DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on November 17th, 2023 has been considered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Semiconductor package with a heat dissipation member and a heat transmission member comprising phase change metal particles.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Im et al. (U.S. Pub. 2012/0280382) in view of Joshi et al. (U.S. Pub. 2020/0132394).
In re claim 1, Im discloses a semiconductor package comprising: a circuit board 100 (see paragraphs [0039], [0040] and fig. 1); a semiconductor chip 110 on the circuit board 100 (see paragraph [0039] and fig. 1); a heat dissipation member 170 adjacent to the semiconductor chip 110 (see paragraph [0050] and fig. 1); and a heat transmission member (150,160) between the semiconductor chip 110 and the heat dissipation member 170 (see paragraphs [0039], [0047], [0057] and figs. 1, 2A-G), the heat transmission member comprising a resin insulating body 160 and phase change metal particles 150 in the insulating body 160 (see paragraphs [0039], [0046], [0047], [0057] and figs. 1, 2A-G), wherein the phase change metal particles 150 connect the semiconductor chip 110 and the heat dissipation member 170 (see paragraphs [0039], [0047], [0057] and figs. 1, 2A-G), the phase change metal particles 150 being configured to transmit heat generated by the semiconductor chip 110 to the heat dissipation member 170 (see paragraphs [0057], [0066] and figs. 1, 2A-G, 3A-B).
Im is silent to wherein the phase change metal particles connected to each other.
However, Joshi discloses in a same field of endeavor, a semiconductor package including, inter-alia, wherein the phase change metal particles 34 connected to each other in the body 31 (see paragraphs [0037], [0038] and figs. 1-3) in order to increase heat capacity of substrates of the power electronics assembly to better remove heat from the power electronic assemblies (see paragraph [0030] of Joshi).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Joshi into the semiconductor package of Im in order to enable the phase change metal particles to be connected to each other in the resin insulating body in Im to be formed in order to improve heat removal from the semiconductor package (see paragraph [0030] of Joshi) and thus prevent damage to the semiconductor package. Furthermore, it would have been obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398 (2007). “If a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill.” Id.
In re claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Im in combination with Joshi discloses wherein the phase change metal particles comprise gallium (Ga), or alloys of indium (In), bismuth (Bi) and tin (Sn) (see paragraph [0039] of Joshi).
In re claim 3, as applied to claim 1 above, Im in combination with Joshi discloses wherein the phase change metal particles have a spherical shape, and wherein the semiconductor package further comprises a shell surrounding each of the phase change metal particles (see paragraph [0055] and fig. 2C of Im and paragraph [0038] and figs. 2-3 of Joshi).
In re claim 4, as applied to claim 3 above, Im in combination with Joshi discloses wherein the shell comprises an oxide film or polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) (see paragraph [0043] of Joshi).
In re claim 5, as applied to claim 3 above, Im in combination with Joshi discloses wherein each of the phase change metal particles has a same diameter (see paragraph [0067] of Im).
In re claim 6, as applied to claim 1 above, Im in combination with Joshi discloses wherein the phase change metal particles comprise first phase change metal particles having a first diameter and second phase change metal particles having a second diameter that is smaller than the first diameter (see paragraph [0069] of Joshi, note that, Joshi discloses that different core-shell particles having different phase change materials, size, shape, shell material, or other properties).
In re claim 7, as applied to claim 6 above, Im in combination with Joshi discloses wherein the first phase change metal particles 150 are in contact with a surface of the heat dissipation member 170, and the second phase change metal particles 150 are in contact with a surface of the semiconductor chip 110 (see paragraph [0039] and fig. 1 of Im).
In re claim 8, as applied to claim 1 above, Im in combination with Joshi discloses wherein each of the phase change metal particles comprises two or more layers (see paragraph [0055] of Im and paragraph [0038] of Joshi).
In re claim 9, as applied to claim 1 above, Im in combination with Joshi discloses wherein a melting point of the phase change metal particles is greater than or equal to 20° C (see paragraph [0065] of Im and paragraph [0038] of Joshi).
In re claim 10, as applied to claim 1 above, Im in combination with Joshi discloses wherein a thermal conductivity of the phase change metal particles is greater than or equal to 20 W/m·K (see paragraph [0042] of Joshi).
In re claim 11, as applied to claim 1 above, Im in combination with Joshi discloses wherein a diameter of each of the phase change metal particles ranges from 0.1 mm to 5 mm (see paragraph [0045] of Joshi, note that, Joshi discloses that the diameter of each of the phase change metal particles can be from 100µm - 1,000µm which is approximately 0.1 mm to 1 mm).
In re claim 12, as applied to claim 1 above, Im in combination with Joshi discloses wherein the resin insulating body comprises one of polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS), polyimide (PI), polyethylene terephthalate (PET), polyethersulfone (PES), polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), polyaniline (PA), an epoxy resin, and an acrylic resin (see paragraph [0046] of Im).
In re claim 13, as applied to claim 1 above, Im and Joshi are silent to wherein a volume percent of a volume the phase change metal particles with respect to a volume of the heat transmission member is in a range of 50 vol % to 90 vol %.
However, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amount of the phase change metal particles with respect to the volume of the heat transmission member during routine experimentation to be in a range of 50 vol % to 90 vol % since where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See in re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The optimization of the claimed volume percentage of the phase change metal particles with respect to the volume of the heat transmission member would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
In re claim 14, as applied to claim 1 above, Im in combination with Joshi discloses wherein the heat transmission member (150,160) is adjacent to an upper surface of the semiconductor chip 110 and a side surface of the semiconductor chip 110 (see paragraph [0039] and fig. 1 of Im).
In re claim 15, as applied to claim 1 above, Im in combination with Joshi discloses wherein the heat dissipation member 170 is adjacent to an upper surface of the semiconductor chip 110 and a side surface of the heat transmission member (150,160) (see paragraph [0039] and fig. 1 of Im).
In re claim 20, Im discloses a semiconductor package comprising: a circuit board 100 (see paragraph [0039] and figs. 1); a semiconductor chip 110 on the circuit board 100 (see paragraph [0039] and fig. 1); and a heat dissipation member 170 comprising a resin insulating body 160 adjacent to the semiconductor chip 110 and phase change metal particles 150 in the resin insulating body 160 (see paragraphs [0039], [0046], [0047], [0057] and figs. 1, 2A-G), wherein the phase change metal particles 150 comprise first phase change metal particles in contact with a surface of the semiconductor chip 110 and second phase change metal particles in contact with a surface of the heat dissipation member 170, the phase change metal particles 150 configured to transmit heat generated by the semiconductor chip 110 to the heat dissipation member 170 (see paragraphs [0057], [0064], [0065], [0067] and fig. 1).
Im is silent to wherein the phase change metal particles connected to each other.
However, Joshi discloses in a same field of endeavor, a semiconductor package including, inter-alia, wherein the phase change metal particles 34 connected to each other in the body 31 (see paragraphs [0037], [0038] and figs. 1-3) in order to increase heat capacity of substrates of the power electronics assembly to better remove heat from the power electronic assemblies (see paragraph [0030] of Joshi).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Joshi into the semiconductor package of Im in order to enable the phase change metal particles to be connected to each other in the resin insulating body in Im to be formed in order to improve heat removal from the semiconductor package (see paragraph [0030] of Joshi) and thus prevent damage to the semiconductor package. Furthermore, it would have been obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398 (2007). “If a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill.” Id.
Claim(s) 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uppal et al. (U.S. Pub. 2020/0219789) in view of Im et al. (U.S. Pub. 2012/0280382) and Joshi et al. (U.S. Pub. 2020/0132394).
In re claim 16, Uppal discloses a semiconductor package comprising: an interposer 110 comprising a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface, the interposer comprising upper connection terminals 132 on the first surface and lower connection terminals 162 on the second surface (see paragraphs [0032], [0036], [0040] and fig. 1); a plurality of semiconductor chips (1201,1202) on the interposer 110 and connected to the upper connection terminals 132 (see paragraphs [0032], p0036] and fig. 1); a package substrate 150 on which the interposer 110 is mounted to be connected to the lower connection terminals 162 (see paragraph [0039], [0040] and fig. 1); a heat dissipation member 170 on the package substrate 150, the interposer 110, and the plurality of semiconductor chips (1201,1202) (see paragraph [0042] and fig. 1); and a heat transmission member 180 between the plurality of semiconductor chips (1201,1202) and the heat dissipation member 170 (see paragraph [0045] and fig. 1).
Uppal is silent to wherein the heat transmission member comprising a resin insulating body and phase change metal particles connected to each other in the resin insulating body, wherein the phase change metal particles comprise first phase change metal particles in contact with a surface of the semiconductor chip and second phase change metal particles in contact with a surface of the heat dissipation member, the phase change metal particles being configured to transmit heat generated by the semiconductor chip to the heat dissipation member.
However, Im discloses in a same field of endeavor, a semiconductor package including, inter-alia, a heat transmission member (150,160) between the chip 110 and the heat dissipation member 170 (see paragraph [0039] and fig. 1), wherein the heat transmission member comprising a resin insulating body 160 and phase change metal particles 150 in the resin insulating body 160 (see paragraphs [0039], [0046], [0047], [0057] and figs. 1, 2A-G), wherein the phase change metal particles comprise first phase change metal particles in contact with a surface of the semiconductor chip 110 and second phase change metal particles in contact with a surface of the heat dissipation member 170, the phase change metal particles 150 being configured to transmit heat generated by the semiconductor chip 110 to the heat dissipation member 170 (see paragraphs [0057], [0064], [0065], [0067] and fig. 1).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Im into the semiconductor package of Uppal in order to enable wherein the heat transmission member comprising a resin insulating body and phase change metal particles in the resin insulating body, wherein the phase change metal particles comprise first phase change metal particles in contact with a surface of the semiconductor chip and second phase change metal particles in contact with a surface of the heat dissipation member, the phase change metal particles being configured to transmit heat generated by the semiconductor chip to the heat dissipation member in Uppal to be formed in order to improve heat dissipation efficiency in the semiconductor package (see paragraph [0004] of Im).
Uppal and Im further are silent to wherein the phase change metal particles connected to each other.
However, Joshi discloses in a same field of endeavor, a semiconductor package including, inter-alia, wherein the phase change metal particles 34 connected to each other in the body 31 (see paragraphs [0037], [0038] and figs. 1-3) in order to increase heat capacity of substrates of the power electronics assembly to better remove heat from the power electronic assemblies (see paragraph [0030] of Joshi).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Joshi into the semiconductor package of Uppal being modified by Im in order to enable the phase change metal particles to be connected to each other in the resin insulating body in Uppal to be formed in order to improve heat removal from the semiconductor package (see paragraph [0030] of Joshi) and thus prevent damage to the semiconductor package. Furthermore, it would have been obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398 (2007). “If a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill.” Id.
In re claim 17, as applied to claim 16 above, Uppal in combination with Im and Joshi discloses wherein the phase change metal particles comprise metal particles of different sizes see paragraph [0069] of Joshi, note that, Joshi discloses that different core-shell particles having different phase change materials, size, shape, shell material, or other properties).
In re claim 18, as applied to claim 16 above, Uppal in combination with Im and Joshi discloses wherein the resin insulating body comprises one of polydimethylsiloxane, polyimide, polyethylene terephthalate, polyethersulfone, polyethylene naphthalate, polyaniline, an epoxy resin, and an acrylic resin (see paragraph [0046] of Im), and wherein the phase change metal particles comprise gallium (Ga), or alloys of indium (In), bismuth (Bi) and tin (Sn) (see paragraph [0039] of Joshi).
In re claim 19, as applied to claim 16 above, Uppal in combination with Im and Joshi discloses wherein a melting point of the phase change metal particles is greater than or equal to 20° C (see paragraph [0065] of Im and paragraph [0038] of Joshi), and wherein a thermal conductivity of the phase change metal particles is greater than or equal to 20 W/m·K (see paragraph [0042] of Joshi).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fu et al. U.S. Patent 10,784,181 September 22, 2020.
Chainer et al. U.S. Pub. 2018/0294205 October 11, 2018.
Lamorey et al. U.S. Pub. 2015/0255441 September 10, 2015.
Brunschwiler et al. U.S. Pub. 2012/0261819 October 18, 2012.
Kajiwara et al. U.S. Pub. 2009/0096100 April 16, 2009.
/KHIEM D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892