DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 were amended.
This is a Non-Final Action.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The main argument applicant makes is, the amended claims require, when no correspondence exists, generating third transformation functions that are distinct from the second functions yet provide functionally equivalent output.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant and has provided the mapping below. Hirt expressly teaches the failure case where a corresponding component in the second framework is not available, and then generates a different converted component from the second framework, “a component in the second framework that corresponds to the component in the first data integration job is available”, “generating a converted component based on the target”, “adding the converted component to the second data integration job,” and “storing the second data integration job in a data store” (Col 2: lines 6-58, Hirt). Thus, Hirt answers Applicant’s “indirect mapping” argument because the mapping does not stop at a direct first function to second function correspondence. Rather, when the mapping indicates that no corresponding second framework component exists, Hirt generates a converted/alternate target component for inclusion in the second framework job. Under BRI, this converted component corresponds to the claimed third data transformation functions, because it generated for execution by the second data consolidation tool when the ordinary second data transformation is unavailable.
Applicant’s further argument that the third function must be distinct from the second function is also addressed by Hirt’s “no corresponding component available” pathway. If the corresponding second framework component is unavailable, the later specified target component and generated converted component are not the original corresponding component is unavailable, including “identifying, based on the policy conversion rule, an alternate component of the second framework” and “adding the alternate component to the second data integration job.” (Claim 8, Hirt) Accordingly, under BRI a generated converted third function used because no corresponding second function exists reasonably satisfies the claimed third function that is not functionally equivalent to any of the second functions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 8-11, 13-17 and 19-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Morsi et al. (US 9,396,037) in view of Hirt et al. (US 10,261,767) further vin view of Gopalakrishnan (US 2023/0044288)
1. Morsi teaches, A computer implemented method, comprising:
determining one or more second data transformation functions using a mapping configuration file that indicates the one or more second data transformation functions respectively corresponding to the one or more first data transformation functions, wherein the one or more second data transformation functions correspond to a second data consolidation tool (Col 2: lines 51-58 and Fig 3: 302 - 308 - teaches the data pipeline configuration manifest includes an object-oriented metadata model… processed to generate data flow logic packages of the data pipeline system and further manifest compiler extracts tokens and semantics then “generates a mapping… metadata reflects a physical and/or logical mapping of the pipeline”).
Morsi does not explicitly teach,
receiving one or more first data transformation functions defined for a first data consolidation tool;
in response to the mapping configuration file indicating the one or more first data transformation functions do not correspond to the one or more second data transformation functions, generating, based on the mapping configuration file, one or more third data transformation functions to be executed by the second data consolidation tool to produce a second output functionally equivalent to a first output produced by executing the one or more first data transformation functions using the first data consolidation tool, wherein at least one of the one or more third data transformation functions is not functionally equivalent to any of the one or more second data transformation functions; (Col 2: lines 6-58 – teaches “a component in the second framework that corresponds to the component in the first data integration job is available”, “generating a converted component based on the target”, “adding the converted component to the second data integration job,” and “storing the second data integration job in a data store”- disclosing generates a converted/alternate target component for inclusion in the second framework job. Under BRI, this converted component corresponds to the claimed third data transformation functions, because it generated for execution by the second data consolidation tool when the ordinary second data transformation is unavailable; Claim 8 – teaches “identifying, based on the policy conversion rule, an alternate component of the second framework” and “adding the alternate component to the second data integration job.” – discloses under BRI a generated converted third function used because no corresponding second function exists reasonably satisfies the claimed third function that is not functionally equivalent to any of the second functions, Hirt)
migrating, based on the mapping configuration file, the one or more first data transformation functions defined for the first data consolidation tool to the one or more third data transformation functions to be executed using the second data consolidation tool without re-creating the one or more third data transformation functions in the second data consolidation tool; and
in response to the migrating, in the executing the one or more third data transformation functions using the second data consolidation tool.
However, Hirt teaches,
receiving one or more first data transformation functions defined for a first data consolidation tool (Col 6: lines 6-21 – teaches method include receiving a request to convert a first data integration job of a first framework … the job comprises a plurality of components);
in response to the mapping configuration file indicating the one or more first data transformation functions do not correspond to the one or more second data transformation functions, generating, based on the mapping configuration file, one or more third data transformation functions to be executed by the second data consolidation tool to produce a second output functionally equivalent to a first output produced by executing the one or more first data transformation functions using the first data consolidation tool, wherein at least one of the one or more third data transformation functions is not functionally equivalent to any of the one or more second data transformation functions;
migrating, based on the mapping configuration file, the one or more first data transformation functions defined for the first data consolidation tool to the one or more third data transformation functions to be executed using the second data consolidation tool (Fig 4: 405, 410, 415, 420, 430; and Claim 1 – teaches the method includes converting a first data integration job of a first framework into a second data integration job of a second framework teaches explicitly conversion/migration between tools using mapping information, Col 1: lines 30-34 – teaches that the input data is taken from homogenous or heterogeneous sources, formats the data for subsequent analysis (i.e. execution of the unified view of the data), Hirt); and
in response to the migrating, in the executing the one or more third data transformation functions using the second data consolidation tool(Fig 4: 410, 415, 430 and 445 – teaches in response to conversion to the second framework (i.e. migration), the system stores the new data integration job is created and stored, Background Col 1: lines 30-34 – teaches execution of the stored data at during subsequent analysis, Hirt).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to allow Morsi’s invention to be combined with Hirt’s invention because they are both in the same field of endeavor of migrating data integration workflows across heterogenous engines.
The combination of Morsi and Hirt do not explicitly teach or suggest,
…without re-creating the one or more second data transformation functions in the second data consolidation tool.
However, Gopalakrishnan teaches,
…without re-creating the one or more second data transformation functions in the second data consolidation tool (Paragraph 35 – teaches The target transformation is based on the target transformation function (106) which is invoked to copy or insert record marked as “new” or “modified”. Because the same predefined transformation function is reused and selectively re-executed rather than regenerated, Gopalakrishnan teaches executing second data transformation functions without re-creating those functions).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to combine the migration techniques of Hirt with the configuration-based determination and execution of Morsi and the predefined target transformation function reuse of Gopalakrishnan, because they are all in the same field of endeavor of migrate, execute and manage data transformation across different data consolidation environments thereby addresses complementary aspect of automated data integration and migration. The combination merely applies known techniques to achieve predictable results and does not require undue experimentation.
2. The combination of Morsi, Hirt and Gopalakrishnan teach, The computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the determining further comprises:
traversing one or more abstract syntax trees respectively corresponding to the one or more data transformation functions, wherein the mapping configuration file indicates a first function in the first data consolidation tool corresponding to a second function in the second data consolidation tool based on the corresponding abstract syntax tree of the first function (Col 8: lines 42-60 - teaches parser/manifest module generates abstract syntax trees from code objects, performs semantic analysis and derives metadata used to map each task to a target-system task. AST nodes are the basis for the conversion look up tables, Morsi).
3. The combination of Morsi, Hirt and Gopalakrishnan teach, The computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the determining further comprises:
preserving metadata corresponding to the one or more first data transformation functions in a configuration file that includes the one or more second data transformation functions (Fig 2, Col 11: lines 7-25– teaches the pipeline configuration manifest storing named metadata fields such as AppVersion 206 and Client Version, Fig 4 block update version attributes for all configuration objects instructs that during recompilation after conversion – version attributes and other metadata are updated to reflect in the current deployment, Morsi).
4. The combination of Morsi, Hirt and Gopalakrishnan teach, The computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the determining further comprises:
preserving a sequence of functions of the one or more first data transformation functions defined for the first data consolidation tool in a configuration file that includes the one or more second data transformation functions (Fig 5 - teaches the converter recreates precedence constraints and data-flow ordering of the original job in the target framework, ensuring runtime execution order remains unchanged; Fig 5 teaches converted job 534 retains the same control-flow 2, Hirt).
6. The combination of Morsi, Hirt and Gopalakrishnan teach, The computer implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining at least one first data transformation function does not have a corresponding second data transformation function indicated in the mapping configuration file; and selecting a replacement data transformation function for the second data consolidation tool (Col 13: lines 47-57, Fig 3: 304 - teaches physical mapping framework, Fig 4 – teaches validation module for testing and rolling back changes if validation fails, Col 14: lines 30-56, Morsi).
7. The combination of Morsi, Hirt and Gopalakrishnan teach, The computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the respectively corresponding data transformation function defined for the second data consolidation tool is comprised of two or more individual functions that perform the data transformation of an individual data transformation function defined in the first data consolidation tool ( Col 11: last paragraph – Col 12 -first paragraph – teaches compiler can take a SSIS task and break it into multiple tasks and data flow blocks, Morsi).
Claims 8-11, 13-17 and 19-20 are similar to claim 1-3, and 6-7 hence rejected similarly.
Claims 5, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morsi (US 9,396,037) in view of Hirt et al. (US 10,261,767) and Gopalakrishnan (US 2023/0044288) further in view of Dingman et al. (US 9,430,114)
All the limitations of claim 1 are taught above.
5. The combination of Morsi, Hirt and Gopalakrishnan do not explicitly teach,
generating visual information that is translated from a first format associated with the first data consolidation tool to visual information compatible with being displayed on the second data consolidation tool when the one or more second data transformation functions are executed in the second data consolidation tool.
However, Dingman teaches,
generating visual information that is translated from a first format associated with the first data consolidation tool to visual information compatible with being displayed on the second data consolidation tool when the one or more second data transformation functions are executed in the second data consolidation tool (Fig 2 - mapping canvas renders a graphical view of source objects, target object and mapping paths derived from conversion metadata and is displayed in the target environment).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to allow Morsi’s invention to be combined with Dingman’s invention because all the references address automated data integration, ETL conversion and presentation, they are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed method that converts the data-transformation functions between consolidation tools, therefore allowing for an area to seek solutions to ETL migration problems.
Claims 12 and 18 are similar to claim 5 hence rejected similarly.
Conclusion
O’Neil et al. (US 7,596,573) – teaches automatic data mapping using source/target object plus ETL maps, user defined rules, data conversion rules, defaults and predefined parameters (Abstract, Fig 6).
/AMRESH SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2159