DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-7 and 15) in the reply filed on 2/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaPorte et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2014/0264075 in view of Schleicher U.S. PGPUB No. 2021/0387507 in further view of Groves U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0072184.
Regarding claim 1, LaPorte discloses a mobile bidirectional sterilization device (“A personal electronic device (PED) sanitization device” [LaPorta: Abstract]), comprising: a power charger 303 configured to supply power to a mobile device (“The charging module 303 may be configured to charge, provide a data connection, and/or provide an audio connection to the PED 318” [LaPorta: 0056]); a cover 313 configured to open the power charger (“The apparatus 300 may be closed by use of a hinge member 316 coupling the upper region 313 to the lower region 312” [LaPorta: 0058]); a first sterilization light generator 301A provided at the cover and configured to emit first light in a first direction toward a first surface of the mobile device (“one or more emitters 301A configured to emit EO radiation from an upper region 313 of the apparatus 300” [LaPorta: 0053]); a second sterilization light generator 301B provided at the power charger and configured to emit second light in a second direction toward a second surface of the mobile device (“one or more emitters 301B configured to emit EO radiation from a lower region 312 of the apparatus 300” [LaPorta: 0053]); and a light guide plate 309 extension connecting the first sterilization light generator 301A to the second sterilization light generator 301B (as illustrated in figure 3) and configured to emit third visible light in a third direction to a third surface of the mobile device (“interior 309 of the apparatus 300 may be configured such that EO radiation emitted by the emitter 301A irradiates the entire surface of the PED 318” [LaPorte: 0055]), wherein each of the first sterilization light generator 301A and the second sterilization light generator 301B includes (i) a light-emitting diode (LED) configured to generate light (“any suitable EO radiation source, including, but not limited to, a light emitting diode (LED)” [LaPorte: 0034]) and (ii) a light guiding plate 314/315 configured to guide emission of the light (“the inner surface 315 of the upper region 313 is configured to reflect EO radiation. Accordingly, EO radiation emitted from the emitters 301B may pass through the support member 308, reflect off the inner surface 315, and irradiate an upper portion of the PED 318. Similarly, the inner surface 314 of the lower region 312 may be configured to reflect EO radiation, such that EO radiation emitted by the emitters 301A passes through the PED support 308 reflects off the inner surface 314 and irradiates a lower portion of the PED 318” [LaPorte: 0055]). However, although LaPorte discloses “a connector for each of a plurality of PEDs that may be placed within an enclosure. The connector may be a physical connector that plugs into the PED 101, such as a Universal Serial Bus (USB) connector, mini-USB connector, micro-USB connector, 30-pin connector, proprietary connector, or the like” [LaPorte: 0041] wherein “The charging module 122 may be configured to charge or recharge the PED 101” [LaPorte: 0041], there is no explicit disclosure that the power is supplied by using vehicle power.
Schleicher discloses a power charger configured to supply power to a mobile device by utilizing vehicle power via a USB-type connection (“Mobile devices may be charged in automotive vehicles via a USB cable or other cable that connects to the charging port of the mobile device, with the cable typically being plugged into a USB port of the vehicle, or plugged into a USB adapter that is plugged into a corresponding power port provided in the vehicle” [Schleicher: 0004]). It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the USB-connected charging port of LaPorte with the automotive power supply of Schleicher in order to utilize an available power source for providing the power to the charging port so as to properly charge a mobile device; particularly when such charging may be more convenient to a user needing to charge a mobile device while operating an automotive vehicle. LaPorte and Schleicher disclose the claimed invention except that while LaPorte discloses that the emitted EO radiation (which is the first light, the second light, and the third light, as described above, with respect to LaPorte) “refers to any suitable wavelength and/or type of EO radiation capable of sanitizing a surface” [LaPorte: 0020], there is no explicit disclosure that such radiation is visible light.
Groves discloses “sanitizing devices that emit, or project, light to disinfect, sanitize, clean, or otherwise neutralize pathogens (coronavirus, influenza, E. bola, E. Coli etc.) in the air within and/or on surfaces and objects that may be resident within an environment or enclosed space” [Groves: 0030], wherein “The wavelengths of light emitted by the sanitizing devices may be selected so that they are effective at sanitization but do not harm, or adversely impact, human or animal tissue (e.g., eyes or skin)… light emitted by the sanitizing devices disclosed herein may be of 405 nm and/or within a range of 395-430 nm” [Groves: 0030] (light having a wavelength of 405 nm is considered visible light, as evidenced by at least claim 2 of the immediate application). It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LaPorte and Schleicher with the specific wavelength(s) of visible light disclosed in Groves in order to provide rely upon a type of light which has been known to be “suitable” for “sanitizing a surface” (as desired by [LaPorte: 0020]), and where Groves discloses a benefit of the particular wavelength of visible light such that the light may be “effective at sanitization but do not harm, or adversely impact, human or animal tissue” [Groves: 0030].
Regarding claim 2, LaPorte and Schleicher disclose the claimed invention except that while LaPorte discloses that the emitted EO radiation (which is the first light, the second light, and the third light, as described above, with respect to LaPorte) “refers to any suitable wavelength and/or type of EO radiation capable of sanitizing a surface” [LaPorte: 0020], there is no explicit disclosure that such radiation is visible light, wherein a wavelength of each of the first, second, and third visible lights is 405 nm.
Groves discloses “sanitizing devices that emit, or project, light to disinfect, sanitize, clean, or otherwise neutralize pathogens (coronavirus, influenza, E. bola, E. Coli etc.) in the air within and/or on surfaces and objects that may be resident within an environment or enclosed space” [Groves: 0030], wherein “The wavelengths of light emitted by the sanitizing devices may be selected so that they are effective at sanitization but do not harm, or adversely impact, human or animal tissue (e.g., eyes or skin)… light emitted by the sanitizing devices disclosed herein may be of 405 nm and/or within a range of 395-430 nm” [Groves: 0030].
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LaPorte and Schleicher with the specific wavelength(s) of visible light disclosed in Groves in order to provide rely upon a type of light which has been known to be “suitable” for “sanitizing a surface” (as desired by [LaPorte: 0020]), and where Groves discloses a benefit of the particular wavelength of visible light such that the light may be “effective at sanitization but do not harm, or adversely impact, human or animal tissue” [Groves: 0030].
Regarding claim 15, LaPorte discloses that the cover is a hinged cover that is attached via a hinge (“The apparatus 300 may be closed by use of a hinge member 316 coupling the upper region 313 to the lower region 312” [LaPorte: 0058]).
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaPorte et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2014/0264075 in view of Schleicher U.S. PGPUB No. 2021/0387507 in further view of Groves U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0072184 in further view of Yoo et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2020/0087031.
Regarding claim 3, LaPorte discloses and the light guiding plate 309 defines a traveling path of the light (“EO radiation emitted from the emitters 301B may pass through the support member 308, reflect off of the inner surface 315, and irradiate an upper portion of the PED 318. Similarly, the inner surface 314 of the lower region 312 may be configured to reflect EO radiation, such that EO radiation emitted by the emitters 301A passes through the PED support 308 reflects off of the inner surface 314 and irradiates a lower portion of the PED 318. As such, interior 309 of the apparatus 300 may be configured such that EO radiation emitted by the emitter 301A irradiates the entire surface of the PED 318, and EO radiation emitted by the emitter 301B irradiates the entire surface of the PED 318” [LaPorte: 0050]). LaPorte discloses the claimed invention except that while LaPorte discloses a light emitting diode (“a light emitting diode (LED)” [LaPorte: 0029]) and discloses “an integrated circuit” [LaPorte: 0038], there is no explicit disclosure of an LED mounted on a printed circuit board (PCB) substrate.
Yoo discloses an ultraviolet sterilization apparatus including an LED mounted on a printed circuit board (PCB) substrate (“The sterilizer 16 may be understood as an ultraviolet (UV) light (e.g., UV light emitting diode or LED) to generate ultraviolet light. The sterilizer 16 may include a plurality of light emitting devices to generate ultraviolet light and a printed circuit board (PCB) connected to the light emitting devices to form an electric circuit” [Yoo: 0047]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LaPorte, Schleicher, and Groves with the light emitting diodes mounted on a printed circuit board, as suggested by Yoo, in order to provide a power mechanism for controlling energizing of ultraviolet light sources, thereby providing a control scheme for selectively irradiating an object with ultraviolet light.
Regarding claim 4, LaPorte discloses that the light guiding plate includes a light guiding film (surface) configured to diffuse the visible light (“The apparatus 400 may comprise an interior compartment 409 comprised of an upper portion 413 having an upper inner surface 415 and a lower portion 412 having a lower inner surface 414. In some embodiments, the upper inner surface 415 and/or lower inner surface 414 may be configured to reflect and/or diffuse incident EO radiation” [LaPorte: 0055]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaPorte et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2014/0264075 in view of Schleicher U.S. PGPUB No. 2021/0387507 in further view of Groves U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0072184 in further view of Parker et al. U.S. PGPUB No. 2022/0096693.
Regarding claim 7, LaPorte discloses the claimed invention except that while LaPorte discloses that “the interior surface of the enclosure may be configured to reflect EO radiation” [LaPorte: 0024], and figure 1 appears to illustrate a curved interior, there is no explicit disclosure that the light guiding plates of the first and second sterilization light generators define the light guide plate extension as a curved surface connection section.
Parker discloses an ultraviolet sterilization apparatus (“The inactivation of microorganism by ultraviolet (UV) electromagnetic radiation” [Parker: 0002]) wherein: “concave curved reflectors 434, 436 can be focusing optics that focus the UV electromagnetic radiation” [Parker: 0060].
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified LaPorte, Schleicher, and Groves, with the curved reflectors of Parker in order to provide optimal focusing of radiation so as to provide the greatest sterilization efficiency of radiation at a surface to be sterilized.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5; LaPorte discloses a mobile bidirectional sterilization device (“A personal electronic device (PED) sanitization device” [LaPorta: Abstract]), comprising: a power charger 303 configured to supply power to a mobile device (“The charging module 303 may be configured to charge, provide a data connection, and/or provide an audio connection to the PED 318” [LaPorta: 0056]); a cover 313 configured to open the power charger (“The apparatus 300 may be closed by use of a hinge member 316 coupling the upper region 313 to the lower region 312” [LaPorta: 0058]); a first sterilization light generator 301A provided at the cover and configured to emit first light in a first direction toward a first surface of the mobile device (“one or more emitters 301A configured to emit EO radiation from an upper region 313 of the apparatus 300” [LaPorta: 0053]); a second sterilization light generator 301B provided at the power charger and configured to emit second light in a second direction toward a second surface of the mobile device (“one or more emitters 301B configured to emit EO radiation from a lower region 312 of the apparatus 300” [LaPorta: 0053]); and a light guide plate 309 extension connecting the first sterilization light generator 301A to the second sterilization light generator 301B (as illustrated in figure 3) and configured to emit third visible light in a third direction to a third surface of the mobile device (“interior 309 of the apparatus 300 may be configured such that EO radiation emitted by the emitter 301A irradiates the entire surface of the PED 318” [LaPorte: 0055]), wherein each of the first sterilization light generator 301A and the second sterilization light generator 301B includes (i) a light-emitting diode (LED) configured to generate light (“any suitable EO radiation source, including, but not limited to, a light emitting diode (LED)” [LaPorte: 0034]) and (ii) a light guiding plate 314/315 configured to guide emission of the light (“the inner surface 315 of the upper region 313 is configured to reflect EO radiation. Accordingly, EO radiation emitted from the emitters 301B may pass through the support member 308, reflect off the inner surface 315, and irradiate an upper portion of the PED 318. Similarly, the inner surface 314 of the lower region 312 may be configured to reflect EO radiation, such that EO radiation emitted by the emitters 301A passes through the PED support 308 reflects off the inner surface 314 and irradiates a lower portion of the PED 318” [LaPorte: 0055]). However, although LaPorte discloses that the light guiding plate includes a light guiding film (surface) configured to diffuse the visible light (“The apparatus 400 may comprise an interior compartment 409 comprised of an upper portion 413 having an upper inner surface 415 and a lower portion 412 having a lower inner surface 414. In some embodiments, the upper inner surface 415 and/or lower inner surface 414 may be configured to reflect and/or diffuse incident EO radiation” [LaPorte: 0055]), there is no explicit disclosure that the light guiding plate is configured to diffuse the visible light using a light emitting surface coated with optical ink.
The prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest, in combination with the other claim limitations, a mobile bidirectional sterilization device, comprising: a light guide plate extension connecting a first sterilization light generator to a second sterilization light generator and configured to emit third visible light in a third direction to a third surface of a mobile device, wherein the light guiding plate is configured to diffuse the visible light using a light emitting surface coated with optical ink.
Conclusion
/JASON L MCCORMACK/ Examiner, Art Unit 2881