DETAILED ACTION
Applicant amended claims 1-2, 8, 10, 12, 14, and 17-20, and cancelled claim 7 and added new claim 21 in the amendment dated 4/23/2025.
Claims 1-6 and 8-21 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the prior art does not teach wherein the first deployment and second deployments into the first environment and second environment which are different from each other.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Prior art Koryakina teaches wherein snapshots are generated (Paragraphs 26-27, 29). Snapshots of VM represent a state of a VM including files/applications/resources deployed within the VM (i.e., State of whole VM can be also analyzed as complex logical structure included also operating system dependent information like registry, running processes, state of specific programs, performance counters like memory usage, CPU usage counters, etc, Paragraph 38). Further, Koryakina disclose “the snapshot can be saved and display a state of a particular area of guest OS kernel--such as a state of memory assigned to Windows pools, caches, kernel structures, or assigned to particular modules/drivers residing in guest OS kernel, a map of kernel (showing a correspondence between emulated physical memory and virtual memory of the kernel and appropriate locations of drivers/OS components inside it)” (Paragraph 53). Thus each snapshot of VM (deployment configurations) can represent VMs deployed in different particular areas of a OS (different environments). Further, Koryakina in Paragraph 67, details how multiple different VMs can have their snapshots all recorded and used/compared by the system. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, and 8-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Koryakina (US 2015/0161151 A1).
With regards to Claim 1, Koryakina teaches a method comprising: ingesting first configuration data for a first deployment of an application in a first environment (i.e., Generation of a virtual snapshot does not interrupt operation of a VM. The virtual snapshots are analyzed and viewed by a user "off line" via the virtual snapshot viewer that can be implemented as a browser-like graphical user interface (GUI). Thus, the VM continues to run while various versions (states) of the VM are assembled into the tree and analyzed…, Paragraphs 30-32; During creation of the snapshot and further representing VM state in the snapshot image viewer, the snapshot can be saved and display a state of a particular area of guest OS kernel--such as a state of memory assigned to Windows pools, caches, kernel structures, or assigned to particular modules/drivers residing in guest OS kernel, a map of kernel (showing a correspondence between emulated physical memory and virtual memory of the kernel and appropriate locations of drivers/OS components inside it). Also, it can take into account the fact that some regions of memory can be stored in emulated RAM and paged out to a guest OS page file--and these memory can be combined into single viewable object with modification ability, Paragraph 53); Ingesting second configuration data for a second deployment of the application in a second environment, different from the first environment (i.e., Paragraphs 30-32, 53); comparing organizational structures and elements of the first configuration data for the first deployment of the application in the first environment against the second configuration data for the second deployment of the application in the second environment (i.e., ] An example of convenient file tree browser/comparer system is Araxis Merge, which compares two folders, shows differences between them, and so on. Files can be compared in graphical form using color markup or just viewed with a corresponding editor associated with a file type, Paragraph 33); and providing, via a user interface, an interactive view indicating differences between the organizational structures and the elements of the first configuration data for the first deployment of the application in the first environment and the second configuration data for the second deployment of the application in the second environment (i.e., An example of convenient file tree browser/comparer system is Araxis Merge, which compares two folders, shows differences between them, and so on. Files can be compared in graphical form using color markup or just viewed with a corresponding editor associated with a file type, Paragraph 33)
With regards to Claim 2, Koryakina teaches wherein comparing the organizational structures and the elements of the first configuration data and the second configuration data includes: determining a first tree representation of the first configuration data for the first deployment of the application in the first environment; determining a second tree representation of the second configuration data for the second deployment of the application in the second environment; creating a first map representation of the first tree representation; creating a second map representation of the second tree representation; creating a merged map of the first map representation and the second map representation including by iterating through at least a portion of the first map representation and at least a portion of the second map representation, the merged map indicating differences between the first map representation and the second map representation; and storing the merged map (i.e., An example of convenient file tree browser/comparer system is Araxis Merge, which compares two folders, shows differences between them, and so on. Files can be compared in graphical form using color markup or just viewed with a corresponding editor associated with a file type, Paragraph 33; Note also that the user can merge snapshots. For example, if two snapshots are relatively similar to each other, for example, only a few files may be different, representing a few small edits, in that case, the user can decide to merge the snapshots/image…, Paragraph 83; Paragraphs 29-33, 60, 67)
With regards to Claim 3, Koryakina teaches wherein creating the merged map of the first map representation and the second map representation includes identifying folder differences between the first map representation and the second map representation (i.e., An example of convenient file tree browser/comparer system is Araxis Merge, which compares two folders, shows differences between them, and so on. Files can be compared in graphical form using color markup or just viewed with a corresponding editor associated with a file type, Paragraph 33; Paragraphs 60, 67)
With regards to Claim 4, Koryakina teaches sorting the merged map into a plurality of views (i.e., An example of convenient file tree browser/comparer system is Araxis Merge, which compares two folders, shows differences between them, and so on. Files can be compared in graphical form using color markup or just viewed with a corresponding editor associated with a file type, Paragraph 33; Paragraph 67)
With regards to Claim 5, Koryakina teaches wherein the plurality of views includes at least one of a context and dependency injection (CDI) list view, a data model list view, a tree view, or a code editor view (i.e. , The snapshot browser can be viewed as having two major parts: a device state analyzer and a state representation subsystem that presents data in user friendly form (readable text view, GUI tree view, GUI file/folder comparison view, such as used in Araxis Merge (from Araxis. Ltd), in both integral of differential/incremental form, similar to what "CVS diff" command performs, etc.), Paragraph 31)
With regards to Claim 6, Koryakina teaches wherein: the first map representation includes a first data model of the first tree representation; and the second map representation includes a second data model of the second tree representation (i.e., For example, the most convenient analysis which can be provided for virtual HDD state is representation of virtual HDD state as a logical structure with partitions, folders and files. In this case, the most convenient state representation subsystem can be designed as a file tree browser started from list of partitions (topmost tree layer), root folders, subfolders and files. All items of such tree can be analyzed through the snapshot time tree where each file, folder, partition or virtual disk at all have version corresponding to a time when the snapshot was created, Paragraph 32; Paragraphs 29-33, 67)
With regards to Claim 8, Koryakina teaches wherein at least a portion of an organizational structure of the first deployment of the application in the first environment is different from at least a portion of an organizational structure of the second deployment of the application in the second environment (i.e., In one embodiment, a virtual snapshot viewer can be used for analyzing a snapshot tree and displaying the changes to the user. The virtual snapshots are arranged into a tree in a chronological order. Thus, a user can see the differences between any of the snapshots generated at various times…, Paragraph 27; he proposed method provides efficient version control not only of the logical data entities, such as files located on virtual HDD, but also of the VM context including, for example, state of virtual CPU, state of memory registers, state of system registry, flags, state of the virtual disk, state of virtual devices, etc, Paragraph 30)
With regards to Claim 9, Koryakina teaches wherein the differences of the interactive view includes at least one of: a variable difference, a context and dependency injection (CDI) difference, type difference, or source level difference (i.e., An example of convenient file tree browser/comparer system is Araxis Merge, which compares two folders, shows differences between them, and so on. Files can be compared in graphical form using color markup or just viewed with a corresponding editor associated with a file type, Paragraph 33; State of whole VM can be also analyzed as complex logical structure included also operating system dependent information like registry, running processes, state of specific programs, performance counters like memory usage, CPU usage counters, etc, Paragraph 38)
With regards to Claim 10, Koryakina teaches determining whether a user has permission to view encrypted data; and in response to a determination that the user does not have permission to view the encrypted data, indicating that there is a difference between the first configuration data and the second configuration data without displaying a value of the encrypted data (i.e., The invention can also work with snapshots where some components (like state of the portion of memory/cpu state/disk/file system areas) or their parts can be locked or use enforced security access rules/ACL and, therefore, requires some specific allowance for access--e.g., for reading and/or displaying it is UI/command tools, or for creation of a derivative snapshot with this particular component once the component is modified…, Paragraphs 45-46)
With regards to Claim 11, Koryakina teaches in response to the determination that the user does not have permission to view the encrypted data, obscuring the encrypted data in the interactive view provided on the user interface (i.e., The invention can also work with snapshots where some components (like state of the portion of memory/cpu state/disk/file system areas) or their parts can be locked or use enforced security access rules/ACL and, therefore, requires some specific allowance for access--e.g., for reading and/or displaying it is UI/command tools, or for creation of a derivative snapshot with this particular component once the component is modified…, Paragraphs 45-46).
With regards to Claim 12, Koryakina teaches generating an alert that indicates a degradation in performance of the application associated with at least one of the differences (i.e., This can be important when the user is about to install a new application or change the configuration of a VM, which may negatively affect the functionality of the VM. In this case, the user can generate a virtual snapshot reflecting the last state of the VM prior to the new application being installed. This way, if the VM gets corrupted by the new application, the user can return to any of the previous states of the VM, Paragraph 29; Paragraph 67)
With regards to Claim 13, Koryakina teaches wherein the interactive view includes at least one difference in configuration data (i.e., In the preferred embodiment, the snapshot tree displaying the differences between the snapshots is presented to a user via a snapshot image viewer. The snapshot image viewer analyses the snapshots and renders the results to the users in a convenient graphical form…, Paragraph 51)
With regards to Claim 14, Koryakina teaches wherein the interactive view includes at least one difference between a first data model representing the first configuration data and a second data model representing the second configuration data (i.e., In the preferred embodiment, the snapshot tree displaying the differences between the snapshots is presented to a user via a snapshot image viewer. The snapshot image viewer analyses the snapshots and renders the results to the users in a convenient graphical form…, Paragraph 51; Paragraphs 41-44, 52-54, 76)
With regards to Claim 15, Koryakina teaches wherein the interactive view organizes the differences by at least one of: corresponding nodes or corresponding paths (i.e., In the preferred embodiment, the snapshot tree displaying the differences between the snapshots is presented to a user via a snapshot image viewer. The snapshot image viewer analyses the snapshots and renders the results to the users in a convenient graphical form…, Paragraph 51; Paragraphs 51-54).
With regards to Claim 16, Koryakina teaches wherein the interactive view includes a data model view and a differences view (i.e., Efficient version control is provided by the structure of a virtual snapshot illustrated in FIG. 1. Virtual Snapshots B, C and D of a Virtual Machine VM are generated at various times. Each of these snapshots contains information reflecting the state of the VM at points in time B, C and D accordingly. Typical VM configuration includes CPU, memory, virtual HDD. The information contained in the virtual snapshots of the VM reflects the following entities… (a) snapshot of the state of a virtual CPU, which contains the configuration of the VM as well as the scripts for instantiating or automating the VM… (b) snapshot of the state of a virtual memory of the VM, which contains the data stored in the memory of the VM… (c) snapshot of the state of a virtual HDD, which contains the data stored on the HDD of the VM, Paragraphs 41-44)
With regards to Claim 17, Koryakina teaches wherein the interactive view includes a data model view indicating differences between a first tree representation of the first configuration data for the first deployment of the application in the first environment and a second tree representation of the second deployment of the application in the second environment (i.e., In the preferred embodiment, the snapshot tree displaying the differences between the snapshots is presented to a user via a snapshot image viewer. The snapshot image viewer analyses the snapshots and renders the results to the users in a convenient graphical form. Thus, users can have control over various versions of the VM and/or various version of a number of the VMs. The snapshot image viewer can allow a user to see the entire snapshot tree. The user can also use the snapshot image viewer to compare any of the virtual snapshots and for restoring the VM to the state captured by any of the snapshots within the tree…, Paragraphs 51-54).
With regards to Claim 18, Koryakina teaches wherein the interactive view of differences indicates a difference including by visually indicating an element in an organizational structure and whether the element in present in at least one of: the first deployment of the application in the first environment or the second deployment of the application in the second environment (i.e., In the preferred embodiment, the snapshot tree displaying the differences between the snapshots is presented to a user via a snapshot image viewer. The snapshot image viewer analyses the snapshots and renders the results to the users in a convenient graphical form. Thus, users can have control over various versions of the VM and/or various version of a number of the VMs. The snapshot image viewer can allow a user to see the entire snapshot tree. The user can also use the snapshot image viewer to compare any of the virtual snapshots and for restoring the VM to the state captured by any of the snapshots within the tree…, Paragraphs 51-54)
The limitations of Claim 19 are rejected in the analysis of Claims 1 and 12 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of Claim 20 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 1 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
The limitations of Claim 21 are rejected in the analysis of Claim 2 above, and the claim is rejected on that basis.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SURAJ M JOSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447 September 29, 2026