DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The previous indication of allowability with respect to claim 17 required all the limitations of previous claims 10 and 13. Currently presented claim 17 does not include all those limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shioda et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0077286) cited on applicant’s IDS dated 21 March 2023.
Referring to Claim 17, Shioda teaches in Fig. 5 or 7 for example, a semiconductor device, comprising: a substrate (10); a doped region (20 or 21) on the substrate (10); a gate structure (30/40/42/80) on the substrate; and a contact (52/50/70) on the doped region (20 or 21); a level of a bottom surface of a first portion (52) of the contact (52/50/70) is higher than a level of a bottom surface of the doped region (20 or 21) and is lower than a level of a top surface of the doped region (20 or 21). It is noted that Shioda also teaches other embodiments having a contact (50/70) of Fig. 3-4, 6 and 17, that also teach the claim limitations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-11,13-16 and 18-20 are allowable.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 1, the prior art of record alone or in combination neither teaches nor makes obvious the invention of the semiconductor device, comprising: the first contact including a first portion, a second portion on the first portion, and a third portion on the second portion, the first portion and the second portion including polysilicon, the third portion including at least one metallic material, and the second portion including impurities of the first conductivity type at a second concentration higher than the first concentration; wherein: a vertical length of the first portion is larger than a vertical length of the second portion; and the second concentration of the second portion is higher than a concentration of impurities in the first portion in combination with all of the limitations of Claim 1. Claims 2-9 include the limitations of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6, the prior art of record alone or in combination neither teaches nor makes obvious the invention of the semiconductor device, comprising: the first contact including a first portion, a second portion on the first portion, and a third portion on the second portion, the first portion and the second portion including polysilicon, the third portion including at least one metallic material, and the second portion including impurities of the first conductivity type at a second concentration higher than the first concentration; wherein the first portion of the first contact does not contain an impurity in combination with all of the limitations of Claim 6.
Regarding Claim 10, the prior art of record alone or in combination neither teaches nor makes obvious the invention of the semiconductor device, comprising: wherein the gate structure includes: a first gate conductive layer on the gate insulating layer; a second gate conductive layer on the first gate conductive layer; and a gate spacer on side surfaces of the gate insulating layer, the first gate conductive layer, and the second gate conductive layer, wherein the top surface of the epitaxial pattern is at a level higher than a top surface of the gate insulating layer and lower than a top surface of the first gate conductive layer in combination with all of the limitations of Claim 10. Claims 11, 13-16 and 18 include the limitations of claim 10.
Regarding Claim 19, the prior art of record alone or in combination neither teaches nor makes obvious the invention of the semiconductor device, comprising: the contact including a first portion, a second portion on the first portion, and a third portion on the second portion, the first portion and the second portion including polysilicon, polysilicon, the third portion including at least one metallic material, and the second portion including impurities of the first conductivity type; wherein a vertical length of the first portion is lamer than a vertical length of the second portion; and a concentration of the impurities in the second portion is higher than a concentration of impurities in the first portion in combination with all of the limitations of Claim 19. Claim 20 includes the limitations of claim 19.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/EARL N TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896
EARL N. TAYLOR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896