DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 11-12, 14-15, 18, 20, 22-23 and 59-62, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (5,729,050).
Regarding claims 1, 18 and 62, Kim teaches in figure 9 and related text a bonded structure comprising:
a substrate 10 that includes a bonding surface;
at least one bumper 16 extending above the bonding surface of the substrate; and
at least one die 12 directly bonded to the bonding surface adjacent the bumper.
Kim does not teach in figure 9 and related text that the at least one bumper has a bumper height above the bonding surface of between about 25 nm and 10 microns.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to form the at least one die having a thickness greater than a bumper height of the at least one bumper, and wherein the bumper height is between about 25 nm and 10 microns in Park et al.’s device, in order to prevent liquid PIQ 20 from spilling over the entire surface of the substrate and thus improving and optimizing the device characteristics.
See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980) (“[Djiscovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.”);
In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955) (“where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches in figure 9 and related text the at least one die is hybrid bonded to the bonding surface adjacent the bumper.
Regarding claim 3, Kim does not explicitly state in figure 9 and related text that the at least one die has a thickness greater than a bumper height of the at least one bumper, and wherein the bumper height is between about 25 nm and 10 microns.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to form the at least one die having a thickness greater than a bumper height of the at least one bumper, and wherein the bumper height is between about 25 nm and 10 microns in Park et al.’s device, in order to adjust and optimize the device characteristics.
Regarding claim 5, Kim does not teach in figure 9 and related text the at least one bumper surrounds the at least one die and defines a die pocket having a pocket width greater than a width of the at least one die by between about 2 microns and 7 microns.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to form the at least one bumper surrounds the at least one die and defines a die pocket having a pocket width greater than a width of the at least one die by between about 2 microns and 7 microns in Park et al.’s device, in order to adjust and optimize the device characteristics.
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches in figure 9 and related text the at least one bumper comprises a plurality of discontinuous bumper elements 16 surrounding the die pocket.
Regarding claims 11-12, 14-15 and 22, Kim does not teach in figure 9 and related text the at least one bumper comprises the same material and is monolithic with a dielectric material of the substrate at the bonding surface.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to form the at least one bumper comprises the same material and is monolithic with a dielectric material of the substrate at the bonding surface, and wherein the at least one bumper comprises a material different from a material of the substrate at the bonding surface, and wherein the substrate comprises a semiconductor wafer and an integrated circuit die, in Park et al.’s device, in order to use the device in an application which requires specific substrate.
Regarding the claimed limitations of using specific materials, it is noted that substitution of materials is not patentable even when the substitution is new and useful. Safetran Systems Corp. v. Federal Sign & Signal Corp. (DC NIII, 1981) 215 USPQ 979.
It is further held that it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 20, Kim teaches in figure 9 and related text at least one of the plurality of bonding regions (which are arbitrarily chosen) occupies a substantially differently shaped and/or sized footprint on the substrate than at least one other of the plurality of bonding regions.
Regarding claim 23, Kim does not teach in figure 9 and related text the at least one bumper is a different material from a dielectric material of the substrate at the bonding surface and is fixed to the substrate.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to form the at least one bumper is a different material from a dielectric material of the substrate at the bonding surface and is fixed to the substrate, in Park et al.’s device, in order to use the device in an application which requires specific substrate.
Regarding claim 59, Kim teaches in figure 9 and related text the plurality of discontinuous bumper elements 16 is located beside a plurality of edges of the at least one die.
Regarding claim 60, Kim teaches in figure 9 and related text plurality of discontinuous bumper elements 16 frames a plurality of corners of the at least one die.
Regarding claim 61, Kim teaches in figure 9 and related text the at least one bumper is integrally formed with the substrate.
Claim(s) 63-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (5,729,050) in view of Hirose (2004/0183186).
Regarding claim 63, Kim teaches in figure 9 and related text that the upper surface of the substrate is an upper bonding surface, but does not teach that at least one additional die is directly bonded to the upper bonding surface.
Hirose teaches in figure 1 and related text that at least one additional die 3 is directly bonded to the upper bonding surface pf substrate 2.
Kim and Hirose are analogous art because they are directed to chips attached to a substrate and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify Park et al. because they are from the same field of endeavor.It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to bond at least one additional die directly to the upper bonding surface of the substrate, as taught by Hirose, in Kim’s device, in order to reduce the real estate size of the device.
Regarding claim 64, in the combined device, a top surface of the at least one additional die 12 bonded to the upper bonding surface is above a top surface of the at least one die bonded to the recessed bonding surface, wherein a top surface of at least one die bonded to the recessed bonding surface is a top bonding surface, and wherein at least additional die is directly bonded to the top bonding surface.
Response to Arguments
1.Applicants argue that Kim does not teach “direct bonding” because “In Kim, the "package chip 12 is attached by an adhesive 11 to the bottom surface of the cavity 10a."
The term “bonding” means attaching two elements together. The fact that applicants recite “direct bonding” does not necessarily mean that the two elements cannot be attached to one another with a glue.
The broad recitation of the claims does not require that the package chip must be in direct contact with the bottom surface.
It is noted that “Office personnel are to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. See, e.g., In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321 - 22, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989) ("During patent examination the pending claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow . .”)
Our reviewing court guides that "[i]n the patentability context, claims are to be given their broadest reasonable interpretations.., limitations are not to be read into the
claims from the specification." In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 1184 (Fed.
Cir. 1993) (citations omitted).
In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004) ("[T]his court counsels the PTO to avoid the temptation to limit broad claim terms solely on the basis of specification passages.").”
2. Applicants argue that Kim does not teach "at least one bumper extending above the bonding surface of the substrate," and "at least one die directly bonded to the bonding surface adjacent the bumper."
2. Figure 9 of Kim clearly depicts that the at least one bumper 16 is extending above the bonding surface of the substrate, and, as discussed above, Kim teaches that at least one die directly bonded to the bonding surface adjacent the bumper.
Applicants argue that “amended Claim 1 is not obvious over the combination of Kim and Park at least because changing the structure of Kim in the manner suggested by the Office Action would change the principle of operation of the structure in Kim”, because “Kim teaches bumpers with a height between 0.1 mm (100 microns) and 10 mm (10,000 microns). Introducing bumpers smaller than 100 microns would reduce the surface area between the substrate and molding compound, interfering with Kim's principle of operation”.
Column 4, lines 3-6 recite “The diameter (D) of each of the holes 17a and recess 17b is preferred to be not less than 0.1 mm (D.gtoreq.0.1 mm). The depth of each of the recess is preferably more than one third the thickness of the substrate 10”. This recitation does not provide any limitation on the height of the bumpers.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
O.N. /ORI NADAV/
9/10/2026 PRIMARY EXAMINER
TECHNOLOGY CENTER 2800