DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
The Office Action has been made issued in response to amendment filed November 11, 2025. Claims 2-10 and 22-32 are pending. Applicant’s arguments have been carefully and respectfully considered in light of the instant amendment, and are not persuasive. Accordingly, this action has been made FINAL.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC section § 103
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 2-10 and 22-32 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections – Double Patenting
Applicant has not filed a Terminal Disclaimer (TD) therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: one or more processing units in claims 1 and 30. See [p][0038] for e.g. can be implemented as GPUs or CPUs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 6-8, 10, 22-24, 27-28 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al (Pub No.: 20140294299) in view of Aflaki (Pub No.: US20180137610A1) in view of Zhu et al (Pub No.: US20170091586A1).
As to independent claim 2, Kim discloses a processor (system for out-focusing a color image based on a depth image – see [p][0003]), comprising: one or more processing units (330 – see Fig 3) to receive image information for a cluster of pixels (a predetermined region of interest has a bold outline – see [p][0050] and Fig 1), determine a first pixel depth corresponding to a first pixel (a depth of a calculation pixel a depth of a calculation pixel- see [p][0087]), determine a second pixel depth corresponding to a second pixel (depth of a neighboring pixel – see [p][0087]), determine a depth (blur level ) based at least in part on the first pixel depth and the second pixel depth (a difference between a depth value of a calculation pixel and a depth value of a neighboring pixel – see [p][0085]), and apply a sharpening filter to the cluster of pixels (the color value of the ROI may be reflected less on the second boundary, such that the second boundary may be sharper than the first boundary – see [p][0081]); however, Kim does not expressly disclose a threshold depth for the depth calculation and sharpening when the second pixel depth is less than the threshold depth.
Aflaki discloses a system for filtering a depth map including a threshold depth for the depth calculation (see [p][0115]) and sharpening when the second pixel depth is less than the threshold depth (reference to FIG. 6 each combination of an interval of tu<ƒ(T)≤tu+1 and an interval of dv<ƒ(D)≤dv+1 gives a set of filter parameters Cuv for filtering a block of the depth map image, where u denotes the row of the look up table and v denotes the column of the look up table. The texture function ƒ(T) may be representative of the texture property associated with a block of the depth map image, the texture property value being derived from a corresponding block from the at least one texture view as outlined above – see [p][0115-0116]).
Kim & Aflaki are combinable because they are directed to image enhancement. Before the effective filing date of the claims invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added the method for processing depth images of JUNG to the method for out-focusing a color image based on a depth image of Kim. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been for using the depth property value for the at least one block of the depth map image and the texture property value for the at least one block of the texture image to select a set of filter parameters from a look up table; and filtering the at least one block of the depth map image with a filter based on the selected set of filter parameters (see [p][0003]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Aflaki with KIM to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
Note the discussion above; the combination of Aflaki and KIM as a whole does not expressly disclose one or more properties of an image including the cluster of pixels.
Zhu discloses a method for separating objects including one or more properties of an image including the cluster of pixels (a second threshold determination unit configured to determine whether the Manhattan distance is less than a second predetermined threshold and an adjacent pixel clustering unit configured to perform clustering of the first pixel and the second pixel, when it is determined that the Euclidean distance is less than the first predetermined threshold – see [p][0072]).
Kim, Zhu & Aflaki are combinable because they are directed to image enhancement. Before the effective filing date of the claims invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added method for separating objects of Zhu to the method for out-focusing a color image based on a depth image of Kim as modified by Aflaki. The suggestion/motivation would be for separating objects that can accurately separate objects from an image, prevent over-segmentation and insufficient segmentation, and improve the accuracy of image processing (see [p][0004]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Aflaki as modified by KIM with Zhu to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
As to claim 3, Kim teaches the processor, wherein the one or more processing units are further to determine a second pixel color, determine a weight for the second pixel based at least in part on the first pixel depth and the second pixel depth (weight based on a difference between a depth of a calculation pixel and a depth of a neighboring pixel included in a window including the calculation pixel at a center position – see [p][0087]), and determine a modified second pixel color based at least in part on the weight and a first pixel color (a first weight to the color value of the region having the depth value less than the focal length. The second calculator 333 may calculate a color value of a second boundary formed between the ROI and the region having the depth value greater than the focal length, by applying the blur strength and a second weight to the color value of the ROI – see [p][0079]).
As to claim 4, Kim in combination teaches the processor, wherein the weight is proportional to a difference between the first pixel depth and the second pixel depth (the weight to be proportional to a difference between the depth value of the calculation pixel and the depth value of the neighboring pixel – see [p][0088]).
As to claim 6, Kim in combination teaches the processor, wherein the image information includes at least one of pixel depth, pixel location (see [p][0051]), or pixel color .
As to claim 7, Kim does not teach the processor, wherein the one or more processing units are further to receive a stream of image data that includes image information. Aflaki discloses a system for filtering a depth map including wherein the one or more processing units are further to receive a stream of image data that includes image information (video content - see [p][0038]). Therefore, combining Kim & Aflaki would meet the claim limitations for the same reasons as previously discussed in claim 2.
As to claim 8, Kim does not teach the processor wherein first pixel depth corresponds to a draw distance for the first pixel within a three-dimensional space (depth image refers to an image representing a distance between an object located in a three-dimensional (3D) space – see [p][0047]).
As to claim 10, Kim does not teach the processor, wherein the processor is comprised in at least one of: a system for performing simulation operations to test or validate autonomous machine applications; a system for rendering graphical output; a system for performing deep learning operations; a system implemented using an edge device; a system for generating or presenting virtual reality (VR) content; a system for generating or presenting augmented reality (AR) content; a system incorporating one or more Virtual Machines (VMs); a system implemented at least partially in a data center; a collaborative content creation platform for 3D assets; or a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources. Aflaki discloses a system for filtering a depth map including a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources (transfer coded media bitstream from the encoder 720 directly to the sender 740. The coded media bitstream may then be transferred to the sender 740, also referred to as the server, on a need basis – see [p][149]). Therefore, combining Kim & Aflaki would meet the claim limitations for the same reasons as previously discussed in claim 2.
Claims 22-24 and 27-28 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of the claims 2-4 and 6-8 as claims 2-4 and 6-8 are processor claims for the method claimed in claims 22-24 and 27-28.
Claims 30-31 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of the claims 2-3 as claims 2-3 are system claims for the processor claimed in claims 30-31.
Claims 5, 25 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al (Pub No.: 20140294299) in view of Aflaki (Pub No.: US20180137610A1) in view of Zhu et al (Pub No.: US20170091586A1) as applied to claims 2 and 30 further in view of So et al (Translation of KR 10-1852085)
As to claim 5, the combination of Kim, Zhu & Aflaki as a whole does not expressly disclose the processor, wherein the one or more processing units are further to determine a third pixel depth, and remove the third pixel from the cluster of pixels when the third pixel depth exceeds the threshold depth.
So discloses depth information acquisition apparatus including wherein the one or more processing units are further to determine a third pixel depth, and remove the third pixel from the cluster of pixels when the third pixel depth exceeds the threshold depth (see page 7, 8 full paragraph)..
Kim, Zhu, Do & Aflaki are combinable because they are directed to image enhancement. Before the effective filing date of the claims invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added the depth information acquisition of Do to the method for out-focusing a color image based on a depth image of Kim as modified by Aflaki and Zhu. The suggestion/motivation for removing distortion from the plurality of image information using the camera parameter maps each of the non-reference image information to a reference image coordinate system (see page 3 last para).
Claim 25 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of the claim 5, as claim 5 is processor claim for the method claimed in claim 25.
Claim 32 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of the claim 5, as claim 5 is processor claim for the system claimed in claim 32.
Claims 9 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al (Pub No.: 20140294299) in view of Aflaki (Pub No.: US20180137610A1) in view of Zhu et al (Pub No.: US20170091586A1) as applied to claims 2 and 30 further in view of Jerdev et al (Pub No.: 20070133893)
As to claim 9, Kim in combination of teaches the system, wherein the one or more processing units are further to determine a lateral distance between the first pixel and the second pixel (a pixel of which a color value is to be calculated may be defined as a calculation pixel. The processor 230 may set a window including a calculation pixel in a center – see [p][0062]) however, none of the cited references expressly disclose is the lateral distance is less than a lateral threshold distance.
Jerdev discloses a method for reducing noise the lateral distance is less than a lateral threshold distance (see [p][0007]).
Kim, Zhu, Jerdev & Aflaki are combinable because they are directed to image enhancement. Before the effective filing date of the claims invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added the method for reducing noise of Jerdev to the method for out-focusing a color image based on a depth image of Kim as modified by Zhu & Aflaki. The suggestion/motivation would be to reduce noise in the image (see [p][0001])..
Claim 29 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of the claim 5, as claim 9 is processor claim for the method claimed in claim 29.
Double Patenting
Claims 2-3, 6 and 9 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11823355 . The conflicting claims are not identical because Patent claim 1 recites threshold lateral not recited by instant claims. However, the conflicting claims are not patentably distinct from each other because:
· Claims 2-3,6, 9 and 1-2, 6 recite common subject matter;
· Whereby instant claim 2, which recites the open ended transitional phrase “comprising”, does not preclude the additional elements recited by claim 1, and
· Whereby the elements of instant claim 2-3,6 and 9 are fully anticipated by patent claim 1-2 and 6 and anticipation is “the ultimate or epitome of obviousness” (In re Kalm, 154 USPQ 10 (CCPA 1967), also In re Dailey, 178 USPQ 293 (CCPA 1973) and In re Pearson, 181 USPQ 641 (CCPA 1974)).
Instant claims
US Patent No.: 11823355
2) A processor, comprising:
1)A computer-implemented method, comprising:
one or more processing units to receive image information for a cluster of pixels, determine a first pixel depth corresponding to a first pixel,
determining a first pixel depth corresponding to a first pixel;
determine a second pixel depth corresponding to a second pixel, determine a threshold depth based at least in part on the first pixel depth and the second pixel depth,
determining a second pixel, the second pixel being within a threshold lateral distance of the first pixel and corresponding to a second pixel depth less than a threshold depth;
and apply a sharpening filter to the cluster of pixels when the second pixel depth is less than the threshold depth.
3) The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: determining an adjusted second pixel color, based at least in part on the second pixel color, the weight, and the first pixel color.
9) The processor of claim 2, wherein the one or more processing units are further to determine a lateral distance between the first pixel and the second pixel is less than a lateral threshold distance.
determining, based at least on the second pixel being within the threshold lateral distance of the first pixel and the second pixel depth being less than the threshold depth, a weight corresponding to the second pixel, the weight being based, at least in part, on a difference between the first pixel depth and the second pixel depth and one or more parameters of an image including the first pixel and the second pixel; and adjusting a first pixel color, based at least in part on the weight and a second pixel color.
2) The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: applying a sharpening filter to the first pixel and the second pixel.
7) The processor of claim 2, wherein the one or more processing units are further to receive a stream of image data that includes image information.
6) The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a stream of image data; and selecting, from the stream, an image frame.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/ANDRAE S ALLISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2673
November 29, 2025