DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukiage et al (U.S. Pub #2017/0186606), in view of Shanker et al (U.S. Pub #2011/0244690)
With respect to claim 15, Fukiage teaches a method for processing a substrate, comprising:
loading a plurality of substrates (Fig. 2, W) into a process chamber (Fig. 2, 1; Paragraph 25);
supplying precursors to be adsorbed onto each of the plurality of substrates into the process chamber (Paragraph 46; Fig. 7, DCS);
supplying a reactive gas into the process chamber (Paragraph 49; and
depositing a thin film (Fig. 10, 67 and Paragraph 50) on a surface of each of the plurality of substrates using plasma generated from the reactive gas and the precursors.
Fukiage does not teach
supplying a pretreatment gas into the process chamber;
selectively surface processing one or more substrates among the plurality of substrates using plasma generated from the pretreatment gas.
Shanker teaches supplying a pretreatment gas into the process chamber (Paragraph 50);
selectively surface processing one or more substrates among the plurality of substrates using plasma generated from the pretreatment gas.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to supply a pretreatment gas to the chamber of Fukiage and perform selective surface processing using plasma generated from the pretreatment gas as taught by Shanker in order to remove contamination from the surface of the substrate (Paragraph 50).
With respect to claim 16, Fukiage teaches the one or more substrates (Fig. 2, W) are substrates that are first loaded into the process chamber among the plurality of substrates (Fig. 1, loading gate 16; Paragraph 25).
With respect to claim 17, Fukiage teaches surface processing all of the plurality of substrates using plasma generated from the pretreatment gas after selectively surface processing the one or more substrates (Paragraph 46, 48, etc. ; the substrates are processed as they are being rotated; hence some substrate will be processed after the first substrates).
With respect to claim 18, Fukiage teaches a system for processing a substrate, comprising:
a process chamber (Fig. 2, 11; Paragraph 24) including a gate (Fig. 2, 16) for loading and unloading a plurality of substrates;
a substrate support unit disposed within the process chamber, and including first stations (Fig. 2, stations 14 further from gate) spaced apart from the gate in a first direction (Fig. 2, line extending through 16 to 35), and second stations (Fig. 2, stations 14 closer to gate 16) between the first stations and the gate;
a gas distribution unit (Fig. 1, 41 and 42; Paragraph 36) configured to spray a pretreatment gas and a reactive gas required for plasma generation onto the plurality of substrates;
a gas supply unit (Fig. 1, 43 and 44) configured to supply the pretreatment gas and the reactive gas; and
a control unit (Fig. 1, 10 and Paragraph 42) controlling the gas supply unit and the gas distribution unit so that
a first operation in which first substrates disposed on the first stations among the plurality of substrates are surface processed by the pretreatment gas,
a second operation in which the first substrates and second substrates disposed on the second stations among the plurality of substrates are surface processed by the pretreatment gas, and
a third operation in which a thin film (Fig. 10, 67 and Paragraph 48) is deposited on the plurality of substrates by the reactive gas, are sequentially performed.
Fukiage does not teach
a first operation in which first substrates disposed on the first stations among the plurality of substrates are surface processed by the pretreatment gas,
a second operation in which the first substrates and second substrates disposed on the second stations among the plurality of substrates are surface processed by the pretreatment gas.
Shanker teaches a first operation of supplying a pretreatment gas into the process chamber (Paragraph 50);
selectively surface processing one or more substrates among the plurality of substrates using plasma generated from the pretreatment gas.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include first and second operations to supply a pretreatment gas to the chamber of Fukiage and perform selective surface processing using plasma generated from the pretreatment gas as taught by Shanker in order to remove contamination from the surface of the substrate (Paragraph 50).
It is noted that Fukiage discloses that the substrate are processed sequentially as they are being rotated, hence there will be a “first operation” and “second operation” as the substrate are each processed (Paragraph 46, 48, etc. ; the substrate are processed as they are being rotated; hence some substrates will be processed after the first substrates)
With respect to claim 19, Fukiage teaches that the first stations are arranged in a line in a second direction (Fig. 2, line extending through R1 and 52), crossing the first direction (Fig. 2, line extending through 16 to 35), and
wherein the second stations are arranged in a line in the second direction between the first stations and the gate (Fig. 2, 16).
With respect to claim 20, Fukiage teaches that the plurality of substrates comprise mask patterns formed of at least one of a hydrocarbon compound and a derivative thereof (Fig. 6, 61 and Paragraph 43).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-14 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the best prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest, along with the other limitations:
in claim 1:
supplying a first pretreatment gas into the process chamber; surface processing the plurality of first substrates using first plasma generated from the first pretreatment gas; supplying a second pretreatment gas into the process chamber;
surface processing the plurality of first substrates and the plurality of second substrates using second plasma generated from the second pretreatment gas;
…
depositing a thin film covering the mask patterns on a surface of each of the plurality of first substrates and the plurality of second substrates using third plasma generated from the reactive gas and the precursors.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN P SANDVIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812