DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1 -2, 4-5, 10 -11, 13-1 6, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 8,447,057 to Goida et al. (hereinafter Goida ). With respect to claim 1, Goida discloses a method for manufacturing a MEMS pressure transducer chip (e.g., packaged MEMS microphone device , see the annotated Figs. 2-3 below ) ( Goida , Figs. 2-3, 4A-4B, Col. 2, lines 35-45; Col. 3, lines 41-67; Cols. 4-5) with a hybrid integrated environmental barrier structure (e.g., filter to prevent particles from reaching the sensitive MEMS membrane), the method comprising: providing a substrate (e.g., microphone die 18) ( Goida , Figs. 2-3, Col. 5, lines 14-30; lines 41-43) comprising at least one membrane (e.g., 27); structuring a stepped recess structure (e.g., forming the die cavity 24 and a gap 30) ( Goida , Figs. 2-3, Col. 5, lines 14-30; lines 41-43) into the substrate (18), the stepped recess structure (30/24) comprising a first recess (30) having a first lateral width and a second recess (24) adjacent to the first recess (30), the second recess (24) having a second lateral width larger than the first lateral width, wherein the stepped recess structure (30/24) extends between the membrane (27) and a substrate surface (e.g., bottom surface of the die 18) opposite the membrane (17); and 647700 660400 arranging an environmental barrier structure (e.g., filter 25) ( Goida , Figs. 2-3, 4A-4B, Col. 5, lines 20-67; Col. 6, lines 1-13) inside the second recess (24) . Regarding claim 2, Goida discloses the method of claim 1 . Further, Goida discloses the method , wherein arranging the environmental barrier structure (25) ( Goida , Figs. 2-3, Col. 5, lines 20-53) inside the second recess (24) further comprises: attaching the environmental barrier structure (25) to a collar (e.g., a horizontal side surface of the step structure) that is formed by a transition from the first recess (30) to the adjacent second recess (24) . Regarding claim 4, Goida discloses the method of claim 1 . Further, Goida discloses the method , wherein arranging the environmental barrier structure (25) inside the second recess (24) further comprises: arranging the environmental barrier (25) ( Goida , Figs. 2-3, Col. 5, lines 20-53) inside the second recess (24) such that the environmental barrier covers the first recess (30) . Regarding claim 5, Goida discloses the method of claim 1 . Further, Goida discloses the method , wherein structuring the stepped recess structure (30/24) into the substrate (18) further comprises: creating the second recess (24) ( Goida , Figs. 2-3, Col. 5, lines 20-53) with a depth that is larger than, a thickness of the environmental barrier structure (25) , wherein the environmental barrier structure (25) is located inside the second recess (24) . With respect to claim 10, Goida discloses a MEMS pressure transducer chip (e.g., packaged MEMS microphone device , see the annotated Figs. 2-3 above ) ( Goida , Figs. 2-3, 4A-4B, Col. 2, lines 35-45; Col. 3, lines 41-67; Cols. 4-5) with a hybrid integrated environmental barrier structure (e.g., filter to prevent particles from reaching the sensitive MEMS membrane), the MEMS pressure transducer chip comprising: a substrate (e.g., microphone die 18) ( Goida , Figs. 2-3, Col. 5, lines 14-30; lines 41-43) comprising at least one membrane (e.g., 27); the substrate (18) comprising a stepped recess structure (e.g., forming the die cavity 24 and a gap 30) ( Goida , Figs. 2-3, Col. 5, lines 14-30; lines 41-43), the stepped recess structure (30/24) further comprising a first recess (30) having a first lateral width and an adjacent second recess (24) having a second lateral width larger than the first lateral width, wherein the stepped recess structure (30/24) extends between the membrane (27) and a substrate surface (e.g., bottom surface of the die 18) opposite the membrane (17); and an environmental barrier structure (e.g., filter 25) ( Goida , Figs. 2-3, 4A-4B, Col. 5, lines 20-67; Col. 6, lines 1-13) located inside the second recess (24). Regarding claim 11, Goida discloses the MEMS pressure transducer chip of claim 1 0. Further, Goida discloses the MEMS pressure transducer chip, wherein the environmental barrier structure (25) ( Goida , Figs. 2-3, 4A-4B, Col. 5, lines 20-53) located inside the second recess (24) covers the first recess (30) . Regarding claim 13, Goida discloses the MEMS pressure transducer chip of claim 1 0. Further, Goida discloses the MEMS pressure transducer chip, wherein the environmental barrier structure (25) ( Goida , Figs. 2-3, 4A-4B, Col. 5, lines 20-62) comprises a rigid mesh (e.g., formed of a metal layer having apertures 26a) . Regarding claim 14, Goida discloses the MEMS pressure transducer chip of claim 1 0. Further, Goida discloses the MEMS pressure transducer chip, wherein the MEMS pressure transducer chip is a MEMS microphone chip comprising a flexible microphone membrane (e.g., movable membrane 27) ( Goida , Figs. 2-3, Col. 5, lines 4-40) . With respect to claim 15, Goida discloses a MEMS pressure transducer package housing a MEMS pressure transducer chip (e.g., packaged MEMS microphone device , see the annotated Figs. 2-3 above ) ( Goida , Figs. 2-3, 4A-4B, Col. 2, lines 35-45; Col. 3, lines 41-67; Cols. 4-5), the MEMS pressure transducer chip comprising: a substrate (e.g., microphone die 18) ( Goida , Figs. 2-3, Col. 5, lines 14-30; lines 41-43) comprising at least one membrane (e.g., 27); the substrate (18) comprising a stepped recess structure (e.g., forming the die cavity 24 and a gap 30) ( Goida , Figs. 2-3, Col. 5, lines 14-30; lines 41-43), the stepped recess structure (30/24) further comprising a first recess (30) having a first lateral width and a second recess (24) adjacent to the first recess (30), the second recess (24) having a second lateral width larger than the first lateral width, wherein the stepped recess structure (30/24) extends between the membrane (27) and a substrate surface (e.g., bottom surface of the die 18) opposite the membrane (17); and an environmental barrier structure (e.g., filter 25) ( Goida , Figs. 2-3, 4A-4B, Col. 5, lines 20-67; Col. 6, lines 1-13) located inside the second recess (24). Regarding claim 16, Goida discloses the MEMS pressure transducer package of claim 1 5. Further, Goida discloses the MEMS pressure transducer package, wherein the environmental barrier structure (25) ( Goida , Figs. 2-3, 4A-4B, Col. 5, lines 20-53) located inside the second recess (24) covers the first recess (30) . Regarding claim 18, Goida discloses the MEMS pressure transducer package of claim 1 5. Further, Goida discloses the MEMS pressure transducer package, wherein the environmental barrier structure (25) ( Goida , Figs. 2-3, 4A-4B, Col. 5, lines 20-62) comprises a rigid mesh (e.g., formed of a metal layer having apertures 26a) . Regarding claim 19, Goida discloses the MEMS pressure transducer package of claim 1 5. Further, Goida discloses the MEMS pressure transducer package, wherein the MEMS pressure transducer chip is a MEMS microphone chip comprising a flexible microphone membrane (e.g., movable membrane 27) ( Goida , Figs. 2-3, Col. 5, lines 4-40) . Regarding claim 20, Goida discloses the MEMS pressure transducer package of claim 1 5. Further, Goida discloses the MEMS pressure transducer package, wherein the MEMS pressure transducer chip (18) is mounted on a package substrate (12) ( Goida , Figs. 2-3, Col. 3, lines 41-60) comprising a printed-circuit board (PCB). Claims 1-2, 4-5, 10-11, 13-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0215587 to Klein. With respect to claim 1, Klein discloses a method for manufacturing a MEMS pressure transducer chip (e.g., MEMS sound transducer formed as microphone device , see the annotated Fig. 6 below ) (Klein, Figs. 2a-2b, 6, 7a-7b, ¶0002, ¶0027-¶0034, ¶0038-¶0041, ¶0063-¶0077) with a hybrid integrated environmental barrier structure (e.g., filter to provide barrier for particles), the method comprising: providing a substrate (e.g., 46 ) (Klein, Figs. 2a-2b, 6, 7a-7b, ¶0064-¶0065) comprising at least one membrane (e.g., 18 ); structuring a stepped recess structure (e.g., etching process to provide to provide a plurality of openings in the substrate 46 ) (Klein, Figs. 6, 7a-7b, ¶0064-¶0065, ¶0075) into the substrate ( 46 ), the stepped recess structure comprising a first recess ( e.g., an opening in the substrate 46 2 /46 3 ) having a first lateral width and a second recess (e.g., an opening in the substrate 46 4 ) adjacent to the first recess, the second recess having a second lateral width larger than the first lateral width, wherein the stepped recess structure extends between the membrane ( 18 ) and a substrate surface (e.g., bottom surface of the substrate 46 4 ) opposite the membrane (1 8 ); and center 689610 0 0 arranging an environmental barrier structure (e.g., filter 26 ) (Klein, Figs. 6, 7a-7b, ¶0064-¶0065, ¶0075-¶0076) inside the second recess. Regarding claim 2, Klein discloses the method of claim 1 . Further, Klein discloses the method , wherein arranging the environmental barrier structure (2 6 ) (Klein, Figs. 6, 7a-7b, ¶0064-¶0065, ¶0075-¶0076) inside the second recess further comprises: attaching the environmental barrier structure (2 6 ) to a collar (e.g., a horizontal side surface of the step structure) that is formed by a transition from the first recess (e.g., an opening in the substrate 46 3 ) to the adjacent second recess (e.g., an opening in the substrate 46 4 ) . Regarding claim 4, Klein discloses the method of claim 1 . Further, Klein discloses the method , wherein arranging the environmental barrier structure (2 6 ) inside the second recess e.g., an opening in the substrate 46 4 ) further comprises: arranging the environmental barrier (2 6 ) (Klein, Figs. 6, 7a-7b, ¶0064-¶0065, ¶0075-¶0076) inside the second recess (e.g., an opening in the substrate 46 4 ) such that the environmental barrier (26) covers the first recess (e.g., an opening in the substrate 46 3 ) . Regarding claim 5, Klein discloses the method of claim 1 . Further, Klein discloses the method , wherein structuring the stepped recess structure into the substrate ( 46 ) further comprises: creating the second recess (e.g., an opening in the substrate 46 3 ) (Klein, Figs. 6, 7a-7b, ¶0064-¶0065, ¶0075-¶0076) with a depth that is larger than, a thickness of the environmental barrier structure (2 6 ) , wherein the environmental barrier structure (2 6 ) is located inside the second recess. With respect to claim 10, Klein discloses a MEMS pressure transducer chip (e.g., MEMS sound transducer formed as microphone device , see the annotated Fig. 6 above ) (Klein, Figs. 2a-2b, 6, 7a-7b, ¶0002, ¶0027-¶0034, ¶0038-¶0041, ¶0063-¶0077) with a hybrid integrated environmental barrier structure (e.g., filter to provide barrier for particles), the MEMS pressure transducer chip comprising: a substrate (e.g., 46) (Klein, Figs. 6, 7a-7b, ¶0064-¶0065, ¶0075-¶0076) comprising at least one membrane (e.g., 18); the substrate (46) comprising a stepped recess structure (e.g., a plurality of openings in the substrate 46) (Klein, Figs. 6, 7a-7b, ¶0064-¶0065, ¶0075-¶0076) , the stepped recess structure (e.g., a plurality of openings in the substrate 46) (Klein, Figs. 6, 7a-7b, ¶0064-¶0065, ¶0075) further comprising a first recess (e.g., an opening in the substrate 46 3 ) having a first lateral width and an adjacent second recess (e.g., an opening in the substrate 46 4 ) having a second lateral width larger than the first lateral width, wherein the stepped recess structure extends between the membrane (18) and a substrate surface (e.g., bottom surface of the substrate 46 4 ) opposite the membrane (18); and an environmental barrier structure (e.g., filter 26) (Klein, Figs. 6, 7a-7b, ¶0064-¶0065, ¶0075-¶0076) located inside the second recess. Regarding claim 11, Klein discloses the MEMS pressure transducer chip of claim 1 0. Further, Klein discloses the MEMS pressure transducer chip, wherein the environmental barrier structure (26) (Klein, Figs. 6, 7a-7b, ¶0064-¶0065, ¶0075-¶0076) located inside the second recess (e.g., an opening in the substrate 46 4 ) covers the first recess (e.g., an opening in the substrate 46 3 ) . Regarding claim 13, Klein discloses the MEMS pressure transducer chip of claim 1 0. Further, Klein discloses the MEMS pressure transducer chip, wherein the environmental barrier structure (26) (Klein, Figs. 6, 7a-7b, ¶0037, ¶0064-¶0065, ¶0068, ¶0070, ¶0072 ) comprises a rigid mesh (e.g., formed of a metal layer having openings 62 ) . Regarding claim 14, Klein discloses the MEMS pressure transducer chip of claim 1 0. Further, Klein discloses the MEMS pressure transducer chip, wherein the MEMS pressure transducer chip is a MEMS microphone chip comprising a flexible microphone membrane (e.g., movable membrane 18) (Klein, Figs. 2a-2b, 6, 7a-7b, ¶0027, ¶0064-¶0065, ¶0075-¶0076 , ¶0078 ) . With respect to claim 15, Klein discloses a MEMS pressure transducer package housing a MEMS pressure transducer chip (e.g., packaged MEMS sound transducer formed as microphone device , see the annotated Fig. 6 above ) (Klein, Figs. 2a-2b, 6, 7a-7b, ¶0002, ¶0027-¶0034, ¶0038-¶0041, ¶0063-¶0077), the MEMS pressure transducer chip comprising: a substrate (e.g., 46) (Klein, Figs. 6, 7a-7b, ¶0064-¶0065, ¶0075-¶0076) comprising at least one membrane (e.g., 18); the substrate (46) comprising a stepped recess structure (e.g., a plurality of openings in the substrate 46) (Klein, Figs. 6, 7a-7b, ¶0064-¶0065, ¶0075-¶0076) , the stepped recess structure further comprising a first recess (e.g., an opening in the substrate 46 3 ) having a first lateral width and a second recess (e.g., an opening in the substrate 46 4 ) adjacent to the first recess, the second recess having a second lateral width larger than the first lateral width, wherein the stepped recess structure extends between the membrane ( 18 ) and a substrate surface (e.g., bottom surface of t he substrate 46 4 ) opposite the membrane (1 8 ); and an environmental barrier structure (e.g., filter 2 6 ) (Klein, Figs. 6, 7a-7b, ¶0064-¶0065, ¶0075-¶0076) located inside the second recess. Regarding claim 16, Klein discloses the MEMS pressure transducer package of claim 1 5. Further, Klein discloses the MEMS pressure transducer package, wherein the environmental barrier structure (2 6 ) (Klein, Figs. 6, 7a-7b, ¶0064-¶0065, ¶0075-¶0076 ) located inside the second recess (e.g., an opening in the substrate 46 4 ) covers the first recess (e.g., an opening in the substrate 46 3 ) . Regarding claim 18, Klein discloses the MEMS pressure transducer package of claim 1 5. Further, Klein discloses the MEMS pressure transducer package, wherein the environmental barrier structure (2 6 ) (Klein, Figs. 6, 7a-7b, ¶0037, ¶0064-¶0065, ¶0068, ¶0070, ¶0072) comprises a rigid mesh (e.g., formed of a metal layer having apertures 62 ) . Regarding claim 19, Klein discloses the MEMS pressure transducer package of claim 1 5. Further, Klein discloses the MEMS pressure transducer package, wherein the MEMS pressure transducer chip is a MEMS microphone chip comprising a flexible microphone membrane (e.g., movable membrane 18 ) (Klein, Figs. 2a-2b, 6, 7a-7b, ¶0027, ¶0064-¶0065, ¶0075-¶0076, ¶0078) . Regarding claim 20, Klein discloses the MEMS pressure transducer package of claim 1 5. Further, Klein discloses the MEMS pressure transducer package, wherein the MEMS pressure transducer chip (1 6 ) is mounted on a package substrate (12 b ) ( Klein, Figs. 2a-2b, 6, 7a-7b, ¶0038-¶0041, ¶0064-¶0065 ) comprising a printed-circuit board (PCB). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim s 1 -5 , 10-11, 13-1 6, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 9,769,554 to Brioschi et al. (hereinafter Brioschi ) in view of Lim et al. (US 2019/0145806, hereinafter Lim). With respect to claim s 1 -5 , Brioschi discloses a method for manufacturing a MEMS pressure transducer chip (e.g., packaged MEMS acoustic transducer , see the annotated Fig. 6 below ) ( Brioschi , Fig. 6, Col. 1, lines 10-16; Cols. 2-10) with a hybrid integrated environmental barrier structure (e.g., filter to protect MEMS from contamination of particles), the method comprising: providing a substrate (e.g., 5) ( Brioschi , Fig. 6, Col. 1, lines 4 1-57; Col. 4, lines 1-4; Col. 7, lines 47-52) comprising at least one membrane (e.g., 2 ); structuring a stepped recess structure (e.g., forming a cavity 6 having stepped structure ) ( Brioschi , Fig. 6, Col. 1, lines 41-57; Col. 4, lines 1-4; Col. 7, lines 47-52) into the substrate ( 5 ), the stepped recess structure ( 6 ) comprising a first recess ( e.g., upper recess ) having a first lateral width and a second recess ( e.g., lower recess ) adjacent to the first recess, the second recess having a second lateral width larger than the first lateral width, wherein the stepped recess structure ( 6 ) extends between the membrane (2) and a substrate surface (e.g., bottom surface of the substrate 5 ) opposite the membrane ( 2 ); and arranging an environmental barrier structure (e.g., filter 82 ) ( Brioschi , Fig. 6, Col. 7, lines 53-67; Col. 8, lines 1-4) at the second recess (24). 914400 3175 0 0 Further, Brioschi does not specifically disclose arranging an environmental barrier inside the second recess structure (as claimed in claim 1); wherein arranging the environmental barrier structure inside the second recess further comprises: attaching the environmental barrier structure to a collar that is formed by a transition from the first recess to the adjacent second recess (as claimed in claim 2); wherein arranging the environmental barrier structure inside the second recess further comprises: applying a bonding layer at a rim area of the environmental barrier structure; and attaching the environmental barrier structure with the bonding layer applied directly to the substrate material (as claimed in claim 3); wherein arranging the environmental barrier structure inside the second recess further comprises: arranging the environmental barrier inside the second recess such that the environmental barrier covers the first recess (as claimed in claim 4); wherein structuring the stepped recess structure into the substrate further comprises: creating the second recess with a depth that is as large as, or larger than, a thickness of the environmental barrier structure, wherein the environmental barrier structure is located inside the second recess (as claimed in claim 5). 533400 1607820 0 0 However, Lim teaches forming the substrate (110 , see the annotated Fig. 2 below ) (Lim, Fig. 2, ¶0020-¶0021, ¶0028-¶0029) having an environmental barrier (e.g., mesh filter 134) inside the second recess structure (e.g., a lower recess extending to an indented surface 130), to provide a filter having a larger effective surface area to improve acoustic permittivity, and to improve resistance of the MEMS sensor to ingression of contamination (Lim, ¶0015, ¶0028). In Lim, the environmental barrier structure (134) (Lim, Fig. 2, ¶0028) is arranged inside the second recess further comprises: attaching the environmental barrier structure (134) to a collar (e.g., the indented surface 130) that is formed by a transition from the first recess (e.g., the upper recess 132) to the adjacent second recess (e.g., the lower recess); wherein arranging the environmental barrier structure (134) inside the second recess further comprises: applying a bonding layer (142) (Lim, Fig. 2, ¶0028) at a rim area of the environmental barrier structure (134) ; and attaching the environmental barrier structure (134 ) with the bonding layer (142) applied directly to the substrate material ( 110 ); wherein arranging the environmental barrier structure (134) inside the second recess further comprises: arranging the environmental barrier (134) (Lim, Fig. 2, ¶0028) inside the second recess (e.g., the lower recess) such that the environmental barrier (134) covers the first recess ( e.g., the upper recess 132 ); wherein structuring the stepped recess structure into the substrate further comprises: creating the second recess (e.g., the lower recess) (Lim, Fig. 2, ¶0028) with a depth that is larger than, a thickness of the environmental barrier structure (134) , wherein the environmental barrier structure (134) is located inside the second recess (e.g., the lower recess). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modif y the method of Brioschi by arranging the mesh filter inside the lower recess of the substrate by using a bonding layer as taught by Lim to have the method, comprising: arranging an environmental barrier inside the second recess structure (as claimed in claim 1); wherein arranging the environmental barrier structure inside the second recess further comprises: attaching the environmental barrier structure to a collar that is formed by a transition from the first recess to the adjacent second recess (as claimed in claim 2); wherein arranging the environmental barrier structure inside the second recess further comprises: applying a bonding layer at a rim area of the environmental barrier structure; and attaching the environmental barrier structure with the bonding layer applied directly to the substrate material (as claimed in claim 3); wherein arranging the environmental barrier structure inside the second recess further comprises: arranging the environmental barrier inside the second recess such that the environmental barrier covers the first recess (as claimed in claim 4); wherein structuring the stepped recess structure into the substrate further comprises: creating the second recess with a depth that is as large as, or larger than, a thickness of the environmental barrier structure, wherein the environmental barrier structure is located inside the second recess (as claimed in claim 5) , in order to provide a filter having a larger effective surface area to improve acoustic permittivity, and to improve resistance of the MEMS sensor to ingression of contamination (Lim, ¶0015, ¶0028). With respect to claims 10 -11 , Brioschi discloses a MEMS pressure transducer chip (e.g., packaged MEMS acoustic transducer , see the annotated Fig. 6 above ) ( Brioschi , Fig. 6, Col. 1, lines 10-16; Cols. 2-10) with a hybrid integrated environmental barrier structure (e.g., filter to protect MEMS from contamination of particles), the MEMS pressure transducer chip comprising: a substrate (e.g., 5) ( Brioschi , Fig. 6, Col. 1, lines 41-57; Col. 4, lines 1-4; Col. 7, lines 47-52) comprising at least one membrane (e.g., 2); the substrate (e.g., 5) comprising a stepped recess structure (e.g., forming a cavity 6 having stepped structure) ( Brioschi , Fig. 6, Col. 1, lines 41-57; Col. 4, lines 1-4; Col. 7, lines 47-52) , the stepped recess structure (6) further comprising a first recess (e.g., upper recess) having a first lateral width and a n adjacent second recess (e.g., lower recess) having a second lateral width larger than the first lateral width, wherein the stepped recess structure (6) extends between the membrane (2) and a substrate surface (e.g., bottom surface of the substrate 5) opposite the membrane (2); and an environmental barrier structure (e.g., filter 82) ( Brioschi , Fig. 6, Col. 7, lines 53-67; Col. 8, lines 1-4) located at the second recess (24). Further, Brioschi does not specifically disclose an environmental barrier located inside the second recess structure (as claimed in claim 1 0 ); wherein the environmental barrier structure located inside the second recess covers the first recess (as claimed in claim 11) . However, Lim teaches forming the substrate (110 , see the annotated Fig. 2 above ) (Lim, Fig. 2, ¶0020-¶0021, ¶0028-¶0029) having an environmental barrier (e.g., mesh filter 134) inside the second recess structure (e.g., a lower recess extending to an indented surface 130), to provide a filter having a larger effective surface area to improve acoustic permittivity, and to improve resistance of the MEMS sensor to ingression of contamination (Lim, ¶0015, ¶0028). In Lim, the environmental barrier structure (134) located inside the second recess covers the first recess (e.g., the upper recess 132). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modif y the MEMS pressure transducer chip of Brioschi by arranging the mesh filter inside the lower recess of the substrate as taught by Lim to have the MEMS pressure transducer chip, comprising: an environmental barrier located inside the second recess structure (as claimed in claim 10); wherein the environmental barrier structure located inside the second recess covers the first recess (as claimed in claim 11), in order to provide a filter having a larger effective surface area to improve acoustic permittivity, and to improve resistance of the MEMS sensor to ingression of contamination (Lim, ¶0015, ¶0028). Regarding claim 13, Brioschi in view of Lim discloses the MEMS pressure transducer chip of claim 1 0. Further, Brioschi discloses the MEMS pressure transducer chip, wherein the environmental barrier structure (82) comprises a rigid mesh (e.g., formed of a conductive material layer having openings 84 ) ( Brioschi , Figs. 6-7, Col. 7, lines 53-63; Col. 8, lines 5-58) . Regarding claim 14, Brioschi in view of Lim discloses the MEMS pressure transducer chip of claim 1 0. Further, Brioschi discloses the MEMS pressure transducer chip, wherein the MEMS pressure transducer chip is a MEMS microphone chip comprising a flexible microphone membrane (e.g., movable membrane 2 ) ( Brioschi , Fig. 6, Col. 1, lines 41-47; Col. 4, lines 1-4; Col. 7, lines 47-52 ) . With respect to claims 15-16, Brioschi discloses a MEMS pressure transducer package housing a MEMS pressure transducer chip (e.g., packaged MEMS acoustic transducer , see the annotated Fig. 6 above ) ( Brioschi , Fig. 6, Col. 1, lines 10-16; Cols. 2-10), the MEMS pressure transducer chip comprising: a substrate (e.g., 5) ( Brioschi , Fig. 6, Col. 1, lines 41-57; Col. 4, lines 1-4; Col. 7, lines 47-52) comprising at least one membrane (e.g., 2); the substrate (e.g., 5) comprising a stepped recess structure (e.g., forming a cavity 6 having stepped structure) ( Brioschi , Fig. 6, Col. 1, lines 41-57; Col. 4, lines 1-4; Col. 7, lines 47-52), the stepped recess structure (6) further comprising a first recess (e.g., upper recess) having a first lateral width and a second recess (e.g., lower recess) adjacent to the first recess, the second recess (e.g., lower recess) having a second lateral width larger than the first lateral width, wherein the stepped recess structure (6) extends between the membrane (2) and a substrate surface (e.g., bottom surface of the substrate 5) opposite the membrane (2); and an environmental barrier structure (e.g., filter 82) ( Brioschi , Fig. 6, Col. 7, lines 53-67; Col. 8, lines 1-4) located at the second recess (24). Further, Brioschi does not specifically disclose an environmental barrier located inside the second recess structure (as claimed in claim 15); wherein the environmental barrier structure located inside the second recess covers the first recess (as claimed in claim 1 6 ). However, Lim teaches forming the substrate (110 , see the annotated Fig. 2 above ) (Lim, Fig. 2, ¶0020-¶0021, ¶0028-¶0029) having an environmental barrier (e.g., mesh filter 134) inside the second recess structure (e.g., a lower recess extending to an indented surface 130), to provide a filter having a larger effective surface area to improve acoustic permittivity, and to improve resistance of the MEMS sensor to ingression of contamination (Lim, ¶0015, ¶0028). In Lim, the environmental barrier structure (134) located inside the second recess covers the first recess (e.g., the upper recess 132). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modif y the MEMS pressure transducer package of Brioschi by arranging the mesh filter inside the lower recess of the substrate as taught by Lim to have the MEMS pressure transducer package , comprising: an environmental barrier located inside the second recess structure (as claimed in claim 1 5 ); wherein the environmental barrier structure located inside the second recess covers the first recess (as claimed in claim 1 6 ), in order to provide a filter having a larger effective surface area to improve acoustic permittivity, and to improve resistance of the MEMS sensor to ingression of contamination (Lim, ¶0015, ¶0028). Regarding claim 18, Brioschi in view of Lim discloses the MEMS pressure transducer package of claim 1 5. Further, Brioschi discloses the MEMS pressure transducer package, wherein the environmental barrier structure (82) comprises a rigid mesh (e.g., formed of a conductive material layer having openings 84) ( Brioschi , Figs. 6-7, Col. 7, lines 53-63; Col. 8, lines 5-58) . Regarding claim 19, Brioschi in view of Lim discloses the MEMS pressure transducer package of claim 1 5. Further, Brioschi discloses the MEMS pressure transducer package, wherein the MEMS pressure transducer chip is a MEMS microphone chip comprising a flexible microphone membrane (e.g., movable membrane 2) ( Brioschi , Fig. 6, Col. 1, lines 41-47; Col. 4, lines 1-4; Col. 7, lines 47-52) . Regarding claim 20, Brioschi in view of Lim discloses the MEMS pressure transducer package of claim 1 5, wherein the MEMS pressure transducer chip is mounted on a package substrate (23) ( Brioschi , Fig. 6, Col. 2, lines 12-18; Col. 4, lines 1-4; Col. 7, lines 47-52) comprising a printed-circuit board (PCB). Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 8,447,057 to Goida in view of Lim (US 2019/0145806). Regarding claim 3, Goida discloses the method of claim 1 . Further, Goida does not specifically disclo se that arranging the environmental barrier structure inside the second recess further comprises: applying a bonding layer at a rim area of the environmental barrier structure; and attaching the environmental barrier structure with the bonding layer applied directly to the substrate material . However, Lim teaches arranging the enviro nmental barrier structure (134) (Lim, Fig. 2, ¶0028) inside the second recess (e.g., the lower recess extending to the indented surface 130 ) further comprises: applying a bonding layer (142) at a rim area (the indented surface 130) of the environmental barrier structure (134) ; and attaching the environmental barrier structure with the bonding layer (142) applied directly to the substrate material (110) . I t would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modif y the method of Brioschi by arranging the mesh filter inside the lower recess of the substrate by using the bonding layer as taught by Lim to have the method, wherein arranging the environmental barrier structure inside the second recess further comprises: applying a bonding layer at a rim area of the environmental barrier structure; and attaching the environmental barrier structure with the bonding layer applied directly to the substrate material , in order to provide a filter having a larger effective surface area to improve acoustic permittivity, and to improve resistance of the MEMS sensor to ingression of contamination (Lim, ¶0015, ¶0028). Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0215587 to Klein in view of Lim (US 2019/0145806). Regarding claim 3, Klein discloses the method of claim 1 . Further, Klein does not specifically disclo se that arranging the environmental barrier structure inside the second recess further comprises: applying a bonding layer at a rim area of the environmental barrier structure; and attaching the environmental barrier structure with the bonding layer applied directly to the substrate material . However, Lim teaches arranging the enviro nmental barrier structure (134) (Lim, Fig. 2, ¶0028) inside the second recess (e.g., the lower recess extending to the indented surface 130 ) further comprises: applying a bonding layer (142) at a rim area (the indented surface 130) of the environmental barrier structure (134) ; and attaching the environmental barrier structure with the bonding layer (142) applied directly to the substrate material (110) . I t would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modif y the method of Klein by arranging the mesh filter inside the lower recess of the substrate by using the bonding layer as taught by Lim to have the method, wherein arranging the environmental barrier structure inside the second recess further comprises: applying a bonding layer at a rim area of the environmental barrier structure; and attaching the environmental barrier structure with the bonding layer applied directly to the substrate material , in order to provide a filter having a larger effective surface area to improve acoustic permittivity, and to improve resistance of the MEMS sensor to ingression of contamination (Lim, ¶0015, ¶0028). Claim s 6 , 8, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 8,447,057 to Goida in view of Miao (US 2016/0304337). Regarding claims 6 and 8, Goida discloses the method of claim 1 . Further, Goida does not specifically disclo se the method, wherein structuring the stepped recess structure further comprises: creating the first recess by structuring a plurality of perforations into the substrate for creating a monolithic perforated mesh structure located inside the first recess, the monolithic perforated mesh structure having a thickness that is as large as a depth of the first recess (as claimed in claim 6); wherein structuring the stepped recess structure further comprises: an etching process, wherein the first recess is etched in a first etching step of the etching process, and the second recess is etched in a second etching step of the etching process (as claimed in claim 8) . However, Miao teaches a method of forming a MEMS microphone structure comprising creating the first recess (e.g., forming a plurality of holes 31 in the upper portion of the substrate 1 by DRIE etching process) (Miao, Figs. 4, 10- 11, ¶0010, ¶0053-¶0054, ¶0062 , ¶0079-¶0081 ) by structuring a plurality of perforations (e.g., etching the plurality of holes 31 to act as acoustic holes 3 interconnected with backside cavity 4 of the MEMs microphone) into the substrate (1) for creating a monolithic perforated mesh structure located inside the first recess (e.g., upper recess) , the monolithic perforated mesh structure having a thickness that is as large as a depth of the first recess (the upper recess including the acoustic holes 3), to achieve high sensitivity, large frequency range and low acoustic noise (Miao, ¶0010, ¶0054). In Miao, the structuring the stepped recess structure comprises: an etching process (e.g., deep reactive ion etching (DRIE)) (Miao, Figs. 4, 10-11, ¶0062, ¶0079) , wherein the first recess is etched in a first etching step of the etching process (e.g., first DRIE to etch holes 31) , and the second recess (e.g., etching the backside cavity 4) is etched in a second etching step of the etching process . I t would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modif y the method of Goida by forming a plurality of holes in the upper portion of the substrate interconnected with the backside cavity by etching process as taught by Miao to have the method, wherein structuring the stepped recess structure further comprises: creating the first recess by structuring a plurality of perforations into the substrate for creating a monolithic perforated mesh structure located inside the first recess, the monolithic perforated mesh structure having a thickness that is as large as a depth of the first recess (as claimed in claim 6); wherein structuring the stepped recess structure further comprises: an etching process, wherein the first recess is etched in a first etching step of the etching process, and the second recess is etched in a second etching step of the etching process (as claimed in claim 8) , in order to achieve high sensitivity, large frequency range and low acoustic noise of the MEMS microphone (Miao, ¶0010, ¶0054). Regarding claims 12 and 17, Goida discloses the MEMS pressure transducer chip (package) of claim 1 0 (claim 15). Further, Goida does not specifically disclo se a monolithic perforated mesh structure residing inside the first recess, wherein the first recess comprises a depth that is as large as, or larger than, or smaller than a thickness of the monolithic perforated mesh structure (as claimed in claims 12 and 17) . However, Miao teaches forming a MEMS microphone structure comprising the first recess (e.g., forming a plurality of holes 31 in the upper portion of the substrate 1 by DRIE etching process) (Miao, Figs. 4, 10-11, ¶0010, ¶0053-¶0054, ¶0062, ¶0079-¶0081) by structuring a plurality of perforations (e.g., etching the plurality of holes 31 to act as acoustic holes 3 interconnected with backside cavity 4 of the MEMs microphone) into the substrate (1) for creating a monolithic perforated mesh structure located inside the first recess (e.g., upper recess) , wherein the first recess comprises a depth that is as large as a thickness of the monolithic perforated mesh structure , to achieve high sensitivity, large frequency range and low acoustic noise (Miao, ¶0010, ¶0054). I t would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modif y the MEMS pressure transducer chip (package) of Goida by forming a plurality of holes in the upper portion of the substrate interconnected with the backside cavity as taught by Miao to have the MEMS pressure transducer chip (package), further comprising: a monolithic perforated mesh structure residing inside the first recess, wherein the first recess comprises a depth that is as large as, or larger than, or smaller than a thickness of the monolithic perforated mesh structure (as claimed in claims 12 and 17) , in order to achieve high sensitivity, large frequency range and low acoustic noise of the MEMS microphone (Miao, ¶0010, ¶0054). Claim s 6 , 8, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0215587 to Klein in view of Miao (US 2016/0304337). Regarding claim s 6 and 8 , Klein discloses the method of claim 1 . Further, Klein does not specifically disclo se the method, wherein structuring the stepped recess structure further comprises: creating the first recess by structuring a plurality of perforations into the substrate for creating a monolithic perforated mesh structure located inside the first recess, the monolithic perforated mesh structure having a thickness that is as large as a depth of the first recess (as claimed in claim 6); wherein structuring the stepped recess structure further comprises: an etching process, wherein the first recess is etched in a first etching step of the etching process, and the second recess is etched in a second etching step of the etching process (as claimed in claim 8) . However, Miao teaches a method of forming a MEMS microphone structure comprising creating the first recess (e.g., forming a plurality of holes 31 in the upper portion of the substrate 1 by DRIE etching process) (Miao, Figs. 4, 10-11, ¶0010, ¶0053-¶0054, ¶0062, ¶0079-¶0081) by structuring a plurality of perforations (e.g., etching the plurality of holes 31 to act as acoustic holes 3 interconnected with backside cavity 4 of the MEMs microphone) into the substrate (1) for creating a monolithic perforated mesh structure located inside the first recess (e.g., upper recess) , the monolithic perforated mesh structure having a thickness that is as large as a depth of the first recess (the upper recess including the acoustic holes 3), to achieve high sensitivity, large frequency range and low acoustic noise (Miao, ¶0010, ¶0054). In Miao, the structuring the stepped recess structure comprises: an etching process (e.g., deep reactive ion etching (DRIE)) (Miao, Figs. 4, 10-11, ¶0062, ¶0079) , wherein the first recess is etched in a first etching step of the etching process (e.g., first DRIE to etch holes 31) , and the second recess (e.g., etching the backside cavity 4) is etched in a second etching step of the etching process . I t would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modif y the method of Klein by forming a plurality of holes in the upper portion of the substrate interconnected with the backside cavity by etching process as taught by Miao to have the method, wherein structuring the stepped recess structure further comprises: creating the first recess by structuring a plurality of perforations into the substrate for creating a monolithic perforated mesh structure located inside the first recess, the monolithic perforated mesh structure having a thickness that is as large as a depth of the first recess (as claimed in claim 6); wherein structuring the stepped recess structure further comprises: an etching process, wherein the first recess is etched in a first etching step of the etching process, and the second recess is etched in a second etching step of the etching process (as claimed in claim 8) , in order to achieve high sensitivity, large frequency range and low acoustic noise of the MEMS microphone (Miao, ¶0010, ¶0054). Regarding claims 12 and 17, Klein discloses the MEMS pressure transducer chip (package) of claim 1 0 (claim 15). Further, Klein does not specifically disclo se a monolithic perforated mesh structure residing inside the first recess, wherein the first recess comprises a depth that is as large as, or larger than, or smaller than a thickness of the monolithic perforated mesh structure (as claimed in claims 12 and 17) . However, Miao teaches forming a MEMS microphone structure comprising the first recess (e.g., forming a plurality of holes 31 in the upper portion of the substrate 1 by DRIE etching process) (Miao, Figs. 4, 10-11, ¶0010, ¶0053-¶0054, ¶0062, ¶0079-¶0081) by structuring a plurality of perforations (e.g., etching the plurality of holes 31 to act as acoustic holes 3 interconnected with backside cavity 4 of the MEMs microphone) into the substrate (1) for creating a monolithic perforated mesh structure located inside the first recess (e.g., upper recess) , wherein the first recess comprises a depth that is as large as a thickness of the monolithic perforated mesh structure , to achieve high sensitivity, large frequency range and low acoustic noise (Miao, ¶0010, ¶0054). I t would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modif y the MEMS pressure transducer chip (package) of Klein by forming a plurality of holes in the upper portion of the substrate interconnected with the backside cavity as taught by Miao to have the MEMS pressure transducer chip (package), further comprising: a monolithic perforated mesh structure residing inside the first recess, wherein the first recess comprises a depth that is as large as, or larger than, or smaller than a thickness of the monolithic perforated mesh structure (as claimed in claims 12 and 17) , in order to achieve high sensitivity, large frequency range and low acoustic noise of the MEMS microphone (Miao, ¶0010, ¶0054). Claim s 6, 8, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 9,769,554 to Brioschi in view of Lim (US 2019/0145806) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Miao (US 2016/0304337). Regarding claims 6 and 8, Brioschi in view of Lim discloses the method of claim 1 . Further, Brioschi does not specifically disclo se the method, wherein structuring the stepped recess structure further comprises: creating the first recess by structuring a plurality of perforations into the substrate for creating a monolithic perforated mesh structure located inside the first recess, the monolithic perforated mesh structure having a thickness that is as large as a depth of the first recess (as claimed in claim 6); wherein structuring the stepped recess structure further comprises: an etching process, wherein the first recess is etched in a first etching step of the etching process, and the second recess is etched in a second etching step of the etching process (as claimed in claim 8) . However, Miao teaches a method of forming a MEMS microphone structure comprising creating the first recess (e.g., forming a plurality of holes 31 in the upper portion of the substrate 1 by DRIE etching process) (Miao, Figs. 4, 10-11, ¶0010, ¶0053-¶0054, ¶0062, ¶0079-¶0081) by structuring a plurality of perforations (e.g., etching the plurality of holes 31 to act as acoustic holes 3 interconnected with backside cavity 4 of the MEMs microphone) into the substrate (1) for creating a monolithic perforated mesh structure located inside the first recess (e.g., upper recess) , the monolithic perforated mesh structure having a thickness that is as large as a depth of the first recess (the upper recess including the acoustic holes 3), to achieve high sensitivity, large frequency range and low acoustic noise (Miao, ¶0010, ¶0054). In Miao, the structuring the stepped recess structure comprises: an etching process (e.g., deep reactive ion etching (DRIE)) (Miao, Figs. 4, 10-11, ¶0062, ¶0079) , wherein the first recess is etched in a first etching step of the etching process (e.g., first DRIE to etch holes 31) , and the second recess (e.g., etching the backside cavity 4) is etched in a second etching step of the etching process . I t would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modif y the method of Brioschi /Lim by forming a plurality of holes in the upper portion of the substrate interconnected with the backside cavity by etching process as taught by Miao to have the method, wherein structuring the stepped recess structure further comprises: creating the first recess by structuring a plurality of perforations into the substrate for creating a monolithic perforated mesh structure located inside the first recess, the monolithic perforated mesh structure having a thickness that is as large as a depth of the first recess (as claimed in claim 6); wherein structuring the stepped recess structure further comprises: an etching process, wherein the first recess is etched in a first etching step of the etching process, and the second recess is etched in a second etching step of the etching process (as claimed in claim 8) , in order to achieve high sensitivity, large frequency range and low acoustic noise of the MEMS microphone (Miao, ¶0010, ¶0054). Regarding claims 12 and 17, Brioschi in view of Lim discloses the MEMS pressure transducer chip (package) of claim 1 0 (claim 15). Further, Brioschi does not specifically disclo se a monolithic perforated mesh structure residing inside the first recess, wherein the first recess comprises a depth that is as large as, or larger than, or smaller than a thickness of the monolithic perforated mesh structure (as claimed in claims 12 and 17) . However, Miao teaches forming a MEMS microphone structure comprising the first recess (e.g., forming a plurality of holes 31 in the upper portion of the substrate 1 by DRIE etching process) (Miao, Figs. 4, 10-11, ¶0010, ¶0053-¶0054, ¶0062, ¶0079-¶0081) by structuring a plurality of perforations (e.g., etching the plurality of holes 31 to act as acoustic holes 3 interconnected with backside cavity 4 of the MEMs microphone) into the substrate (1) for creating a monolithic perforated mesh structure located inside the first recess (e.g., upper recess) , wherein the first recess comprises a depth that is as large as a thickness of the monolithic perforated mesh structure , to achieve high sensitivity, large frequency range and low acoustic noise (Miao, ¶0010, ¶0054). I t would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modif y the MEMS pressure transducer chip (package) of Brioschi / Lim by forming a plurality of holes in the upper portion of the substrate interconnected with the backside cavity as taught by Miao to have the MEMS pressure transducer chip (p