DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-5, in the reply filed on 6/9/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cawthon et al (4973723).
Cawthon teaches silacycloalkanes.
Cawthon, col. 3, teaches the number of carbons incorporated in the silacycloalkane ring can vary from 3 to 8. The silacycloalkane can be, for example, silacyclobutane, silacyclopentane, silacyclohexane, silacycloheptane, and silacyclononane. The silicon atom of the silacycloalkane can be substituted with a hydrocarbon radical, R, of ten or less carbon atoms.
One or more carbon atoms of the silacycloalkane ring may be substituted with one or more radicals independently selected from the group consisting of trialkylsilyl, alkyl, alkenyl, aryl, and aralkyl., and radicals of formula Ro O-.
Cawthon, example 1, teaches the product was recovered from the vessel by vacuum distillation and trapping the resultant distillate in a cold trap maintained at minus 78° C.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains that the silicon atom of the silacycloalkane can be substituted with a tert-butyl group as the reference broadly teaches the silicon atom of the silacycloalkane can be substituted with a hydrocarbon radical, R of ten or less carbon atoms.
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains that the 3 position carbon atom of the silacycloalkane ring may be substituted with broadly any alkyl group such as a branched alkyl group such as a tert-butyl group.
Further, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains that after vacuum distillation this compound is substantially free of water.
Regarding claim 2, Cawthon, col. 3, teaches the halogen constituent can be chloride, fluoride, bromide, iodide atoms, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claims 3-5, Cawthon, col. 3, teaches the halogen constituent can be fluoride, bromide or iodide atoms.
Therefore, there was be minimal if any chloride ions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20150376211 teaches Si-containing films.
US5302734 teaches a 1,3-disilacyclobutane compound.
/STEFANIE J COHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1732 8/18/26