DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-11, and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhiwei Wu et al, (hereinafter WU), CN 115394887 A in view of Xiangzhu Ma et al, (hereinafter MA), CN 104576863 A.
Regarding Claim 1, WU teaches a light-emitting diode (LED) chip (Fig. 1, light-emitting element, [0038]), comprising:
a semiconductor laminated layer (Fig. 11, 20, an epitaxial stack, [0053]) comprising a first semiconductor layer (Fig. 11, 21, [0053]), a light-emitting layer (Fig. 11, 22, active layer, [0053]), and a second semiconductor layer (Fig. 11, 23, [0053]) arranged sequentially from bottom to top;
a transparent conductive layer (annotated Figure 11, first bonding layer is a transparent conductive layer, [0042]) disposed on the semiconductor laminated layer (Fig. 11, 20, an epitaxial stack, [0053]);
a transparent bonding layer (Fig. 11, 30, [0042]) disposed on the transparent conductive layer (annotated Figure 11, first bonding layer is a transparent conductive layer, [0042]); and
a transparent substrate (Fig. 11, 10, [0039]) disposed on the transparent bonding layer (Fig. 11, 30, [0042]);
wherein the second semiconductor layer comprises a first sublayer and a second sublayer (annotated Figure 11, the second semiconductor layer, 23, may also be a single layer or multi-layer structure, [0056]).
Though WU teaches the multi-layer structure of the second semiconductor layer, WU does not explicitly disclose a light-emitting diode (LED) chip comprising: wherein the second semiconductor layer comprises a first sublayer and a second sublayer, the second sublayer is disposed on a part of an upper surface of the first sublayer, and a doping concentration of the first sublayer is lower than that of the second sublayer; and wherein the transparent conductive layer is in contact with an upper surface of the second sublayer and a part of the upper surface of the first sublayer around the second sublayer.
MA teaches a light-emitting diode (LED) chip (Fig. 1, light emitting diode, [0002]), comprising:
wherein the second semiconductor layer comprises (annotated Figure 1) a first sublayer (Fig. 1, 108, magnesium-doped P-GaP current spreading layer, [0035]) and a second sublayer (Fig. 1, 110, patterned contact points, [0038]), the second sublayer (Fig. 1, 110, patterned contact points, [0038]) is disposed on a part of an upper surface of the first sublayer (Fig. 1, 108, magnesium-doped P-GaP current spreading layer, [0035]), and a doping concentration (annotated Figure 1, the doping concentration of magnesium close to the buffer layer, 107, is 7x1017 cm3, [0036]) of the first sublayer (Fig. 1, 108, magnesium-doped P-GaP current spreading layer, [0035]) is lower than (annotated Figure 1, the magnesium doping concentration away from the buffer layer, 107, is from 8x1017 cm3 to 1x1019 cm3, [0036]) that of the second sublayer (Fig. 1, 110, patterned contact points, [0038]); and
wherein the transparent conductive layer (Fig. 1, 109, [0045]) is in contact with an upper surface (annotated Figure 1) of the second sublayer (Fig. 1, 110, patterned contact points, [0038]) and a part of the upper surface (annotated Figure 1) of the first sublayer (Fig. 1, 108, magnesium-doped P-GaP current spreading layer, [0035]) around (annotated Figure 1) the second sublayer (Fig. 1, 110, patterned contact points, [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified WU to incorporate the teachings of MA, such that a light-emitting diode (LED) chip comprising: wherein the second semiconductor layer comprises a first sublayer and a second sublayer, the second sublayer is disposed on a part of an upper surface of the first sublayer, and a doping concentration of the first sublayer is lower than that of the second sublayer; and wherein the transparent conductive layer is in contact with an upper surface of the second sublayer and a part of the upper surface of the first sublayer around the second sublayer. The above arrangement is thus lead to high brightness light emitting diodes and their manufacturing processes that can improve the light extraction efficiency of light-emitting diodes. (MA, [0008]).
Regarding Claim 2, WU as modified by MA teaches the LED chip as claimed in claim 1.
MA further teaches the LED chip (Fig. 1, light emitting diode, [0002]),wherein a thickness of the second semiconductor layer (annotated Figure 1 above) is less than 7 micrometers (μm) (annotated Figure 1 (above), the thickness of the magnesium-doped P-GaP current spreading layer is 2000 nm (2 micrometers or (μm)) to 4000 nm (4 micrometers or (μm)), [0011]).
Regarding Claim 3, WU as modified by MA teaches the LED chip as claimed in claim 1.
MA further teaches the LED chip (Fig. 1, light emitting diode, [0002]), wherein a thickness of the second sublayer (Fig. 1, 110, patterned contact points, [0038]) is less than 1 μm (Fig. 1, the patterned contact point, 110 with a height of 200 nm (0.2 micrometers or (μm)).
Regarding Claim 4, WU as modified by MA teaches the LED chip as claimed in claim 1.
MA further teaches the LED chip (Fig. 1, light emitting diode, [0002]), wherein the second sublayer (Fig. 1, 110, patterned contact points, [0038]) and the first sublayer (Fig. 1, 108, magnesium-doped P-GaP current spreading layer, [0035]) are made of a same material, and the material is one selected from the group consisting of gallium phosphide (GaP), aluminum gallium indium phosphide (AlGaInP) and aluminum indium phosphide (AlInP) (Fig. 1, P-GaP current spreading layer, 108; spin-coat positive photoresist onto the P-GaP current spreading layer, 108, and create a circular pattern, [0037]).
Regarding Claim 5, WU as modified by MA teaches the LED chip as claimed in claim 4.
MA further teaches the LED chip (Fig. 1, light emitting diode, [0002]), wherein the first sublayer comprises a first GaP layer (Fig. 1, 108, magnesium-doped P-GaP current spreading layer, [0035]) and the second sublayer comprises (Fig. 1, 110, patterned contact points, [0038]) a second GaP layer (Fig. 1, P-GaP current spreading layer, 108; spin-coat positive photoresist onto the P-GaP current spreading layer, 108, and create a circular pattern or patterned contact points, 110, [0009], [0021], [0037-0038]).
Regarding Claim 6, WU as modified by MA teaches the LED chip as claimed in claim 5.
MA further teaches the LED chip (Fig. 1, light emitting diode, [0002]), wherein a thickness of the first GaP layer (Fig. 1, 108, magnesium-doped P-GaP current spreading layer, [0035]) is in a range of 0.5 μm to 2 μm (annotated Figure 1 (above), the thickness of the magnesium-doped P-GaP current spreading layer is 2000 nm (2 micrometers or (μm)) to 4000 nm (4 micrometers or (μm)), [0011]), and a doping element of the first sublayer (Fig. 1, 108, magnesium-doped P-GaP current spreading layer, [0035]) is magnesium (Mg) (Fig. 1, magnesium-doped P-GaP current spreading layer, 108, [0011]).
Regarding Claim 7, WU as modified by MA teaches the LED chip as claimed in claim 1.
MA further teaches the LED chip (Fig. 1, light emitting diode, [0002]), wherein a thickness of the first sublayer (Fig. 1, 108, magnesium-doped P-GaP current spreading layer, [0035]) is greater than (the magnesium-doped P-GaP current extension layer, 108 is preferably, 3000 nm thick, [0036] which is greater than the patterned contact point, 110 consists of multiple uniformly distributed cylinders, each with a diameter of 3 μm and a height of 200 nm) that of the second sublayer (Fig. 1, 110, patterned contact points, [0038]), the part of the upper surface of the first sublayer (Fig. 1, 108, magnesium-doped P-GaP current spreading layer, [0035]) around the second sublayer (Fig. 1, 110, patterned contact points, [0038]) is a roughened surface ([0037]), and a roughness of the roughened surface is in a range of 0.1 μm to 1 μm (annotated Figure 1, roughening depth of 200-400 nm (or 0.2 μm to 0.4 μm), [0037]); and the upper surface of the second sublayer (Fig. 1, 110, patterned contact points, [0038]) is flatter (annotated Figure 1) than that of the first sublayer (Fig. 1, 108, magnesium-doped P-GaP current spreading layer, [0035]).
Regarding Claim 8, WU as modified by MA teaches the LED chip as claimed in claim 1.
MA further teaches the LED chip (Fig. 1, light emitting diode, [0002]), wherein a doping concentration of the first sublayer (Fig. 1, 108, magnesium-doped P-GaP current spreading layer, [0035]) is in a range of 1E17 atomic numbers per cubic meter (atoms/cm3) to 5E18 atoms/cm3 (the magnesium doped P-GaP current extension layer, the magnesium doping concentration near the buffer layer, 107, is 4x1017 cm3 to 8x1017 cm3 or preferably, 7x1017 cm3, [0012], [0036]).
Regarding Claim 10, WU as modified by MA teaches the LED chip as claimed in claim 1.
MA further teaches the LED chip (Fig. 1, light emitting diode, [0002]), wherein the second sublayer (Fig. 1, 110, patterned contact points, [0038]) comprises a plurality of independent protrusion structures (annotated Figure 1) formed on the first sublayer (Fig. 1, 108, magnesium-doped P-GaP current spreading layer, [0035]).
Regarding Claim 11, WU as modified by MA teaches the LED chip as claimed in claim 10.
MA further teaches the LED chip (Fig. 1, light emitting diode, [0002]), wherein the plurality of protrusion structures are arranged in an array (annotated Figure 1), and a width of an upper surface of each protrusion structure (annotated Figure 1) is smaller than a distance between adjacent two of the plurality of protrusion structures (annotated Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 13, WU as modified by MA teaches the LED chip as claimed in claim 10.
MA further teaches the LED chip (Fig. 1, light emitting diode, [0002]), wherein a ratio of a sum of horizontal projection areas of upper surfaces of the plurality of protrusion structures (annotated Figure 1 and calculation therein, [0016]) to a horizontal projection area annotated Figure 1 and calculation therein, [0011]) of the first sublayer (Fig. 1, 108, magnesium-doped P-GaP current spreading layer, [0035]) is in a range of 5% to 30% (annotated Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 14, WU as modified by MA teaches the LED chip as claimed in claim 1.
MA further teaches the LED chip (Fig. 1, light emitting diode, [0002]), wherein the second sublayer (Fig. 1, 110, patterned contact points, [0038]) comprises a net structure (Fig. 1, graphic contact points, 110, [0038]; a type of patterning contact points, 110, [0020])) formed on the first sublayer (Fig. 1, 108, magnesium-doped P-GaP current spreading layer, [0035]).
Regarding Claim 15, WU as modified by MA teaches the LED chip as claimed in claim 14.
MA further teaches the LED chip (Fig. 1, light emitting diode, [0002]), wherein a ratio of a horizontal projection area of an upper surface (annotated Figure 1 and calculation therein, [0016]) of the net structure (Fig. 1, graphic contact points, 110, [0038]; a type of patterning contact points, 110, [0020])) to a horizontal projection area (annotated Figure 1 and calculation therein, [0011]) of the first sublayer (Fig. 1, 108, magnesium-doped P-GaP current spreading layer, [0035]) is in a range of 5% to 30% (annotated Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 16, WU as modified by MA teaches the LED chip as claimed in claim 1.
MA further teaches the LED chip (Fig. 1, light emitting diode, [0002]), wherein the second sublayer (Fig. 1, 110, patterned contact points, [0038]) comprises a plurality of strip structures (Fig. 1, a type of patterning contact points, 110, [0020]) parallel to one another (annotated Figure 1), formed on the first sublayer (Fig. 1, 108, magnesium-doped P-GaP current spreading layer, [0035]).
Regarding Claim 17, WU as modified by MA teaches the LED chip as claimed in claim 16.
MA further teaches the LED chip (Fig. 1, light emitting diode, [0002]), wherein a ratio of a sum of horizontal projection areas (annotated Figure 1 and calculation therein, [0016]) of upper surfaces of the plurality of strip structures (Fig. 1, a type of patterning contact points, 110, [0020]) to a horizontal projection area (annotated Figure 1 and calculation therein, [0011]) of the first sublayer (Fig. 1, 108, magnesium-doped P-GaP current spreading layer, [0035]) is in a range of 5% to 30% (annotated Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 18, WU as modified by MA teaches the LED chip as claimed in claim 1.
MA further teaches the LED chip (Fig. 1, light emitting diode, [0002]), wherein the second semiconductor layer (annotated Figure 1) further comprises a hole injection layer (Fig. 1, current spreading layer, 108; the current first spreads laterally on the ITO layer and then is injected into the P-GaP current spreading layer, [0029]) disposed on a side of the first sublayer (Fig. 1, 108, magnesium-doped P-GaP current spreading layer, [0035]) facing away (annotated Figure 1) from the second sublayer (Fig. 1, 110, patterned contact points, [0038]); and a material of the hole injection layer (Fig. 1, current spreading layer, 108; the current first spreads laterally on the ITO layer and then is injected into the P-Gap current spreading layer, [0029]) is the same as that of the first sublayer (Fig. 1, 108, magnesium-doped P-GaP current spreading layer, [0035]).
Regarding Claim 19, WU as modified by MA teaches the LED chip as claimed in claim 1.
MA further teaches the LED chip (Fig. 1, light emitting diode, [0002]), wherein the LED chip (Fig. 1, light emitting diode, [0002]) further comprises a first electrode (Fig. 1, 112, second electrode, [0042]) and a second electrode (Fig. 1, 111, first electrode, [0040]), the first electrode (Fig. 1, 112, second electrode, [0042]) is in contact with the first semiconductor layer (Fig. 1, 101, GaAs substrate, [0042]), and the second electrode (Fig. 1, 111, first electrode, [0040]) is in contact with the transparent conductive layer (Fig. 1, 109, [0045]).
Regarding Claim 20, WU as modified by MA teaches the LED chip as claimed in claim 1.
MA further teaches the LED chip (Fig. 1, light emitting diode, [0002]), comprising a substrate (Fig. 1, 101, GaAs substrate, [0042]) and the LED chip (Fig. 1, light emitting diode, [0002]) disposed on the substrate (Fig. 1, 101, GaAs substrate, [0042]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU, in view of MA, and further in view of Yonghui Ge et al, (hereinafter GE), CN 109273569 A.
Regarding Claim 9, WU as modified by MA teaches the LED chip as claimed in claim 1.
MA further teaches the LED chip (Fig. 1, light emitting diode, [0002]), wherein a doping concentration of the second sublayer (Fig. 1, 110, patterned contact points, [0038]) is at least 1E19 atoms/cm3 (annotated Figure 1 above, the magnesium doping concentration away from the buffer layer, 107, is from 8x1017 cm3 to 1x1019 cm3, [0036]).
MA does not explicitly disclose the LED chip, wherein a doping element of the second sublayer is carbon (C).
GE teaches the LED chip (Fig. 1, light-emitting diode, [0031]), wherein a doping element of the second sublayer (Fig. 2, 42) is carbon (C) (Fig. 2, [0045-0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have WU as modified by MA to incorporate the teachings of GE, such that the LED chip, wherein a doping element of the second sublayer is carbon (C), so that the high carbon doping concentration in the second sublayer prevents the second sublayer from having too weak a conductivity, which would affect hold injection into the active layer (GE, [0045]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU, in view of MA, and further in view of Hideo Nagai et al, (hereinafter NAGAI), JP2005252222A.
Regarding Claim 12, WU as modified by MA teaches the LED chip as claimed in claim 11.
MA further teaches the LED chip (Fig. 1, light emitting diode, [0002]), wherein the upper surface of each protrusion structure (annotated Figure 1) is parallel to the upper surface of the first sublayer (Fig. 1, 108, magnesium-doped P-GaP current spreading layer, [0035]), each protrusion structure (annotated Figure 1) further comprises a side wall (annotated Figure 1) connected between the upper surface of the protrusion structure (annotated Figure 1) and the upper surface of the first sublayer (Fig. 1, 108, magnesium-doped P-GaP current spreading layer, [0035]).
WU as modified by MA does not explicitly disclose the LED chip, wherein each protrusion structure further comprises a side wall, and the side wall is inclined relative to the upper surface of the protrusion structure at an inclination angle of 120-150 degrees (°).
NAGAI teaches the LED chip (Fig. 1a, LED chip 2, [0016]) wherein each protrusion structure (annotated Figure 21a) further comprises a side wall (annotated Figure 21a), and the side wall (annotated Figure 21a) is inclined relative to the upper surface of the protrusion structure (annotated Figure 21a) at an inclination angle of 120-150 degrees (°) (annotated Figure 21a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have WU as modified by MA to incorporate the teachings of NAGAI, such that the LED chip, wherein each protrusion structure further comprises a side wall, and the side wall is inclined relative to the upper surface of the protrusion structure at an inclination angle of 120-150 degrees (°), so that the concavo-convex structure thus improving the light extraction efficiency (NAGAI, [0011]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210066551 A1 – Figure 9
STATEMENT OF RELEVANCE – Roughening of the second contact surface, 29 and flattening of the first contact surface, 30.
US 20100207146 A1 – Figure 6
STATEMENT OF RELEVANCE – n-type clad layer, 103 with Concavo-convex part, 103a and n-type contact layer, 101.
US 20170170369 A1– Figure 3
STATEMENT OF RELEVANCE – LED structure, 320, first semiconductor layer comprising transparent bonding layer and transparent substrate.
/SESHA SAIRAMAN SRINIVASAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812