DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) rejected have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on AJIKI et al. 20200020878 applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by AJIKI et al. 20200020878.
Regarding claims 1 and 13, fig. 19 of AJIKI discloses a display device comprising:
a transistor layer (transistor layer) disposed on a substrate 2100x (par [0246]) and comprising at least one transistor;
an insulating layer 2118 disposed on the transistor layer;
a first pixel electrode 2119/2120AR disposed on the insulating layer;
a first pixel defining layer 2522YA/YB covering a side surface of the first pixel electrode and a side surface (top side side) of the insulating layer and defining a first emission area 2522zR;
a first light emitting layer 2123R disposed in the first emission area on the first pixel electrode;
a first common electrode 2125 disposed on the first light emitting layer; and
a bank disposed (as labeled by examiner above - a slope, mass, or mound of a particular substance) on the insulating layer and surrounding the first pixel electrode,
wherein the first pixel electrode and the bank are disposed on a same layer (layer 2119) and comprise a same material (pixel electrode material),
wherein the bank comprises:
a first bank 2119/2120AG/2120BG disposed on the insulating layer;
a second bank 2121G disposed on the first bank; and
a third bank 2123G disposed on the second bank,
wherein a height of the first light emitting layer 2123R from the substrate corresponds to a height of the third bank 2123G from the substrate, and
wherein the third bank 2123G comprises a tip protruding from a side surface (sharp tip surface at the top) of the second bank toward the first light emitting layer.
Regarding claim 3, fig. 19 of AJIKI discloses wherein a side surface of the first bank and the side surface of the second bank are recessed inward from a side surface of the third bank.
Regarding claim 5, fig. 19 of AJIKI discloses wherein the first common electrode covers the first pixel defining layer and the insulating layer and extends to a side surface of the first bank.
Regarding claim 6, AJILI discloses wherein the first pixel electrode 2119/2120 comprises: a first layer 2119 disposed on the insulating layer; and a second layer 2120 disposed on the first layer.
Regarding claim 7, fig. 19 of AJIKI discloses wherein the first layer of the first pixel electrode and the first bank are disposed on a same layer and comprise a same material, and the second layer of the first pixel electrode and the second bank are disposed on a same layer and comprise a same material.
Regarding claim 8, fig. 19 of AJIKI discloses further comprising:
a second pixel electrode (that of 2522zB) disposed on the insulating layer; a second pixel defining layer 2522YB/YA covering a side surface of the insulating layer and a side surface of the second pixel electrode and defining a second emission area;
a second light emitting layer 2123B disposed in the second emission area on the second pixel electrode; and
a second common electrode 2125 disposed on the second light emitting layer.
Regarding claim 9 and 15 (see clam 7 rejection), fig. 19 of AJIKI discloses wherein the second pixel electrode comprises: a first layer, the first layer and the first bank disposed on a same layer and comprising a same material; and a second layer, the second layer and the second bank disposed on a same layer and comprising a same material.
Regarding claim 10, fig. 19 of AJIKI discloses wherein the first and second common electrodes are electrically connected through the first bank (it through the in between region which is that of the first bank).
Regarding claim 11, fig. 19 of AJIKI discloses further comprising: an electrode pattern (pattern of common electrode) disposed on the third bank, the electrode pattern and the first common electrode comprising a same material.
Regarding claim 12, fig. 19 of AJIKI discloses further comprising: a first encapsulation layer 2126 disposed on the first common electrode and the electrode pattern, and covering side surfaces of the first and second banks.
Regarding claim 15 (see rejection of claims 7 and 9), AJIKI discloses wherein the first pixel electrode comprises: a first layer, the first layer and the first bank disposed on a same layer and comprising a same material; and a second layer, the second layer and the second bank disposed on a same layer and comprising a same material.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893