Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, line 14, filed 13 May 2026, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1-24 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (Chinese Patent Publication No. CN 108504189 A), hereinafter Zhao; and Claim 25 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (Chinese Patent Publication No. CN 108504189 A), hereinafter Zhao, in view of Lin et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2012/0033024 A1), hereinafter Lin; have been fully considered and, in light of the claim amendments made, are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nagai et al. (World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) Publication No. WO 2016/063943 A1), hereinafter Nagai.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-2, 7, 9-14, 16-21, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (Chinese Patent Publication No. CN 108504189 A), hereinafter Zhao, in view of Nagai et al. (World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) Publication No. WO 2016/063943 A1), hereinafter Nagai.
5. Regarding Claims 1-2, 7, 9-14, 16-21, and 23-24, Zhao teaches (Page 9, Lines 24-36 of English translation) a (meth)acrylate component. Zhao teaches (Page 9, Lines 24-36 of English translation) the (meth)acrylate component comprises isobornyl (meth)acrylate and N,N-dimethylacrylamide. Zhao teaches (Page 8, Line 38 to Page 9, Line 23 of English translation) a (meth)acrylate-functionalized resin component. Zhao teaches (Page 8, Line 38 to Page 9, Line 23 of English translation) the (meth)acrylate-functionalized resin component is cyclohexanol, 4,4-(1-methylethylidene)bis-, polymer with 1,3-disocyanatomethylbenzene and tetrahydrofuran, propylene glycol monomer. Zhao teaches (Page 9, Lines 37-58 of English translation) an initiator component comprising a combination of a photosensitizer and a co-initiator. Zhao teaches (Page 9, Lines 37-58 of English translation) the photosensitizer comprises a 2,4-diethylthioxanthone, isopropylthioxanthones, and combinations thereof. Zhao teaches (Page 9, Lines 37-58 of English translation) the initiator component excludes an amine synergist. Zhao teaches (Page 2, Lines 23-30 of English translation) wherein the (meth)acrylate component is present in the range of about 30 percent by weight to about 50 percent by weight based on the total weight of the composition. Zhao teaches (Page 8, Line 38 to Page 9, Line 23 of English translation) the (meth)acrylate-functionalized resin component resin has a number average molecular weight of from about 500 to about 100,000. Zhao teaches (Page 2, Lines 23-30 of English translation) the (meth)acrylate-functionalized resin component is present in an amount from about 15 percent by weight to about 30 percent by weight based on the total weight of the composition. Zhao teaches (Page 2, Lines 23-30 of English translation) the (meth)acrylate-functionalized resin component is present in an amount from about 25 percent by weight to about 30 percent by weight based on the total weight of the composition. Zhao teaches (Page 2, Lines 23-30 of English translation) the isobornyl (meth)acrylate of the (meth)acrylate component is present in an amount from about 30 percent by weight to about 50 percent by weight based on the total weight of the composition. Zhao teaches (Page 2, Lines 23-30 of English translation) the N,N-dimethylacrylamide is present in an amount from about 30 percent by weight based on the total weight of the composition. Zhao teaches (Page 2, Lines 23-30 of English translation) the initiator component is present in an amount of about 5 percent by weight based on the total weight of the composition. Zhao teaches (Page 2, Lines 23-30 of English translation) the photosensitizer of the initiator component is present in an amount of about 5 percent by weight based on the total weight of the composition. Zhao teaches (Page 2, Lines 23-30 of English translation) the co-initiator of the initiator component is present in an amount of about 3 percent by weight based on the total weight of the composition. Zhao teaches (Page 9, Lines 37-58 of English translation) the photosensitizer and the co-initiator of the initiator component are present in a by weight ratio of about 1:1. Zhao teaches (Page 7, Lines 1-56 of English translation) a colorant. Zhao teaches (Page 2, Lines 23-30 of English translation) the isobornyl (meth)acrylate of the (meth)acrylate component is present in an amount from about 30 to about 40 percent by weight based on the total weight of the composition. Zhao teaches (Page 2, Lines 23-30 of English translation) N,N-dimethylacrylamide in an amount of about 30 percent by weight based on the total weight of the composition. Zhao teaches (Page 2, Lines 23-30 of English translation) (meth)acrylate-functionalized resin in an amount of about 25 percent by weight based on the total weight of the composition. Zhao teaches (Page 9, Lines 37-58 of English translation) the initiator component comprises an isopropylthioxanthone as a photosensitizer. Zhao teaches (Page 22, Lines 14-56 of English translation) when exposed to a source of radiation at 405 nm at an intensity of 100 mW/cm2 for a period of time of at least about 2 seconds to cure the composition, the cured composition exhibits a depth of cure through a volume of the composition. Zhao teaches (Page 11, Lines 12-19 of English translation) applying a volume of the composition to at least a first substrate. Zhao teaches (Page 22, Lines 14-56 of English translation) exposing the composition to a source of radiation at 405 nm at an intensity of 100 mW/cm2 to cure the composition through a volume of the composition.
6. However, Zhao fails to explicitly teach the co-initiator comprises one or more of benzoyl peroxide and dicumyl peroxide.
7. Zhao teaches (Abstract) an ultraviolet inkjet ink comprising both a photosensitizer and a co-initiator. Nagai teaches (Paragraphs [0010-0011, 0074-0077, and 0126-0128]) an ultraviolet piezoelectric ink comprising both a photosensitizer and a co-initiator, therein a polymerization initiator. Nagai teaches (Paragraphs [0074-0077]) the co-initiator comprises benzoyl peroxide. Nagai teaches (Paragraphs [0074-0077]) the co-initiator allows for the photocuring of the polymer
8. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhao to incorporate the teachings of Nagai wherein the co-initiator comprises benzoyl peroxide. Doing so would allow for the photocuring of the polymer, as recognized by Nagai.
9. Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (Chinese Patent Publication No. CN 108504189 A), hereinafter Zhao; in view of Nagai et al. (World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) Publication No. WO 2016/063943 A1), hereinafter Nagai; and further in view of Lin et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2012/0033024 A1), hereinafter Lin.
10. Regarding Claim 25, Zhao in view of Nagai teaches all limitations of Claim 24 above. However, Zhao fails to explicitly teach bonding the first substrate to a second substrate, wherein the first substrate and the second substrate are each parts of medical devices.
11. Lin teaches (Claims 11-12, Paragraph [0071-0079]) bonding the first substrate to a second substrate, wherein the first substrate and the second substrate are each parts of medical devices, therein microfluidic devices for biomedical research. Lin teaches (Paragraph [0071-0079]) wherein said devices can be used to bind and isolate proteins, DNA or other biological material.
12. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhao in view of Nagai to incorporate the teachings of Lin wherein there would be bonding the first substrate to a second substrate, wherein the first substrate and the second substrate are each parts of medical devices. Doing so would result in devices that can be used to bind and isolate proteins, DNA or other biological material, as recognized by Lin.
Conclusion
13. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/R.D.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1737