DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 in the reply filed on April 22, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by An et al. (US 2021/0202853).
Regarding claim 1, An discloses a display apparatus (Figs. 1-3) comprising: a support substrate including a first support substrate and a second support substrate spaced apart from each other (110 & 120; Paragraph [0051]); a substrate disposed on the support substrate (200; Paragraph [0051]); a display layer disposed on a portion of the substrate disposed on the first support substrate (310; Paragraph [0072]); and a thin-film encapsulation layer disposed to cover the display layer (320; Paragraph [0072]), wherein a surface of the first support substrate and a surface of the second support substrate facing each other include a slope surface (110b & 120b; Paragraph [0060-0061]).
Regarding claim 4, An further discloses wherein each of the first support substrate and the second support substrate includes a plurality of sides, and at least one of the plurality of sides of the first support substrate or at least one of the plurality of sides of the second support substrate includes the slope surface (110b & 120b; Paragraph [0060-0061]).
Regarding claim 5, An further discloses wherein a protective layer disposed on the support substrate and the substrate (630; Paragraph [0085]).
Regarding claim 6, An further discloses wherein the protective layer overlaps a region in which the first support substrate is spaced apart from the second support substrate in a plan view (630; Paragraph [0085]).
Regarding claim 8, An further discloses wherein the substrate is bent to form a bent portion (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, An further discloses a bending protective layer disposed on the bent portion of the substrate (630; Paragraph [0085]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Specifically, with regard to claim 2, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the requirement wherein one of the surface of the first support substrate and the surface of the second support substrate facing each other includes a groove extending in a direction away from another one of the surface of the first support substrate and the surface of the second support substrate facing each other.
Claim 3 is objected to based on its dependence from claim 2.
Specifically, with regard to claim 7, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest the requirement wherein the protective layer includes amorphous silicon.
/Anne M Hines/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2879