DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species 5, Figs. 32A-32C, with traverse, in paper dated 04/16/26 is acknowledged.
After review, the Examiner have another Specie (missing from the previous Restriction) which is Specie 2.5 that includes Figs. 22-26; therefore:
Claims 3 and 13 (with the limitations of “a central one of the isolated cavities is devoid of a coaxial connector”) are withdrawn from consideration by the Examiner as being drawn to a nonelected Specie 3.
Claims 7-8 (with the limitations of “an orientation feature”) are withdrawn from consideration by the Examiner as being drawn to a nonelected Specie 2.5.
Claims 9-10 (with the limitations of the outer connector body including “a plurality of teeth”) are withdrawn from consideration by the Examiner as being drawn to a nonelected Specie 13.
Claims 3, 7-10 and 13 should be withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the coaxial cable attached to the coaxial connector residing the first central cavity is smaller compared to the remaining coaxial cables” in claim 5; must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 5, “the coaxial cable attached to the coaxial connector residing the first central cavity is smaller compared to the remaining coaxial cables”
Claim Objections
Claim 1, line 12, “recesses” should be –recess--;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 11-12 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the best mode contemplated by the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s) has not been disclosed. Evidence of concealment of the best mode is based upon.
Regarding claim 1, line 11-12; and claim 11, lines 10-11, “each of the first and third sides includes a recess configured to receive a pin on a mating structure” are not disclosed in the Specification.
Claim 11, line 11, “registration features” are not disclosed in the Specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 11-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over G. W. Ziegler, JR. (3,566,334) in view A. H. Roos (1,793,015).
Regarding claim 1, G. W. Ziegler, JR. discloses a ganged connector assembly, comprising:
a shell (13, Fig. 3) comprising a plurality of electrically isolated cavities (12), the shell having a generally square footprint defined by first (a left side), second (a top side), third (a right side) and fourth sides (a bottom side);
a plurality of coaxial connectors (1, Fig. 3), each of the coaxial connectors residing in a respective cavity of the shell;
a plurality of coaxial cables (3), each of the coaxial cables being connected with a respective one of the plurality of coaxial connectors;
wherein the first side is opposite the third side and the second side is opposite the fourth side.
G. W. Ziegler, JR. discloses the claimed invention as described above except for a latch is pivotally attached to the first and third sides; and each of the first and third sides includes a recess configured to receive a pin on a mating structure, once the pin is received in the recess, the latch pivots to engage the pins to secure the assembly to the mating structure.
A. H. Roos, Figs. 1-3 show a latch (20) is pivotally attached to the first and third sides; and each of the first and third sides includes a recess (9) configured to receive a pin (7) on a mating structure (1), wherein once the pin is received in the recess, the latch pivots to engage the pins to secure the assembly to the mating structure. It would have been obvious to modify G. W. Ziegler, JR. to have a latch is pivotally attached to the first and third sides; and each side of the latch includes a recess configured to receive a pin on a mating structure, as taught by A. H. Roos, in order to have more security between both structures in the locked position.
Regarding claim 2, G. W. Ziegler, JR., Fig. 3 shows the cavities (12) are arranged in a cruciform arrangement, with a first (a middle cavity) of the cavities being a central cavity, and a second and a third (at a top line) of the cavities define a first line that passes through the first cavity, and wherein a fourth and a fifth (a bottom line) of the cavities define a second line that passes through the first cavity.
Regarding claim 4, G. W. Ziegler, JR., Fig. 3 shows the plurality of coaxial connectors is five coaxial connectors.
Regarding claim 11, G. W. Ziegler, JR., Fig. 3 shows a ganged connector assembly, comprising:
a shell (13) comprising a plurality of electrically isolated cavities (12), the shell having a generally square footprint defined by first (a left side), second (a top side), third (a right side) and fourth (a bottom) sides;
a plurality of coaxial connectors (1), each of the coaxial connectors residing in a respective cavity of the shell;
a plurality of coaxial cables (3), each of the coaxial cables being connected with a respective one of the plurality of coaxial connectors;
wherein the first side is opposite the third side and the second side is opposite the fourth side; and
registration features (17 and 22) are positioned adjacent the second and fourth sides.
G. W. Ziegler, JR. discloses the claimed invention as described above except for a recess configured to receive a pin from a mating structure.
A. H. Roos, Figs. 1-3 show a recess (9) configured to receive a pin (7) on from a mating structure (1). It would have been obvious to modify G. W. Ziegler, JR. to have a recess configured to receive a pin from a mating structure, as taught by A. H. Roos, in order to have more security between both structures in the locked position.
Regarding claim 12, it is noted that A. H. Roos, Figs. 1 and 2 show a latch (20) pivotally mounted to the first and third sides.
Regarding claim 14, G. W. Ziegler, JR., Fig. 3 shows the plurality of coaxial connectors is five coaxial connectors and the plurality of cavities comprises five cavities in a cruciform arrangement.
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over G. W. Ziegler, JR. and A. H. Roos as applied to claims 4 and 14 above, and further in view of Welch (9,711,956)
Regarding claims 5 and 15, G. W. Ziegler, JR. and A. H. Roos disclose the claimed invention as described above except for the central cable is smaller compared to the remaining cables.
Welch, Figs. 5 and 6 show a cable (91, Fig. 5) is smaller compared to remaining cables (90, Figs. 5 and 6). It would have been obvious to modify G. W. Ziegler, JR. to have the central cable is smaller than the remaining cables, as taught by Welch for grounding or control purposes (Welch, column 4, lines 64-66).
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over G. W. Ziegler, JR. and A. H. Roos as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Stowers et al. (5,936,421).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, G. W. Ziegler, JR. and A. H. Roos disclose the claimed invention as described above except for a spring is present in each of the cavities, each of the springs engaging a respective one of the plurality of coaxial connectors and permitting the coaxial connector to float radially and axially relative to the shell.
Stowers et al., Fig. 20 shows a spring (371) is present in each of the cavities (325), each of the springs engaging a respective one of the plurality of coaxial connectors and permitting the coaxial connector to float radially and axially relative to the shell. It would have been obvious to modify G. W. Ziegler, JR. to have a spring is present in each of the cavities, as taught by Stowers et al. for better connection.
Conclusion
/THANH TAM T LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831 04/30/26
thanh-tam.le@uspto.gov
/ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831