DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 4/3/26 is acknowledged. Claims [11-20] are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. (see MPEP § 606.01).
This may result in slightly longer titles, but the loss in brevity of title will be more than offset by the gain in its informative value in indexing, classifying, searching, etc.
The following title is suggested:
“Light emitting device with Partially Exposed Electrode Terminals and Separated Covering Layers and method of manufacturing the same”
Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is written in legal terminology which is too similar to claim language. In particular, legal phraseology such as the term “comprising”, “said” and “wherein” which are commonly used to define the limitations and scope pf patent claims, should generally be avoided in U.S. patent abstracts because the purpose of the abstract is not to define the patent claims, but to provide the reader with a clear and concise summary. The abstract should use plain language to describe the invention's technical problem, solution, and principal use. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” etc. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the typo “sideside” should be “[[sideside]] side”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Toyama (US 20200350478).
Regarding claim 1. Fig 2 (top plan view), Fig 3 (bottom plan view) and Fig 4 (lateral section view of Fig 2) of Toyama discloses A light emitting device [0012] comprising:
a base material 11 including:
a first main surface 111 (Fig 2/Fig 4) and a second main surface 112 (Fig 3/Fig 4) facing each other; and
a first end portion (Fig 2: the right 114) and a second end portion (Fig 3: the upper 113) facing each other;
a light emitting element 2 [0093] mounted on the first main surface of the base material and including a first electrode 22 and a second electrode 23 [0093] (Fig 2/Fig 4);
a first electrode terminal 12 (the 12 connected to 22) electrically coupled to the first electrode and a second electrode terminal 12 (the 12 connected to 22) electrically coupled to the second electrode, which are formed on the second main surface of the base material (refer to 1221 portions for each terminal);
a covering material 13 [0074] (including 131/132/133/135) that covers the first electrode terminal and the second electrode terminal (Fig 2 – Fig 4: 13 partially covers each terminal); and
a sealing material 3 [0097] that seals the light emitting element,
wherein the first electrode terminal is formed to extend in a first direction (Z) from a sideside of the first end portion toward a side of the second end portion (Fig 2 - Fig 4),
wherein the second electrode terminal is formed to be separated from the first electrode terminal by a distance (Fig 2 - Fig 4) in a second direction (X) intersecting the first direction and to extend in the first direction from the side of the first end portion toward the side of the second end portion (Fig 2 - Fig 4),
wherein the covering material includes:
a first covering material (the 13 related to the first electrode 22) that partially covers the first electrode terminal so as to expose (Fig 3/Fig 4) the first electrode terminal extending from the first end portion of the base material to a position separated by a distance toward the second end portion of the base material (Fig 2 – Fig 4: the first covering material partially covers the first electrode terminal); and
a second covering material (the 13 related to the second electrode 23) that partially covers the second electrode terminal in such a manner as to expose (Fig 3/Fig 4) the second electrode terminal extending from the first end portion of the base material to a position separated by a distance toward the second end portion of the base material (Fig 2 – Fig 4: the first covering material partially covers the first electrode terminal), and
wherein the first covering material and the second covering material are formed to be separated by a distance from each other in the second direction (Fig 2 - Fig 4).
Regarding claim 2. Toyama discloses The light emitting device of claim 1, wherein the first electrode terminal includes:
a first portion of the first electrode terminal formed on the side of the first end portion and not covered with the first covering material (Fig 2: refer to the portion of the first electrode terminal between 22 and 13, which is not covered by the 13) and
a second portion of the first electrode terminal formed on the side of the second end portion with respect to the first portion of the first electrode terminal so as to be connected to the first portion of the first electrode terminal, and covered with the first covering material (Fig 2/Fig 3: refer to the portion of the first electrode terminal between the portions, which is covered by the 13), and
wherein the second electrode terminal includes:
a first portion of the second electrode terminal formed on the side of the first end portion and not covered with the second covering material (Fig 2: refer to the portion of the second electrode terminal between 23 and 13, which is not covered by the 13); and
a second portion of the second electrode terminal formed on the side of the second end portion with respect to the first portion of the second electrode terminal so as to be connected to the first portion of the second electrode terminal (Fig 2 – Fig 4), and covered with the second covering material (Fig 2/Fig 3: refer to the portion of the second electrode terminal between the portions, which is covered by the 13).
Regarding claim 3. Toyama discloses The light emitting device of claim 2, wherein the first covering material is formed to cover the second main surface of the base material beyond the second portion of the first electrode terminal over a position separated by a distance on a side where the second portion of the second electrode terminal is located (Fig 3: refer to 131 related to the first electrode terminal).
Regarding claim 4. Toyama discloses The light emitting device of claim 2, wherein the second covering material is formed to cover the second main surface of the base material beyond the second portion of the second electrode terminal over a position separated by a distance on a side where the second portion of the first electrode terminal is located (Fig 3: refer to 131 related to the second electrode terminal).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5. the cited prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest, along with the other claimed features, “the second portion of the first electrode terminal has a first width in the second direction, and the first portion of the first electrode terminal includes: a first wide portion located on the side of the first end portion and having a second width wider than the first width; and a first width decreasing portion whose width is narrowed from the first wide portion toward the second portion of the first electrode terminal”.
Regarding claim 7. the cited prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest, along with the other claimed features, “the second portion of the second electrode terminal has a third width in the second direction, and the first portion of the second electrode terminal includes: a second wide portion located on the side of the first end portion and having a fourth width wider than the third width; and a second width decreasing portion whose width is narrowed from the second wide portion toward the second portion of the second electrode terminal”.
Regarding claim 9. the cited prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest, along with the other claimed features, “the first portion of the first electrode terminal has a first thickness, the second portion of the first electrode terminal has a second thickness, and the first thickness is thicker than the second thickness”.
Conclusion
/Changhyun Yi/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812