DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: electrical device and locking and unlocking mechanism (Claims 1-20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 12, 16, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN 112830422 A) (“Chen”) in view of Ye et al. (CN 112194041 A) (“Ye”), Renfro et al. (US 2022/0285781) (“Renfro”), and Tian et al. (CN 109501745 A) (“Tian”). Chen discloses:
Claim 1: a movable base (fig. 2, ref .12 and wheels ref .13);
a locking and unlocking mechanism, configured to lock the battery to the electrical device or unlock the battery from the electrical device (fig. 2, ref. 7, fig. 4: "The supporting member 7 is composed of a
supporting head 17, a supporting rod 16, and a supporting
base 15. Wherein, the supporting head 17 and the supporting
base 15 are both screwed to the supporting rod 16. Wherein,
the support head 1 7 can be designed in a disk shape for
plane support of the power battery or a stepped shaft for support of the power battery orifice as required. Among
them, the design height of the support rod 16 should meet
the working space requirements of the disassembly operator.
Among them, the support base 15 is connected with the bolts
of the platform action surface 8 by a straight groove, so
as to ensure that when the orientation of the support
member 7 is adjusted, it can slide and rotate along the
bolts. And after the position adjustment is completed, the
support base 15 can be fastened to the platform working
surface 8 to support the power battery");
a scissor lifting mechanism, arranged between the movable base and the locking and unlocking mechanism, drives the locking and unlocking mechanism to move up and down (fig. 1, 2, ref. 11);
For Claims 10-12 and 16 below, see Chen (fig.2, ref.8, 9: "the above-mentioned
disassembly platform also includes a platform working
surface 8 for supporting the power battery, and a platform
placed on the above-mentioned platform support device The
middle working surface 9, and the horizontal angle
adjusting hydraulic cylinder 4, the central hydraulic
cylinder 6, and the front and rear angle adjusting
hydraulic cylinder 14 placed on the above middle working
surface 9 ");
a lifting platform (9), the scissor lifting mechanism being arranged between the movable base and the lifting platform, and the scissor lifting mechanism drives the lifting platform to move up and down (figures 1-2);
a floating platform (8) floatingly connected to the lifting platform;
the locking and unlocking mechanism is arranged on the floating platform (figures 1-2);
Claim 12: wherein: the battery swapping apparatus further comprises a lock to lock the floating platform to the lifting platform or release the floating platform from the lifting platform to improve stability of disassembly, assembly, and transport of the battery (9/etc.; figures 1-2; see a locking and unlocking mechanism above in Claim 1; intended use).
Chen does not directly show:
Claim 1: at least one support to support the battery, the at least one support including at least one detector to detect that the battery is in contact with the at least one support,
wherein the scissor lifting mechanism comprises a scissor arms, a driver, a roller, and a slope, the roller is mounted on the scissor arms and forms a slope fit with the slope, and the driver drives the slope to move, so as to drive the scissor arms to perform a scissor movement through the roller;
a plurality of floating chains, such that the floating platform is located above the lifting platform and the floating platform floats horizontally relative to the lifting platform;
Claim 2: wherein: a moving direction of the slope is perpendicular to a lifting direction of the locking and unlocking mechanism;
Claim 3: wherein the scissor arms comprise a first scissor arm and a second scissor arm hinged to each other with a hinge joint, the scissor lifting mechanism further comprises a mounting shaft, the mounting shaft is connected to a hinge joint between the first scissor arm and the second scissor arm and extends along the hinge axis of the first scissor arm and the second scissor arm, and the roller is mounted on the mounting shaft;
Claim 4: wherein the scissor lifting mechanism comprises two pairs of scissor arms, the two pairs of scissor arms are arranged opposite to each other,
the mounting shaft is arranged between the two pairs of scissor arms, and two ends of the mounting shaft are respectively connected to the two pairs of scissor arms;
Claim 5: wherein two rollers are provided, and the two rollers are arranged at two ends of the mounting shaft in an axial direction of the mounting shaft at an interval;
Claim 6: wherein two rollers are provided, the two slopes are arranged corresponding to the two rollers, the scissor lifting mechanism further comprises a connecting element, and the connecting element is configured to connect the two slopes;
Claim 7: wherein the slope fits with the roller;
Claim 8: wherein the scissor lifting mechanism further comprises a guide rail, the guide rail is arranged on the movable base, the slope is slidably arranged on the guide rail, and the driver drives the slope to move along the guide rail;
Claim 9: wherein the scissor lifting mechanism further comprises a lead screw and a nut, the nut sleeves the lead screw and is in threaded fit with the lead screw, the driver drives the lead screw to rotate, and the slope is fixed to the nut;
Claim 16: the at least one support and the at least one detector are arranged on the floating platform;
Claim 21: wherein: the floating platform floats horizontally relative to the lifting platform to avoid floating obstruction due to frictional contact between the floating platform and the lifting platform.
Renfro shows a similar device having:
Claim 1: at least one support to support the battery, the at least one support including at least one detector to detect that the battery is in contact with the at least one support (suggested in para. [0052]/[0059]/[0062]; “at least one sensor” includes three sensors; “(e.g., configured to detect distance, acceleration, velocity, speed, location, user presence, battery presence, or some combination thereof) in electrical communication at least with the processor”);
Claim 16: the at least one support and the at least one detector are arranged on the floating platform (suggested in para. [0052]/[0059]/[0062]; “at least one sensor” includes three sensors; “(e.g., configured to detect distance, acceleration, velocity, speed, location, user presence, battery presence, or some combination thereof) in electrical communication at least with the processor”; Chen discloses the floating platform that is capable of supporting the at least one detector while the battery sits thereon);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of ensuring that the battery is appropriately coupled to the support (para. [0048]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen as taught by Renfro and include Renfro’s similar device having:
Claim 1: at least one support to support the battery, the at least one support including at least one detector to detect that the battery is in contact with the at least one support;
Claim 16: the at least one support and the at least one detector are arranged on the floating platform;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of ensuring that the battery is appropriately coupled to the support.
It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, the prior art reference is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned since it is concerned with battery transfer.
Tian shows a similar device having:
Claim 1: a plurality of floating chains, such that the floating platform is located above the lifting platform and the floating platform floats horizontally relative to the lifting platform (para. [0028]/[0038], “chain suspended floating element 117a”);
Claim 21: wherein: the floating platform floats horizontally relative to the lifting platform to avoid floating obstruction due to frictional contact between the floating platform and the lifting platform (para. [0028]/[0038], “chain suspended floating element 117a”; intended use);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the ability to maintain accurate relative positioning and improve battery replacement efficiency (para. [0017], “Ability to maintain accurate relative positioning and improve battery replacement efficiency.” (English translation)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen as taught by Tian and include Tian’s similar device having:
Claim 1: a plurality of floating chains, such that the floating platform is located above the lifting platform and the floating platform floats horizontally relative to the lifting platform;
Claim 21: wherein: the floating platform floats horizontally relative to the lifting platform to avoid floating obstruction due to frictional contact between the floating platform and the lifting platform;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the ability to maintain accurate relative positioning and improve battery replacement efficiency.
Ye shows a similar device having:
Claim 1: wherein the scissor lifting mechanism comprises a scissor arms, a driver, a roller, and a slope, the roller is mounted on the scissor arms and forms a slope fit with the slope, and the driver drives the slope to move, so as to drive the scissor arms to perform a scissor movement through the roller (as illustrated and self-understandable from fig. 6, 7 and 9: "When the motor 41 drives the screw 42 to rotate to open the scissors 2, the pull plate 62 moves along a linear path at a first speed. The scissors 2 are slowly opened by the driven wheel 5 rolling on the slope 61 of the guide part 6, and the second connecting plate 28 moves along a linear path at a second speed that is less than the first speed. When the driven wheel 5 climbs to the point of disengagement from the slope 61 of the guide part 6, the boss 711 just abuts the pull plate 62);
(It is noted in the current application, orig. para. [00103], “In other embodiments, the surface of the slope 34 for fitting with the roller 33 may also be a curved surface.”)
(For Claims 2-9 below, see figures 6-9 of Ye.)
Claim 2: wherein: a moving direction of the slope is perpendicular to a lifting direction of the locking and unlocking mechanism;
Claim 3: wherein the scissor arms comprise a first scissor arm and a second scissor arm hinged to each other with a hinge joint, the scissor lifting mechanism further comprises a mounting shaft, the mounting shaft is connected to a hinge joint between the first scissor arm and the second scissor arm and extends along the hinge axis of the first scissor arm and the second scissor arm, and the roller is mounted on the mounting shaft;
Claim 4: wherein the scissor lifting mechanism comprises two pairs of scissor arms, the two pairs of scissor arms are arranged opposite to each other,
the mounting shaft is arranged between the two pairs of scissor arms, and two ends of the mounting shaft are respectively connected to the two pairs of scissor arms;
Claim 5: wherein two rollers are provided, and the two rollers are arranged at two ends of the mounting shaft in an axial direction of the mounting shaft at an interval;
Claim 6: wherein two rollers are provided, the two slopes are arranged corresponding to the two rollers, the scissor lifting mechanism further comprises a connecting element, and the connecting element is configured to connect the two slopes;
Claim 7: wherein the slope fits with the roller;
Claim 8: wherein the scissor lifting mechanism further comprises a guide rail, the guide rail is arranged on the movable base, the slope is slidably arranged on the guide rail, and the driver drives the slope to move along the guide rail;
Claim 9: wherein the scissor lifting mechanism further comprises a lead screw and a nut, the nut sleeves the lead screw and is in threaded fit with the lead screw, the driver drives the lead screw to rotate, and the slope is fixed to the nut;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of reducing the pushing/pull force required when the scissors are opened from the folded state. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen as taught by Ye and include Ye’s similar device having:
Claim 1: wherein the scissor lifting mechanism comprises a scissor arms, a driver, a roller, and a slope, the roller is mounted on the scissor arms and forms a slope fit with the slope, and the driver drives the slope to move, so as to drive the scissor arms to perform a scissor movement through the roller;
Claim 2: wherein: a moving direction of the slope is perpendicular to a lifting direction of the locking and unlocking mechanism;
Claim 3: wherein the scissor arms comprise a first scissor arm and a second scissor arm hinged to each other with a hinge joint, the scissor lifting mechanism further comprises a mounting shaft, the mounting shaft is connected to a hinge joint between the first scissor arm and the second scissor arm and extends along the hinge axis of the first scissor arm and the second scissor arm, and the roller is mounted on the mounting shaft;
Claim 4: wherein the scissor lifting mechanism comprises two pairs of scissor arms, the two pairs of scissor arms are arranged opposite to each other,
the mounting shaft is arranged between the two pairs of scissor arms, and two ends of the mounting shaft are respectively connected to the two pairs of scissor arms;
Claim 5: wherein two rollers are provided, and the two rollers are arranged at two ends of the mounting shaft in an axial direction of the mounting shaft at an interval;
Claim 6: wherein two rollers are provided, the two slopes are arranged corresponding to the two rollers, the scissor lifting mechanism further comprises a connecting element, and the connecting element is configured to connect the two slopes;
Claim 7: wherein the slope fits with the roller;
Claim 8: wherein the scissor lifting mechanism further comprises a guide rail, the guide rail is arranged on the movable base, the slope is slidably arranged on the guide rail, and the driver drives the slope to move along the guide rail;
Claim 9: wherein the scissor lifting mechanism further comprises a lead screw and a nut, the nut sleeves the lead screw and is in threaded fit with the lead screw, the driver drives the lead screw to rotate, and the slope is fixed to the nut;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of reducing the pushing/pull force required when the scissors are opened from the folded state.
Claims 13 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Ye, Renfro, Tian, and Agassi et al. (US 2010/0141206) (“Agassi”). Chen discloses:
Claim 13: a movable base (fig. 2, ref .12 and wheels ref .13);
a locking and unlocking mechanism, configured to lock the battery to the electrical device or unlock the battery from the electrical device (fig. 2, ref. 7, fig. 4: "The supporting member 7 is composed of a
supporting head 17, a supporting rod 16, and a supporting
base 15. Wherein, the supporting head 17 and the supporting
base 15 are both screwed to the supporting rod 16. Wherein,
the support head 1 7 can be designed in a disk shape for
plane support of the power battery or a stepped shaft for support of the power battery orifice as required. Among
them, the design height of the support rod 16 should meet
the working space requirements of the disassembly operator.
Among them, the support base 15 is connected with the bolts
of the platform action surface 8 by a straight groove, so
as to ensure that when the orientation of the support
member 7 is adjusted, it can slide and rotate along the
bolts. And after the position adjustment is completed, the
support base 15 can be fastened to the platform working
surface 8 to support the power battery");
a scissor lifting mechanism, arranged between the movable base and the locking and unlocking mechanism, drives the locking and unlocking mechanism to move up and down (fig. 1, 2, ref. 11);
For Claim 19 below, see Chen (fig.2, ref.8, 9: "the above-mentioned
disassembly platform also includes a platform working
surface 8 for supporting the power battery, and a platform
placed on the above-mentioned platform support device The
middle working surface 9, and the horizontal angle
adjusting hydraulic cylinder 4, the central hydraulic
cylinder 6, and the front and rear angle adjusting
hydraulic cylinder 14 placed on the above middle working
surface 9 ");
a lifting platform (9), the scissor lifting mechanism being arranged between the movable base and the lifting platform, and the scissor lifting mechanism drives the lifting platform to move up and down (figures 1-2);
a floating platform (8) floatingly connected to the lifting platform;
the locking and unlocking mechanism is arranged on the floating platform (figures 1-2).
Chen does not directly show:
Claim 13: a track;
at least one support to support the battery, the at least one support including at least one detector to detect whether the battery is in contact with the at least one support,
wherein the scissor lifting mechanism comprises a scissor arms, a driver, a roller, and a slope, the roller is mounted on the scissor arms and forms a slope fit with the slope, and the driver drives the slope to move, so as to drive the scissor arms to perform a scissor movement through the roller;
a battery swapping apparatus for swapping a battery of an electrical device, the battery swapping apparatus comprising:
a battery swapping platform, located at one end of the track;
a battery picking and placing apparatus, located at the other end of the track;
a floating platform floatingly connected to the lifting platform by a plurality of floating chains, such that the floating platform is located above the lifting platform and the floating platform floats horizontally relative to the lifting platform;
Claim 19: the at least one support and the at least one detector are arranged on the floating platform.
Renfro shows a similar device having:
Claim 13: at least one support to support the battery, the at least one support including at least one detector to detect that the battery is in contact with the at least one support (suggested in para. [0052]/[0059]/[0062]; “at least one sensor” includes three sensors; “(e.g., configured to detect distance, acceleration, velocity, speed, location, user presence, battery presence, or some combination thereof) in electrical communication at least with the processor”);
Claim 19: the at least one support and the at least one detector are arranged on the floating platform (suggested in para. [0052]/[0059]/[0062]; “at least one sensor” includes three sensors; “(e.g., configured to detect distance, acceleration, velocity, speed, location, user presence, battery presence, or some combination thereof) in electrical communication at least with the processor”; Chen discloses the floating platform that is capable of supporting the at least one detector while the battery sits thereon);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of ensuring that the battery is appropriately coupled to the support (para. [0048]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen as taught by Renfro and include Renfro’s similar device having:
at least one support to support the battery, the at least one support including at least one detector to detect that the battery is in contact with the at least one support;
Claim 19: at least one detector;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of ensuring that the battery is appropriately coupled to the support.
It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, the prior art reference is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned since it is concerned with battery transfer.
Tian shows a similar device having:
Claim 13: a floating platform floatingly connected to the lifting platform by a plurality of floating chains, such that the floating platform is located above the lifting platform and the floating platform floats horizontally relative to the lifting platform (para. [0028]/[0038], “chain suspended floating element 117a”);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the ability to maintain accurate relative positioning and improve battery replacement efficiency (para. [0017], “Ability to maintain accurate relative positioning and improve battery replacement efficiency.” (English translation)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen as taught by Tian and include Tian’s similar device having:
Claim 13: a floating platform floatingly connected to the lifting platform by a plurality of floating chains, such that the floating platform is located above the lifting platform and the floating platform floats horizontally relative to the lifting platform;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the ability to maintain accurate relative positioning and improve battery replacement efficiency.
Agassi shows a similar device having:
Claim 13: a track;
the battery swapping apparatus movably arranged on the track;
a battery swapping apparatus for swapping a battery of an electrical device, the battery swapping apparatus comprising:
a battery swapping platform, located at one end of the track; and
a battery picking and placing apparatus, located at the other end of the track (para. [0098]; Figures 13-14);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of servicing a variety of different electrical devices (para. [0098]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen and Ye as taught by Agassi and include Agassi’s similar device having:
Claim 13: a track;
the battery swapping apparatus movably arranged on the track;
a battery swapping apparatus for swapping a battery of an electrical device, the battery swapping apparatus comprising:
a battery swapping platform, located at one end of the track; and
a battery picking and placing apparatus, located at the other end of the track;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of servicing a variety of different electrical devices.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Tian, Ye, and Renfro. Chen discloses:
Claim 20: moving the battery swapping apparatus into position under the electrical device using a movable base (fig. 2, ref .12 and wheels ref .13);
a floating platform (8);
unlocking the battery from the electrical device using a locking and unlocking mechanism arranged on the floating platform (fig.2, ref.8, 9: "the above-mentioned disassembly platform also includes a platform working surface 8 for supporting the power battery, and a platform placed on the above-mentioned platform support device The middle working surface 9, and the horizontal angle adjusting hydraulic cylinder 4, the central hydraulic cylinder 6, and the front and rear angle adjusting hydraulic cylinder 14 placed on the above middle working surface 9 "; fig. 1, 2, ref. 11);
(fig. 2, ref. 7, fig. 4: "The supporting member 7 is composed of a
supporting head 17, a supporting rod 16, and a supporting
base 15. Wherein, the supporting head 17 and the supporting
base 15 are both screwed to the supporting rod 16. Wherein,
the support head 1 7 can be designed in a disk shape for
plane support of the power battery or a stepped shaft for support of the power battery orifice as required. Among
them, the design height of the support rod 16 should meet
the working space requirements of the disassembly operator.
Among them, the support base 15 is connected with the bolts
of the platform action surface 8 by a straight groove, so
as to ensure that when the orientation of the support
member 7 is adjusted, it can slide and rotate along the
bolts. And after the position adjustment is completed, the
support base 15 can be fastened to the platform working
surface 8 to support the power battery");
driving a lifting platform (9) to move up and down using the scissor lifting mechanism arranged between the movable base and the lifting platform (fig. 1, 2, ref. 11).
Chen does not directly show:
Claim 20: driving a slope to move horizontally using a driver, the slope forming a slope fit with a roller to drive scissor arms of a scissor lifting mechanism to perform a scissor movement;
floating a floating platform horizontally relative to the lifting platform to align at least one support with the battery and avoid floating obstruction due to frictional contact between the floating platform and the lifting platform, the floating platform being floatingly connected to the lifting platform by a plurality of floating chains;
supporting the battery using the at least one support arranged on the floating platform;
detecting whether the battery is in contact with the at least one support using at least one detector.
Renfro shows a similar device having:
Claim 20: supporting the battery using the at least one support arranged on the floating platform (suggested in para. [0052]/[0059]/[0062]; “at least one sensor” includes three sensors; “(e.g., configured to detect distance, acceleration, velocity, speed, location, user presence, battery presence, or some combination thereof) in electrical communication at least with the processor”);
detecting whether the battery is in contact with the at least one support using at least one detector (suggested in para. [0052]/[0059]/[0062]; “at least one sensor” includes three sensors; “(e.g., configured to detect distance, acceleration, velocity, speed, location, user presence, battery presence, or some combination thereof) in electrical communication at least with the processor”);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of ensuring that the battery is appropriately coupled to the support (para. [0048]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen as taught by Renfro and include Renfro’s similar device having:
Claim 20: supporting the battery using the at least one support arranged on the floating platform;
detecting whether the battery is in contact with the at least one support using at least one detector;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of ensuring that the battery is appropriately coupled to the support.
It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, the prior art reference is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned since it is concerned with battery transfer.
Tian shows a similar device having:
Claim 20: floating a floating platform horizontally relative to the lifting platform to align at least one support with the battery and avoid floating obstruction due to frictional contact between the floating platform and the lifting platform, the floating platform being floatingly connected to the lifting platform by a plurality of floating chains (para. [0028]/[0038], “chain suspended floating element 117a”; intended use);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the ability to maintain accurate relative positioning and improve battery replacement efficiency (para. [0017], “Ability to maintain accurate relative positioning and improve battery replacement efficiency.” (English translation)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen as taught by Tian and include Tian’s similar device having:
Claim 20: floating a floating platform horizontally relative to the lifting platform to align at least one support with the battery and avoid floating obstruction due to frictional contact between the floating platform and the lifting platform, the floating platform being floatingly connected to the lifting platform by a plurality of floating chains;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the ability to maintain accurate relative positioning and improve battery replacement efficiency.
Ye shows a similar device having:
Claim 20: driving a slope to move horizontally using a driver, the slope forming a slope fit with a roller to drive scissor arms of a scissor lifting mechanism to perform a scissor movement (as illustrated and self-understandable from fig. 6, 7 and 9: "When the motor 41 drives the screw 42 to rotate to open the scissors 2, the pull plate 62 moves along a linear path at a first speed. The scissors 2 are slowly opened by the driven wheel 5 rolling on the slope 61 of the guide part 6, and the second connecting plate 28 moves along a linear path at a second speed that is less than the first speed. When the driven wheel 5 climbs to the point of disengagement from the slope 61 of the guide part 6, the boss 711 just abuts the pull plate 62);
(It is noted in the current application, orig. para. [00103], “In other embodiments, the surface of the slope 34 for fitting with the roller 33 may also be a curved surface.”)
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of reducing the pushing/pull force required when the scissors are opened from the folded state. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen as taught by Ye and include Ye’s similar device having:
Claim 20: driving a slope to move horizontally using a driver, the slope forming a slope fit with a roller to drive scissor arms of a scissor lifting mechanism to perform a scissor movement;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of reducing the pushing/pull force required when the scissors are opened from the folded state.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Tian, Ye, Renfro, Yu et al. (US 2013/0156533) (“Yu”), and Yazawa et al. (WO2012105530A1) (“Yazawa”). Chen discloses all the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Chen does not directly show:
Claim 14: at least three supports to support the battery and at least three detectors to detect whether the battery is in contact with the at least three supports and an inclination of the battery;
Claim 15: wherein: in response to inconsistent signals from the at least three detectors, the battery swapping apparatus stops descending or performs a locking or unlocking operation again.
Renfro shows a similar device having:
Claim 14: at least three supports to support the battery and at least three detectors to detect whether the battery is in contact with the at least three supports (suggested in para. [0052]/[0059]/[0062]; “at least one sensor” includes three sensors; “(e.g., configured to detect distance, acceleration, velocity, speed, location, user presence, battery presence, or some combination thereof) in electrical communication at least with the processor”; three detectors imply three supports);
Claim 15: wherein: inconsistent signals from the at least three detectors (para. [0034]/[0059] implies fault/alert signal; suggested in para. [0052]/[0059]/[0062]; “at least one sensor” includes three sensors; “(e.g., configured to detect distance, acceleration, velocity, speed, location, user presence, battery presence, or some combination thereof) in electrical communication at least with the processor”; three detectors imply three supports);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of ensuring that the battery is appropriately coupled to the support (para. [0048]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen as taught by Renfro and include Renfro’s similar device having:
Claim 14: at least three supports to support the battery and at least three detectors to detect whether the battery is in contact with the at least three supports;
Claim 15: wherein: inconsistent signals from the at least three detectors;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of ensuring that the battery is appropriately coupled to the support.
It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, the prior art reference is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned since it is concerned with battery transfer.
Yu shows a similar device having:
Claim 15: wherein: in response to inconsistent signals, the battery swapping apparatus stops descending or performs a locking or unlocking operation again (para. [0096], stops descending);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of substantially improving the efficiency of moving a battery by decreasing the time for incorrect transfer of the battery (para. [0012]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen and Renfro as taught by Yu and include Yu’s similar device having:
Claim 15: wherein: in response to inconsistent signals, the battery swapping apparatus stops descending or performs a locking or unlocking operation again;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of substantially improving the efficiency of moving a battery by decreasing the time for incorrect transfer of the battery.
Yazawa shows a similar device having:
Claim 14: at least three detectors to detect an inclination of the battery ("In this case, the position in the front-rear direction of the battery 3 is detected by the ultrasonic sensor, and the position in the vertical and horizontal directions of the battery 3 is detected by the laser sensor or the camera." "In the embodiment described above, two detection mechanisms 21 are attached to the battery loading portion 22, but only one detection mechanism 21 may be attached to the battery loading portion 22. In this case, by moving the battery loading unit 22 so that one detection mechanism 21 traverses the two detection marks 8 in the left-right direction, the inclination of the battery 3 with respect to the left-right direction when viewed from the front-rear direction , And the inclination of the battery 3 with respect to the lateral direction when viewed from the vertical direction can be detected." (English translation));
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of improving the alignment of the battery in the apparatus (“In this case, it is possible to further improve the accuracy of alignment between the battery 3 and the battery insertion / ejection mechanism 17.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen and Renfro as taught by Yazawa and include Yazawa’s similar device having:
Claim 14: at least three detectors to detect an inclination of the battery;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of improving the alignment of the battery in the apparatus.
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Tian, Ye, Agassi, Renfro, Yu, and Yazawa. Chen discloses all the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Chen does not directly show:
Claim 17: at least three supports to support the battery and at least three detectors to detect whether the battery is in contact with the at least three supports and an inclination of the battery;
Claim 18: wherein: in response to inconsistent signals from the at least three detectors, the battery swapping apparatus stops descending or performs a locking or unlocking operation again.
Renfro shows a similar device having:
Claim 17: at least three supports to support the battery and at least three detectors to detect whether the battery is in contact with the at least three supports (suggested in para. [0052]/[0059]/[0062]; “at least one sensor” includes three sensors; “(e.g., configured to detect distance, acceleration, velocity, speed, location, user presence, battery presence, or some combination thereof) in electrical communication at least with the processor”; three detectors imply three supports);
Claim 18: wherein: inconsistent signals from the at least three detectors (para. [0034]/[0059] implies fault/alert signal; suggested in para. [0052]/[0059]/[0062]; “at least one sensor” includes three sensors; “(e.g., configured to detect distance, acceleration, velocity, speed, location, user presence, battery presence, or some combination thereof) in electrical communication at least with the processor”; three detectors imply three supports);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of ensuring that the battery is appropriately coupled to the support (para. [0048]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen as taught by Renfro and include Renfro’s similar device having:
Claim 17: at least three supports to support the battery and at least three detectors to detect whether the battery is in contact with the at least three supports;
Claim 18: wherein: inconsistent signals from the at least three detectors;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of ensuring that the battery is appropriately coupled to the support.
It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, the prior art reference is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned since it is concerned with battery transfer.
Yu shows a similar device having:
Claim 18: wherein: in response to inconsistent signals, the battery swapping apparatus stops descending or performs a locking or unlocking operation again (para. [0096], stops descending);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of substantially improving the efficiency of moving a battery by decreasing the time for incorrect transfer of the battery (para. [0012]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen and Renfro as taught by Yu and include Yu’s similar device having:
Claim 18: wherein: in response to inconsistent signals, the battery swapping apparatus stops descending or performs a locking or unlocking operation again;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of substantially improving the efficiency of moving a battery by decreasing the time for incorrect transfer of the battery.
Yazawa shows a similar device having:
Claim 17: at least three detectors to detect an inclination of the battery ("In this case, the position in the front-rear direction of the battery 3 is detected by the ultrasonic sensor, and the position in the vertical and horizontal directions of the battery 3 is detected by the laser sensor or the camera." "In the embodiment described above, two detection mechanisms 21 are attached to the battery loading portion 22, but only one detection mechanism 21 may be attached to the battery loading portion 22. In this case, by moving the battery loading unit 22 so that one detection mechanism 21 traverses the two detection marks 8 in the left-right direction, the inclination of the battery 3 with respect to the left-right direction when viewed from the front-rear direction , And the inclination of the battery 3 with respect to the lateral direction when viewed from the vertical direction can be detected." (English translation));
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of improving the alignment of the battery in the apparatus (“In this case, it is possible to further improve the accuracy of alignment between the battery 3 and the battery insertion / ejection mechanism 17.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen and Renfro as taught by Yazawa and include Yazawa’s similar device having:
Claim 17: at least three detectors to detect an inclination of the battery;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of improving the alignment of the battery in the apparatus.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Tian, Ye, Renfro, Yu, and Yazawa. Chen discloses all the limitations of the claims as discussed above.
Chen does not directly show:
Claim 22: providing at least three supports to support the battery and at least three detectors to detect whether the battery is in contact with the at least three supports and an inclination of the battery;
in response to inconsistent signals from the at least three detectors indicating the inclination of the battery, stopping a descent of the battery swapping apparatus or performing a locking or unlocking operation again.
Renfro shows a similar device having:
Claim 22: providing at least three supports to support the battery and at least three detectors to detect whether the battery is in contact with the at least three supports (suggested in para. [0052]/[0059]/[0062]; “at least one sensor” includes three sensors; “(e.g., configured to detect distance, acceleration, velocity, speed, location, user presence, battery presence, or some combination thereof) in electrical communication at least with the processor”; three detectors imply three supports);
inconsistent signals from the at least three detectors (para. [0034]/[0059] implies fault/alert signal; suggested in para. [0052]/[0059]/[0062]; “at least one sensor” includes three sensors; “(e.g., configured to detect distance, acceleration, velocity, speed, location, user presence, battery presence, or some combination thereof) in electrical communication at least with the processor”; three detectors imply three supports);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of ensuring that the battery is appropriately coupled to the support (para. [0048]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen as taught by Renfro and include Renfro’s similar device having:
Claim 22: providing at least three supports to support the battery and at least three detectors to detect whether the battery is in contact with the at least three supports;
inconsistent signals from the at least three detectors;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of ensuring that the battery is appropriately coupled to the support.
It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, the prior art reference is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned since it is concerned with battery transfer.
Yu shows a similar device having:
Claim 22: in response to inconsistent signals from the at least three detectors indicating the inclination of the battery, stopping a descent of the battery swapping apparatus or performing a locking or unlocking operation again (para. [0096], stops a descent);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of substantially improving the efficiency of moving a battery by decreasing the time for incorrect transfer of the battery (para. [0012]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen and Renfro as taught by Yu and include Yu’s similar device having:
Claim 22: in response to inconsistent signals from the at least three detectors indicating the inclination of the battery, stopping a descent of the battery swapping apparatus or performing a locking or unlocking operation again;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of substantially improving the efficiency of moving a battery by decreasing the time for incorrect transfer of the battery.
Yazawa shows a similar device having:
Claim 22: at least three detectors to detect an inclination of the battery ("In this case, the position in the front-rear direction of the battery 3 is detected by the ultrasonic sensor, and the position in the vertical and horizontal directions of the battery 3 is detected by the laser sensor or the camera." "In the embodiment described above, two detection mechanisms 21 are attached to the battery loading portion 22, but only one detection mechanism 21 may be attached to the battery loading portion 22. In this case, by moving the battery loading unit 22 so that one detection mechanism 21 traverses the two detection marks 8 in the left-right direction, the inclination of the battery 3 with respect to the left-right direction when viewed from the front-rear direction , And the inclination of the battery 3 with respect to the lateral direction when viewed from the vertical direction can be detected." (English translation));
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of improving the alignment of the battery in the apparatus (“In this case, it is possible to further improve the accuracy of alignment between the battery 3 and the battery insertion / ejection mechanism 17.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chen and Renfro as taught by Yazawa and include Yazawa’s similar device having:
Claim 22: at least three detectors to detect an inclination of the battery;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of improving the alignment of the battery in the apparatus.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the pp. 20-23, filed 6 April 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under Chen, Ye, and Agassi and the objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the prior art rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Chen, Ye, Agassi, Yazawa, Yu, Tian, and Renfro.
Conclusion
/Gerald McClain/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652