Currently, claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 8-9 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 8 and 20, the recitation “the plurality of top pads are disposed…” needs to be changed to “the plurality of top pads is disposed…”.
In claim 9, line 9, a comma is missing at the end of the limitation.
Appropriate correction is required.
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0242896 A1, herein Kim).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Kim discloses an electronic package (or a system) comprising: a first card comprising: a die 120a; an over mold 1152/1141/160/180/161/181 surrounding the die (Kim: Figs. 4D, 8A-8B and paragraphs [0113]-[0114], [0182]; “The insulating layer disclosed herein may be implemented by a prepreg, FR4, a thermosetting resin such as epoxy resin, a thermoplastic resin, or a resin formed by impregnating these resins in a core material such as a glass fiber, a glass cloth, a glass fabric, or the like, together with an inorganic filler, Ajinomoto Build-up Film (ABF) resin, bismaleimide triazine (BT) resin, a photoimageable dielectric (PID) resin, a copper clad laminate (CCL), a ceramic-based insulating material, or the like.”); a plurality of top pads 1182 disposed on a top surface of the over mold, in electronic communication with the die (Kim: Figs. 4D, 8A-8B and paragraphs [0109]-[0111]); and a plurality of bottom pads in electronic communication with the die (Kim: Figs. 4D, 8A-8B and paragraphs [0115]-[0116], Kim inherently shows bottom pads that are connected to the vias 1193 and wiring layers 1192.).
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 14, Kim discloses the electronic package of Claim 1, further comprising an interposer 601/600a/190, wherein the die and over mold are disposed on a top surface of the interposer and the plurality of bottom pads are in electronic communication with the interposer (Kim: Figs. 7A-8B and paragraphs [0068]-[0071], [0161]).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Kim discloses the electronic package of Claim 1, further comprising a second card 110 comprising a plurality of bottom pads disposed on a bottom surface, wherein the second card is disposed above the first card such that the top pads of the first card are in electronic communication with the bottom pads of the second card (Kim: Figs. 8A-8B and paragraphs [0043]-[0045]).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Kim discloses the electronic package of Claim 3, wherein the first card comprises a plurality of beamforming integrated circuits and the second card comprises a plurality of radiating elements (Kim: Figs. 8A-8B and paragraphs [0043]-[0049]; Beamforming ICs are smart RF chips that steer signals electronically using multiple antennas, improving performance in modern wireless communication.).
Regarding claims 5, 11 and 17, Kim discloses the electronic package of Claim 4, further comprising a plurality of amplifiers electronically interposed between the first card and the second card (Kim: Figs. 8A-8B and paragraphs [0048]-[0049]).
Regarding claims 6, 12 and 18, Kim discloses the electronic package of Claim 3, wherein the first card and the second card comprise dielectric materials with different coefficients of thermal expansion (Kim: Figs. 8A-8B and paragraphs [0009], [0012], [0015], [0142]-[0145]; The key difference comes down to CTE- how much a material expands when temperature rises. In electronics packaging, mismatch between materials can create stress, warpage, and reliability issues. The CTE of resins are relatively high, about 30-80 ppm/ºC. The copper CTE is about 10-40 ppm/ºC. The CTE of ceramic-based insulating materials is low.).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Kim discloses the electronic package of Claim 1, wherein the plurality of top pads is disposed directly on the die without intervening vias (Kim: Figs. 4D, 8A-8B and paragraphs [0109]-[0111]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses an antenna (Kim: paragraphs [0008]-[0012]) comprising: a first card comprising: a die 120a; an over mold 1152/1141/160/180/161/181 surrounding the die (Kim: Figs. 4D, 8A-8B and paragraphs [0113]-[0114], [0182]); a plurality of top pads 1182 disposed on a top surface of the over mold, in electronic communication with the die (Kim: Figs. 4D, 8A-8B and paragraphs [0109]-[0111]); and a plurality of bottom pads in electronic communication with the die (Kim: Figs. 4D, 8A-8B and paragraphs [0115]-[0116], Kim inherently shows bottom pads that are connected to the vias 1193 and wiring layers 1192.); and a second card 110 comprising: a plurality of radiating elements, a plurality of bottom pads disposed on a bottom surface, wherein the second card is disposed above the first card such that the top pads of the first card are in electronic communication with the bottom pads of the second card (Kim: Figs. 8A-8B and paragraphs [0043]-[0045]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Seler et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0225719 A1, herein Seler).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Kim does not specifically say the connection is done though elastomer pins.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Seler teaches an electronic package, wherein the first card 12 and the second card 2 are connected via conductive elastomer pins 10 (Kim: Figs. 1-3 and paragraphs [0036], [0071]), as it is flexible, non-scratching, easy to replace, and suitable for high frequency application.
Therefore, given the teachings of Seler, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying Kim in view of Seler by employing the elastomer pins.
Conclusion
March 28, 2026
/MALIHEH MALEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813