DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/27/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: POWER SEMICONDUCTOR DEVICE RESISTANCE PORTION.
Claim Objections
Claims 18 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: grammatical errors. For examination purposes, Claims 18 and 19 will be interpreted to read as follows:
A. Claim 18. The semiconductor device according to claim 17, wherein the emitter region includes a first emitter region provided to be in contact with the gate trench portion in the mesa portion, and
the resistance portion is provided to be in contact with the first emitter region and spaced apart from the first trench portion, and
the contact region is provided below the resistance portion provided to be in contact with the first emitter region in the mesa portion.
B. Claim 19. The semiconductor device according to claim 18, wherein the emitter region includes a second emitter region provided to be in contact with the first trench portion in the mesa portion, and the resistance portion is provided to be in contact with the second emitter region and spaced apart from the gate trench portion, and
the contact region is further provided below the resistance portion provided to be in contact with the second emitter region in the mesa portion.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, for:
A. Claim 11 the: “wherein the resistance portion is in contact with the first trench portion at a front surface of the semiconductor substrate” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
B. Claim 19 the: “wherein the emitter region includes a second emitter region provided to be in contact with the first trench portion in the mesa portion, and the resistance portion is provided to be in contact with the second emitter region and spaced apart from the gate trench portion, and the contact region is further provided below the resistance portion provided to be in contact with the second emitter region in the mesa portion” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
C. Claim 20 the: “wherein the first emitter regions and the second emitter regions are alternately provided in a trench extending direction of the gate trench portion” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base
claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the
limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
A. Re claim 11, the prior art cannot be used to satisfy the limitation(s) of: wherein the resistance portion is in contact with the first trench portion at a front surface of the semiconductor substrate, in combination with the additionally claimed features of claim 1.
B. Re claim 19, the prior art cannot be used to satisfy the limitation(s) of: wherein the emitter region includes a second emitter region provided to be in contact with the first trench portion in the mesa portion, and the resistance portion is provided to be in contact with the second emitter region and spaced apart from the gate trench portion, and the contact region is further provided below the resistance portion provided to be in contact with the second emitter region in the mesa portion, in combination with the additionally claimed features of claims 1, 17 and 18.
C. Re claim 20, the prior art cannot be used to satisfy the limitation(s) of: wherein the first emitter regions and the second emitter regions are alternately provided in a trench extending direction of the gate trench portion, in combination with the additionally claimed features of claims 1, 17, 18 and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A. Claim 10 recites the limitation "the trench arrangement direction" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, "the trench arrangement direction" in line 3 will be interpreted to read as "a trench arrangement direction".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-8, 12 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pfirsch et al (US 2013/0270632 A1, hereafter Pfirsch) in view of Herbert et al (US 2009/0218620 A1, hereafter Herbert).
Re claim 1, Pfirsch discloses in FIG. 11 a semiconductor device comprising:
a gate trench portion (522; [0055]) provided in a semiconductor substrate (523; [0055]);
a first trench portion (521; [0055]) provided in the semiconductor substrate (523) and adjacent to (beside) the gate trench portion (522);
an emitter region (532; [0055]) of a first conductivity type (n-type; [0055]) provided to be in contact with (physically touching) the gate trench portion (522) in a mesa portion (portion of 537 between 531 and 530) between the gate trench portion (522) and the first trench portion (521);
a contact region (535; [0055]) of a second conductivity type (p-type; [0055]) provided to be in contact with (physically touching) the first trench portion (521) in the mesa portion (portion of 537 between 531 and 530);
a metal layer (534 as in 114; [0033]; [0040] and [0055]) provided above the semiconductor substrate (523).
Pfirsch fails to disclose and a resistance portion of the first conductivity type provided to be in contact with the metal layer (534) and the emitter region (532) and having a lower doping concentration than that of the emitter region (532).
However,
Herbert discloses in FIG. 8B a semiconductor device comprising a resistance portion (N- Resistive layer; [0026]) of the first conductivity type (n-type; [0026]) provided to be in contact with a metal layer (metal contact not shown; [0026]) and an emitter region (N+ Source; [0026]) and having a lower doping concentration (N- vs N+; [0026]) than that of the emitter region (N+ Source).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Pfirsch by adding the resistance portion of Herbert, of the first conductivity type provided to be in contact with the metal layer and the emitter region (532) and having a lower doping concentration than that of the emitter region (532), providing improved reliability when the device is operated under high stress with high current, high current and high temperature (Herbert; [0028]).
For the record, the inserted figure (annotated FIG. 11 of Pfirsch) depicts the resistance portion (N- Resistive layer) of Herbert inserted between the contact region (535) and the emitter region (532), such that metal layer (534) is provided above the semiconductor substrate (523); and the resistance portion (N- Resistive layer) of the first conductivity type (n-type) is provided to be in contact with the metal layer (534) and the emitter region (532), and having a lower doping concentration (N- vs N+) than that of the emitter region (532).
Re claim 3, Pfirsch and Herbert disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the resistance portion (N- Resistive layer; see inserted figure above) is provided to be in contact with (physically touching) the contact region (535), as part of the improved reliability of the device discussed for claim 1.
Re claim 5, Pfirsch and Herbert disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 3, wherein the resistance portion (N- Resistive layer; see inserted figure above) has a side wall (right side vertical plane) provided to be in contact with (physically touching) the emitter region (532) and a lower end (bottom horizontal plane) provided to be in contact with (physically touching) the contact region (535), as part of the improved reliability of the device discussed for claim 1.
Re claim 7, Pfirsch and Herbert disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the resistance portion (N- Resistive layer; see inserted figure above) is provided to be in contact with (physically touching) a contact hole (unlabeled opening in 525; [0056]) provided between the metal layer (534) and a front surface (upper plane) of the semiconductor substrate (523), as part of the improved reliability of the device discussed for claim 1.
Re claim 8, Pfirsch and Herbert disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the contact region (535) is provided to extend beyond (see inserted figure above) a contact hole (unlabeled opening in 525; [0056]) provided between the metal layer (534) and a front surface (upper plane) of the semiconductor substrate (523) from the first trench portion (521) in a trench arrangement direction (laterally left-to-right).
Re claim 12, Pfirsch and Herbert disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 1, semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the resistance portion (N- Resistive layer; see inserted figure above) is provided to be interposed between the emitter region (532) and the contact region (535) in a trench arrangement direction (laterally right-to-left).
Re claim 15, Pfirsch discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the first trench portion (521) is a dummy trench portion (no electrical 26 gate coupling; [0056]) set at an emitter potential (532; [0056]).
Re claim 16, Pfirsch discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1, semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the first trench portion (521) includes a dummy gate trench portion (no electrical emitter 532 coupling; [0056]) set at a gate potential (527; [0056]) and being not in contact (not physical or electrical connection; [0056]) with the emitter region (532).
Re claim 17, Pfirsch discloses the semiconductor device according to claim 1, semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the first trench portion (521) is a gate trench portion (526 electrical gate coupling; [0056]) set at a gate potential (527; [0056]).
Re claim 18, Pfirsch and Herbert disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 17, wherein the emitter region (532) includes a first emitter (left 532) region provided to be in contact with (physically touching) the gate trench portion (522) in the mesa portion (portion of 537 between 531 and 530), and the resistance portion (N- Resistive layer; see inserted figure above) is provided to be in contact with (physically touching) the first emitter region (left 532) and spaced apart (isolated) from the first trench portion (521), and the contact region (535) is provided below (under) the resistance portion (N- Resistive layer; see inserted figure above) provided to be in contact with (physically touching) the first emitter region (left 532) in the mesa portion (portion of 537 between 531 and 530), as part of the improved reliability of the device discussed for claim 1.
Claims 2, 4, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pfirsch and Herbert as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of HATTA et al (US 2017/0229535 A1, hereafter Hatta).
Re claim 2, Pfirsch and Herbert disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 1.
But, fail to disclose wherein a doping concentration of the resistance portion (N- Resistive layer) is equal to or greater than 5E17 cm⁻³ and equal to or smaller than 2E18 cm⁻³.
However,
Hatta discloses in FIG. 1 a semiconductor device comprising a doping concentration of a resistance portion (15b; [0061] and [0130]) is equal to or greater than 5E17 cm⁻³ and equal to or smaller than 2E18 cm⁻³ (1E17 cm⁻³ to 1E20 cm⁻³; [0130]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Pfirsch and Herbert by using Hatta’s resistance portion doping concentration of equal to or greater than 5E17 cm⁻³ and equal to or smaller than 2E18 cm⁻³ for the resistance portion of Herbert, increasing a voltage drop from a channel region to a source/emitter electrode while keeping an on-resistance low, thereby enhancing a short-circuit resistance (Hatta; [0010]).
Re claim 4, Pfirsch and Herbert disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 2, wherein the resistance portion (N- Resistive layer; see inserted figure above) is provided to be in contact with (physically touching) the contact region (535).
Re claim 9, Pfirsch and Herbert disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 1.
But, fail to disclose wherein the contact region (535) is separated from the gate trench portion (522) by 0.1 µm or more in a trench arrangement direction (laterally left-to-right).
However,
Hatta discloses the resistance portion (15b) to have a width (LNO; [0079]) of (0.1 to 10 µm; [0079]). Therefore, the contact region (535) is separated from the gate trench portion (522) by the resistance portion by 0.1 µm or more in a trench arrangement direction (laterally left-to-right), as would be part of the device discussed for claim 2.
Re claim 10, Pfirsch and Herbert disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 1.
But, fail to disclose wherein the resistance portion (N- Resistive layer; see inserted figure above) includes a region having a doping concentration increasing from an end of the first trench portion (521) side toward an end of the gate trench portion (522) side in a trench arrangement direction (laterally left-to-right).
However,
Hatta discloses the resistance portion (15b) to have a retro-grade ([0091]) or a step-like profile ([0091]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the retro-grade or the step-like profile of Hatta, such that the resistance portion includes a region having a doping concentration increasing from an end of the first trench portion (521) side toward an end of the gate trench portion (522) side in a trench arrangement direction (laterally left-to-right), to achieve the functionality of the device of claim 2.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pfirsch and Herbert as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hatta and SHIRAKAWA (US 2020/0203512 A1, hereafter Shirakawa).
Re claim 1, Pfirsch and Herbert disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 1.
But, fail to disclose wherein a width of the resistance portion (N- Resistive layer; see inserted figure above) in a trench arrangement direction (laterally left-to-right) is 5 to 25% of a width of the mesa portion (portion of 537 between 531 and 530).
However,
A. Hatta discloses a width (LNO; [0079]) of a resistance portion (15b) to be 0.1 to 10 µm ([0079]).
And,
B. Shirakawa discloses a semiconductor device comprising mesa widths of 0.7 to 2 µm ([0006]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the structure of Pfirsch and Herbert using the resistance portion width of Hatta for the devices discussed for claim 2; and using the mesa widths of Shirakawa to change the density of trenches to reduce device ON resistance (Shirakawa; [0074]).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pfirsch and Herbert as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of NAITO (US 2018/0374948 A1, hereafter Naito).
Re claims 13-14, Pfirsch and Herbert disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 1.
But, fail to disclose the semiconductor device further comprising a contact trench portion in the mesa portion (portion of 537 between 531 and 530) provided to extend in a depth direction from a front surface (upper plane) of the semiconductor substrate (523); and wherein a lower end of the contact region (535) is deeper than a lower end of the contact trench portion.
However,
Naito discloses in FIGS. 1-2 a semiconductor device comprising a contact trench portion (27; [0067]) in a mesa portion (between adjacent trench portions; [0067]) provided to extend in a depth direction (downward) from a front surface (upper plane) of a semiconductor substrate (10; [0067]); and wherein a lower end (bottom) of a contact region (28; [0068]) is deeper than (below; [0068]) a lower end (bottom) of the contact trench portion (27).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the structure of Pfirsch and Herbert by using the contact trench of Naito, in the mesa portion (portion of 537 between 531 and 530) provided to extend in a depth direction from a front surface (upper plane) of the semiconductor substrate (523); and wherein a lower end of the contact region (535) is deeper than a lower end of the contact trench portion, to achieve desired contact resistances with the contact region (Naito; [0093]).
Conclusion
/ERIC W JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892