DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The 35 USC 112 rejection has been overcome by amendment and therefore is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the claim amendments, filed 3/9/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12,14-16,18-23,36-38 and 82-86 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishimura et al., US 8,076,785, in view of Kondo et al., UJP H05235099.
Regarding claim 12, Nishimura (figure 1) teaches a printable component, comprising:
a chiplet 101 having a semiconductor substrate 101; and
a plurality of electrical connections 103A/103B protruding from the semiconductor substrate 101, wherein each electrical connection 103A/103B comprises an electrically conductive connection post 103A protruding from the substrate (bottom of 101), wherein two or more adjacent connection posts 103A/103B are directly electrically connected to each other (they are on the same pad 102 therefore they are directly electrically connected to each other.
Nishimura fails to teach each of the two or more connection posts comprises a multi-layer structure comprising an inner post material coated with a conductive material, wherein the conductive material is different from the post material.
Kondo (figure 2b) teaches each of the two or more connection posts 3a comprises a multi-layer structure comprising an inner post material 3a1 coated with a conductive material 3a2/3a3, wherein the conductive material is different ( Ni & Au) from the post material (Cu).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the coated conductive material of Kondo in the invention of Nishimura because the coatings aid in wetting, bonding and prevent oxidation.
With respect to claim 14, Nishimura (figure 1) teaches the connection posts 103A/103B are disposed in groups of two oe more connection posts (left 103A/103B & right 103A/103B) wherein a spacing between adjacent connection posts (103A/103B) within a given group (left 103A/103B) is less than a spacing between adjacent groups (left 103A/103B & right 103A/103B).
As to claim 15, Nishimura (figure 1) teaches the connection posts 103A/103B within a group are electrically shorted together (they are separated and on pad 102 therefore they are electrically shorted together).
In re claim 16, Nishimura (figure 1) teaches the printable component is an active printable component having an active element (column 5, lines 6-12), a passive printable component having a passive element, or a compound printable component having one or more active elements, one or more passive elements, or a combination of active and passive elements.
In claim 18, though Nishimura fails to teach the printable component has at least one of a width, length, and height from 2 to 5 um, 5 to 10 um, 10 to 20 um, or 20 to 50 um, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the width, length, and height through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 19, though Nishimura, which teaches an integrated circuit semiconductor (column 5, lines 6-12), fails to teach the printable component is a light-emitting diode, photo-diode, or transistor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use one of these in the invention of Nishimura because they are conventionally known and used types of integrated circuit semiconductors. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Pertaining to claim 20, Nishimura (figure 1) teaches a printed structure comprising a destination substrate 11 and one or more printable components according to claim 12, wherein the destination substrate 11 has two or more electrical contacts 12A and each connection post 103A/103B is in contact with (column 9, lines 48-52 teaches connected which means brought together or in contact with), extends into, or extends through a corresponding one of the two or more electrical contact 12A of the destination substrate 11 to electrically connect each of the connection posts 103A/103B to the corresponding one of the two or more electrical contacts 12A.
With respect to claim 21, though Nishimura fails to teach each of the two or more electrical contacts comprises a material that is the same material as the inner post material or the conductive material of the connection post, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the same material in the invention of Nishimura because this is conventionally known and used in the art since it would improve adhesion and bonding. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
As to claim 22, though Nishimura, which broadly teaches a supporting board (column 5, line 53), fails to teach the destination substrate 11 comprises at least one of polymer, plastic, resin, polyimide, PEN, PET, metal, metal foil, glass, a semiconductor, and sapphire, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use one of these in the invention of Nishimura because they are conventionally known and used materials for a supporting board. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
In re claim 23, though Nishimura fails to teach the destination substrate has a thickness from 5 to 10 microns, 10 to 50 microns, 50 to 100 microns, 100 to 200 microns, 200 to 500 microns, 500 microns to 0.5 mm, 0.5 to 1 mm, 1 mm to 5 mm, 5 mm to 10 mm, or 10 mm to 20 mm, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the thickness through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05).
In claim 36, Nishimura (figure 1) teaches a printed structure comprising a destination substrate 11 and one or more printable components 100, the printable components 100 comprising:
a chiplet 101 having a substrate 101 and a plurality of electrical connections 103A/103B, wherein:
each electrical connection 103A/103B comprises an electrically conductive connection post 103A/103B protruding from the substrate 101,
the destination substrate 11 has two or more backplane contact pads 12A,
each connection post 103A/103B is in contact with (column 9, lines 48-52 teaches connected which means brought together or in contact with), extends into, or extends through a backplane contact pad 12A of the destination substrate 11 to electrically connect the backplane contact pads 12A to the connection posts 103A/103B, and
two or more connection posts 103A/103B are electrically connected to one backplane contact pad 12A.
Nishimura fails to teach the connection post comprises a multi-layer structure comprising an inner post material coated with a conductive material, wherein the conductive material is different from the post material.
Kondo (figure 2b) teaches each of the two or more connection posts 3a comprises a multi-layer structure comprising an inner post material 3a1 coated with a conductive material 3a2/3a3, wherein the conductive material is different ( Ni & Au) from the post material (Cu).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the coated conductive material of Kondo in the invention of Nishimura because the coatings aid in wetting, bonding and prevent oxidation.
Regarding claim 37, Nishimura (figure 1) teaches the distance between two or more connection posts 103A/103B is less than a width or length of each electrical contact pad in a direction parallel to the destination substrate 11.
With respect to claim 38, Nishimura (figure 1) teaches the connection posts 103A/103B are disposed in groups (left 103A/103B and right 103A/103B), such that the connection posts 103A/103B within a group are electrically connected to a common backplane contact pad 12A and the connection posts 103A/103B in different groups (left 103A/103B and right 103A/103B) are electrically connected to different backplane contact pads 12A.
As to claim 82, Nishimura (figure 1) teaches the two or more adjacent connection posts 103A/103B contact only one electrical contact 12A of the destination substrate contacts 12A.
In re claim 83, Nishimura (figure 1) teaches an adhesive 15 disposed between one of the one or more printable components 100 and the destination substrate 11 that adheres the one or more printable components 100 to the destination substrate 11.
Concerning claim 84, Nishimura (column 5, lines 62-65) teaches the adhesive 15 applies compression between the one or more printable components 100 and the destination substrate 11. Nishimura teaches an epoxy, which shrinks when cured and therefore applies compression.
Concerning claim 85, though Nishimura fails to teach the adhesive 15 is disposed only between the one or more printable components 100 and the destination substrate 11, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use this configuration in place of the one in the invention of Nishimura because they are known equivalent configurations used to underfill between a component 100 and a destination substrate. The substitution of one known equivalent technique for another may be obvious even if the prior art does not expressly suggest the substitution (Ex parte Novak 16 USPQ 2d 2041 (BPAI 1989); In re Mostovych 144 USPQ 38 (CCPA 1964); In re Leshin 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960); Graver Tank & Manufacturing Co. V. Linde Air Products Co. 85 USPQ 328 (USSC 1950).
Pertaining to claim 86, Nishimura (figure 1) teaches the two or more adjacent connection posts 103A/103B comprise a first 103A and a second 103B connection post of a same height.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID A ZARNEKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891 3/17/26