DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1a, 2a, 3a in the reply filed on March 30 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-17 and 20-21 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 30 2026.
The Restriction/Election Requirement is made final.
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 23, and 25 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5: “the two rows of the conductive contact structures horizontally interposed between two of the three of the additional dielectric slot structures in the second direction” is grammatically incorrect. “one of the three of the additional dielectric slot structures interposed between the two rows of the conductive contact structures in the second direction” is grammatically incorrect.
Claim 23: “at least two of the four rows of the conductive contact structures within a horizontal area of a first of the staircase structures of the upper stadium structure, and at least two others of the four rows of the conductive contact structures within a horizontal area of a second of the staircase structures of the upper stadium structure” is grammatically incorrect.
Claim 25: “ties” should read as “tiers”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5-6, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the groups of the conductive contact structures". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitations “the two rows of the conductive contact structures horizontally overlap each of three of the additional dielectric slot structures in the first direction” and “the two additional rows of the conductive contact structures horizontally overlap only the one of the three of the additional dielectric slot structures in the first direction”. It is the Examiner’s position that, based on Applicant’s disclosure, the recited “first direction” in the limitations should be the second direction. Here, the two rows of conductive contact structures are interpreted, based on the disclosure and other limitations therefore, to be the two rows of contact structures 136 that are on the left side portion of the block in Figure 1C, in sub-blocks 144B and 144C, directly adjacent (in the vertical direction in Figure 1C) to the slot 110B (see annotated Figure 1C of the present application below). If this interpretation of the two rows is correct, then Applicant has not disclosed that these two rows overlap each of the three additional dielectric slot structures (110) in the first direction, which is the X-direction, rather they would overlap in the second direction, which is the Y-direction. Similarly, if the two additional rows of the conductive contact structures are the two rows directly adjacent (in the horizontal direction in Figure 1C) to slots 110A and 110C (which based on the limitations therefore and the disclosure, it is the Examiner’s position that these rows are the two additional rows of conductive contact structures), then they would not overlap only the one of the three of the additional dielectric slot structures (interpreted to be 110B) in the first direction, rather they would overlap 110B in the second direction. Thus, it is unclear, based on the disclosure and the normal meaning of “overlap”, how these elements overlap in the claimed direction when they are in fact offset from each other in that direction. For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret the claims to be the overlapping directions as supported by the present disclosure.
Similarly, claim 6 recites the limitation “wherein the two additional rows of the conductive contact structures (see annotated Figure 1C below) are substantially aligned with the two of the three of the additional dielectric slot structures (110A and 110B) in the second direction (Y-direction),” whereas the disclosure only shows this alignment of the elements in the first direction, which is the X-direction in the Figures. Thus, it is unclear, based on the disclosure and the normal meaning of “align”, how these elements are aligned in the claimed direction when they are in fact offset from each other in that direction. For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret the claims to be the alignment directions as supported by the present disclosure.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 recites the limitations: “and a stadium structure region horizontally neighboring the memory array region in a first direction…crest regions horizontally neighboring the upper stadium structure in a first direction”. It is unclear whether the two recited “first direction”s are the same or different directions. For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret the recited first directions to be the same directions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-11, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (“Xu” US 2024/0071918) and Kang et al. (“Kang” US 2021/0098483).
Regarding claim 1, Xu discloses a microelectronic device (Figures 1, 2A-2B, 5), comprising:
a stack structure (102) comprising blocks (434) separated from one another by dielectric slot structures (upper and lower slots 440 in Figure 5), the stack structure (102) including a vertically alternating sequence of conductive structures (106) and insulative structures (104) arranged in tiers (108), at least one of the blocks (blocks 434 in Figure 5 is considered as a single block) comprising:
an upper stadium structure (414) including staircase structures (414A/B) having steps comprising edges of an upper group of the tiers of the stack structure (see Figure 2B);
crest regions (122/422) horizontally neighboring the upper stadium structure (414) in a first direction (X-direction in the figures, see Figures 1, 2B, and 5); and
bridge regions (124) integral with the crest regions (122) and horizontally interposed between the dielectric slot structures (upper and lower slots 440 in Figure 5) and the upper stadium structure (414) in a second direction (Y-direction in the figures) orthogonal to the first direction (X-direction);
additional dielectric slot structures (410 and center 440) within a horizontal area of the at least one of the blocks (434) and individually extending in the first direction (X-direction) across a first of the crest regions (422, left side in Figure 5) and at least partially into the upper stadium structure (see Figure 5), the additional dielectric slot structures (410 and center 440) separated from one another in the second direction (Y-direction) and individually vertically extending through the upper group of the tiers (108) of the stack structure (see Figure 2D).
Xu does not disclose a further dielectric slot structure extending in the second direction across a second of the crest regions of the at least one of the blocks, the further dielectric slot structure horizontally intersecting at least one of the additional dielectric slot structures and vertically extending through the upper group of the tiers of the stack structure
Kang discloses a further dielectric slot structure (160) extending in the second direction across a second of the crest regions (lateral elevated regions of the stack, see Figure 3) of the at least one of the blocks, and vertically extending through the upper group of the tiers (130/120…) of the stack structure (see Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Kang into the teachings of Xu to include the further dielectric slot structure for the purpose of further isolating conductive pathways from one another (Kang, para. [0031])
The combination would also result in the configuration where the further dielectric slot structure (as incorporated by Kang) horizontally intersects at least one of the additional dielectric slot structures (440 center of Xu) because the additional dielectric slot (440 center) of Xu extends all the way to the right sided crest region where the further dielectric slot structure of Kang would be incorporated, thereby intersecting with each other.
Regarding claim 2, Xu discloses conductive contact structures (436) in physical contact with the steps of the upper stadium structure of the at least one of the blocks (see Figure 2C);
additional conductive contact structures (438) within horizontal areas of the crest regions (422) of the at least one of the blocks (see Figure 5) and vertically extending completely through the stack structure (see Figure 2B); and conductive routing structures (148) vertically overlying the stack structure and coupling groups of the conductive contact structures (436) to respective ones of the additional conductive contact structures (438, see Figures 2A and 5).
Regarding claim 3, Xu discloses some of the groups of the conductive contact structures (436A) physically contact the steps of a first of the staircase structures of the upper stadium structure proximate the first of the crest regions (see Figure 2B, 436A analogous to 136A); and
some others of the groups of the conductive contact structures (436B) physically contact the steps of a second of the staircase structures of the upper stadium structure proximate the second of the crest regions (see Figure 5 and para. [0053], the second crest region is the left side crest region of Figures 2A/5).
Regarding claim 4, Xu discloses the some of the groups of the conductive contact structures (436A) comprise two rows of the conductive contact structures individually extending in the first direction (here, the two rows of the conductive contact structures are considered the fourth and fifth rows of 436A contacts counted from the lowest row, see Figure 5 and annotated Figure 5); and
the some others of the groups of the conductive contact structures (436B) comprise two additional rows of the conductive contact structures individually extending in the first direction (here, the two additional rows of the conductive contact structures are the rows of 436B contacts aligned in the X-direction with the specific slot structures 410B), the two rows of the conductive contact structures horizontally interposed between the two additional rows of the conductive contact structures in the second direction (Y-direction, see annotated Figure 5 where the two rows on the left are between the two additional rows on the right in the Y-direction, or vertical direction in Figure 5).
Regarding claim 5, Xu discloses the two rows of the conductive contact structures (two rows labeled in annotated Figure 5) horizontally overlap each of three of the additional dielectric slot structures in the first direction (here, because of the 112(b) issues discussed above, the first direction is considered the second direction, see Figure 5),
the two rows of the conductive contact structures horizontally interposed between two of the three of the additional dielectric slot structures (here two of the three slot structures are 410B upper and lower in Figure 5) in the second direction (see Figure 5), and
one of the three of the additional dielectric slot structures (440 center) interposed between the two rows of the conductive contact structures (labeled in annotated Figure 5) in the second direction (Y-direction, see Figure 5); and
the two additional rows of the conductive contact structures (436B) horizontally overlap only the one of the three of the additional dielectric slot structures in the first direction (here, because of the 112(b) issues discussed above, the first direction is considered the second direction, see Figure 5).
Regarding claim 6, Xu discloses wherein the two additional rows of the conductive contact structures (rows labeled on the right side in annotated Figure 5) are substantially aligned with the two of the three of the additional dielectric slot structures (410B upper and lower) in the second direction (see annotated Figure 5, here, because of the 112(b) issues discussed above, the second direction is considered the first direction, see Figure 5).
Regarding claim 9, The combination of Xu and Kang discloses wherein the additional dielectric slot structures (410/440 center) within the horizontal area of the at least one of the blocks comprise:
a first additional dielectric slot structure horizontally terminating, in the first direction, within a horizontal area of the upper stadium structure;
a second additional dielectric slot structure horizontally terminating, in the first direction, within a horizontal area of the upper stadium structure; and
a third additional dielectric slot structure (center 440) horizontally interposed between the first additional dielectric slot structure and the second additional dielectric slot structure (see Figure 5) in the second direction (Y-direction), the third additional dielectric slot structure (center 440) intersecting the further dielectric slot structure (160 of Kang incorporated into the right crest region of Xu) within a horizontal area of the second of the crest regions (the combination would result in this configuration as discussed with regards to claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 10, Xu discloses wherein the at least one of the blocks (134) further comprises at least one lower stadium structure (112) vertically underlying the upper stadium structure (114, when Figure 1 is inverted, the lower stadium structure 112 is underlying 114) and having additional steps comprising edges of at least one lower group of the tiers (108) of the stack structure (102) vertically underlying the upper group of the tiers of the stack structure (see Figure 1 inverted).
Regarding claim 11, The combination of Xu and Kang discloses wherein the further dielectric slot structure (160 of Kang) horizontally intersects two of dielectric slot structures (440 upper and lower in Figure 5) horizontally neighboring the at least one of the blocks in the second direction.
The combination would also result in the configuration where the further dielectric slot structure (as incorporated by Kang) horizontally intersects two of the dielectric slot structures (440 upper and lower in Figure 5) because the slot structures (440 upper and lower) of Xu extend all the way to the right sided crest region where the further dielectric slot structure of Kang would be incorporated, thereby intersecting with each other.
Regarding claim 25, Xu discloses an electronic system (Figures 1, 2A-2B, 5-6), comprising:
an input device (para. [0091]);
an output device (para. [0092]);
a processor device operably coupled to the input device and the output device (para. [0091]-[0092]); and a memory device operably coupled to the processor device (para. [0092]) and comprising:
a stack structure (102) having tiers (108), each tier including a conductive structure (106) vertically neighboring an insulative structure (104, see Figure 2B), the stack structure divided into blocks (134/434) separated from one another by dielectric slot structures (440 upper and lower in Figure 5), at least one of the blocks comprising:
an upper stadium structure (114/414) having steps comprising edges of a vertically upper group of the tiers (108, see Figure 2B);
first elevated regions (122/422) neighboring the upper stadium structure (114/414) in a first horizontal direction (X-direction in the figures); and
second elevated regions (124/424) integral with the first elevated regions (122/422) and interposed between the dielectric slot structures (440 upper and lower) and the upper stadium structure (114/424) in a second horizontal direction (Y-direction in the figures) perpendicular to the first horizontal direction (X-direction in the figures);
strings of memory cells (554) vertically extending through the at least one of the blocks (para. [0086]);
additional dielectric slot structures (410/440 center) within a horizontal area of the at least one of the blocks (434) and partially vertically extending through the ties of the stack structure (see Figure 2B),
the additional dielectric slot structures (410/440 center) individually extending in the first horizontal direction (X-direction) across one of the first elevated regions (122) and at least partially through the upper stadium structure (114/414), the additional dielectric slot structures at least partially defining sub-blocks (444) of the at least one of the blocks; and
Xu does not disclose a further dielectric slot structure extending in the second direction across a second of the crest regions of the at least one of the blocks, the further dielectric slot structure horizontally intersecting at least one of the additional dielectric slot structures and vertically extending through the upper group of the tiers of the stack structure
Kang discloses a further dielectric slot structure (160) extending in the second direction across a second of the crest regions (lateral elevated regions of the stack, see Figure 3) of the at least one of the blocks, and vertically extending through the upper group of the tiers (130/120…) of the stack structure (see Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Kang into the teachings of Xu to include the further dielectric slot structure for the purpose of further isolating conductive pathways from one another (Kang, para. [0031])
The combination would also result in the configuration where the further dielectric slot structure (as incorporated by Kang) horizontally intersects at least one of the additional dielectric slot structures (440 center of Xu) because the additional dielectric slot (440 center) of Xu extends all the way to the right sided crest region where the further dielectric slot structure of Kang would be incorporated, thereby intersecting with each other.
Regarding claim 26, Xu discloses wherein the memory device comprises a 3D NAND Flash memory device (para. [0085]).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu and Kang as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Luo et al. (“Luo” US 2023/0063111).
Regarding claim 7, Xu discloses some of the additional conductive contact structures (438/138) coupled to the some of the groups of the conductive contact structures (436A/136A) are positioned within a horizontal area of the first of the crest regions (left crest region 122/422 in Figures 2A, 5); and
some others of the additional conductive contact structures coupled to the some others of the groups of the conductive contact structures are positioned within a horizontal area of the second of the crest regions.
Xu does not disclose that some others of the additional conductive contact structures are also located in a second of the crest regions, coupled to some others of the groups of conductive contact structures.
Luo discloses, however, additional conductive contact structures located in a first crest region (see Figure 4, left side crest region to the less of 122) and are also located in a second of the crest regions (132 to the right of 122, see Figure 4, para. [0105]), those located in the second crest region (132 to the right of stadium structure 122) are connected to some other of additional conductive contacts (see Figure 4).
It would have bene obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Luo into the teachings of Xu for the purpose of providing electrical contact from the routing lines to the conductive features below the stack (Luo, para. [0105]).
Regarding claim 8, The combination of Xu, Kang, and Luo discloses some of the conductive routing structures (148) horizontally extend in the first direction (X-direction) from the some of the additional conductive contact structures (438/138) and to the some of the groups of the conductive contact structures (436A/136A); and
some others of the conductive routing structures (incorporated by Luo) horizontally extend in the first direction from the some others of the additional conductive contact structures, over the further filled dielectric slot structure (as incorporated into the second crest region by Kang), and to the some others of the groups of the conductive contact structures (see Figure 4 of Luo, where the routing conductive structures would extend over the further filled dielectric slot incorporated by Kang to the some others of the additional conductive contact structures on the right side of the stadium structure because the dielectric slot structure is used to electrically isolate the adjacent conductive connections from each other).
Claims 18 and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (“Xu” US 2024/0071918) and Luo et al. (“Luo” US 2023/0063111).
Regarding claim 18, Xu discloses a memory device (Figures 1-2B, 5, 6), comprising:
a stack structure (102) comprising blocks (134/434) separated from one another by dielectric slot structures (440, upper and lower in Figure 5), the stack structure including a vertically alternating sequence of conductive structures (106) and insulative structures (104) arranged in tiers (108), at least one of the blocks comprising:
a memory array region (552, Figure 6) having strings of memory cells vertically extending therethrough (see Figure 6);
and a stadium structure (114) region horizontally neighboring the memory array region in a first direction (X-direction in the Figures) and comprising:
an upper stadium structure (114) including staircase structures having steps comprising edges of an upper group of the tiers (108) of the stack structure (102, see Figures 1, 2B);
crest regions (122) horizontally neighboring the upper stadium structure in a first direction (X -direction);
bridge regions (124) integral with the crest regions (122) and horizontally interposed between the dielectric slot structures (440 upper and lower in Figure 5) and the upper stadium structure in a second direction (Y-direction in the figures) orthogonal to the first direction (X-direction);
additional filled dielectric slot structures (410/440 center in Figure 5) within a horizontal area of the at least one of the blocks (134) at least partially defining upper select gate structures of the at least one of the blocks (para. [0066]),
at least two of the additional dielectric slot structures (410B upper and lower) individually extending in the first direction across a first of the crest regions (left side crest region 122/422) and partially through the upper stadium structure (114/414, see Figures 2A and 5),
at least one other of the additional filled dielectric slot structures (440 center) extending in the first direction across the first of the crest regions (122 left) and the upper stadium structure (114/414, see Figure 5), and at least partially through a second of the crest regions (right end crest region, see Figure 5);
conductive contact structures (136/436) in physical contact with the steps of the upper stadium structure of the at least one of the blocks (see Figure 2B);
additional conductive contact structures (138/438) within the one or more of the first of the crest regions (122) of the at least one of the blocks (434), the additional conductive contact structures (138/438) vertically extending completely through the tiers of the stack structure (see Figure 2B); and
select line routing structures (148 in Figure 2A) extending in the first direction (X-direction) from the additional conductive contact structures (138/438) to the conductive contact structures (136/436, see Figures 2A and 5).
Xu does not disclose that additional conductive contact structures are also located in a second of the crest regions.
Luo discloses, however, additional conductive contact structures located in a first crest region (see Figure 4, left side crest region to the less of 122) and are also located in a second of the crest regions (132 to the left of 122, see Figure 4, para. [0105]).
It would have bene obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Luo into the teachings of Xu for the purpose of providing electrical contact from the routing lines to the conductive features below the stack (Luo, para. [0105]).
Regarding claim 22, The combination of Xu and some of the additional conductive contact structures are positioned within a horizontal area of the second of the crest regions (as incorporated by Luo above in regards to claim 18); and
some others of the additional conductive contact (138/438 left side) structures are positioned within a horizontal area of the first of the crest regions (122/422 left, see Figures 2A and 5).
Regarding claim 23, Xu discloses the additional filled dielectric slot structures (410/440 center) divide the at least one of the blocks (134) into four sub- blocks (444) each including some of the upper select gate structures (para. [0066]); and
the four sub-blocks are operatively associated with four rows of the conductive contact structures (para. [0067]), at least two of the four rows of the conductive contact structures (here, the at least two of the four rows of the conductive contact structures are considered the fourth and fifth rows of 436A contacts counted from the lowest row, see Figure 5 and annotated Figure) within a horizontal area of a first of the staircase structures (114A/414A) of the upper stadium structure, and at least two others of the four rows of the conductive contact structures (here, the at least two other of the four rows of the conductive contact structures are considered the contact 436B to the right side of the slot 111/411 in Figures 2A and 5) within a horizontal area of a second of the staircase structures (114B/414B) of the upper stadium structure (see Figure 2A and 5).
Regarding claim 24, Xu discloses wherein the at least two of the four rows of the conductive contact structures (conductive contact structures are considered the fourth and fifth rows of 436A contacts counted from the lowest row ) are intervene between the at least two others of the four rows of the conductive contact structures (the contact 436B to the right side of the slot 111/411 in Figures 2A and 5) in the second direction (Y-direction, see Figures 2A and 5).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu and Luo as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Kang et al. (“Kang” US 2021/0098483)
Regarding claim 19, Xu does not disclose a further dielectric slot structure extending in the second direction across a second of the crest regions of the at least one of the blocks, the further dielectric slot structure horizontally intersecting at least one of the additional dielectric slot structures and vertically extending through the upper group of the tiers of the stack structure
Kang discloses a further dielectric slot structure (160) extending in the second direction across a second of the crest regions (lateral elevated regions of the stack, see Figure 3) of the at least one of the blocks, and vertically extending through the upper group of the tiers (130/120…) of the stack structure (see Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Kang into the teachings of Xu to include the further dielectric slot structure for the purpose of further isolating conductive pathways from one another (Kang, para. [0031])
The combination would also result in the configuration where the further dielectric slot structure (as incorporated by Kang) horizontally intersects at least one of the additional dielectric slot structures (440 center of Xu) because the additional dielectric slot (440 center) of Xu extends all the way to the right sided crest region where the further dielectric slot structure of Kang would be incorporated, thereby intersecting with each other.
Conclusion
/Genevieve G Bullard-Connor/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899