CTNF 18/513,743 CTNF 86084 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 2 and 4-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Hughes (U.S. Publication No. 2006/0139037 A1) . With respect to claim 1, Hughes discloses a soil probe (see element 50 shown in Fig. 1; see para 0007, lines 1-6 discloses a soil probe device which includes probe circuitry and a meter) , comprising: a soil penetrating portion (see element 50 shown in Fig. 1, para 0036, lines 1-4; the probe 50 is readily inserted into many different soil media applications, including shallow soil samples which are common in greenhouses and other growers) comprising: a first printed circuit board (PCB) comprising a first conductive layer and a second conductive layer opposite the first conductive layer (see PCB 70 shown in Fig. 2; mounting pads 72 and 74 shown in Fig. 6A which are considered the conductive layers, which comprise electrodes 58a and 58b) ; and a first conductive insert electrically coupled to the first conductive layer of the first PCB, and a second conductive insert electrically coupled to the second conductive layer of the first PCB (multiple electrodes EC electrodes 58a-58d; see PCB para 0056, lines 1-14; Fig. 2) , wherein, when the soil penetrating portion is inserted in soil, both the first and second conductive inserts are configured to contact the soil (see element 50 shown in Fig. 1, para 0036, lines 1-4; the probe 50 is readily inserted into many different soil media applications, including shallow soil samples which are common in greenhouses and other growers) . With respect to claim 2, Hughes discloses the soil probe of claim 1, further comprising: circuitry electrically coupled to the first and second conductive layers of the first PCB and configured to determine a characteristic of the soil based on a signal appearing between the first and second conductive inserts (circuitry 100 shown in Fig. 7 which is an analog sensing circuit for conductivity and temperature measurement) . With respect to claim 4, Hughes discloses the soil probe of claim 2, wherein the circuitry is mounted on the first PCB (see PCB 70 shown in Fig. 2; mounting pads 72 and 74 shown in Fig. 6A which are considered the conductive layers, which comprise electrodes 58a and 58b) . With respect to claim 5, Hughes discloses the soil probe of claim 1, further comprising a second PCB coupled to the first PCB (see PCB 70 shown in Fig. 2; mounting pads 72 and 74 shown in Fig. 6A which are considered the conductive layers, which comprise electrodes 58a and 58b) . With respect to claim 6, Hughes discloses the soil probe of claim 5, wherein the second PCB comprises a wireless transmitter (see EC sense input 88 shown in Fig. 7) . With respect to claim 7, Hughes discloses the soil probe of claim 5, wherein the second PCB is coupled to the first PCB via a Universal Serial Bus (USB) interface (see wire connecting cables shown in Fig. 7) . With respect to claim 8, Hughes discloses the soil probe of claim 5, wherein the second PCB comprises a light sensor (see light emitting diode display shown in para 0042, lines 1-4) . With respect to claim 9, Hughes discloses the soil probe of claim 8, wherein the light sensor comprises a plurality of sensors, wherein each sensor of the plurality of sensors is configured to sense light at different wavelengths than other sensors of the plurality of sensors (para 0063, lines 1-10) . With respect to claim 10, Hughes discloses the soil probe of claim 5, wherein the second PCB comprises a temperature sensor and/or a humidity sensor (see temperature sensing element 80 shown in Fig. 7) . With respect to claim 11, Hughes discloses the soil probe of claim 1, wherein: the first conductive insert is in physical contact with the first conductive layer of the first PCB (see PCB 70 shown in Fig. 2; mounting pads 72 and 74 shown in Fig. 6A which are considered the conductive layers, which comprise electrodes 58a and 58b) , and the second conductive insert is in physical contact with the second conductive layer of the first PCB (see PCB 70 shown in Fig. 2; mounting pads 72 and 74 shown in Fig. 6A which are considered the conductive layers, which comprise electrodes 58a and 58b) . With respect to claim 12, Hughes discloses the soil probe of claim 1, further comprising: a first conductive component electrically coupling the first conductive insert with the first conductive layer of the first PCB (see PCB 70 shown in Fig. 2; mounting pads 72 and 74 shown in Fig. 6A which are considered the conductive layers, which comprise electrodes 58a and 58b) , and a second conductive component electrically coupling the second conductive insert with the second conductive layer of the first PCB (see PCB 70 shown in Fig. 2; mounting pads 72 and 74 shown in Fig. 6A which are considered the conductive layers, which comprise electrodes 58a and 58b) . With respect to claim 13, Hughes discloses the soil probe of claim 1, further comprising a housing comprising the soil penetrating portion and a head portion coupled to the soil penetrating portion, wherein the first PCB is held by the soil penetrating portion of the housing PCB (see PCB 70 shown in Fig. 2; mounting pads 72 and 74 shown in Fig. 6A which are considered the conductive layers, which comprise electrodes 58a and 58b) . With respect to claim 14, Hughes discloses the soil probe of claim 13, wherein a second PCB is held by the head portion of the housing (see housing 52 shown in Fig. 7) . With respect to claim 15, Hughes discloses the soil probe of claim 1, wherein the first and second conductive inserts are detachable from the soil penetrating portion (see element 50 shown in Fig. 1, para 0036, lines 1-4; the probe 50 is readily inserted into many different soil media applications, including shallow soil samples which are common in greenhouses and other growers) . With respect to claim 16, Hughes discloses the soil probe of claim 1, wherein the first conductive insert has a thickness that is between 2 mm and 20 mm (para 0066, lines 1-6) . With respect to claim 17, Hughes discloses a method for probing a soil using a soil probe comprising a first printed circuit board (PCB) and first and second conductive inserts (see element 50 shown in Fig. 1; see para 0007, lines 1-6 discloses a soil probe device which includes probe circuitry and a meter) , the method comprising: in response to the first and second conductive inserts contacting the soil, determining at least one characteristic of the soil based on a signal appearing between the first and second conductive inserts, wherein determining the characteristic of the soil (see element 50 shown in Fig. 1, para 0036, lines 1-4; the probe 50 is readily inserted into many different soil media applications, including shallow soil samples which are common in greenhouses and other growers) comprises: transferring the signal from the first and second conductive inserts to first and second conductive layers positioned on opposite sides of the first PCB; and sensing the signal (multiple electrodes EC electrodes 58a-58d; see PCB para 0056, lines 1-14; Fig. 2) . With respect to claim 18, Hughes discloses the method of claim 17, wherein determining the characteristic of the soil based on the signal appearing between the first and second conductive inserts comprises determining a moisture content of the soil based on a measure of capacitance formed between the first and second conductive inserts (see element 50 shown in Fig. 1, para 0036, lines 1-4; the probe 50 is readily inserted into many different soil media applications, including shallow soil samples which are common in greenhouses and other growers) . With respect to claim 19, Hughes discloses the method of claim 17, wherein determining the characteristic of the soil is performed using circuitry mounted on the first PCB (para 0063, lines 1-10) . With respect to claim 20, Hughes discloses the method of claim 17, further comprising wirelessly transmitting information indicative of the characteristic of the soil to an electronic device outside the soil probe . With respect to claim 21, Hughes discloses the method of claim 20, wherein wirelessly transmitting the information is performed using a wireless transmitter positioned on a second PCB coupled to the first PCB (see EC sense input 88 shown in Fig. 7) . With respect to claim 22, Hughes discloses the method of claim 21, further comprising transferring the information from the first PCB to the second PCB via a Universal Serial Bus (USB) interface (see wire connecting cables shown in Fig. 7) . With respect to claim 23, Hughes discloses the method of claim 17, further comprising sensing light using a light sensor positioned on the second PCB (see light emitting diode display shown in para 0042, lines 1-4) . With respect to claim 24, Hughes discloses the method of claim 23, wherein sensing light using the light sensor comprises: sensing light at a first wavelength using a first sensor; and sensing light at a second wavelength using a second sensor (para 0063, lines 1-10) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hughes (U.S. Publication No. 2006/0139037 A1) . With respect to claim 3, Hughes et al. discloses the soil probe of claim 2. However, Hughes does not specifically disclose wherein the circuitry is configured to determine a moisture content of the soil based on a measure of capacitance formed between the first and second conductive inserts. It is well known in the art that: Soil moisture can be determined via capacitance between electrodes; conductive probes can be used for resistive (conductivity) or capacitance sensing. Both techniques use the same basic structures by having electrodes inserted into the soil. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Hughes’ circuitry to determine soil moisture based on capacitance between the electrodes because it provides predictable results using known techniques and principles involving no structural modification. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FARHANA AKHTER HOQUE whose telephone number is (571)270-7543. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 7:30am-4:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Eman A Alkafawi can be reached at 571-272-4448. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /FARHANA A HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/513,743 Page 2 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/513,743 Page 3 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/513,743 Page 4 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/513,743 Page 5 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/513,743 Page 6 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/513,743 Page 7 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/513,743 Page 8 Art Unit: 2858