gate of pull-down HEMT transistor 204, and it is known in the art that pull down FET has an identical device structure as the power FET but smaller layout, specifically, pull down FET is typically several orders of magnitude smaller conductance and area than the power FET, as evidenced by Braun, ¶0023 and ¶0025).
Regarding claim 3, Vielemeyer discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1. Further, Vielemeyer discloses the semiconductor device, wherein the first group III-V compound layer (116) (Vielemeyer, Figs. 1-2, 5, ¶0021) comprises a GaN layer, and the second group III-V compound layer (118) comprises an AlGaN layer.
Regarding claim 5, Vielemeyer discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1. Further, Vielemeyer discloses the semiconductor device, wherein a distance between the second drain electrode (110’’) (Vielemeyer, Fig. 5, ¶0030-¶0031) and the second gate electrode (106’’) is less than a distance between the first drain electrode (110) and the first gate electrode (106).
Regarding claim 7, Vielemeyer discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1. Further, Vielemeyer discloses the semiconductor device, further comprising: an AlN nucleation layer (114) (Vielemeyer, Figs. 1-2, 5, ¶0021) positioned between the substrate (e.g., growth substrate 112) and the heterojunction structure (116/118), to grow (e.g., conventionally heterojunction structure and transition layer 114 are formed on growth substrate 112 by epitaxial growth, as evidenced by You, ¶0009-¶0010) the first group III-V compound layer (116) and the second group III-V compound layer (118).
Note that limitations “to epitaxially grow” are directed towards the process of making an group III-V compound layers. It is well settled that "product-by-process" limitations in claims drawn to structure are directed to the product, per se, no matter how actually made. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), which make it clear that it is the patentability of the final product per se which must be determined in a "product by process" claim, and not the patentability of the process, and that an old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in "product by process" claims or otherwise. The above case law further makes clear that applicant has the burden of showing that the method language necessarily produces a structural difference. As such, the language “to epitaxially grow” only requires a structure, group III-V compound layers, which does not distinguish the invention from Vielemeyer, who teaches the structure as claimed.
With respect to claim 16, Vielemeyer discloses a semiconductor device (e.g., integrated high electron mobility transistors (HEMTs), see the annotated Fig. 5 above) (Vielemeyer, Figs. 1-2, 5, ¶0004-¶0006, ¶0017, ¶0020-¶0026, ¶0030-¶0031), comprising:
a first die (e.g., gate driver HEMT 104 monolithically integrated with the power HEMT 102) (Vielemeyer, Figs. 1-2, 5, ¶0022-¶0023), having a substrate (112) (Vielemeyer, Figs. 1-2, 5, ¶0021), a heterojunction structure (116/118) (Vielemeyer, Figs. 1-2, 5, ¶0021) formed by two group III-V compound layers (116/118, GaN/AlGaN) on the substrate (112), a first field effect transistor (FET) device (e.g., the power HEMT 102) (Vielemeyer, Figs. 2, 5, ¶0022-¶0023) and a second FET device (e.g., the gate driver HEMT 104) formed on the substrate (112); wherein
the first FET device (102) (Vielemeyer, Figs. 2, 5, ¶0026, ¶0030-¶0031) having a source electrode (124/206, a common source shared by the first HEMT 102 and the second HEMT 104/204) and a first drain electrode (110) deposited above the heterojunction structure (116/118), and a first gate electrode (106, the gate of the first HEMT transistor 102) (Vielemeyer, Figs.2, 5, ¶0026, ¶0030) deposited above the two group III-V compound layers (116/118); and
the second FET device (104/204) (Vielemeyer, Figs. 2, 5, ¶0026, ¶0030) having the source electrode (124/206, a common source shared by the first HEMT 102 and the second HEMT 104/204) shared with the first FET device (102), a second drain electrode (110’/110’’) (Vielemeyer, Figs. 2, 5, ¶0026, ¶0030-¶0031) deposited above the heterojunction structure (116/118), and a second gate electrode (106’/106’’, the gate of the second HEMT transistor 104/204) (Vielemeyer, Figs. 2, 5) deposited above the two group III-V compound layers (116/118); and wherein
a distance between the source electrode (124/206) and the second gate electrode (106’/106’’) (Vielemeyer, Figs. 2, 5, ¶0030-¶0031) is less than a distance between the source electrode (124/206) and the first gate electrode (106/206), and
the second drain electrode (110’/110’’) (Vielemeyer, Figs. 2, 5, ¶0026, ¶0031) is electrically connected to the first gate electrode (106).
Regarding claim 18, Vielemeyer discloses the semiconductor device of claim 16. Further, Vielemeyer discloses the semiconductor device, further comprising: a first gate terminal (e.g., wiring electrically connected to the gate 106 and to the control gate terminal g1 through the drain d1 of the HEMT transistors 202 to turn on the first HEMT 102) (Vielemeyer, Fig. 5, ¶0030-¶0031) configured to receive a first driving signal (e.g., to turn on the first HEMT 102), the first gate electrode (106) and the second drain electrode (110’’) are electrically connected (e.g., through the drain d1 of the HEMT transistors 202) to the first gate terminal (g1); a second gate terminal (g2) configured to receive a second driving signal, the second gate electrode (106’’) is electrically connected to the second gate terminal (g2, to turn off the HEMT 102); a drain terminal, the first drain electrode (110) is electrically connected to the drain terminal (e.g., conventionally, a drain of a HEMT transistor is connected to a drain terminal); and a source terminal (e.g., conventionally, a source of a HEMT transistor is connected to a source terminal, such as ground in Fig. 7), the source electrode (206) is electrically connected to the source terminal.
Regarding claim 19, Vielemeyer discloses the semiconductor device of claim 18. Further, Vielemeyer discloses the semiconductor device, wherein: when turning on the first FET device (102) by the first driving signal (g1) and turning off the second FET device (204) by the second driving signal (g2), the drain terminal and the source terminal are conducted through the first FET device (102); and when turning off the first FET device by the first driving signal (g1) and turning on the second FET device by the second driving signal (g2), the first gate terminal and the source terminal are conducted through the second FET device (204).
Note that the recitation of claim 19 " when turning on the first FET device by the first driving signal and turning off the second FET device by the second driving signal, the drain terminal and the source terminal are conducted through the first FET device; and when turning off the first FET device by the first driving signal and turning on the second FET device by the second driving signal, the first gate terminal and the source terminal are conducted through the second FET device" are intended-use recitations. The Examiner notes that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Pearson, 181 USPQ 641 (CCPA); In re Minks, 169 USPQ 120 (Bd Appeals); In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). See MPEP §2114. In the instant case the above recitations of intended use do not distinguish the present invention over the prior art of Vielemeyer who teaches the structure as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0346569to Vielemeyer in view of You et al. (US 2017/0062581, hereinafter You).
Regarding claim 2, Vielemeyer discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1. Further, Vielemeyer discloses the semiconductor device, wherein a two-dimension electron gas (2-DEG) region (Vielemeyer, Figs. 1-2, 5, ¶0018-¶0019, ¶0021) is formed at a transition between the first group III-V compound layer (116, GaN) and the second group III-V compound layer (118, AlGaN), but does not specifically disclose that the source electrode, the first drain electrode, and the second drain electrode are configured to make contact to the 2-DEG region to form ohmic contacts.
However, You teaches forming a semiconductor device (You, Fig. 12, ¶0010-¶0011, ¶0016-¶0019, ¶0029) comprising a two-dimension electron gas (2-DEG) region (116) formed by group III-V compound layers (112/114, GaN/AlGaN), and the source electrode (136) and the first and second drain electrodes (136) formed of ohmic metal to provide ohmic contacts to improve contact resistance between the source/drain electrodes and the channel layer, and thus to obtain improved GaN HEMT device having high breakdown voltage.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the semiconductor device of Vielemeyer by forming the source/drain electrodes made of ohmic metal as taught by You to have the semiconductor device, wherein the source electrode, the first drain electrode, and the second drain electrode are configured to make contact to the 2-DEG region to form ohmic contacts, in order to improve contact resistance between the source/drain electrodes and the channel layer, and thus to obtain improved GaN HEMT device having high breakdown voltage (You, ¶0001, ¶0010-¶0011, ¶0016-¶0019, ¶0029).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0346569to Vielemeyer in view of Inoue et al. (US 2005/0007200, hereinafter Inoue) and Ciou et al. (US 2020/0135869, hereinafter Ciou).
Regarding claim 4, Vielemeyer discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1. Further, Vielemeyer does not specifically disclose the semiconductor device, wherein a length of the second gate electrode is less than a length of the first gate electrode, and a length of the second drain electrode is less than a length of the first drain electrode.
However, Inoue teaches forming a semiconductor device (Inoue, Figs. 6, 9, ¶0002, ¶0008-¶0010, ¶0073) comprising a first FET including a first gate electrode (68) having a first length and a second FET including a second gate electrode (70) having a second length that is less than the first length (Inoue, Fig. 9, ¶0073), to increase a gain of the second transistor, and to provide an integrated circuit outputting high power and operating with high efficiency.
Further, Ciou teaches semiconductor device layouts (Ciou, Fig. 1B, ¶0014-¶0016, ¶0025-¶0032) with the source and drain contacts having different widths, wherein FETs formed on the same active region perform different functions and have different source/drain contact resistances. A source/drain contact resistance in a FET is proportional to the size of the source/drain contact. A source/drain contact with a larger footprint (e.g., with greater width/ length W2) (Ciou, Fig. 1B, ¶0032) provides a greater electrical contact area, thus reducing the contact resistance between the source/drain contact and a corresponding source/drain region. Reduced contact resistance at the source/drain regions of the FET facilitates current passing into/out of the FET through the source/drain contacts, which leads to an increase in switching speed for the FET. In Ciou, the source/drain contact resistance for different types of FETs on the same active region are tailored to maximize performance of the integrated circuit.
Thus, Ciou recognizes that the width/length of the source/drain contacts of FET transistors impacts contact resistance of FETs and performance of the integrated circuit. Thus, the width/length of the source/drain contacts of FET transistors is a result-effective variable.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to vary, through routine optimization, the width/length of the source/drain contacts of FET transistors as Ciou has identified the width/length of the source/drain contacts of FET transistors as a result-effective variable. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at a specific width/length of the source/drain contacts of FET transistors, such that a length of the second drain electrode is less than a length of the first drain electrode, in order to reduce switching losses as taught by Ciou (¶0014-¶0015, ¶0032) (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the semiconductor device of Vielemeyer by forming a first gate electrode and a second gate electrode having different gate lengths as taught by Inoue, and optimizing width/length of the source/drain contacts of FET transistors as taught by Ciou to have the semiconductor device, wherein a length of the second gate electrode is less than a length of the first gate electrode, and a length of the second drain electrode is less than a length of the first drain electrode, in order to increase a gain of the second transistor, and to provide an integrated circuit outputting high power and operating with high efficiency; and to maximize performance of the integrated circuit (Inoue, ¶0002, ¶0008-¶0010, ¶0073; Ciou, ¶0014-¶0015, ¶0032).
Claims 8-9 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0346569to Vielemeyer in view of Elbanhawy (US Patent No. 6,930,473).
Regarding claim 8, Vielemeyer discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1. Further, Vielemeyer discloses the semiconductor device, further comprising: a third gate electrode (106’, the gate of the second HEMT transistor 202) (Vielemeyer, Fig. 5, ¶0030-¶0031) deposited above the first group III-V compound layer (116) and the second group III-V compound layer (118); and a third drain electrode (110’) deposited above the heterojunction structure (116/118), the third drain electrode (110’) is electrically connected to the first gate terminal (106), but does not specifically disclose the semiconductor device, wherein the third gate electrode is electrically connected to a third gate terminal.
However, Elbanhawy teaches forming an integrated circuit (e.g., DC-DC converter) (Elbanhawy, Fig. 2a, Col. 1, lines 13-15; lines 61-67; Col. 2, lines 1-7; Col. 6, lines 20-48; Col. 7, lines 27-38) comprising a third FET transistor (Q3) and a controller (202) to provide respective gate voltage (VG3) to the third gate electrode of the third FET (Q3) that is electrically connected to a third gate terminal and third gate driver (D3), wherein the smaller third FET (Q3) is optimized to reduce switching losses and the larger FET (Q2) is optimized to reduce conduction loses.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the semiconductor device of Vielemeyer by forming an integrated circuit comprising a third FET transistor and a controller providing gate signals to the first to third FET transistor as taught by Elbanhawy to have the semiconductor device, the semiconductor device, wherein the third gate electrode is electrically connected to a third gate terminal, in order to provide improved integrated circuit with optimized FETs to reduce switching losses and conduction loses (Elbanhawy, Col. 1, lines 13-15; lines 61-67; Col. 2, lines 1-7; Col. 6, lines 40-48).
Regarding claim 9, Vielemeyer in view of Elbanhawy discloses the semiconductor device of claim 8. Further, Vielemeyer discloses the semiconductor device, wherein at least one of the following relationships is satisfied: (3) a distance between the second drain electrode (110’’) (Vielemeyer, Fig. 5, ¶0030-¶0031) and the second gate electrode (106’’) is less than a distance between the first drain electrode (110) and the first gate electrode (106), but does not specifically disclose that a distance between the third drain electrode and the third gate electrode is less than a distance between the second drain electrode and the second gate electrode.
However, Elbanhawy teaches optimizing smaller third FET (Q3) to reduce switching losses, and optimizing larger FET (Q2) to reduce conduction loses (Elbanhawy, Fig. 2a, Col. 6, lines 44-48). Thus, Elbanhawy recognizes that the size of the smaller FET transistor impacts switching losses of the device. Thus, the size of the smaller FET transistor is a result-effective variable.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to vary, through routine optimization, the size of the smaller FET transistor as Elbanhawy has identified the size of the smaller FET transistor as a result-effective variable. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at a specific size of the smaller FET transistor, such that distance between the third drain electrode and the third gate electrode is less than a distance between the second drain electrode and the second gate electrode, in order to reduce switching losses as taught by Elbanhawy (Col. 6, lines 44-48) (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the semiconductor device of Vielemeyer/ Elbanhawy by optimizing a size of the third FET transistor as taught by Elbanhawy to have the semiconductor device, the semiconductor device, wherein a distance between the third drain electrode and the third gate electrode is less than a distance between the second drain electrode and the second gate electrode, in order to provide improved integrated circuit with optimized FETs to reduce switching losses and conduction loses (Elbanhawy, Col. 1, lines 13-15; lines 61-67; Col. 2, lines 1-7; Col. 6, lines 40-48).
Regarding claim 22, Vielemeyer in view of Elbanhawy discloses the semiconductor device of claim 8. Further, Vielemeyer discloses the semiconductor device, wherein the first gate electrode (106) (Vielemeyer, Fig. 5, ¶0029-¶0031), the source electrode (206), and the first drain electrode (110) form a first FET device (HEMT 102), the second gate electrode (106’’), the second drain electrode (110’’), and the source electrode (206) form a second FET device (HEMT 204), and the third gate electrode (106’), the third drain electrode (110’), and the source electrode (108’, note that the limitation “a source electrode” is interpreted as “one or more” because the claim uses an open ended transition phrase “comprising”, thus “the source electrode” is interpreted as including a common source 206 and a source 108’) form a third FET device (HEMT 202), and the first to third gate terminals (106, 106’’, and 106’) are configured to receive first to third driving signals, respectively.
Claims 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2014/0346569 to Vielemeyer in view of Elbanhawy (US Patent No. 6,930,473).
Regarding claim 17, Vielemeyer discloses the semiconductor device of claim 16. Further, Vielemeyer discloses the semiconductor device, further comprising: a third FET device (202) (Vielemeyer, Fig. 5, ¶0030-¶0031), wherein the third FET device (202) is connected to the first FET device (102) to form a switching node (e.g., at the common drain d2/d3 connected to the first gate 106 of the first transistor 102), but does not specifically disclose the semiconductor device, further comprising: a second die co-packed with the first die in a chip, the second die having a third FET device and a control circuit; and wherein the control circuit is configured to provide a first driving signal to control the first FET device, a second driving signal to control the second FET device, and a third driving signal to control the third FET device.
However, Vielemeyer teaches forming a semiconductor device comprising a gate driver HEMT (104/204) monolithically integrated with the power HEMT (102) (Vielemeyer, Figs. 1-2, 5, ¶0022-¶0023) on the same die to remove a part from the driver die to remove parasitic resistance and capacitance between the dies to reduce voltage spikes at the gate of the power HEMT (Vielemeyer, ¶0004, ¶0038), as the gate driver HEMTs function as a gate voltage protection circuit.
Further, Elbanhawy teaches forming an integrated circuit (e.g., DC-DC converter) (Elbanhawy, Fig. 2a, Col. 1, lines 13-15; lines 61-67; Col. 2, lines 1-7; Col. 6, lines 20-48; Col. 7, lines 27-38) comprising a third FET transistor (Q3) and a controller (202) to provide respective gate voltage (VG3) to the third gate electrode of the third FET (Q3) that is electrically connected to a third gate terminal and third gate driver (D3), wherein the smaller third FET (Q3) is optimized to reduce switching losses and the larger FET (Q2) is optimized to reduce conduction loses. The control circuit (202) (Elbanhawy, Fig. 2a, Col. 6, lines 20-48) is configured to provide a first driving signal (VG1) to control the first FET device (Q1), a second driving signal (VG2) to control the second FET device (Q2), and a third driving signal (VG3) to control the third FET device (Q3), wherein the first FET and the second FET are formed on one integrated circuit and the third transistor (Q3) is formed in a second integrated circuit that is interconnected with the one integrated circuit to provide a DC-DC converter (Elbanhawy, Fig. 2a, Col. 7, lines 27-38).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the semiconductor device of Vielemeyer by forming two discrete integrated circuits interconnected to form a converter as taught by Elbanhawy, wherein the first die includes the first FET and the second FET, and wherein the second die includes a third FET transistor and a gate driver as taught by Vielemeyer to have the semiconductor device, further comprising: a second die co-packed with the first die in a chip, the second die having a third FET device and a control circuit; and wherein the control circuit is configured to provide a first driving signal to control the first FET device, a second driving signal to control the second FET device, and a third driving signal to control the third FET device, in order to provide improved integrated circuit with optimized FETs to reduce switching losses and conduction loses; and to protect power HEMT by reducing voltage spikes at the gate of the power HEMT by integrating the gate driver circuit with the FET device to remove parasitic resistance and capacitance (Elbanhawy, Col. 1, lines 13-15; lines 61-67; Col. 2, lines 1-7; Col. 6, lines 40-48; Vielemeyer, ¶0004-¶0006, ¶0038).
Regarding claim 20, Vielemeyer discloses the semiconductor device of claim 16. Further, Vielemeyer does not specifically disclose that a layout size of the second FET device is less than a layout size of the first FET device.
However, Elbanhawy teaches forming an integrated circuit (e.g., DC-DC converter) (Elbanhawy, Fig. 2a, Col. 1, lines 13-15; lines 61-67; Col. 2, lines 1-7; Col. 6, lines 20-48; Col. 7, lines 27-38) comprising smaller FETs (Q1 and Q3) enable reduction of switching losses, and the larger FETs (Q2 and Q4) optimized to reduce conduction loses.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the semiconductor device of Vielemeyer by forming an integrated circuit comprising smaller size FET transistors and larger size FET transistors with optimized sizes as taught by Elbanhawy to have the semiconductor device, wherein a layout size of the second FET device is less than a layout size of the first FET device, in order to provide improved integrated circuit with optimized FETs to reduce switching losses and conduction loses (Elbanhawy, Col. 1,lines 13-15;lines 61-67;Col. 2,lines 1-7; Col. 6,lines 40-48).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 13-15, and 23 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The search of the prior art does not disclose or reasonably suggest forming a semiconductor device comprising a first gate electrode of a first FET, a second gate electrode of a second FET, and a third gate electrode of a third FET, a source electrode having a first portion and second portion, a first drain electrode, a second drain electrode, and a third drain electrode on the same substrate, wherein a length of the second gate electrode is less than a length of the first gate electrode, and a length of the third gate electrode is less than the length of the second gate electrode, in combinations with other claim limitations as required by claim 10.
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant's argument that “[i]n FIG. 5 of the Vielemeyer, the distance between the common source region 206 and the gate 106" and the distance between the common source region 206 and the gate 106 appear substantially equal at normal scale viewing. Any marginal difference between the two distances only becomes arguably perceptible upon significant magnification, and even then, the perceived difference appears to be no greater than the width of the lines used to render the figure itself. A difference that falls within the margin of drafting variation cannot serve as a clear and unambiguous disclosure of a specific dimensional relationship”, the examiner submits that Drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. When the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification. The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art.
In the instant case, the second gate electrode 106’’ of Vielemeyer is a gate of pull-down HEMT transistor 204, and the gate electrode 106 of Vielemeyer is a gate of power HEMT. It is known in the art that pull down FET has an identical device structure as the power FET but smaller layout; specifically, pull down FET is typically several orders of magnitude smaller conductance and area than the power FET, as evidenced by Braun (¶0023 and ¶0025). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the distance between the common source region 206 and the gate 106" and the distance between the common source region 206 and the gate 106 are not equal because the pull-down FET is typically has much smaller area than the power FET.
Thus, the above Applicant's argument is not persuasive, and the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 102 over Vielemeyer is maintained.
Regarding dependent claims 2-5, 7-9, 17-20, and 22 which depend on the independent claims 1 and 16, the examiner respectfully submits that the applicant’s arguments with respect to dependent claims are not persuasive for the above reasons, thus, the rejections of the dependent claims are sustained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATALIA A GONDARENKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891