DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse device claims in the reply filed on 04/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claimed limitation of “the at least one bumper comprises the same material and is monolithic with a dielectric material of the substrate at the bonding surface”, as recited in claim 11, is unclear as to which element the at least one bumper comprises the same material with.
The claimed limitation of “a top exposed surface of the at least one die 12 bonded to the upper bonding surface is above a top exposed surface of the at least one die bonded to the recessed bonding surface, wherein a top exposed surface of at least one die bonded to the recessed bonding surface is a top bonding surface, and wherein at least one additional die is directly bonded to the top bonding surface”, as recited in claim 11, is unclear as to
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 18, 20, 59-62 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (5,729,050) or Sakuma (2023/0163100).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches in figure 9 and related text a bonded structure comprising:
a substrate 10 that includes a bonding surface;
at least one bumper 16 extending above the bonding surface of the substrate; and
at least one die 12 directly bonded to the bonding surface adjacent the bumper.
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches in figure 9 and related text the at least one die is hybrid bonded to the bonding surface adjacent the bumper.
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches in figure 9 and related text the at least one bumper comprises a plurality of discontinuous bumper elements 16 surrounding the die pocket.
Regarding claim 18, Kim teaches in figure 9 and related text a substrate 10 that includes a bonding surface,
the bonding surface including a plurality of bonding regions (arbitrarily chosen) for hybrid bonding; and
at least one bumper 16 extending above the bonding surface of the substrate,
the at least one bumper separating at least two of the plurality of bonding regions.
Regarding claim 20, Kim teaches in figure 9 and related text at least one of the plurality of bonding regions (which are arbitrarily chosen) occupies a substantially differently shaped and/or sized footprint on the substrate than at least one other of the plurality of bonding regions.
Regarding claim 59, Kim teaches in figure 9 and related text the plurality of discontinuous bumper elements 16 is located beside a plurality of edges of the at least one die.
Regarding claim 60, Kim teaches in figure 9 and related text plurality of discontinuous bumper elements 16 frames a plurality of corners of the at least one die.
Regarding claim 61, Kim teaches in figure 9 and related text the at least one bumper is integrally formed with the substrate.
Regarding claim 62, Kim teaches in figure 9 and related text a substrate 10 that includes an upper surface;
a recessed bonding surface 10a below the upper surface of the substrate; and
at least one die 12 directly bonded to the recessed bonding surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, 11-12, 14-15, 19 and 22-23, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (2016/0322453).
Regarding claims 3 and 19, Kim does not teach in figure 9 and related text the at least one die has a thickness greater than a bumper height of the at least one bumper, and wherein the bumper height is between about 25 nm and 10 microns.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to form the at least one die having a thickness greater than a bumper height of the at least one bumper, and wherein the bumper height is between about 25 nm and 10 microns in Park et al.’s device, in order to adjust and optimize the device characteristics.
See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980) (“[Djiscovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.”);
In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955) (“where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”).
Regarding claim 5, Kim does not teach in figure 9 and related text the at least one bumper surrounds the at least one die and defines a die pocket having a pocket width greater than a width of the at least one die by between about 2 microns and 7 microns.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to form the at least one bumper surrounds the at least one die and defines a die pocket having a pocket width greater than a width of the at least one die by between about 2 microns and 7 microns in Park et al.’s device, in order to adjust and optimize the device characteristics.
Regarding claims 11-12, 14-15 and 22, Kim does not teach in figure 9 and related text the at least one bumper comprises the same material and is monolithic with a dielectric material of the substrate at the bonding surface.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to form the at least one bumper comprises the same material and is monolithic with a dielectric material of the substrate at the bonding surface, and wherein the at least one bumper comprises a material different from a material of the substrate at the bonding surface, and wherein the substrate comprises a semiconductor wafer an integrated circuit die, in Park et al.’s device, in order to use the device in an application which requires specific substrate.
Regarding the claimed limitations of using specific materials, it is noted that substitution of materials is not patentable even when the substitution is new and useful. Safetran Systems Corp. v. Federal Sign & Signal Corp. (DC NIII, 1981) 215 USPQ 979.
It is further held that it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 23, Kim does not teach in figure 9 and related text the at least one bumper is a different material from a dielectric material of the substrate at the bonding surface and is fixed to the substrate.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to form the at least one bumper is a different material from a dielectric material of the substrate at the bonding surface and is fixed to the substrate, in Park et al.’s device, in order to use the device in an application which requires specific substrate.
Claim(s) 63-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (2016/0322453) in view of Hirose (2004/0183186).
Regarding claim 63, Kim teaches in figure 9 and related text that the upper surface of the substrate is an upper bonding surface, but does not teach that at least one additional die is directly bonded to the upper bonding surface.
Hirose teaches in figure 1 and related text that at least one additional die 3 is directly bonded to the upper bonding surface pf substrate 2.
Kim and Hirose are analogous art because they are directed to chips attached to a substrate and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Park et al. because they are from the same field of endeavor.It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to bond at least one additional die directly to the upper bonding surface of the substrate, as taught by Hirose, in Kim’s device, in order to reduce the real estate size of the device.
Regarding claim 64, in the combined device, a top exposed surface of the at least one die 12 bonded to the upper bonding surface is above a top exposed surface of the at least one die bonded to the recessed bonding surface, wherein a top exposed surface of at least one die bonded to the recessed bonding surface is a top bonding surface, and wherein at least one additional die is directly bonded to the top bonding surface.
O.N. /ORI NADAV/
6/1/2026 PRIMARY EXAMINER
TECHNOLOGY CENTER 2800