DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments/Arguments
The amendment made to claims 1, the cancelation of claims 4 and 8-9, and the addition of claim 17, as filed on February 19, 2026, are acknowledged.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to new ground(s) of rejection in this Office Action necessitated by the amendment made to the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada et al. (JP2010080842, a machine-translated English version is used).
Regarding claim 1, Yamada discloses an organic film polishing composition (a polyimide film reads on an organic film, abstract) comprising: abrasive particles (paragraph 0016); potassium octyl phosphate (paragraph 0055); and a solvent (water reads on a solvent, paragraph 0016), wherein octyl phosphate comprises a hydrophilic group and a hydrophobic group having 8 carbon atoms (octyl group reads on a hydrophobic group, phosphate group reads on hydrophilic group, paragraph 0055), wherein surface charge of the abrasive particles is opposite to charge of the hydrophilic group of octyl phosphate (hydrophilic group of phosphate has negative charge, paragraph 0055; surface charge of the abrasive particles is positive, paragraph 0063), wherein a surface of the abrasive particles is positively charged (paragraph 0063), and the hydrophilic group of octyl phosphate is negatively charged (hydrophilic group of phosphate has negative charge, paragraph 0055), wherein the surface of the abrasive particles has aluminium contained therein (alumina, paragraph 0010), and wherein the hydrophilic group of octyl phosphate comprises phosphate (paragraph 0055). Yamada is silent about potassium octyl phosphate being a polishing accelerator; however, it is noted that claim 1 is drawn to a composition claim and a composition claim covers what the composition is not what the composition does. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 708, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1657 (Fed. Cir. 1990) ("The discovery of a new property or use of a previously known composition, even when that property and use are unobvious from prior art, can not impart patentability to claims to the known composition."); Titanium Metals Corp. of Am. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 782, 227 USPQ 773, 778 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (intended use of an old composition does not render composition claim patentable); and In re Zierden, 56 C.C.P.A. 1223, 411 F.2d 1325, 1328, 162 USPQ 102, 104 (CCPA 1969) (" [M]ere statement of a new use for an otherwise old or obvious composition cannot render a claim to the composition patentable.").
Regarding claim 2, Yamada discloses wherein the abrasive particles contain silica (paragraph 0010).
Regarding claim 3, Yamada discloses wherein the abrasive particles contain abrasive particles, a surface of which is modified (paragraph 0020).
Regarding claim 7, Yamada discloses wherein the hydrophobic group of the polishing accelerator includes a carbon backbone having 8 carbon atoms (octyl, paragraph 0055).
Regarding claim 14, Yamada discloses wherein the organic film polishing composition is configured for polishing a polymer layer (a polyimide film reads on a polymer layer, abstract).
Regarding claim 15, it is noted that the instant claim is drawn to a composition claim and the limitation in the wherein clause is considered as intended use of the claimed composition/function of the claimed composition. A composition claim covers what the composition is not what the composition does. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 708, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1657 (Fed. Cir. 1990) ("The discovery of a new property or use of a previously known composition, even when that property and use are unobvious from prior art, can not impart patentability to claims to the known composition."); Titanium Metals Corp. of Am. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 782, 227 USPQ 773, 778 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (intended use of an old composition does not render composition claim patentable); and In re Zierden, 56 C.C.P.A. 1223, 411 F.2d 1325, 1328, 162 USPQ 102, 104 (CCPA 1969) (" [M]ere statement of a new use for an otherwise old or obvious composition cannot render a claim to the composition patentable.").
Regarding claim 16, Yamada discloses a polishing method using the organic film polishing composition of claim 1 (paragraph 0069).
Regarding claim 17, Yamada discloses wherein the polishing accelerator is dipotassium octyl phosphate (paragraph 0055).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (JP2010080842, a machine-translated English version is used) as applied to claim 1 above in view of Chang et al. (US20220055180).
Regarding claim 5, Yamada is silent about wherein the abrasive particles have aluminium clusters coated on the surface thereof. However, Yamada discloses that the abrasive particles are at least one selected from alumina and silica (paragraph 0010), including colloidal silica with surface modification (paragraph 0020). Yamada further teaches that the abrasive particles have a positive zeta potential (paragraph 0063). In addition, Chang teaches that silica abrasive particles can be surface modified to have a positive zeta potential (paragraph 0027), by applying aluminium clusters coating on the surface of the silica particles (paragraph 0029). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply aluminium clusters coating on the surface of the silica particles as taught by Chang, in order to obtain abrasive particles with a positive zeta potential as needed in the method of Yamada, with a reasonable expectation of success. It has been held that substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is obvious. See MPEP 2144.06 II.
Regarding claim 12, Chang discloses wherein the abrasive particles have a zeta potential of 20-80 mV (paragraph 0028).
Claims 6 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yamada et al. (JP2010080842, a machine-translated English version is used) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 6, Yamada discloses wherein the abrasive particles are included in the organic film polishing composition by 0.2 to 60% by weight (paragraph 0021), which encompasses the range recited in the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 10, Yamada discloses wherein the content of the polishing accelerator is 5 to 30000 ppm (0.0005 to 3 % by weight, paragraph 0066), which encompasses the range recited in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 11, Yamada discloses wherein a pH of the composition is 1 or above (paragraph 0046), which encompasses the range recited in the instant claim.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al. (JP2010080842, a machine-translated English version is used) as applied to claim 1 above in view of Cadien et al. (Handbook of Thin Film Deposition, Elsevier, year 2012, pages 179-219).
Regarding claim 13, Yamada is silent about the composition further comprising biocide. However, Yamada discloses that the composition comprises an organic acid (paragraph 0048). In addition, Cadien teaches that a biocide is added to a polishing composition to prevent the growth of microbes that can thrive in an environment comprising organic acid (the last paragraph in section 7.4.4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add a biocide to the polishing composition of Yamada in order to prevent the growth of microbes that can thrive in an environment comprising organic acid as taught by Cadien.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JIONG-PING LU whose telephone number is (571) 270-1135. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F: 9:00am – 5:00pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joshua L Allen, can be reached at telephone number (571)270-3176. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JIONG-PING LU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713