DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the filing of the Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment on 05/29/2026. Currently, claims 1, 3-14 and 16-20 are pending in the application. Claims 2 and 15 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-14, 16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over SONG et al (US 20210265458 A1) in view of Matsuura (US 20140134754 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Figure 6 of SONG discloses a capacitor comprising:
a first electrode (100, [0081]) comprising a conductive layer;
a second electrode (400, [0081]) spaced apart from the first electrode;
a dielectric layer (200, [0081]) electrically separating the first electrode and the second electrode; and an interfacial layer (500, [0085]) between the first electrode and the dielectric layer, wherein the conductive layer comprises a material including a first element, a second element, and a third element (MM’N, [0083]), the first element comprises Ti or Al, the second element comprises at least one of Ti, Al, Hf, Zr, Ta, Cr, Y, Sc, Si, Nb, Mo, V, W, Mn, Ni, or Co, the third element comprises N, and the first element and the second element are different from each other.
SONG does not explicitly teach that the conductive layer has a rock salt crystal structure wherein the conductive layer includes Al, and a composition ratio of the Al is 63 at % or less.
However, SONG teaches that the bottom electrode includes a metal nitride represented by MM′N, wherein a composition ratio of M to M′ to N in the metal nitride, MM′N, is x:y:z (e.g., the metal nitride may be M.sub.xM.sub.′yN.sub.z), 0<x≤2, 0<y≤2, and 0<z≤4 may be satisfied ([0083]-[0085]). Further, Matsuura which is a pertinent art which teaches a capacitor, wherein Figure 11 of Matsuura teaches a capacitor bottom electrode (73) electrode comprising TiAlN having a rock salt crystal structure ([0160]-[0162]) in order to improve the crystallinity of the dielectric layer formed on the electrode ([0164]-[0165]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the conductive layer (100, Figure 6 of SONG) that includes Al with a composition ratio of the Al is 63 at % or less according to the teaching of SONG in view of Matsuura since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material such as TiAlN as an electrode of conductive material for an improved device with low cost and on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice, In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), and further having the conductive layer of a rock salt crystal structure in the device of SONG according to the teaching of Matsuura in order to improve the crystallinity of the dielectric layer formed on the electrode ([0164]-[0165], Matsuura). Also, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range (such as composition ratio of the Al in TiAlN) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 14, Figure 6 of SONG discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
a transistor ([0105]-[0106], source/drain and gate comprising the transistor) comprising a substrate (1100, [0104]) comprising a source region (1210, [0105]), a drain region (1220), and a channel region (under 1320 in 1100) between the source region and the drain region and a gate stack (1300, [0106]) over the channel region; and
a capacitor (2, [0114]) electrically connected to the transistor, wherein the capacitor comprises a first electrode (100, [0082]) comprising a conductive layer, a second electrode (400, [0082]) spaced apart from the first electrode, a dielectric layer (200, [0081]) electrically separating the first electrode and the second electrode, and
an interfacial layer (500, [0102]) between the first electrode and the dielectric layer, the conductive layer comprises a material including a first element, a second element, and a third element, the first element comprises Ti or Al, the second element comprises at least one of Ti, Al, Hf, Zr, Ta, Cr, Y, Sc, Si, Nb, Mo, V, W, Mn, Ni, or Co, the third element comprises N, and the first element and the second element are different from each other ([0083]-[0085]).
SONG does not explicitly teach that the conductive layer has a rock salt crystal structure wherein the conductive layer includes Al, and a composition ratio of the Al is 63 at % or less.
However, SONG teaches that the bottom electrode includes a metal nitride represented by MM′N, wherein a composition ratio of M to M′ to N in the metal nitride, MM′N, is x:y:z (e.g., the metal nitride may be M.sub.xM.sub.′yN.sub.z), 0<x≤2, 0<y≤2, and 0<z≤4 may be satisfied ([0083]-[0085]). Further, Matsuura which is a pertinent art which teaches a capacitor, wherein Figure 11 of Matsuura teaches a capacitor bottom electrode (73) electrode comprising TiAlN having a rock salt crystal structure ([0160]-[0162]) in order to improve the crystallinity of the dielectric layer formed on the electrode ([0164]-[0165]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the conductive layer (100, Figure 6 of SONG) that includes Al with a composition ratio of the Al is 63 at % or less according to the teaching of SONG in view of Matsuura since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material such as TiAlN as an electrode of conductive material for an improved device with low cost and on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice, In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), and further having the conductive layer of a rock salt crystal structure in the device of SONG according to the teaching of Matsuura in order to improve the crystallinity of the dielectric layer formed on the electrode ([0164]-[0165], Matsuura). Also, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range (such as composition ratio of the Al in TiAlN) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Figure 6 of SONG discloses that the capacitor of claim 1 (or claim 14), wherein the interfacial layer (500) includes an oxide of the material included in the conductive layer ([0102]).
Regarding claims 6-8, Figure 6 of SONG does not explicitly teach that the capacitor of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the conductive layer is within a range of about 10 Å to about 100 Å. Or
The capacitor of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the interfacial layer is within a range of 5 Å to about 20 Å. Or
The capacitor of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the dielectric layer is within a range of 10 Å to about 100 Å.
However, SONG teaches that the thickness is determined by the desired capacitance ([0022] and [0087]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use the above claimed ranges in order to form a capacitor having improved properties of leakage current and capacitance ([0158] of SONG) with low cost since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Figure 6 of SONG in view of Matsuura taches that the capacitor of claim 1 ( or claim 14), wherein the conductive layer is a first conductive layer, and the first electrode further includes a second conductive layer including TiN (TiN/TiAlN, [0160]-[0165] of Matsuura, for improved crystal orientation).
Regarding claim 10, Figure 6 of SONG in view of Matsuura do not explicitly teach that the capacitor of claim 9, wherein a thickness of the second conductive layer is within a range of about 30 to about 500.
However, SONG teaches that the thickness is determined by the desired capacitance ([0022] and [0087]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to use the above claimed ranges in order to form a capacitor having improved properties of leakage current and capacitance ([0158] of SONG) with low cost since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 11 and 20, Figure 6 of SONG discloses that the capacitor of claim 1 (or claim 14), wherein the second electrode (400) includes a same material as the material included in the conductive layer ([0081]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 12, Figure 6 of SONG discloses that the capacitor of claim 1, further comprising: a second interfacial layer (300, [0081]) between the second electrode (400) and the dielectric layer (200).
Regarding claim 13, Figure 6 of SONG discloses that the capacitor of claim 12, wherein the second interfacial layer (300) includes an oxide of a material constituting the second electrode ([0088]).
Claims 4-5 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over SONG et al (US 20210265458 A1) in view of Matsuura (US 20140134754 A1) as applied to claim above, and further in view of NAWANO (US 20080225569 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Figure 6 of SONG in view of Matsuura do not teach that the capacitor of claim 1 (or claim 14), wherein the dielectric layer includes an oxide having a perovskite-type crystal structure.
However, NAWANO is a pertinent art which teaches a ferroelectric capacitor that includes a ferroelectric film, and a lower electrode and an upper electrode interposing the ferroelectric film, wherein the ferroelectric film includes a first ferroelectric layer of ferroelectric material having a perovskite type crystal structure for making nonvolatile memory devices capable of low voltage and high-speed operation, using spontaneous polarization of the ferroelectric material, and their memory cells can be each formed from one transistor and one capacitor (1T/1C). Accordingly, ferroelectric memory devices can achieve integration at the same level of that of DRAM, and are therefore expected as large-capacity nonvolatile memories ([0005]-[0007]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the dielectric layer includes an oxide having a perovskite-type crystal structure in the device of SONG in view of Matsuura according to the teaching of NAWANO in order for making nonvolatile memory devices capable of low voltage and high-speed operation, using spontaneous polarization of the ferroelectric material, and their memory cells can be each formed from one transistor and one capacitor (1T/1C). Accordingly, ferroelectric memory devices can achieve integration at the same level of that of DRAM, and are therefore expected as large-capacity nonvolatile memories ([0005]-[0007], NAWANO).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Figure 6 of SONG discloses that the capacitor of claim 4 (or claim 17), wherein the dielectric layer (200) includes at least one of Sr, Ba, Ti, Hf, Y or O ([0087]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s main argument regarding the rejections of claim 1 or claim 14 include: The proposed modification to SONG in view of Matsuura would imperishably change the principles of operation thereof because Song relies on the "doped A1203 film at 300" to protect against the reduction of the crystallinity in the dielectric film. Therefore, persons of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Song provides a mechanism for stabilizing the crystallinity of the dielectric film and further the rock salt crystal structure of Matsuura does not improve the crystallinity. Rather, Matsuura is dependent on the oxygen partial pressure dependent operation and the Ir film 74, which the combination does not include. Therefore, the combination relies on a combination which requires extra processing, without the asserted benefit to the crystallinity of the dielectric film of Song, and therefore does not satisfy the requirements for obviousness under 35 U.S.C. §103.
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees and points out that SONG already teaches that the bottom electrode includes a metal nitride represented by MM′N can include materials such as Ti, Al and nitride, wherein a composition ratio of M to M′ to N in the metal nitride, MM′N, is x:y:z (e.g., the metal nitride may be M.sub.xM.sub.′yN.sub.z), 0<x≤2, 0<y≤2, and 0<z≤4 may be satisfied ([0083]-[0085]). Further, Matsuura which is a pertinent art which teaches a capacitor, wherein Figure 11 of Matsuura teaches a capacitor bottom electrode (73) electrode comprising TiAlN having a rock salt crystal structure ([0160]-[0162]) in order to improve the crystallinity of the dielectric layer formed on the electrode ([0164]-[0165]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the conductive layer (100, Figure 6 of SONG) that includes Al with a composition ratio of the Al is 63 at % or less according to the teaching of SONG in view of Matsuura since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material such as TiAlN as an electrode of conductive material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice, In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), and further having the conductive layer of a rock salt crystal structure in the device of SONG according to the teaching of Matsuura in order to improve the crystallinity of the dielectric layer formed on the electrode ([0164]-[0165], Matsuura). Also, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material such as an electrode of conductive material such as TiAlN having rock salt crystal structure on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHAJA AHMAD/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813