DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response to the last Office Action, filed 10/02/2025, has been entered and made of record.
Applicant has amended claims 1—3, and 5. Claims 1-5 are currently pending.
Applicants arguments filed 12/31/2025have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Yousefian is silent regarding any form of objection detection among the
sequence of images. Yousefian "provide a three-dimensional object detection device which has high precision in detecting other vehicles traveling in adjacent traffic lanes adjacent to the lane traveled by the vehicle. Additionally the applicant argues that Tsuchiya describes the detection of stationary and moving
objects relative of the vehicle, but none of the detected objects are objects that move integrally with the vehicle.
In response, The claim language requires “ detect whether an object that integrally moves with the vehicle appears in the image within the specific range” . Yousefian clearly teaches in paragraph [0032] image sequences (or video sequences) from perimeter view cameras (front view camera 125, side view cameras 120a and 120b, and rear view camera 130, for example) may be stored in a memory to enable the driver assist system to construct a view of the ground and terrain immediately below the vehicle (referred to herein as an “under view”) which is not normally captured live by any of the perimeter view cameras. In addition, superimposing tire and body positions (for example, a partially or fully transparent vehicle body) on an image of the ground and terrain below a vehicle may provide the driver with detailed knowledge of the vehicle's surroundings that may not be visible from Side the vehicle( i.e. detect whether an object is integrally move with the vehicle, note that the terrain includes the object detect among the sequence of images ) . Displaying information related to wheel position, wheel slippage, projected wheel path, vehicle pitch and roll, and vehicle location may provide the knowledge to maneuver a vehicle that would otherwise require spotters outside of the vehicle. Note that Yousefian rear camera can easily detect exterior component such as a step, a towing hitch, a bull bar, or a kangaroo bar may be retrofit to the vehicle VH in accordance with preference of the owner, a purpose of use of the vehicle, and the like. Note that integrally moves by definition is constituent move and the rear camera integrally take images of parts under the vehicle if they are connected or not.
Examiner used a secondary reference Tsuchiya teaches the natural object assessment unit 38 creates an offset differential image taking into account the movement amount of the vehicle V. The offset amount d' corresponds to the movement amount in the bird's-eye view image data corresponding to the actual travel distance of the vehicle V shown in FIG. 4(a), and the offset amount d' is determined based on a signal from the vehicle speed sensor 20 and the time duration from immediately preceding point in time to the current time. The first integrated value is the total value of the predetermined areas or all the values plotted as the first differential waveform information. The three-dimensional object assessment unit 34 finds a second integrated value of second differential waveform information created by counting the pixel number representing a predetermined differential and creating a frequency distribution in the differential image of the first bird's-eye view image obtained at the first time and the second bird's-eye view image obtained at the second time which is after the first time. In other words, the natural object assessment unit 38 acquires a differential image in which the images are not offset. The second integrated value is the total value of the predetermined areas or all the values plotted as the second differential waveform information. The three-dimensional object assessment unit 34 assesses that the three-dimensional object detected by the three-dimensional object detection unit 33 is a moving object when an evaluation value, which corresponds to the number of times the first integrated value is assessed to be greater than the second integrated value, is equal to or greater than a predetermined evaluation threshold ( paragraph [0242-0250]).Tsuchiya clearly teach safe distance lines 325a and 325b that may show a computed safe distance from the vehicle body or bumpers(to help the driver avoid obstacles near the vehicle), may be superimposed on the display. Safe distance lines 325a and 325b may also be shown in a different (contrasting) color, or may be displayed by superimposing an extension of the sides of the vehicle, that may allow a driver to see how closely they have moved the vehicle to or from an obstacle. Meter 315 may be configured to show a number of vehicle parameters, including, for example, pitch, yaw, and roll and/or display limits 318. The limits 318 being a limit to which the vehicle should be bound regarding pitch, yaw, roll, and the like, paragraph [0030-0031][0047]. All remaining arguments are reliant on the aforementioned and addressed arguments and thus are considered to be wholly addressed herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yousefian et al (US 2019/0031101) in view of Tsuchiya et al (US 2014/0168440)
As to claim 1, Yousefian et al teaches an image generation device for generating an underfloor image indicating at least a ground below a vehicle, the image generation device comprising: at least one processor configured to:
take in an image within a specific range from a captured image captured by a camera enabled to capture at least a ground in a periphery of the vehicle, and to generate the underfloor image based on the taken-in image (Paragraph [0016] teaches images from perimeter view cameras used to construct a view of the ground and terrain below a vehicle; Paragraph [0026] teaches stitching images together to form an image mosaic at an on-board computer; Paragraphs [0027]-[0029] teach a CPU, computer, or microprocessor; Paragraph [0034] teaches computing the under view for any direction of vehicle travel);
detect whether an object that integrally moves with the vehicle appears in the image within the specific range ((Paragraph [0016] teaches images from perimeter view cameras used to construct a view of the ground and terrain below a vehicle; Paragraph [0026] teaches stitching images together to form an image mosaic at an on-board computer; Paragraphs [0027]-[0029] teach a CPU, computer, or microprocessor; Paragraph [0034] teaches computing the under view for any direction of vehicle travel, note that (Paragraph [0032] teaches superimposing vehicle tire/body positions on the image of the ground below the vehicle; Paragraph [0048] teaches a partial under view including the position and orientation of tires; Paragraph [0050] teaches hashmarks; Figure 7, Item 730 show the striped hashmarks in relation to the tire guidelines showing the position of the tires) . While Yousefian teaches the limitation above, Yousefian fails to teach an offset processing module configured to execute offset processing of offsetting the specific range by a predetermined amount in the captured image when the object detection module has detected the object.
However, Tsuchiya teaches the natural object assessment unit 38 creates an offset differential image taking into account the movement amount of the vehicle V. The offset amount d' corresponds to the movement amount in the bird's-eye view image data corresponding to the actual travel distance of the vehicle V shown in FIG. 4(a), and the offset amount d' is determined based on a signal from the vehicle speed sensor 20 and the time duration from immediately preceding point in time to the current time. The first integrated value is the total value of the predetermined areas or all the values plotted as the first differential waveform information. The three-dimensional object assessment unit 34 finds a second integrated value of second differential waveform information created by counting the pixel number representing a predetermined differential and creating a frequency distribution in the differential image of the first bird's-eye view image obtained at the first time and the second bird's-eye view image obtained at the second time which is after the first time. In other words, the natural object assessment unit 38 acquires a differential image in which the images are not offset. The second integrated value is the total value of the predetermined areas or all the values plotted as the second differential waveform information. The three-dimensional object assessment unit 34 assesses that the three-dimensional object detected by the three-dimensional object detection unit 33 is a moving object when an evaluation value, which corresponds to the number of times the first integrated value is assessed to be greater than the second integrated value, is equal to or greater than a predetermined evaluation threshold ( paragraph [0242-0250])
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before filing of the claimed invention to use the offset module taught by Tsuchiya et al. in order to prevent the images of natural objects including plants and snow located along the road traveled by the vehicle from being mistakenly detected as other vehicles traveling in adjacent traffic lanes adjacent to the lane traveled by the vehicle. As a result, it is possible to provide a three-dimensional object detection device which has high precision in detecting other vehicles traveling in adjacent traffic lanes adjacent to the lane traveled by the vehicle. . Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As to claim 2, Tsuchiya et al teaches the image generation device according to claim 1, wherein at least one processor is further configured to
repeat, when the offset processing is been executed and the object is detected in the image within the specific range that has been offset, the offset processing until object is no longer detected in the specific rang
As to claim 3, Tsuchiya et al teaches the image generation device according to claim 2, wherein at least one processor is further configured to
set a predetermined range apart from the vehicle in the captured image as a range inappropriate for the generation of the underfloor image, and to offset the specific range toward a direction away from the vehicle when the offset processing and wherein at least one processor is further configured to avoid the generation of the underfloor image in a case in which at least a part of the specific range that has been offset reaches the predetermined range when the offset processing is being executed as a result of the detection of the object by the object detection module ( Safe distance lines 325a and 325b that may show a computed safe distance from the vehicle body or bumpers (to help the driver avoid obstacles near the vehicle), may be superimposed on the display. Safe distance lines 325a and 325b may also be shown in a different (contrasting) color, or may be displayed by superimposing an extension of the sides of the vehicle, that may allow a driver to see how closely they have moved the vehicle to or from an obstacle. Meter 315 may be configured to show a number of vehicle parameters, including, for example, pitch, yaw, and roll and/or display limits 318. The limits 318 being a limit to which the vehicle should be bound regarding pitch, yaw, roll, and the like, paragraph [0030-0031][0047])
The limitation of claim 4-5 has been addressed above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact information
NANCY . BITAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2669
/NANCY BITAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664