DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the communication filed 20 August 2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the Group I Species 1 (FIG. 11) embodiment in the reply filed on 16 March 2026 is acknowledged.
Regarding Applicant’s listing of claims 1-13 and 21-27 as readable on the elected species, however, the Examiner respectfully notes that claim 10 does not belong to the elected Group I Species 1 embodiment.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “a first dielectric spacer disposed over the P-type doped component and on a first side surface of the optical absorption layer; and a second dielectric spacer disposed over the charging layer and on a second side surface of the optical absorption layer.” Accordingly, claim 10 appears to be drawn to the FIG. 18 embodiment, depicting species 2, rather than the elected FIG. 11 embodiment, depicting species 1.
Accordingly, claim 10 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9, 11-13, and 21-27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0013682 (filed July 8, 2021) (hereinafter “Srinivasan”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0313021 (filed Mar. 12, 2020) (hereinafter “Fujikata”).
Regarding independent claim 24, Srinivasan discloses: A photonic device (FIG. 21, depicting an APD device 20, [0093]), comprising:
a substrate that contains a semiconductive material (FIGS. 5/21, silicon substrate layer 51, [0077]);
an insulator layer located over the substrate (FIGS. 5/21, depicting an insulator layer 52 disposed on the silicon substrate layer 51, [0077]);
a P-type contact located over the insulator layer (FIGS. 5/21, first contact region 21, [0065], [0094]);
an N-type contact located over the insulator layer (FIGS. 5/21, second contact region 22, [0065], [0094]);
a first semiconductor component located over the insulator layer and between the P-type contact and the N-type contact (FIGS. 4/5/21, first region 24 of the semiconductor layer 23, disposed between the first and second contact regions 21/22, [0066]);
an optical absorption layer (FIGS. 5/21, absorption region 27, [0072]) located over the first semiconductor component (FIGS. 5/21, depicting wherein the absorption region 27 is located over the first region 24 of the semiconductor layer 23),
wherein the optical absorption layer contains germanium (FIGS. 5/21, [0094]: “In particular, the semiconductor layer 23 may comprise silicon. . . . The absorption region 27 may comprise germanium.”); and
a charging layer (FIGS. 5/21, charge region 26, [0069]) located over the insulator layer and between the optical absorption layer and the N-type contact (FIGS. 5/21, depicting wherein the charge region 26 is located over the insulator 52 and between the absorption region 27 and the second contact region 22),
wherein the charging layer is doped with a P-type dopant (FIGS. 4/5/21, [0074]: “Generally, the first contact region 21 is p-doped and the highly-doped region 21 a is accordingly highly p-doped, and the second contact region 22 is n-doped and the highly-doped region 22 a is highly n-doped. In this case also the charge region 26 is p-doped. For instance, the charge region 26 may be p-doped to a lower extend as the first contact region 21.”), and
wherein the charging layer and the optical absorption layer collectively define a first interface that is substantially linear (FIGS. 5/21, depicting wherein an interface between the charge region 26 and the absorption region 27 is substantially linear).
Srinivasan does not specifically disclose wherein at least one of the P-type contact or the N-type contact includes a recess; a passivation layer disposed over the P-type contact and the N-type contact, wherein a portion of the passivation layer fills the recess.
In the same field of endeavor, Fujikata discloses a structure (FIGS. 6A-C, depicting a photodetector 400, [0093]), wherein a semiconductor layer (FIGS. 6A-C, p-Si region 608, n-Si region 606, and i-Si region 610, [0093]) is shaped such that a first portion of the semiconductor layer forms a first recess (FIGS. 6A-C, depicting wherein the p-Si region 608 defines a first recess, [0093]), and a second portion of the semiconductor layer forms a second recess (FIGS. 6A-C, depicting wherein the n-Si region 606 defines a second recess, [0093]). Regarding the shape of the Si regions, in [0071], Fujikata states: “In the photodetector 400, the light absorbing layer may be optically coupled to an optical waveguide that is formed by the Si layer stacked on the BOX layer 404. In such a case, the photodetector 400 is configured to receive an optical signal from the optical waveguide.” Fujikata further states in [0095]: “Next, as shown in FIG. 6C, by using the SiNx hard mask 614 and the oxide-film mask 612 as masks, the Si layer comprising the n-Si region 606 and the p-Si region 608 is subjected to patterning, and the rib-shaped waveguide structure is constructed thereby.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the APD device of Srinivasan by substituting the shape of the Si regions of Fujikata in order to form a waveguide, in order allow the APD device to receive optical signals from the waveguide. See Fujikata [0071], [0095].
Moreover, substitution of the shape of the Si regions of Fujikata would result in a configuration wherein the P-type doped component includes a recess that faces upwards in the vertical direction (Srinivasan FIGS. 5/21; Fujikata FIGS. 6A-C; depicting wherein the shape of the p-Si 608 region has a recess, such that the first contact region 21 would have a recess); the N-type doped component includes a recess that faces upwards in the vertical direction (Srinivasan FIGS. 5/21; Fujikata FIGS. 6A-C; depicting wherein the shape of the n-Si 606 region has a recess, such that the second contact region 22 would have a recess); a and a passivation layer fills the recess (Srinivasan FIGS. 5/21; Fujikata FIGS. 6A-C; depicting wherein the shape of the p-Si 608 and n-Si 606 regions have a recess, such that the first contact regions 21/22 would have a recess, and further wherein the sacrificial layer 111 would be disposed in the recess just as the oxide cladding 620 is disposed in the recess).
Regarding claim 25, Srinivasan in view of Fujikata further discloses wherein a second semiconductor component (FIGS. 5/21, second region 25 of the semiconductor layer 23, [0067]) located over the insulator layer and between the charging layer and the N-type contact (FIGS. 5/21, depicting wherein the second region 25 is located over the insulator 52 and between the charge region 26 and the second contact region 22), wherein the charging layer and the second semiconductor component collectively define a second interface that is substantially linear (FIGS. 5/21, depicting wherein an interface between the charge region 26 and the second region 25 is substantially linear).
Regarding claim 26, Srinivasan in view of Fujikata further discloses wherein a P-type dopant concentration level of the charging layer is less than a P-type dopant concentration level of the P-type contact (“Generally, the first contact region 21 is p-doped and the highly-doped region 21 a is accordingly highly p-doped, and the second contact region 22 is n-doped and the highly-doped region 22 a is highly n-doped. In this case also the charge region 26 is p-doped. For instance, the charge region 26 may be p-doped to a lower extend as the first contact region 21.”).
Claims 1-8, 11, 13, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srinivasan in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0223478 (published July 22, 2021) (hereinafter “Song”) and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0291682 (filed June 13, 2014) (hereinafter “Huang”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Srinivasan discloses: A photonic device (FIG. 21, depicting an APD device 20, [0093]), comprising:
a substrate (FIGS. 5/21, silicon substrate layer 51, [0077]);
a P-type doped component disposed over the substrate in a vertical direction (FIGS. 5/21, either of the first or second contact regions 21/22, [0065]);
an N-type doped component disposed over the substrate in the vertical direction (FIGS. 5/21, either of the first or second contact regions 21/22, [0065]);
an optical absorption layer (FIGS. 5/21, absorption region 27, [0072]) disposed over the substrate in the vertical direction and between the P-type doped component and the N-type doped component in a horizontal direction (FIGS. 5/21, depicting wherein the absorption region 27 is disposed between the first and second contact regions 21/22),
wherein the optical absorption layer and the substrate have different material compositions (FIGS. 5/21, [0094]: “In particular, the semiconductor layer 23 may comprise silicon. . . . The absorption region 27 may comprise germanium.”); and
a charging layer disposed over the substrate in the vertical direction (FIGS. 5/21, charge region 26, [0069]) and between the P-type doped component and the N-type doped component in the horizontal direction (FIGS. 5/21, depicting wherein the charge region 26 is disposed between the first and second contact regions 21/22),
wherein the charging layer has a first side surface that is substantially linear (FIGS. 5/21, depicting wherein the side of the charge region 26 includes a plurality of linear sides), and
wherein the first side surface extends to the optical absorption layer (FIGS. 5/21, depicting wherein one of a plurality of substantially linear sides of the charge region 26 extends to the absorption region 27).
Srinivasan does not specifically disclose one or more mask layers disposed over an upper surface of the optical absorption layer in the vertical direction, wherein at least one of the one or more mask layers includes a semiconductor layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Song discloses a capping layer (FIGS. 6/7, capping layer 50, [0023]) disposed over the optical absorption layer (FIG. 7, depicting wherein the capping layer 50 is disposed over germanium region 46). Regarding the capping layer, in [0024], Song states: “The material and the formation process of capping layer 50 can be configured to allow capping layer 50 to apply a stress on the underlying germanium region 46. In accordance with some embodiment, the stress is tensile. In accordance with some embodiment, the stress is compressive. The stress may be higher than about 1 Gpa, and may be in the range between about 0.2 Gpa and about 1.7 Gpa. Other values are also within the scope of the present disclosure. A tensile stress can effectively reduce the direct bandgap of Germanium, which translates to an extension of the strong absorption band toward the longer wavelength.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the APD device of Srinivasan by adding the capping layer of Song, which may be considered one or more “mask layers” over an upper surface of the absorption region 27 of Srinivasan, in order to reduce the bandgap and extend the absorption band toward a longer wavelength. See Song [0024].
Srinivasan in view of Song does not specifically disclose wherein the capping layer includes a semiconductor layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Huang discloses a photonic device including a capping layer, wherein the capping layer includes a semiconductor layer (FIG. 1A, top stressor layer 130 disposed on germanium absorption layer 140, [0043], [0042]: “In one embodiment, the top stressor layer 130 has a multi-layer structure comprising four layers, including an amorphous silicon (Si) layer 1301 disposed on the absorption layer 140; a first silicon dioxide (SiO2) layer 1302 disposed on the amorphous Si layer 1301; a silicon nitride (SiN) layer 1303 disposed on the first SiO2 layer 1302; and a second SiO2 layer 1304 disposed on the SiN layer 1303.”). Regarding the configuration of the top stressor layer, in [0042], Huang states: “The top stressor layer 130 increases the tensile strain of the absorption layer 140, thus greatly enhancing optical absorption in wavelengths beyond the optical bandgap of the absorption layer 140. The top stressor layer 130 also serves as an anti-reflection layer to improve the quantum efficiency of the APD 100.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the APD device of Srinivasan by substituting the capping layer configuration of Huang in order to enhance optical absorption for the Ge absorption layer, provide anti-reflection effects, and improve quantum efficiency. See Huang [0042].
Regarding claim 2, Srinivasan in view of Song and Huang further discloses wherein the charging layer has a second side surface opposite the first side surface (FIGS. 5/21, depicting wherein the side of the charge region 26 includes a plurality of linear sides, including a side opposite the side in direct contact with the absorption region 27); and the second side surface is substantially linear (FIGS. 5/21, depicting wherein the side of the charge region 26 opposite the side in direct contact with the absorption region 27 is substantially linear).
Regarding claim 3, Srinivasan in view of Song and Huang further discloses wherein the charging layer is doped with a P-type dopant (FIGS. 4/5/21, [0074]: “Generally, the first contact region 21 is p-doped and the highly-doped region 21 a is accordingly highly p-doped, and the second contact region 22 is n-doped and the highly-doped region 22 a is highly n-doped. In this case also the charge region 26 is p-doped. For instance, the charge region 26 may be p-doped to a lower extend as the first contact region 21.”); and a dopant concentration level of the charging layer is less than a dopant concentration level of the P-type doped component disposed over the substrate (FIGS. 4/5/21, [0074]: “Generally, the first contact region 21 is p-doped and the highly-doped region 21 a is accordingly highly p-doped, and the second contact region 22 is n-doped and the highly-doped region 22 a is highly n-doped. In this case also the charge region 26 is p-doped. For instance, the charge region 26 may be p-doped to a lower extend as the first contact region 21.”).
Regarding claim 4, Srinivasan in view of Song and Huang further discloses a multiplication layer (FIGS. 4/5/21, second region 25, [0067]) disposed between the charging layer and the N-type doped component (FIGS. 4/5/21, depicting wherein the second region 25 is disposed between the charge region 26 and the second contact region 22).
Regarding claim 5, Srinivasan in view of Song and Huang further discloses wherein the substrate has a silicon material composition (FIGS. 5/21, disclosing a silicon substrate layer 51, [0077]), and the optical absorption layer has a germanium material composition (FIGS. 5/21, [0094]: “In particular, the semiconductor layer 23 may comprise silicon. . . . The absorption region 27 may comprise germanium.”).
Regarding claim 6, Srinivasan further discloses wherein: the P-type doped component or the N-type doped component has a recess (FIGS. 5/21, depicting where either of the first or second contact regions 21/22 have recesses), the recess having a bottom surface that faces upwards in the vertical direction (FIGS. 5/21, depicting where either of the first or second contact regions 21/22 have recesses, wherein the recesses have bottom surfaces that face upwards in a vertical direction).
Srinivasan in view of Song and Huang does not specifically disclose wherein a bottommost surface of the optical absorption layer has a lower vertical elevation than the bottom surface of the recess.
Regarding the relative elevations of the bottom surfaces, however, it is well-established that “when there is motivation to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” MPEP § 2143(I)(E) (quoting KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, (2007)).
Currently, there is a recognized need in the art to create display devices that maximize performance and minimize cost, often accomplished by using fewer and/or smaller amounts of materials in each layer comprising the device such that the layers are thin enough to reduce material costs and to shorten the production process, but thick enough to meet desired performance specifications. In the present case, there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions for meeting the abovementioned need in the context of material usage, including forming the device such that the bottom surface of the recess has a lower vertical elevation than the bottommost surface of the absorption region, forming the device such that the bottommost surfaces have the same vertical elevation, or forming the device such that the bottom surface of the recess has a higher vertical elevation than the bottommost surface of the absorption region, each having a reasonable expectation of success regardless of which known potential solution is pursued.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to try forming the bottommost surfaces such that a bottommost surface of the absorption region has a lower vertical elevation than the bottom surface of the recess.
Regarding claim 7, Srinivasan in view of Song and Huang further discloses a silicon component (FIGS. 4/5/21, first region 24 of the semiconductor layer 23, [0066]) disposed a bottom surface of the optical absorption layer and between the P-type doped component and the charging layer (FIGS. 4/5/21, depicting wherein the first region 24 of the semiconductor layer 23 is disposed below a bottom surface of the absorption region 27 and between the contact region 21 and the charge region 26).
Regarding claim 8, Srinivasan in view of Song and Guang further discloses wherein the silicon component and the optical absorption layer have substantially co-planar side surfaces (FIGS. 4/5/21, depicting wherein a side surface of the first region 24 shares a plane with a side surface of the absorption region 27).
Regarding independent claim 11, Srinivasan discloses: A structure (FIG. 21, depicting an APD device 20, [0093]), comprising:
a substrate (FIGS. 5/21, silicon substrate layer 51, [0077]);
a P-type contact disposed over the substrate in a vertical direction, wherein the P-type contact contains silicon (FIGS. 5/21, first contact region 21, [0065], [0094]: “In particular, the semiconductor layer 23 may comprise silicon. . . . The absorption region 27 may comprise germanium.”);
an N-type contact disposed over the substrate in the vertical direction, wherein the N-type contact contains silicon (FIGS. 5/21, second contact region 22, [0065], [0094]: “In particular, the semiconductor layer 23 may comprise silicon. . . . The absorption region 27 may comprise germanium.”);
an optical absorption layer disposed over the substrate in the vertical direction (FIGS. 5/21, absorption region 27, [0072]) and between the P-type contact and the N-type contact in a horizontal direction (FIGS. 5/21, depicting wherein the absorption region 27 is disposed between the first and second contact regions 21/22),
wherein the optical absorption layer contains germanium (FIGS. 5/21, [0094]: “In particular, the semiconductor layer 23 may comprise silicon. . . . The absorption region 27 may comprise germanium.”); and
a charging layer disposed over the substrate in the vertical direction (FIGS. 5/21, charge region 26, [0069]) and between the optical absorption layer and the N-type contact in the horizontal direction (FIGS. 5/21, depicting wherein the charge region 26 is disposed between the first and second contact regions 21/22),
wherein the charging layer contains silicon that is doped with a P-type dopant (FIGS. 4/5/21, [0074]: “Generally, the first contact region 21 is p-doped and the highly-doped region 21 a is accordingly highly p-doped, and the second contact region 22 is n-doped and the highly-doped region 22 a is highly n-doped. In this case also the charge region 26 is p-doped. For instance, the charge region 26 may be p-doped to a lower extend as the first contact region 21.”), and
wherein an interface between the optical absorption layer and the charging layer extends substantially in the vertical direction (FIGS. 5/21, depicting wherein an interface between the charge region 26 and the absorption region 27 extends substantially in a vertical direction).
Srinivasan does not specifically disclose a silicon layer disposed over an upper surface of the optical absorption layer in the vertical direction.
In the same field of endeavor, Song discloses a capping layer (FIGS. 6/7, capping layer 50, [0023]) disposed over the optical absorption layer (FIG. 7, depicting wherein the capping layer 50 is disposed over germanium region 46). Regarding the capping layer, in [0024], Song states: “The material and the formation process of capping layer 50 can be configured to allow capping layer 50 to apply a stress on the underlying germanium region 46. In accordance with some embodiment, the stress is tensile. In accordance with some embodiment, the stress is compressive. The stress may be higher than about 1 Gpa, and may be in the range between about 0.2 Gpa and about 1.7 Gpa. Other values are also within the scope of the present disclosure. A tensile stress can effectively reduce the direct bandgap of Germanium, which translates to an extension of the strong absorption band toward the longer wavelength.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the APD device of Srinivasan by adding the capping layer of Song, which may be considered one or more “mask layers” over an upper surface of the absorption region 27 of Srinivasan, in order to reduce the bandgap and extend the absorption band toward a longer wavelength. See Song [0024].
Srinivasan in view of Song does not specifically disclose wherein the capping layer includes a silicon layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Huang discloses a photonic device including a capping layer, wherein the capping layer includes a semiconductor layer (FIG. 1A, top stressor layer 130 disposed on germanium absorption layer 140, [0043], [0042]: “In one embodiment, the top stressor layer 130 has a multi-layer structure comprising four layers, including an amorphous silicon (Si) layer 1301 disposed on the absorption layer 140; a first silicon dioxide (SiO2) layer 1302 disposed on the amorphous Si layer 1301; a silicon nitride (SiN) layer 1303 disposed on the first SiO2 layer 1302; and a second SiO2 layer 1304 disposed on the SiN layer 1303.”). Regarding the configuration of the top stressor layer, in [0042], Huang states: “The top stressor layer 130 increases the tensile strain of the absorption layer 140, thus greatly enhancing optical absorption in wavelengths beyond the optical bandgap of the absorption layer 140. The top stressor layer 130 also serves as an anti-reflection layer to improve the quantum efficiency of the APD 100.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the APD device of Srinivasan by substituting the capping layer configuration of Huang in order to enhance optical absorption for the Ge absorption layer, provide anti-reflection effects, and improve quantum efficiency. See Huang [0042].
Regarding claim 13, Srinivasan in view of Song and Huang further discloses an undoped silicon component disposed underneath a bottom surface of the optical absorption layer in the vertical direction (FIGS. 4/5/21, first region 24 of the semiconductor layer 23, wherein the first region 24 is underneath the absorption region 27 in a vertical direction and which is masked to prevent doping, [0066], [0004]),
wherein the P-type contact and the charging layer extend to with opposite side surfaces of the undoped silicon component (FIGS. 4/5/21, depicting wherein the first contact region 21 and the charge region 26 extend to opposite sides of the first region 24).
Regarding claim 21, Srinivasan in view of Song and Huang further discloses an insulator layer (FIGS. 5/21, insulator layer 52, [0077]) disposed above the substrate (FIGS. 5/21, depicting wherein the insulator layer 52 is disposed above the silicon substrate layer 51) and below the P-type contact, the N-type contact, the optical absorption layer, and the charging layer (FIGS. 5/21, depicting wherein the insulator layer 52 is disposed below the first and second contact regions 21/22, the absorption region 27, and the charge region 26).
Regarding claim 23, Srinivasan in view of Song and Huang further discloses a semiconductor layer (FIGS. 4/5/21, second region 25 of the semiconductor layer 23, [0067]) disposed between the charging layer and the N-type contact in the horizontal direction (FIGS. 4/5/21, depicting wherein the second region 25 is disposed between the charge region 26 and the second contact region 22).
Claims 9 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srinivasan in view of Song, Huang, and Fujikata.
Regarding claim 9, Srinivasan in view of Song and Huang wherein at least one of the P-type doped component or the N-type doped component includes a recess that faces upwards in the vertical direction, and wherein the photonic device further comprises a dielectric layer that fills the recess.
In the same field of endeavor, Fujikata discloses a structure (FIGS. 6A-C, depicting a photodetector 400, [0093]), wherein a semiconductor layer (FIGS. 6A-C, p-Si region 608, n-Si region 606, and i-Si region 610, [0093]) is shaped such that a first portion of the semiconductor layer forms a first recess (FIGS. 6A-C, depicting wherein the p-Si region 608 defines a first recess, [0093]), and a second portion of the semiconductor layer forms a second recess (FIGS. 6A-C, depicting wherein the n-Si region 606 defines a second recess, [0093]). Regarding the shape of the Si regions, in [0071], Fujikata states: “In the photodetector 400, the light absorbing layer may be optically coupled to an optical waveguide that is formed by the Si layer stacked on the BOX layer 404. In such a case, the photodetector 400 is configured to receive an optical signal from the optical waveguide.” Fujikata further states in [0095]: “Next, as shown in FIG. 6C, by using the SiNx hard mask 614 and the oxide-film mask 612 as masks, the Si layer comprising the n-Si region 606 and the p-Si region 608 is subjected to patterning, and the rib-shaped waveguide structure is constructed thereby.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the APD device of Srinivasan by substituting the shape of the Si regions of Fujikata in order to form a waveguide, in order allow the APD device to receive optical signals from the waveguide. See Fujikata [0071], [0095].
Moreover, substitution of the shape of the Si regions of Fujikata would result in a configuration wherein the P-type doped component includes a recess that faces upwards in the vertical direction (Srinivasan FIGS. 5/21; Fujikata FIGS. 6A-C; depicting wherein the shape of the p-Si 608 region has a recess, such that the first contact region 21 would have a recess); the N-type doped component includes a recess that faces upwards in the vertical direction (Srinivasan FIGS. 5/21; Fujikata FIGS. 6A-C; depicting wherein the shape of the n-Si 606 region has a recess, such that the second contact region 22 would have a recess); a and a dielectric layer fills the recess (Srinivasan FIGS. 5/21; Fujikata FIGS. 6A-C; depicting wherein the shape of the p-Si 608 and n-Si 606 regions have a recess, such that the first contact regions 21/22 would have a recess, and further wherein the sacrificial layer 111 would be disposed in the recess just as the oxide cladding 620 is disposed in the recess).
Regarding claim 22, Srinivasan in view of Song and Huang further discloses a passivation layer (FIGS. 5/18/21, sacrificial layer 111, which may be formed from silicon oxide, [0083]) disposed over the P-type contact, the N-type contact, the optical absorption layer, and the charging layer (FIGS. 5/18/21, depicting wherein the sacrificial layer is disposed over the first and second contact regions 21/22, the absorption region 27, and the charge region 26).
Srinivasan does not specifically disclose wherein the P-type contact defines a first recess; the N-type contact and the charging layer collectively define a second recess; a first portion of the passivation layer is disposed in the first recess; and a second portion of the passivation layer is disposed in the second recess.
In the same field of endeavor, Fujikata discloses a structure (FIGS. 6A-C, depicting a photodetector 400, [0093]), wherein a semiconductor layer (FIGS. 6A-C, p-Si region 608, n-Si region 606, and i-Si region 610, [0093]) is shaped such that a first portion of the semiconductor layer forms a first recess (FIGS. 6A-C, depicting wherein the p-Si region 608 defines a first recess, [0093]), and a second portion of the semiconductor layer forms a second recess (FIGS. 6A-C, depicting wherein the n-Si region 606 defines a second recess, [0093]). Regarding the shape of the Si regions, in [0071], Fujikata states: “In the photodetector 400, the light absorbing layer may be optically coupled to an optical waveguide that is formed by the Si layer stacked on the BOX layer 404. In such a case, the photodetector 400 is configured to receive an optical signal from the optical waveguide.” Fujikata further states in [0095]: “Next, as shown in FIG. 6C, by using the SiNx hard mask 614 and the oxide-film mask 612 as masks, the Si layer comprising the n-Si region 606 and the p-Si region 608 is subjected to patterning, and the rib-shaped waveguide structure is constructed thereby.”
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the APD device of Srinivasan by substituting the shape of the Si regions of Fujikata in order to form a waveguide, in order allow the APD device to receive optical signals from the waveguide. See Fujikata [0071], [0095].
Moreover, substitution of the shape of the Si regions of Fujikata would result in a configuration wherein the P-type contact defines a first recess (Srinivasan FIGS. 5/21; Fujikata FIGS. 6A-C; depicting wherein the shape of the p-Si 608 region has a recess, such that the first contact region 21 would have a recess); the N-type contact and the charging layer collectively define a second recess (Srinivasan FIGS. 5/21; Fujikata FIGS. 6A-C; depicting wherein the shape of the n-Si 606 region has a recess, such that the second contact region 22 and the charge region 26 would have collectively have a recess); a first portion of the passivation layer is disposed in the first recess (Srinivasan FIGS. 5/21; Fujikata FIGS. 6A-C; depicting wherein the shape of the p-Si 608 region has a recess, such that the first contact region 21 would have a recess, and further wherein the sacrificial layer 111 would be disposed in the recess just as the oxide cladding 620 is disposed in the recess); and a second portion of the passivation layer is disposed in the second recess (Srinivasan FIGS. 5/21; Fujikata FIGS. 6A-C; depicting wherein the shape of the n-Si 606 region has a recess, such that the second contact region 22 and the charge region 26 would have collectively have a recess, and further wherein the sacrificial layer 111 would be disposed in the recess just as the oxide cladding 620 is disposed in the recess).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art known to the Examiner is listed on the PTO 892 forms of record.
Regarding claim 12: Srinivasan discloses a silicon oxide layer disposed over the silicon layer in the vertical direction (FIGS. 5/18/21, sacrificial layer 111, which may be formed from silicon oxide, [0083]). The cited prior art does not anticipate or make obvious, inter alia: “a polysilicon layer disposed over the silicon oxide layer in the vertical direction.”
Regarding claim 27: Srinivasan in view Song, Huang, and Fujikata discloses wherein a bottom surface of the optical absorption layer is located over an upper surface of the first semiconductor component in a vertical direction (FIGS. 5/18/21, depicting wherein a bottom surface of the absorption region 27 is located over an upper surface of the first region 24), and wherein the photonic device further comprises: a silicon layer disposed over an upper surface of the optical absorption layer in the vertical direction; a dielectric layer disposed over an upper surface of the silicon layer in the vertical direction (See Song and Huang, combined with Srinivasan as disclosed in claims 1 and 11, disclosing a capping layer comprising a plurality of layers, including an amorphous silicon (Si) layer 1301 disposed on the absorption layer 140; a first silicon dioxide (SiO2) layer 1302 disposed on the amorphous Si layer 1301; a silicon nitride (SiN) layer 1303 disposed on the first SiO2 layer 1302; and a second SiO2 layer 1304 disposed on the SiN layer 1303 as disclosed in [0042] of Huang). The cited prior art does not anticipate or make obvious, inter alia: “a polysilicon layer disposed over an upper surface of the dielectric layer in the vertical direction.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM D WEILAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813