Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 2-18 in the reply filed on 10 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “removing an oxidized portion of the via before forming the first metal layer” limitation as described in claim 13 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, it is unclear how a portion of the via is oxidized before forming the first metal layer when the oxidation step of the claim from which it depends requires the first metal layer to be present.
Claim 13 has not been rejected over the prior art because, in light of the 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections supra, there is a great deal of confusion and uncertainty as to the proper interpretation of the limitations of the claims; hence, it would not be proper to reject the claims on the basis of prior art. As stated in In re Steele, 305 F.2d 859, 134 USPQ 292 (CCPA 1962), a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should not be based on considerable speculation about the meaning of terms employed in a claim or assumptions that must be made as to the scope of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2, 7-9, 11, 12, 15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Schricker et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2009/0001342).
Regarding claim 2, Schricker teaches a method of manufacturing a memory device comprising:
Forming a via that extends through one or more materials for the memory device [fig. 2c, 208 of memory cell 218];
Forming a first metal layer above the via [fig. 2c, 206 of upper cell 220];
Oxidizing the first metal layer [fig. 2c, 212, paragraph [0040] teaches oxidizing to form 212]; and
Forming, after oxidizing the first metal layer, a second metal layer above the first metal layer, wherein the second metal layer is for one or more access lines of the memory device [fig. 2c, 208 of upper cell 220].
Regarding claim 7, Schricker discloses the method of claim 2, wherein: the via is in contact with the first metal layer [fig. 2c, 208 of memory cell 218 is in electrical contact with metal layer 206 of 220]; and
the first metal layer is in contact with the second metal layer [fig. 2c, metal layer 206 of 220 is in electrical contact with second metal layer 208 of 220].
Regarding claim 8, Schricker teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the first mal layer is for the one or more access lines of the memory device [fig. 2c, 206 of memory cell 220 is an access line (word line or bit line)].
Regarding claim 9, Schricker discloses the method of claim 2, wherein oxidizing the first metal layer comprises exposing the first metal layer to oxygen for a duration [paragraph [0049]].
Regarding claim 11, Schricker teaches the method of claim 2, wherein forming the first metal layer comprises:
Depositing the first metal layer via a physical vapor deposition process, a chemical vapor deposition process or any combination thereof [paragraph [0065] teaches forming 406 (206 equivalent) by CVD or PVD].
Regarding claim 12, Schricker discloses the method of claim 2, wherein forming the second metal layer comprises:
Depositing the second metal layer via a PVD process, CVD process or combination thereof [paragraph [0082] teaches 440 (208 equivalent) by CVD or PVD].
Regarding claim 15, Schricker teaches a method of manufacturing a memory device comprising:
Forming a via that extends in a first direction through one or more material within the memory device [fig. 4b, 406 extends in a first direction (into the page) through material 410];
Forming a line of metal oxide contacting the via and extending in a second direction within the memory device different than the first direction [fig. 4b, 413 extends into the page as well as horizontally left to right in a second direction, paragraph [0071] teaches 413 is a metal oxide, it contacts the via through layer 407]; and
Forming a set of memory cells coupled with an access line that extends in the second direction, the access line comprising a metal contacting the line of metal oxide [fig. 4d, memory cells are the combination of 408, 420 and 436, access line 436 contacting 413 through 420, paragraphs [0060-0083] describe figs 4a-4d as a fabrication process for a memory cell, paragraph [0082] teaches 440 (of 436) is a metal layer].
Regarding claim 18, Schricker discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the line of metal oxide comprises an oxide of a second metal that is different than the metal of the access line [paragraph [0082] teaches the access line metal can be tungsten, paragraph [0071] teaches 413 is titanium oxide].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schricker as applied to claims 2, 7-9, 11, 12, 15 and 18 above, and further in view of Murooka (US Pat. Pub. 2013/0148400).
Regarding claim 5, Schricker fails to teach the second metal layer has a thickness greater than the first metal layer. However, Murooka teaches a memory cell array with a variable resistance material, the first metal lines having a first thickness, second metal lines having a second thickness and the second thickness being greater than the first [fig. 23, WL 52 as the first metal layer, GBL as the second metal layer, paragraphs [0107 and 0115] teach 52 has a thickness of 10nm and GBL has a thickness of 150nm].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Murooka into the method of Schricker by forming the second metal layer with a thickness greater than the first metal layer. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Schricker in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of adjusting parameters of the memory array by configuring sheet resistance and parasitic capacitance [paragraphs [ 0107 and 0204-207].
Regarding claim 6, Schricker in view of Murooka discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the first metal layer and the second metal layer are both formed using a same material [Schricker, paragraph [0042] tungsten].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schricker as applied to claims 2, 7-9, 11, 12, 15 and 18 above, and further in view of Nomura et al. (US Pat. Pub. 2008/0001143).
Regarding claim 10, while Schricker teaches an oxidation step they fail to teach oxidizing the first metal layer using a plasma that comprises oxygen, instead teaching thermal oxidation. However, Nomura teaches a memory cell device with a metal layer oxidized by an oxygen plasma as an alternative to thermal oxidation [paragraph [0078]].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Nomura into the method of Schricker by oxidizing the first metal layer by exposing the first metal layer to a plasma that comprises oxygen for a duration. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Schricker in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of utilizing known successful layer formation techniques to ensure successful device fabrication. Furthermore, thermal oxidation and plasma oxidation are shown to be alternative processes to one another and art recognized suitability for an intended purpose has been recognized to be motivation to combine. MPEP 2144.07.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schricker as applied to claims 2, 7-9, 11, 12, 15 and 18 above, and further in view of Gallo et al. (US Pat. #8,829,482).
Regarding claim 14, Schricker fails to teach forming the first metal layer, the oxidizing step and the second metal layer all occur within vacuum. However, Gallo teaches a memory device in which at least some layers are formed within a vacuum [column 7, lines 64-67].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Gallo into the method of Schircker by forming the first metal layer, oxidizing the first metal layer and forming the second metal layer all within a vacuum. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Schricker in the manner set forth above for at least the purpose of preventing exposure to ambient air and any reactive materials in said air [Gallo, column 7, lines 64-67]. Preventing exposure to ambient air would also ensure proper layer formation free from contaminants.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 16 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOHN M PARKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899