DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
1- The amendment filed on 03/11/2026 has been entered and fully considered. Claims 1-16, 19-20 remain pending in the application, where the independent claims have been amended. New claims 21-22 have been added.
Response to Arguments
2- Applicant’s amendments/arguments about the combination of the prior art as used in the final office action mailed on 4/01/2026 and 7/01/2026 have been fully considered and are found persuasive. The rejections in question are therefore here withdrawn. A new final rejection is here presented and the clock is hereby reset.
3- Moreover, Applicant’s amendments and their corresponding arguments, with respect to the rejection of the pending claims under 35 USC 102 and 103, as set forth in the non-final office action mailed on 12/12/2025, have been also fully considered and are persuasive.
Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made over Donlagic et al. (PGPUB 2008/0159687) in view of prior art used in the previous office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4- The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
5- Claims 1-6, 9-11, 15, 20-22 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Donlagic et al. (PGPUB 2008/0159687)
As to claims 1-6, 15 and 20-22, Donlagic teaches a Fabry-Perot sensor assembly, and its method of making (Abstract and Figs. 1-12), comprising: an optical element defining a Fabry-Perot optical cavity therein (cavity within 26 at the end of 30); and a sensor ferrule (ferrule 64 and equivalents) affixed to the optical element, wherein the sensor ferrule is configured to physically connect to an optical fiber (22) (Figs. 1-2, 5-8); (Claim 6) further comprising the optical fiber affixed within the sensor ferrule optically aligned with the optical cavity along the axis (Figs. 1-2, 5-8), optically aligning and spacing the optical fiber with the optical cavity (Figs. 1-2, 5-8; using spacer 26), wherein the sensor ferrule defines a bore for receiving the optical fiber, wherein the bore extends along a longitudinal axis that extends to the optical element (Figs. 1, 9; the bores in the ferrules are where the optical fibers are inserted), and wherein the optical cavity is a second optical member defined between a first optical member (40/38) and a third optical member (34/36/37 or 38) spaced apart from the first optical member along the longitudinal axis, and at least one of the first optical member and the third optical member includes a radiused surface (32) bounding the optical cavity and spanning across the optical cavity laterally relative to the longitudinal axis; (Claim 2) wherein the radiused surface is defined on the first optical member; (Claim 3) wherein the radiused surface is defined on the third optical member; (Claim 4) wherein the first optical member also includes a radiused surface bounding the optical cavity and spanning across the optical cavity laterally relative to the longitudinal axis; (Claim 5) wherein the third optical member includes a contoured outer surface spanning the third optical member laterally relative to the longitudinal axis (the cavity, i.e. second optical member, is defined between curved reflective surfaces 32/36, i.e. first and third optical member); wherein the first and third optical members engage one another to enclose and longitudinally bound the second optical member into which the third optical member deflects under external pressure changes; (claim 20) wherein the third optical member is a diaphragm configured to deflect more than the first optical member under external pressure changes; (claim 21-22) wherein the first optical member includes a rim that engages the third optical member and peripherally encircles the optical cavity; wherein the third optical member includes a rim that engages the first optical member and peripherally encircles the optical cavity (the FP optical cavity (FP in Fig. 1 for ex.) is formed between two optical members (24/40/32 and 36/37. Which engage each other and bound to the gap in between; ¶ 32-42), and which comprises a diaphragm 34 (¶ 35-41 for ex.), i.e. third member, connected to an optical fiber end (Figs. 1-2, 5-9). Moreover, and as to claims 21-22, Donlagic teaches the circular spacer 26 which engages both ends of the cavity, i.e. first/third optical members and encircles their peripheries (Figs. 1-2, 5-7 for ex.)
Moreover, Donlagic teaches:
(claim 9) wherein an optical path passes from the bore, through the first optical member, through the optical cavity, reflects off of the third optical member and passes back through the optical cavity and through the first optical member into the bore and back into the fiber (¶ 32, 62 Figs. 1, 10 for ex.; laser light passes from the bore of one optical fiber to the cavity, reflects off the dielectric layers of the two opposite mirrors, passing through the cavity and response is measured by transmission through optical fiber to detector 86).
(claim 10) wherein the third optical member is an endplate (34) with an at least partially mirrored surface for increasing signal reflections in the optical cavity and back into the optical fiber (Figs. 1-2, 5-8).
(claim 11) wherein the first optical member is a main sensor body, wherein the ferrule is affixed to the main sensor body (Figs. 1-3, 6-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6- The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
7- Claims 7-8, 13, 19 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donlagic in view of Zhang et al. (CN 108680276, cited by Applicants)
As to claims 7-8, 13, 19, Donlagic teaches the assembly as recited in claim 6 and the method as recited in claim 15, further comprising an interrogator optically connected to the optical fiber, wherein the interrogator is configured to illuminate the cavity through the optical fiber, to receive reflected spectrum from the cavity (Fig. 10; ¶ 53, 61 for ex; laser 82 is used to illuminate the cavity and response is measured by reflection/transmission); the assembly is configured to measure temperature and/or pressure of the cavity based on the reflected spectrum (¶ 46-48 for ex.)
Donlagic does not teach expressly (claims 8, 13, 19) wherein the at least one of the optical elements includes MgAl204 spinel ceramic or single crystal, aluminum oxynitride A123N2705 ceramic or single crystal, La0.8Gd1.2Hf207 ceramic, LaGdZr207 ceramic, or Nd doped yttrium aluminum garnet (Nd:YAG) ceramic or single crystal.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Zhang discloses Nd:YAG based optical fiber temperature sensor (Abstract, Figs. 1-8) teaches using similar optical cavities to measure temperature (¶ 7-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the apparatus of Donlagic in view of Zhang’s suggestions so that the assembly is configured to measure temperature and/or pressure of the cavity based on the reflected spectrum; wherein the optical element includes Nd doped yttrium aluminum garnet (Nd:YAG) ceramic or single crystal, with the advantage of effectively using the Fabry-Perot cavity for the temperature/pressure measurements.
8- Claims 12, 16 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donlagic in view of Zhang, and further in view of Nordahl (US PGPUB 20170031057)
As to claims 12, 16, Donlagic and the combination of Donlagic and Zhang teach the assembly as recited in claim 6 and the method as recited in claim 15, respectively.
Donlagic and the combination do not teach expressly wherein at least one of the first and third optical members is MgAl204 spinel ceramic or single crystal; (claim 16) wherein at least one of the first and second optical members includes MgAl204 spinel ceramic or single crystal.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Zhang discloses Nd:YAG based optical fiber temperature sensor (Abstract, Figs. 1-8) teaches using similar optical cavities (¶ 7-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the apparatus of Donlagic in view of Zhang’s suggestions so that the optical element includes Nd doped yttrium aluminum garnet (Nd:YAG) ceramic or single crystal, with the advantage of effectively using the Fabry-Perot cavity for the temperature/pressure measurements.
The combination still does not teach expressly wherein at least one of the first and third optical members is MgAl204 spinel ceramic or single crystal; (claim 16) wherein at least one of the first and second optical members includes MgAl204 spinel ceramic or single crystal.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Nordahl discloses optical windows (Abstract, Figs. 1-10), wherein the windows/optical members are made of Spinel or Nd:YAG (¶ 8, 40), which are construed as suitable optical alternatives (See MPEP § 2144.07 for ex.), and would be a suitable alternative to the Nd:YAG used by Zhang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the apparatus of Donlagic and Zhang in view of Nordahl’s suggestions so that wherein at least one of the first and third optical members is MgAl204 spinel ceramic or single crystal, with the advantage of optimizing the optical properties of Spinel in the optical measurements.
9- Claim 14 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donlagic in view of Erskine et al. (US Patent 11048047)
As to claim 14, Donlagic teaches the assembly as recited in claim 6.
The combination does not teach expressly further comprising anti-reflective coating on at least one surface of the optical element.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Erskine discloses a fiber FP etalon based detector and method of making thereof (Abstract, Figs. 1-12) wherein the assembly further comprising anti-reflective coating on at least one surface of the optical element (Figs. 7, Col/ll. 7/6-9, 17/18-30 for ex.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the apparatus of Donlagic in view of Erskine’s suggestions so that the assembly further comprising anti-reflective coating on at least one surface of the optical element, with the advantage taught by Erskine of effectively optimizing the light transmission through the optical elements (Col/ll. 7/6-9).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicant should consider the entire prior art as applicable as to the limitations of the claims. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
/Mohamed K AMARA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877