DETAILED ACTION
Status of the application
This office Action is in response to Applicant's Application filled on 07/15/2026. Claims 1-20 are pending for this examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed on 01/07/2024.
Oath/Declaration
The oath or declaration filed on 11/20/2023 is acceptable.
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election of species II (Fig 3): claims 1-3, 5 and 13 in the reply filed on 07/15/2026 are acknowledged. Because applicants did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)). The election is without traverse because the response is incomplete.
This office action considers claims 1-20 pending for prosecution, wherein claims 4, 6-12 and 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration, and 1-3, 5 and 13 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu et al (US 2011/0193221 A1; hereafter Hu).
[AltContent: textbox (metal lines 14)][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated Figure 1H (Hu):
Regarding claim 1. Hu discloses a substrate (Fig 1H, substrate 10, Para [0016]), comprising:
a first layer (interconnect structure 32, Para [0021]) including a first power line (left UBMs 36, Para [0021], construed as first power line. It is evidence by Huang et al us 2022/0310472, Para [ 0091] discloses “ UBMs 148 and the external connectors 148 may also be referred to as backside input/output pads that may provide signal, supply voltage, and/or ground connections”) extending in a first direction ( vertical direction) and a second power line (right UBMs 36, construed as second power line Para [0021]) extending in the first direction ( vertical direction);
a second layer (interconnect structure 12, Para [0022]) disposed under the first layer (interconnect structure 32, Para [0021]), wherein the second layer (interconnect structure 12, Para [0022]) includes a third power line (metal lines 14, construed as third power line Para [ 0017], also shown in figure 1A) extending in a second direction (metal lines 14, Para [ 0017], horizontal direction) different from the first direction ( vertical direction), and a fourth power (another metal lines 14, construed as fourth power line Para [ 0017]) line extending in the second direction (horizontal direction);
a first via (left TSV 20, Para [0017]) electrically connecting the first power line (left UBMs 36, Para [0021]) and the third power line to each other (metal lines 14, Para [0017]); and
a second via (right TSV 20, Para [ 0017]) electrically connecting the second power line (right UBMs 36, Para [0021]) and the fourth power line to each other (another metal lines 14, Para [ 0017]), wherein a first voltage is transferred via the third power line (metal lines 14, Para [0017,0037]), the first via (left TSV 20, Para [0017,0037]), and the first power line (left UBMs 36, Para [0021]), wherein a second voltage is transferred via the fourth power line (another metal lines 14, Para [ 0017, 0037]), the second via (right TSV 20, Para [ 0017,0037]), and the second power line (right UBMs 36, Para [0021]).
Regarding claim 2. Hu discloses the substrate of claim 1, Hu further discloses further comprising:
a first bump ( left bump 38B, Para [ 0023]) disposed on an upper surface of the first layer (interconnect structure 32, Para [0021]) and electrically connected to the first power line (left UBMs 36, Para [0021]); and a second bump ( right bump 38B, Para [ 0023]) disposed on the upper surface of the first layer (interconnect structure 32, Para [0021]) and electrically connected ( Para [ 0017,0037]) to the second power line (right UBMs 36, Para [0021]).
Regarding claim 3. Hu discloses the substrate of claim 1, Hu further discloses the further comprising: a first plane disposed under the second layer (interconnect structure 12, Para [0022]), wherein a first ball (bumps (or bond pads) 24, Para [ 0018]) is disposed on a lower surface of the first plane and is electrically connected to the third power line (metal lines 14, Para [ 0017]) via a third via ( vias 16, Para [ 0017]).
Regarding claim 5. Hu discloses the substrate of claim 1, Hu further discloses wherein the first layer further includes a first ground line (middle UBMS 36) extending in the first direction and disposed between the first power line (left UBMs 36, Para [0021]) and the second power line (right UBMs 36, Para [0021]).
Regarding claim 13. Hu discloses the substrate of claim 1, Hu further discloses wherein the first direction and the second direction are orthogonal to each other (Fig 1H, vertical/horizontal direction).
Conclusion
/MOIN M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898