DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed 04/27/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-12 14 and 15 are pending. Claims 2, 6, and 13 are cancelled. Claims 15 is withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: cleaning member in claim claims 1 and 14; pressing mechanism in claims 1 and 14; depressurizing mechanism in claims 1 and 14; and substrate holding and rotating mechanism in claim 11.
Based on a review of the specification, a cleaning member is interpreted to include a pencil cleaner, a sponge, or equivalents thereof; a pressing mechanism is interpreted to include a swing arm, or equivalents thereof; the specification does not appear to provide a structural example of a depressurizing mechanism; and a substrate holding and rotating mechanism is interpreted to include a spin chuck or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification as filed does not appear to provide a structural example of a depressurizing mechanism as recited in claims 1 and 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 11, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2012/0285484 to Liu et al. (“Liu”) in view of US 5,465,447 to Itoh et al. (“Itoh”).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a substrate cleaning apparatus (abstract) comprising: a cleaning member configured to clean a substrate (Fig. 1, ref. 12, para [0019]), the cleaning member having a lower surface (Fig. 1, lower surface of ref. 12); and a pressing mechanism (Fig. 1, ref. 14, para [0019]) configured to press the lower surface of the cleaning member vertically downward against a surface (note Fig. 1, ref. 11a).
Liu does not explicitly teach a plate having a horizontal plane provided with a hole, wherein the hole penetrates the plate, a casing provided in a lower portion of the plate, a depressurizing mechanism coupled to the casing and configured to depressurize an inside of the casing, and a gas-liquid separating structure formed by the casing or provided between the casing and the depressurizing mechanism; and the apparatus being operated in a manner wherein the pressing mechanism presses the lower surface of the cleaning member vertically downward against the plate such that a first part of the lower surface contacts a portion of the plate where the hole is not provided and that a second part of the lower surface is positioned on the hole, and a liquid discharged from the cleaning member is discharged below via the hole, whereby absorption of the liquid discharged from the cleaning member into the cleaning member is suppressed. Itoh teaches a substrate cleaning apparatus (abstract) including a chuck, or plate, which is disclosed a advantageous for supporting a substrate (col. 2, line 67 – col. 3, line 16), the chuck having a horizontal plane provided with a hole (Figs. 4 and 6, ref. 6 and 11, respectively, col. 6, lines 39-49), a casing provided in a lower portion of the plate (Figs. 2 and 12, lower portion of ref. 6); and a depressurizing mechanism coupled to the casing and configured to depressurize an inside of the casing (para [0021], vacuum chuck), which is disclosed as advantageously providing for draining, including draining of fluid applied to provide back pressure to inhibit warping from contact pressure from cleaning a front side (col. 1, lines 51-56, col. 2, lines 9-15, col. 6, lines 39-49). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Liu apparatus in view of Itoh wherein it includes a plate having a horizontal plane provided with a hole, a casing provided in a lower portion of the plate, a depressurizing mechanism coupled to the casing and configured to depressurize an inside of the casing, wherein the hole penetrates the plate, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enhance support of a substrate (note Liu, para [0019], [0021]), and provide for draining, including draining of fluid applied to provide back pressure to inhibit warping from contact pressure from cleaning a front side. Further, since the Liu/Itoh apparatus includes the claimed structural features, and appears to be substantially identical to the claimed apparatus, the Liu/Itoh apparatus appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited (note, e.g., Liu discloses that the cleaning member, and thus the lower surface of the cleaning member, is moveable (Fig. 1, arrows left and right of ref. 12), so as to be positioned partially over a hole). Thus, the Liu/Itoh casing appears to be capable of being used as a gas-liquid separating structure as does the casing of the present invention. Further, the recited substrate is not positively claimed, is not understood to be a required structural feature of the claimed apparatus, and could be held at held at any number of places, near or far from the claimed apparatus.
Regarding claim 3, Liu/Itoh discloses a nozzle configured to supply a cleaning liquid to the plate (Liu, Fig. 1, either of ref. 16 and 18, para [0019]).
Regarding claim 4, Liu/Itoh discloses an apparatus wherein the pressing mechanism rotates the cleaning member while pressing the cleaning member against the plate (note Liu, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, the Liu/Itoh appears to be fully capable of being operated in a manner wherein the hole is not provided at a position where the cleaning member comes into contact in the plate (note Liu, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Liu/Itoh disclose a substrate holding and rotating mechanism (Liu, para [0019], [0021], note Fig. 1) configured to hold and rotate a substrate in a horizontal direction, and appears to be fully capable of being operated in a manner wherein a lower surface of the cleaning member cleans an upper surface of the substrate, and the pressing mechanism presses the lower surface of the cleaning member against the plate (note Liu, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Liu/Itoh disclose an apparatus wherein the pressing mechanism is a swing arm (Liu, para [0019]), and appears to be fully capable of being operated in a manner wherein when cleaning the substrate, the swing arm swings the cleaning member on the substrate while the swing arm presses the cleaning member vertically downward against the upper surface of the substrate (note Liu, Fig. 1), and when cleaning the cleaning member, the swing arm presses the cleaning member vertically downward against the plate (note Liu, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Liu teaches an apparatus (abstract) comprising: a pressing mechanism (Fig. 1, ref. 14, para [0019]) configured to press a lower surface of a cleaning member (Fig. 1, ref. 12, para [0019]) vertically downward against a surface (note Fig. 1, ref. 11a).
Liu does not explicitly teach a plate having a horizontal plane provided with a hole, wherein the hole penetrates the plate, a casing provided in a lower portion of the plate, a depressurizing mechanism coupled to the casing and configured to depressurize an inside of the casing, and a gas-liquid separating structure formed by the casing or provided between the casing and the depressurizing mechanism; and the apparatus being operated in a manner wherein the pressing mechanism presses the lower surface of the cleaning member vertically downward against the plate such that a first part of the lower surface contacts a portion of the plate where the hole is not provided and that a second part of the lower surface is positioned on the hole, and a liquid discharged from the cleaning member is discharged below via the hole, whereby absorption of the liquid discharged from the cleaning member into the cleaning member is suppressed. Itoh teaches a substrate cleaning apparatus (abstract) including a chuck, or plate, which is disclosed a advantageous for supporting a substrate (col. 2, line 67 – col. 3, line 16), the chuck having a horizontal plane provided with a hole (Figs. 4 and 6, ref. 6 and 11, respectively, col. 6, lines 39-49), a casing provided in a lower portion of the plate (Figs. 2 and 12, lower portion of ref. 6); and a depressurizing mechanism coupled to the casing and configured to depressurize an inside of the casing (para [0021], vacuum chuck), which is disclosed as advantageously providing for draining, including draining of fluid applied to provide back pressure to inhibit warping from contact pressure from cleaning a front side (col. 1, lines 51-56, col. 2, lines 9-15, col. 6, lines 39-49). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Liu apparatus in view of Itoh wherein it includes a plate having a horizontal plane provided with a hole, a casing provided in a lower portion of the plate, a depressurizing mechanism coupled to the casing and configured to depressurize an inside of the casing, wherein the hole penetrates the plate, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enhance support of a substrate (note Liu, para [0019], [0021]), and provide for draining, including draining of fluid applied to provide back pressure to inhibit warping from contact pressure from cleaning a front side. Further, since the Liu/Itoh apparatus includes the claimed structural features, and appears to be substantially identical to the claimed apparatus, the Liu/Itoh apparatus appears to be fully capable of being operated in the manner recited (note, e.g., Liu discloses that the cleaning member, and thus the lower surface of the cleaning member, is moveable (Fig. 1, arrows left and right of ref. 12), so as to be positioned partially over a hole). Thus, the Liu/Itoh casing appears to be capable of being used as a gas-liquid separating structure as does the casing of the present invention. Further, the recited substrate is not positively claimed, is not understood to be a required structural feature of the claimed apparatus, and could be held at held at any number of places, near or far from the claimed apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim (and the base claim, claim 1, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement), but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims (and properly amended to cure the written description rejection of the base claim).
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art references are: US 2012/0285484 to Liu et al. and US 5,465,447 to Itoh et al. The prior art references of record, taken alone or in combination, do not anticipate or suggest fairly the limitations of a sensor provided at a position in contact with the cleaning member and capable of detecting a contamination state of the cleaning member, in combination with the other structural elements as instantly recited. Upon further search no other prior art has been located at the date of this Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that a “fully capable” approach does not complete a prima facie case since, it is alleged, it replaces a required element-by-element with a hypothetical device (remarks, inter alia, page 6, first para), a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Further, it is not clear how an obviousness analysis can be done without the use of a hypothetical device (or method, composition, etc.)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC W GOLIGHTLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714