DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed 31 October 2025 has been entered.
Claim Objections
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: scissor type lifting mechanism is in the orig. spec., not a scissor lifting mechanism.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: electrical device and locking and unlocking mechanism (Claims 1-20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN 112830422 A) (“Chen”) in view of Ye et al. (CN 112194041 A) (“Ye”) and Renfro et al. (US 2022/0285781) (“Renfro”). Chen discloses:
Claim 1: a movable base (fig. 2, ref .12 and wheels ref .13);
a locking and unlocking mechanism, configured to lock the battery to the electrical device or unlock the battery from the electrical device (fig. 2, ref. 7, fig. 4: "The supporting member 7 is composed of a
supporting head 17, a supporting rod 16, and a supporting
base 15. Wherein, the supporting head 17 and the supporting
base 15 are both screwed to the supporting rod 16. Wherein,
the support head 1 7 can be designed in a disk shape for
plane support of the power battery or a stepped shaft for support of the power battery orifice as required. Among
them, the design height of the support rod 16 should meet
the working space requirements of the disassembly operator.
Among them, the support base 15 is connected with the bolts
of the platform action surface 8 by a straight groove, so
as to ensure that when the orientation of the support
member 7 is adjusted, it can slide and rotate along the
bolts. And after the position adjustment is completed, the
support base 15 can be fastened to the platform working
surface 8 to support the power battery");
a scissor lifting mechanism, arranged between the movable base and the locking and unlocking mechanism, drives the locking and unlocking mechanism to move up and down (fig. 1, 2, ref. 11);
For Claims 10-12 and 16 below, see Chen (fig.2, ref.8, 9: "the above-mentioned
disassembly platform also includes a platform working
surface 8 for supporting the power battery, and a platform
placed on the above-mentioned platform support device The
middle working surface 9, and the horizontal angle
adjusting hydraulic cylinder 4, the central hydraulic
cylinder 6, and the front and rear angle adjusting
hydraulic cylinder 14 placed on the above middle working
surface 9 ");
Claim 10: wherein the battery swapping apparatus further comprises:
a lifting platform, the scissor lifting mechanism being arranged between the movable base and the lifting platform, and the scissor lifting mechanism being configured to drive the lifting platform to move up and down; and
a floating platform floatingly connected to the lifting platform and located above the lifting
platform, the locking and unlocking mechanism being arranged on the floating platform;
Claim 11: wherein the lifting platform and the floating platform are floatingly connected by at least one floating chain;
Claim 12: wherein the battery swapping apparatus further comprises a locking assembly, and the locking assembly is configured to lock the floating platform to the lifting platform or release the floating platform from the lifting platform;
Claim 16: a floating platform, the scissor lifting mechanism being arranged between the movable base and the floating platform.
Chen does not directly show:
Claim 1: at least one support to support the battery, the at least one support including at least one detector to detect that the battery is in contact with the at least one support,
wherein the scissor lifting mechanism comprises a scissor arms, a driver, a roller, and a slope, the roller is mounted on the scissor arms and forms a slope fit with the slope, and the driver drives the slope to move, so as to drive the scissor arms to perform a scissor movement through the roller;
Claim 2: wherein: a moving direction of the slope is perpendicular to a lifting direction of the locking and unlocking mechanism;
Claim 3: wherein the scissor arms comprise a first scissor arm and a second scissor arm hinged to each other with a hinge joint, the scissor lifting mechanism further comprises a mounting shaft, the mounting shaft is connected to a hinge joint between the first scissor arm and the second scissor arm and extends along the hinge axis of the first scissor arm and the second scissor arm, and the roller is mounted on the mounting shaft;
Claim 4: wherein the scissor lifting mechanism comprises two pairs of scissor arms, the two pairs of scissor arms are arranged opposite to each other,
the mounting shaft is arranged between the two pairs of scissor arms, and two ends of the mounting shaft are respectively connected to the two pairs of scissor arms;
Claim 5: wherein two rollers are provided, and the two rollers are arranged at two ends of the mounting shaft in an axial direction of the mounting shaft at an interval;
Claim 6: wherein two rollers are provided, the two slopes are arranged corresponding to the two rollers, the scissor lifting mechanism further comprises a connecting element, and the connecting element is configured to connect the two slopes;
Claim 7: wherein the slope fits with the roller;
Claim 8: wherein the scissor lifting mechanism further comprises a guide rail, the guide rail is arranged on the movable base, the slope is slidably arranged on the guide rail, and the driver drives the slope to move along the guide rail;
Claim 9: wherein the scissor lifting mechanism further comprises a lead screw and a nut, the nut sleeves the lead screw and is in threaded fit with the lead screw, the driver drives the lead screw to rotate, and the slope is fixed to the nut;
Claim 16: the at least one support and the at least one detector are arranged on the floating platform.
Renfro shows a similar device having:
Claim 1: at least one support to support the battery, the at least one support including at least one detector to detect that the battery is in contact with the at least one support (suggested in para. [0052]/[0059]/[0062]; “at least one sensor” includes three sensors; “(e.g., configured to detect distance, acceleration, velocity, speed, location, user presence, battery presence, or some combination thereof) in electrical communication at least with the processor”);
Claim 16: the at least one support and the at least one detector are arranged on the floating platform (suggested in para. [0052]/[0059]/[0062]; “at least one sensor” includes three sensors; “(e.g., configured to detect distance, acceleration, velocity, speed, location, user presence, battery presence, or some combination thereof) in electrical communication at least with the processor”);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of ensuring that the battery is appropriately coupled to the support (para. [0048]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen as taught by Renfro and include Renfro’s similar device having:
Claim 1: at least one support to support the battery, the at least one support including at least one detector to detect that the battery is in contact with the at least one support;
Claim 16: the at least one support and the at least one detector are arranged on the floating platform;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of ensuring that the battery is appropriately coupled to the support.
It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, the prior art reference is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned since it is concerned with battery transfer.
Ye shows a similar device having:
Claim 1: wherein the scissor lifting mechanism comprises a scissor arms, a driver, a roller, and a slope, the roller is mounted on the scissor arms and forms a slope fit with the slope, and the driver drives the slope to move, so as to drive the scissor arms to perform a scissor movement through the roller (as illustrated and self-understandable from fig. 6, 7 and 9: "When the motor 41 drives the screw 42 to rotate to open the scissors 2, the pull plate 62 moves along a linear path at a first speed. The scissors 2 are slowly opened by the driven wheel 5 rolling on the slope 61 of the guide part 6, and the second connecting plate 28 moves along a linear path at a second speed that is less than the first speed. When the driven wheel 5 climbs to the point of disengagement from the slope 61 of the guide part 6, the boss 711 just abuts the pull plate 62);
(It is noted in the current application, orig. para. [00103], “In other embodiments, the surface of the slope 34 for fitting with the roller 33 may also be a curved surface.”)
(For Claims 2-9 below, see figures 6-9 of Ye.)
Claim 2: wherein: a moving direction of the slope is perpendicular to a lifting direction of the locking and unlocking mechanism;
Claim 3: wherein the scissor arms comprise a first scissor arm and a second scissor arm hinged to each other with a hinge joint, the scissor lifting mechanism further comprises a mounting shaft, the mounting shaft is connected to a hinge joint between the first scissor arm and the second scissor arm and extends along the hinge axis of the first scissor arm and the second scissor arm, and the roller is mounted on the mounting shaft;
Claim 4: wherein the scissor lifting mechanism comprises two pairs of scissor arms, the two pairs of scissor arms are arranged opposite to each other,
the mounting shaft is arranged between the two pairs of scissor arms, and two ends of the mounting shaft are respectively connected to the two pairs of scissor arms;
Claim 5: wherein two rollers are provided, and the two rollers are arranged at two ends of the mounting shaft in an axial direction of the mounting shaft at an interval;
Claim 6: wherein two rollers are provided, the two slopes are arranged corresponding to the two rollers, the scissor lifting mechanism further comprises a connecting element, and the connecting element is configured to connect the two slopes;
Claim 7: wherein the slope fits with the roller;
Claim 8: wherein the scissor lifting mechanism further comprises a guide rail, the guide rail is arranged on the movable base, the slope is slidably arranged on the guide rail, and the driver drives the slope to move along the guide rail;
Claim 9: wherein the scissor lifting mechanism further comprises a lead screw and a nut, the nut sleeves the lead screw and is in threaded fit with the lead screw, the driver drives the lead screw to rotate, and the slope is fixed to the nut;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of reducing the pushing/pull force required when the scissors are opened from the folded state. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen as taught by Ye and include Ye’s similar device having:
Claim 1: wherein the scissor lifting mechanism comprises a scissor arms, a driver, a roller, and a slope, the roller is mounted on the scissor arms and forms a slope fit with the slope, and the driver drives the slope to move, so as to drive the scissor arms to perform a scissor movement through the roller;
Claim 2: wherein: a moving direction of the slope is perpendicular to a lifting direction of the locking and unlocking mechanism;
Claim 3: wherein the scissor arms comprise a first scissor arm and a second scissor arm hinged to each other with a hinge joint, the scissor lifting mechanism further comprises a mounting shaft, the mounting shaft is connected to a hinge joint between the first scissor arm and the second scissor arm and extends along the hinge axis of the first scissor arm and the second scissor arm, and the roller is mounted on the mounting shaft;
Claim 4: wherein the scissor lifting mechanism comprises two pairs of scissor arms, the two pairs of scissor arms are arranged opposite to each other,
the mounting shaft is arranged between the two pairs of scissor arms, and two ends of the mounting shaft are respectively connected to the two pairs of scissor arms;
Claim 5: wherein two rollers are provided, and the two rollers are arranged at two ends of the mounting shaft in an axial direction of the mounting shaft at an interval;
Claim 6: wherein two rollers are provided, the two slopes are arranged corresponding to the two rollers, the scissor lifting mechanism further comprises a connecting element, and the connecting element is configured to connect the two slopes;
Claim 7: wherein the slope fits with the roller;
Claim 8: wherein the scissor lifting mechanism further comprises a guide rail, the guide rail is arranged on the movable base, the slope is slidably arranged on the guide rail, and the driver drives the slope to move along the guide rail;
Claim 9: wherein the scissor lifting mechanism further comprises a lead screw and a nut, the nut sleeves the lead screw and is in threaded fit with the lead screw, the driver drives the lead screw to rotate, and the slope is fixed to the nut;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of reducing the pushing/pull force required when the scissors are opened from the folded state.
Claims 13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Ye, Renfro, and Agassi et al. (US 2010/0141206) (“Agassi”). Chen discloses:
Claim 13: a movable base (fig. 2, ref .12 and wheels ref .13);
a locking and unlocking mechanism, configured to lock the battery to the electrical device or unlock the battery from the electrical device (fig. 2, ref. 7, fig. 4: "The supporting member 7 is composed of a
supporting head 17, a supporting rod 16, and a supporting
base 15. Wherein, the supporting head 17 and the supporting
base 15 are both screwed to the supporting rod 16. Wherein,
the support head 1 7 can be designed in a disk shape for
plane support of the power battery or a stepped shaft for support of the power battery orifice as required. Among
them, the design height of the support rod 16 should meet
the working space requirements of the disassembly operator.
Among them, the support base 15 is connected with the bolts
of the platform action surface 8 by a straight groove, so
as to ensure that when the orientation of the support
member 7 is adjusted, it can slide and rotate along the
bolts. And after the position adjustment is completed, the
support base 15 can be fastened to the platform working
surface 8 to support the power battery");
a scissor lifting mechanism, arranged between the movable base and the locking and unlocking mechanism, drives the locking and unlocking mechanism to move up and down (fig. 1, 2, ref. 11);
For Claim 19 below, see Chen (fig.2, ref.8, 9: "the above-mentioned
disassembly platform also includes a platform working
surface 8 for supporting the power battery, and a platform
placed on the above-mentioned platform support device The
middle working surface 9, and the horizontal angle
adjusting hydraulic cylinder 4, the central hydraulic
cylinder 6, and the front and rear angle adjusting
hydraulic cylinder 14 placed on the above middle working
surface 9 ");
Claim 19: a floating platform, the scissor lifting mechanism being arranged between the movable base and the floating platform;
the at least one support and the at least one detector are arranged on the floating platform.
Chen does not directly show:
Claim 13: a track;
at least one support to support the battery, the at least one support including at least one detector to detect that the battery is in contact with the at least one support,
wherein the scissor lifting mechanism comprises a scissor arms, a driver, a roller, and a slope, the roller is mounted on the scissor arms and forms a slope fit with the slope, and the driver drives the slope to move, so as to drive the scissor arms to perform a scissor movement through the roller;
a battery swapping apparatus for swapping a battery of an electrical device, the battery swapping apparatus comprising:
a battery swapping platform, located at one end of the track;
a battery picking and placing apparatus, located at the other end of the track.
Renfro shows a similar device having:
Claim 13: at least one support to support the battery, the at least one support including at least one detector to detect that the battery is in contact with the at least one support (suggested in para. [0052]/[0059]/[0062]; “at least one sensor” includes three sensors; “(e.g., configured to detect distance, acceleration, velocity, speed, location, user presence, battery presence, or some combination thereof) in electrical communication at least with the processor”);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of ensuring that the battery is appropriately coupled to the support (para. [0048]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen as taught by Renfro and include Renfro’s similar device having:
Claim 13: at least one support to support the battery, the at least one support including at least one detector to detect that the battery is in contact with the at least one support;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of ensuring that the battery is appropriately coupled to the support.
It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, the prior art reference is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned since it is concerned with battery transfer.
Agassi shows a similar device having:
Claim 13: a track;
the battery swapping apparatus movably arranged on the track;
a battery swapping apparatus for swapping a battery of an electrical device, the battery swapping apparatus comprising:
a battery swapping platform, located at one end of the track; and
a battery picking and placing apparatus, located at the other end of the track (para. [0098]; Figures 13-14);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of servicing a variety of different electrical devices (para. [0098]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen and Ye as taught by Agassi and include Agassi’s similar device having:
Claim 13: a track;
the battery swapping apparatus movably arranged on the track;
a battery swapping apparatus for swapping a battery of an electrical device, the battery swapping apparatus comprising:
a battery swapping platform, located at one end of the track; and
a battery picking and placing apparatus, located at the other end of the track;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of servicing a variety of different electrical devices.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Ye and Renfro. Chen discloses:
Claim 20: moving the battery swapping apparatus into position under the electrical device using a movable base (fig. 2, ref .12 and wheels ref .13);
lifting a locking and unlocking mechanism by driving scissor arms to perform a scissor movement, wherein the movement is performed through the roller moving relative to the slope, and the lifting is performed with a horizontal thrust from the driver (fig. 1, 2, ref. 11);
(fig. 2, ref. 7, fig. 4: "The supporting member 7 is composed of a
supporting head 17, a supporting rod 16, and a supporting
base 15. Wherein, the supporting head 17 and the supporting
base 15 are both screwed to the supporting rod 16. Wherein,
the support head 1 7 can be designed in a disk shape for
plane support of the power battery or a stepped shaft for support of the power battery orifice as required. Among
them, the design height of the support rod 16 should meet
the working space requirements of the disassembly operator.
Among them, the support base 15 is connected with the bolts
of the platform action surface 8 by a straight groove, so
as to ensure that when the orientation of the support
member 7 is adjusted, it can slide and rotate along the
bolts. And after the position adjustment is completed, the
support base 15 can be fastened to the platform working
surface 8 to support the power battery");
supporting the battery using at least one support that is raised with the lifting and unlocking mechanism (fig. 1, 2, ref. 11);
unlocking the battery from the electrical device using the locking and unlocking mechanism (fig.2, ref.8, 9: "the above-mentioned disassembly platform also includes a platform working surface 8 for supporting the power battery, and a platform placed on the above-mentioned platform support device The middle working surface 9, and the horizontal angle adjusting hydraulic cylinder 4, the central hydraulic cylinder 6, and the front and rear angle adjusting hydraulic cylinder 14 placed on the above middle working surface 9 ").
Chen does not directly show:
Claim 20: driving a slope to move horizontally using a driver, the slope forming a slope fit with a roller;
detecting that the battery is in contact with the at least one support using at least one detector.
Renfro shows a similar device having:
Claim 20: detecting that the battery is in contact with the at least one support using at least one detector (suggested in para. [0052]/[0059]/[0062]; “at least one sensor” includes three sensors; “(e.g., configured to detect distance, acceleration, velocity, speed, location, user presence, battery presence, or some combination thereof) in electrical communication at least with the processor”);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of ensuring that the battery is appropriately coupled to the support (para. [0048]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen as taught by Renfro and include Renfro’s similar device having:
Claim 20: detecting that the battery is in contact with the at least one support using at least one detector;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of ensuring that the battery is appropriately coupled to the support.
It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, the prior art reference is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned since it is concerned with battery transfer.
Ye shows a similar device having:
Claim 20: driving a slope to move horizontally using a driver, the slope forming a slope fit with a roller (as illustrated and self-understandable from fig. 6, 7 and 9: "When the motor 41 drives the screw 42 to rotate to open the scissors 2, the pull plate 62 moves along a linear path at a first speed. The scissors 2 are slowly opened by the driven wheel 5 rolling on the slope 61 of the guide part 6, and the second connecting plate 28 moves along a linear path at a second speed that is less than the first speed. When the driven wheel 5 climbs to the point of disengagement from the slope 61 of the guide part 6, the boss 711 just abuts the pull plate 62);
(It is noted in the current application, orig. para. [00103], “In other embodiments, the surface of the slope 34 for fitting with the roller 33 may also be a curved surface.”)
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of reducing the pushing/pull force required when the scissors are opened from the folded state. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen as taught by Ye and include Ye’s similar device having:
Claim 20: driving a slope to move horizontally using a driver, the slope forming a slope fit with a roller;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of reducing the pushing/pull force required when the scissors are opened from the folded state.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Ye and Renfro. Chen discloses all the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Chen does not directly show:
Claim 14: at least three supports to support the battery and at least three detectors to detect that the battery is in contact with the at least three supports;
Claim 15: wherein: in response to inconsistent signals from the at least three detectors, the battery swapping apparatus stops descending, performs a locking or unlocking operation again, or issues a fault signal.
Renfro shows a similar device having:
Claim 14: at least three supports to support the battery and at least three detectors to detect that the battery is in contact with the at least three supports (suggested in para. [0052]/[0059]/[0062]; “at least one sensor” includes three sensors; “(e.g., configured to detect distance, acceleration, velocity, speed, location, user presence, battery presence, or some combination thereof) in electrical communication at least with the processor”; three detectors imply three supports);
Claim 15: wherein: in response to inconsistent signals from the at least three detectors, the battery swapping apparatus stops descending, performs a locking or unlocking operation again, or issues a fault signal (para. [0034]/[0059] implies fault/alert signal; suggested in para. [0052]/[0059]/[0062]; “at least one sensor” includes three sensors; “(e.g., configured to detect distance, acceleration, velocity, speed, location, user presence, battery presence, or some combination thereof) in electrical communication at least with the processor”; three detectors imply three supports);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of ensuring that the battery is appropriately coupled to the support (para. [0048]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen as taught by Renfro and include Renfro’s similar device having:
Claim 14: at least three supports to support the battery and at least three detectors to detect that the battery is in contact with the at least three supports;
Claim 15: wherein: in response to inconsistent signals from the at least three detectors, the battery swapping apparatus stops descending, performs a locking or unlocking operation again, or issues a fault signal;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of ensuring that the battery is appropriately coupled to the support.
It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, the prior art reference is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned since it is concerned with battery transfer.
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Ye, Agassi, and Renfro. Chen discloses all the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Chen does not directly show:
Claim 17: at least three supports to support the battery and at least three detectors to detect that the battery is in contact with the at least three supports;
Claim 18: wherein: in response to inconsistent signals from the at least three detectors, the battery swapping apparatus stops descending, performs a locking or unlocking operation again, or issues a fault signal.
Renfro shows a similar device having:
Claim 17: at least three supports to support the battery and at least three detectors to detect that the battery is in contact with the at least three supports (suggested in para. [0052]/[0059]/[0062]; “at least one sensor” includes three sensors; “(e.g., configured to detect distance, acceleration, velocity, speed, location, user presence, battery presence, or some combination thereof) in electrical communication at least with the processor”; three detectors imply three supports);
Claim 18: wherein: in response to inconsistent signals from the at least three detectors, the battery swapping apparatus stops descending, performs a locking or unlocking operation again, or issues a fault signal (para. [0034]/[0059] implies fault/alert signal; suggested in para. [0052]/[0059]/[0062]; “at least one sensor” includes three sensors; “(e.g., configured to detect distance, acceleration, velocity, speed, location, user presence, battery presence, or some combination thereof) in electrical communication at least with the processor”; three detectors imply three supports);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of ensuring that the battery is appropriately coupled to the support (para. [0048]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen as taught by Renfro and include Renfro’s similar device having:
Claim 17: at least three supports to support the battery and at least three detectors to detect that the battery is in contact with the at least three supports;
Claim 18: wherein: in response to inconsistent signals from the at least three detectors, the battery swapping apparatus stops descending, performs a locking or unlocking operation again, or issues a fault signal;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of ensuring that the battery is appropriately coupled to the support.
It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, the prior art reference is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned since it is concerned with battery transfer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the pp. 7-9, filed 31 October 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-13 under 35 USC 112(b), Chen, Ye, and Agassi have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the prior art rejections have been withdrawn. Also, the claim interpretations except for the electrical device and locking and unlocking mechanism have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chen, Ye, Agassi, and Renfro.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Gerald McClain/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652